Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    Yes, outside of the greatest moment in the clubs history it has been poor.

Quote Originally Posted by underscore View Post
    Yes. Everyone has a local team. Please tell me any town in Scotland and I’ll give you the local team.
    Supporting the local team is a lovely idea, but expecting that folk should be restricted to watching utter rubbish because it happens to be close is just plain silly.

Reality of living within their means within their context...
    "We know the people who have invested so far are simple fans." Vladimir Romanov - Scotsman 10th December 2012
    "Romanov was like a breath of fresh air - laced with cyanide." Me.

Quote Originally Posted by sambajustice View Post
    Dunno if it's already been said but hibs should give Celtic and rangers the east stand.

More fans = more money!
    19.5k at ER a few weeks ago v Rangers and we aren't very good

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    Supporting the local team is a lovely idea, but expecting that folk should be restricted to watching utter rubbish because it happens to be close is just plain silly.
    Depends on your idea of rubbish football. I’d rather watch kids football locally than go and watch Rangers / Celtic. To an outsider the majority of a Scottish football is rubbish.

Quote Originally Posted by 90+2 View Post
    Correct. Unfortunately there’s loads of excuses why they get supported, through religion to glory hunting.
    There are good reasons people don't watch their local teams.

If I lived in Prescot, would you really expect me to go along to watch Cables FC when Liverpool was only 25 minutes away?

Why should anyone be told to go and watch cowdenbeath when the Holy Ground is a mere 40 minute drive?

I tried to go to York FC games when I first moved down. It was utterly brutal and I have zero motivation to go along.

Am I a glory hunter or a religious bigot?
    Last edited by Hibbyradge; 04-01-2020 at 12:52 PM.

Depends on your idea of rubbish football. I’d rather watch kids football locally than go and watch Rangers / Celtic. To an outsider the majority of a Scottish football is rubbish.
    Well, if you think kids' football is better than watching the best teams in Scotland, then people elsewhere will have good reason to think our league is rubbish!

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar
    Who was the last youngster to come through at St. Johnstone and play for Scotland? They might have more support locally if the committed to proper youth development program.

There are good reasons people don't watch their local teams.

If I lived in Prescot, would you really expect me to go along to watch Cables FC when Liverpool was only 25 minutes away?

Why should anyone be told to go and watch cowdenbeath when the Holy Ground is a mere 40 minute drive?

I tried to go to York FC games when I first moved down. It was utterly brutal and I have zero motivation to go along.

Am I a glory hunter or a religious bigot?
    Nah you're not. A tiny bit pretentious in your auld age though perhaps! lol.

@hibs.net private member Smartie's Avatar
    Yes. Everyone has a local team. Please tell me any town in Scotland and I’ll give you the local team.
    Kinross.

Quote Originally Posted by stuart-farquhar View Post
    Nah you're not. A tiny bit pretentious in your auld age though perhaps! lol.
    What's pretentious about not wanting to watch York City?

I would have thought that actually going to Bootham Crescent was more open to that criticism!

That’s why there is fire sticks these days 😉

What's pretentious about not wanting to watch York City?

I would have thought that actually going to Bootham Crescent was more open to that criticism!
    Yes indeed. Been there and it's a bit of an ordeal.

Most Yorkies I know go to Elland Road anyway.

Kilmarnock have halved Celtic’s allocation for the match at Rugby Park later this month
    Normally get both stands behind the goals, bit have only been given one stand
    That’s a reductive from 9,000 to 4,500, which is a fair bit of cash

@hibs.net private member Lancs Harp's Avatar
    Hearts have applied for all four sdes of McDairmid

Quote Originally Posted by Yorkshire HFC View Post
    You're talking about Hibs - in the 70s and 80s we would generally get 4 - 5k at Easter Road for Dundee, Partick etc. and then 20k for Old Firm games.
    Much the same in the mid-1990s.

Hibs often struggled to get more than 4,000 for St Johnstone at Easter Road.

Quote Originally Posted by allant1981 View Post
    Plenty of non edinburgh folk support hibs, do you find that weird as well, not everyone has a local team or had a local team when growing up.
    That's true, but when the conversation is about glory hunting the point isn't even that somebody doesn't support a team local to them, the point is what team they 'choose' to support. If buses left towns all over Scotland every weekend taking folk to Rugby park or East End park etc then fair enough, but they don't, they go to the stadiums of by miles the two biggest and most successful clubs in the country.

That's the difference, the fact that when it comes to the 'I can support who I like' brigade they never choose to support Kilmarnock, Motherwell, Dundee or even Hibs and always leech on to the biggest clubs. That's what makes them glory hunters, not the fact that they don't have a local club to support or even that they choose not to support a local club.

The Borders is a prime example. It's biggest towns like Galashiels, Peebles and Hawick are between 30 and 50 miles from Edinburgh, but the lack of any meaningful professional football here makes it a natural catchment area for Hibs and Hearts ... in fact as the crow flies Easter Road is the nearest professional ground to my house even though its a near 40 mile trip in the car ... but even then the region is packed with glory hunting twats.

The reluctance of people to 'shop locally' when it comes to football will hasten the demise of merit based football competition. European football has already become an increasingly closed shop and is set to become even more so. There was a UEFA official a few years back who suggested Manchester United deserved to be in the Champions League more than champions Leicester City because they had contributed more to football historically. There has been discussions for years held about having a core of teams who are automatic entrants to the Champions League regardless of their league position; that could see the absurd situation in which currently 11th placed AC Milan would play top level European football next year whilst Atalanta (currently 5th and in contention) could miss out regardless of their respective domestic performance.

The globalisation of a few leagues and a couple of handfuls of teams impacts everyone. It leads to the disparity in prize money and TV deals that sees some leagues being 'utter rubbish'. If people want to support 'City', 'United', 'Barca' or, at local level, Celtic and Rangers then fine. There has to be a recognition that such choices have consequences though.

Quote Originally Posted by NORTHERNHIBBY View Post
    Perhaps they are getting to see what the implications are if they don't do this. As much as it sounds unpalatable, it has to be seen from their perspective not hours.
    Exactly. It could be the difference between signing a couple of players, keeping a youth team going, making some staff redundant.

It is easy to take the moral high ground here. The St Johnstone board have done aan amazing job to keep the club in the top half of the league for many years. They also won their first Scottish cup. It is fair to say this decision will not have been taken lightly but given their track record in running their club I would give them the benefit of the doubt

Sent from my F5321 using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post
    Kinross.
    Jeanfield swifts? Great wee outfit.

@hibs.net private member Allant1981's Avatar
    I come from bathgate originally, livi were not there at the time so who should I have chosen to support

Bathgate Thistle.

I don't think supporting a local team means you have to support the team exactly closest to you geographically. When I was growing up that would have been Hearts ffs.

I think people take issue with some guy from just outside Perth moaning that 'Scottish football is *****' or 'Celtic are pish in Europe because there's no competition' whilst he travels 65 miles to Glasgow every other week rather than support St Johnstone, Dundee, Dundee Utd etc. If you go to just about any town in Scotland then there will be more Celtic and Rangers fans than supporters of the local teams, the same probably applies to the cities as well. Being from Montrose and supporting Arbroath is not the same as being from Edinburgh and supporting Rangers.

Quote Originally Posted by Steven79 View Post
    Bathgate Thistle.
    Have you seen them!

I don't think supporting a local team means you have to support the team exactly closest to you geographically. When I was growing up that would have been Hearts ffs.

I think people take issue with some guy from just outside Perth moaning that 'Scottish football is *****' or 'Celtic are pish in Europe because there's no competition' whilst he travels 65 miles to Glasgow every other week rather than support St Johnstone, Dundee, Dundee Utd etc. If you go to just about any town in Scotland then there will be more Celtic and Rangers fans than supporters of the local teams, the same probably applies to the cities as well. Being from Montrose and supporting Arbroath is not the same as being from Edinburgh and supporting Rangers.
    But underscore reckons it's weird that folk from said town/city supporting a club from a different area is weird, if you could only support your local team then professional football would be in an even worse state than it is now

@hibs.net private member green day's Avatar
    But underscore reckons it's weird that folk from said town/city supporting a club from a different area is weird, if you could only support your local team then professional football would be in an even worse state than it is now
    Supporting your local team is "normal" imo but i have a couple of Edinburgh mates who support Aberdeen based on family history - which is fine by me.

If you are from London, you have a selection of local teams, same with Birmingham, slightly less so with Edinburgh but basically there are two (or three) teams to choose from.

The problem is people from <insert any town, city, village in Scotland> either actively supporting Rangers or Celtic, or being one of the pub supporters who never actually go but "follow" one of these clubs.

These fuds take fans away from every other club in Scotland, and they do it because they are religious bigots, plain and simple.

People living in Edinburgh and supporting the old firm week in week out are odd. I know people in Inverness who travel to watch celtic and would never watch ICT....thats very very weird to me. How is a small team supposed to get bigger and thrive if the locals cant be assed. As a kid id go and watch Musselburgh then Hibs when they were at home. I'd have gone and watched Bathgate or Broxie whenever i could if i lived there.... i'd also have chosen a senior team to go and watch as i got older. Prob an edinburgh team or Falkirk pre Livi being formed. I totally get that not everyone lives near to a senior club...but traveling to the other side of the country just to see "winning" isnt really what football is about for me.

Quote Originally Posted by green day View Post
    Supporting your local team is "normal" imo but i have a couple of Edinburgh mates who support Aberdeen based on family history - which is fine by me.

If you are from London, you have a selection of local teams, same with Birmingham, slightly less so with Edinburgh but basically there are two (or three) teams to choose from.

The problem is people from <insert any town, city, village in Scotland> either actively supporting Rangers or Celtic, or being one of the pub supporters who never actually go but "follow" one of these clubs.

These fuds take fans away from every other club in Scotland, and they do it because they are religious bigots, plain and simple.
    It's not really that simple although it plays a part.

If Dunfermline, for example, made a decision to go full bigot (any flavour), it wouldn't attract more supporters.

If, however, they started regularly winning the league and competing in Europe, they would.

I remember Celtic and Rangers getting very low crowds when they were failing in the league.

All clubs get bigger crowds when they're having success and vice versa.

@hibs.net private member RyeSloan's Avatar
    Jeanfield swifts? Great wee outfit.
    They are indeed a hard working outfit who, in some sort of symmetry with this thread, have a ladies team who play under the guise of St Johnstone Woman’s FC I believe.

Quote Originally Posted by RyeSloan View Post
    They are indeed a hard working outfit who, in some sort of symmetry with this thread, have a ladies team who play under the guise of St Johnstone Woman’s FC I believe.
    Correct ....Youth team feed into the St Johnstone Womans team.