I liked Rikki Fulton when I was wee, and I'm fairly sure he was popular across the age groups and social classes as well.This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Thread: Only an Excuse
-
02-01-2020 01:57 PM #151
-
02-01-2020 02:04 PM #152This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Usually like Susan Calman tae but did not like the anti Edinburgh salt n sauce thing the lack of atmosphere the lack of comedy and the stupid wee quizzes and asking people what their New Year resolutions were in November all a futile attempt to pass time until the bells although the bands were good
-
02-01-2020 02:48 PM #153This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
02-01-2020 02:51 PM #154This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
02-01-2020 02:59 PM #155
Other than watching until the twentieth minute and giving up I’ve not really watched any telly since moving house last May.
My mind is all the better for it and I don’t waste time at work with “did you see?” Conversations
OAE was as dreadful as ever and the actors can only try their best with a dire script. Time for it to stop topping up Jonathan Watson’s pension pot. It’s finished and has been for years
I’m glad I read, play darts, and generally find better things to do with my time!
Oh and follow the Hibs too of course
-
02-01-2020 04:11 PM #156This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
02-01-2020 04:34 PM #157
Just watched it on iplayer, jeesus christ that was painful to watch, never laughed once.
-
02-01-2020 04:52 PM #158
Frankie Boyle's World Order 2019 was shown on the 30th December and was very funny.
Easily blew away all the New Years Eve offerings which I avoided like the plague.
Catch it on the iplayer. P,S. Jamali Maddix was very good on it.
-
02-01-2020 05:04 PM #159This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
02-01-2020 05:15 PM #160This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
02-01-2020 07:16 PM #161This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Also, Charlie Brookers TV Wipe is absolutely brilliant. There was a catch up of the first half of the decade on the other night and I was about greeting when the Ukrainian protest bit came on.
-
02-01-2020 09:05 PM #162This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
03-01-2020 02:11 AM #163This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Always watch the extended version rather than the edited one which has all the life sucked out of it.
Watched TV Wipe when it was on. Needless to say my wife wasn't amused by it. Doesnae like fitba either. Funny that.
-
03-01-2020 04:23 AM #164
OAE always has its moments and it was brave this year to take a dig at the holier than thou climate change "brat" but fundamentally Watson can't get away from the fact that his excellent Souness, Chic "Chico" Young, "The Lawman" and "Where's the Burds" belong in a bygone age so his base material is now long gone.
He just cant do Gerrard, Lennon,Rodgers or Steve Clarke and his political British Unionist credentials are so transparent and not saved by the very poor scripts.Last edited by The Baldmans Comb; 03-01-2020 at 05:02 AM.
-
03-01-2020 05:45 AM #165This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteFollow the Hibs podcast, Longbangers, on Twitter (@longbangers)
https://www.patreon.com/user?u=18491...rshare_creator
https://youtube.com/@longbangers?si=N9JL5Ugx2l2aKEC8
-
03-01-2020 06:09 AM #166
-
03-01-2020 07:13 AM #167This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Last edited by Baader; 03-01-2020 at 07:16 AM.
-
03-01-2020 07:38 AM #168This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
There's a real nastiness whenever Greta is mentioned both in real life conversation and online. I'm not sure what it is that some people find so threatening about a young lady with principles. I suppose when the President of the USA sees fit to mock her illness, looks and personality she's fair game to everyone.PM Awards General Poster of The Year 2015, 2016, 2017. Probably robbed in other years
-
03-01-2020 08:03 AM #169This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteFollow the Hibs podcast, Longbangers, on Twitter (@longbangers)
-
03-01-2020 08:15 AM #170
I don't think the sketch particularly mocked Greta, it was a comment on the different attitude to climate change between generations. Something that is continually highlighted by the climate change campaigners.
It is appalling that people like Trump and the unreconstructed use such base tactics to attack her. I find it equally distasteful that people throw up their hands that a young autistic girl is being attacked.
If she is that vulnerable, why are we letting her be a target? The fact is she is a wonderful human with good points and bad, she deserves all the credit for the good things she does.
She also has the result to mess up. So, if some parents see the humour in having to live with a bossy teenager in the house , that's the way it is.
Her dad (her real dad, not Jonathan Watson) actually said he's not to bothered about her campaigning, because she is at least living like a normal teenager, compared to her limited activity before.
In years to come, the Greta sketch will end up in the same bin as Stanley Baxter blacking up. At the moment, it is still edgy, highlighting a tension between generations.
-
03-01-2020 08:16 AM #171This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
03-01-2020 08:44 AM #172
-
03-01-2020 08:47 AM #173This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
It's not the same as stepping out onto the road without looking.Follow the Hibs podcast, Longbangers, on Twitter (@longbangers)
-
03-01-2020 08:53 AM #174
-
03-01-2020 08:54 AM #175
Who knows, there may be a comedy sketch there - about parents not being understood by tfeyr children, and vice versa.
I think she is a good person who is being used by people with agendas. I think she would be very confused if she found that out.Last edited by Cataplana; 03-01-2020 at 09:07 AM.
-
03-01-2020 08:57 AM #176
Brave, in that it worked on the premise that people should see the difference between humour and reality.
I wouldn't call saying she is a brat is brave.Last edited by Cataplana; 03-01-2020 at 08:59 AM.
-
03-01-2020 08:57 AM #177
Just for clarity I don't regard the Scandinavian girl as a "brat'.
It was the President of Brazil who made the remark emboldened no doubt by Trumps cavalier attitude to climate change.
I haven't seen many other comedy forms attempt
to satarise the subject or the characters so if Trump is fair game (and he is) then same goes for the other side of the equation.
-
03-01-2020 09:01 AM #178
-
03-01-2020 09:08 AM #179This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
03-01-2020 09:09 AM #180This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteThis quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Greta has explained who her support group is and why she uses it, to get her message across more effectively. But its not about truth, it's just new sticks to beat her with. I think the fact that the 'brat' word gets so easily inserted into the discussion is testament to the smear campaign. Probably funded by the same people that fund election campaigns.
It's gone all holy ground now...