US Election 2020

Thought I'd kick off a thread dedicated to the upcoming election across the pond.

Here's the current polling for the Democrat nominies.

National Democratic Primary:
    Biden 27%
    Sanders 17%
    Warren 15%
    Bloomberg 5%
    Buttigieg 5%
    Yang 5%
    Steyer 4%
    Booker 3%
    Gabbard 2%
    Klobuchar 2%
    Castro 2%
    Delaney 1%
    Bennet 1%
    Williamson 1%
    Patrick 0%

I'm personally a big fan of Andrew Yang. A massive outsider, but he's done well to get this far given the relative size of his campaign and media coverage.

Buttigieg impresses me too. His takedown of Warren over the 'wine cave' jibe made during the recent debate was absolutely brutal, well worth a watch even if you're not that bothered about the election.

Keystones in this election cycle for the Dems are:

- Recognising the issues that led to the election of Trump, not just being the 'not-Trump option.'
    - Bridging the sizeable gap between the left and right of politics in the US currently.
    - Not allowing Trump to win this one on the basis of cosmetic economic progress, they can't fall into a stats battle. Keep the spotlight on domestic issues, not figures.
    - Heavy focus on the devastating opiates crisis plaguing the US.
    - Responding to increasing public pressure to act on China's awful human rights record and recent market manipulation tactics.

I really enjoy the US election cycles. They're more theatrical and outlandish due to the root outcome of the whole event being one single job. Quite frankly I plan on enjoying the ride as best I can given the grim state of politics in the UK.

Strap in. 🇺🇸

(all IMO)

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar
    Wasn’t it Warren who attacked on the wine cave thing?
    Looking at the race, the Dems are in danger or repeating the mistake Labour made here if they go for a left winger (comparatively speaking because Boris Johnson is left of centre there).

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    Wasn’t it Warren who attacked on the wine cave thing?
    Looking at the race, the Dems are in danger or repeating the mistake Labour made here if they go for a left winger (comparatively speaking because Boris Johnson is left of centre there).

Yeah it was Warren that he responded to after she made the comment. Certainly misplaced criticism from her.

I agree Ozy. I'm also really concerned that their two front runners (by a distance) are a couple of white guys who are nearly 80. That's why I'm hoping against hope for a Yang Gang uprising.

I'd take Warren over the two of them too if we're being more pragmatic about it.

The only BAME candidate left is Yang, and as he highlights himself, it's not his people that are being subjected to the worst living standards in America. That's gotta be a huge disappointment for a substantial percentage of the most vulnerable people in American society.

I was impressed by Yang when he expressed why Trump won, explaining the reasoning behind his vote in the rust belt states.

Impressive in the video below too,

https://www.realclearpolitics.com/vi...p_elected.html

His idea of giving 1000 dollars a month to every citizen however may be too much of an easy target for the Republicans though.

To win they need someone central to bridge the gap to soft Trump voters, if they go "woke" Trump's path back to the White House cannot be easier.

Quote Originally Posted by CloudSquall View Post
    I was impressed by Yang when he expressed why Trump won, explaining the reasoning behind his vote in the rust belt states.

Impressive in the video below too,

https://www.realclearpolitics.com/vi...p_elected.html

His idea of giving 1000 dollars a month to every citizen however may be too much of an easy target for the Republicans though.

To win they need someone central to bridge the gap to soft Trump voters, if they go "woke" Trump's path back to the White House cannot be easier.
    Totally agree. Trump has a very solid base of about 40% and there is zero chance of him losing that now given what they already put up with from him.
    He is the incumbent and the economy is good. Any sign of someone saying they will take something away from people and they will stick with the idiot they know.
    People are more protective of what they have than impressed with what they might get. The offer of universal healthcare seems like total common sense to people living here but to people there being asked to give up the insurance (sometimes very hard won through labour unions) is a complete no-no.
    I personally think Warren is the best candidate but I can also see how Trump beats her. She is too far to the left. Traditionally candidates tack back to the centre once the primaries are won so hopefully that’s the case with her.
    Biden would be a disaster. Trump will beat him.
    Don’t know enough about Yang but he needs to start making a move about now although candidates have been further behind where he is now and went on to win (John kerry 2004).

Totally agree. Trump has a very solid base of about 40% and there is zero chance of him losing that now given what they already put up with from him.
    He is the incumbent and the economy is good. Any sign of someone saying they will take something away from people and they will stick with the idiot they know.
    People are more protective of what they have than impressed with what they might get. The offer of universal healthcare seems like total common sense to people living here but to people there being asked to give up the insurance (sometimes very hard won through labour unions) is a complete no-no.
    I personally think Warren is the best candidate but I can also see how Trump beats her. She is too far to the left. Traditionally candidates tack back to the centre once the primaries are won so hopefully that’s the case with her.
    Biden would be a disaster. Trump will beat him.
    Don’t know enough about Yang but he needs to start making a move about now although candidates have been further behind where he is now and went on to win (John kerry 2004).

Interested why you think Biden would be a disaster? He is easily the most centrist of the front runners. He makes plenty of gaffes but this will already be priced in with voters and let's face it, Trump is off the scale barking. I think Biden is the clear front runner and in a battle of old white guys will beat Trump comfortably. Either Warren or Sanders would be a much closer race. Can't see anyone outside those 3 winning the nomination.

@hibs.net private member RyeSloan's Avatar
    I’m always amazed just how old the candidates can be!

I mean good on them but boy how do they find the energy at nearly 80 to go on a year long campaign?

That aside it’s an interesting race for the Democrats. Contrary to some I believe Biden could beat Trump but Warren would have no chance.

Yang is an interesting one but he’s tied himself to a few very large but rather wonky policies so not sure that was too wise.

In the end though I’m sure .net will be 95% on the ‘anyone but Trump’ side of the argument. As a poster said earlier US politics makes Johnson look like a leftie!

But even left / right aside I’m amazed anyone could vote for Trump this time around. Last time yeah, I get why some bought into his bombastic approach and ridiculous rhetoric. But this time? No way. Just one read of his twitter feed should be enough to tell you that.

Quote Originally Posted by RyeSloan View Post

I mean good on them but boy how do they find the energy at nearly 80 to go on a year long campaign?

That aside it’s an interesting race for the Democrats. Contrary to some I believe Biden could beat Trump but Warren would have no chance.

Yang is an interesting one but he’s tied himself to a few very large but rather wonky policies so not sure that was too wise.

In the end though I’m sure .net will be 95% on the ‘anyone but Trump’ side of the argument. As a poster said earlier US politics makes Johnson look like a leftie!

But even left / right aside I’m amazed anyone could vote for Trump this time around. Last time yeah, I get why some bought into his bombastic approach and ridiculous rhetoric. But this time? No way. Just one read of his twitter feed should be enough to tell you that.
    If he's lost you he really has no chance.

To be fair, on the age thing, they are breaking new ground. Reagan was the previously oldest elected, 69 the first time and 73 the second. Trump will have beaten both by a year if he gets re-elected. Either Biden or Sanders (76 and 78) would go straight to the top of the oldie charts. Even Liz Warren is 70 but would be a couple of weeks short of the age Trump was when he won.

@hibs.net private member RyeSloan's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by JeMeSouviens View Post
    If he's lost you he really has no chance.
    Oi! Less of that ;-)

To be fair though, I’m happy to admit that while I was no fan of him, his rhetoric or divisive and dangerous electioneering there was one (small!) part of me that wondered if it was just an election thing and that on arrival in the White House he might calm down. I was curious as to what someone who had not been a life long politico might do.

I should, of course, known better!!

He was a grade A twat before but boy has he taken that to a new level as president. There is always scope to disagree with what the POTUS stands for and does but jeez Trump has absolutely trashed that office and I’m continually amazed at how he even has the remotest chance of re-election.

US Election 2020

Oi! Less of that ;-)

To be fair though, I’m happy to admit that while I was no fan of him, his rhetoric or divisive and dangerous electioneering there was one (small!) part of me that wondered if it was just an election thing and that on arrival in the White House he might calm down. I was curious as to what someone who had not been a life long politico might do.

He was a grade A twat before but boy has he taken that to a new level as president. There is always scope to disagree with what the POTUS stands for and does but jeez Trump has absolutely trashed that office and I’m continually amazed at how he even has the remotest chance of re-election.
    I thought he had no chance of winning until Oct 2016 when I took the kids to Disneyland. I got in a taxi to travel from Disney to Universal and the driver was a black Haitian female and the whole way there she was listening to right wing talk radio. I asked what she thought of Trump and she told me she was going to vote for him because he was going to clean up Washington and she didn’t like Hilary anyway. That’s was when I realised he could win although deep down I still didn’t really believe until it happened.

@hibs.net private member Smartie's Avatar
    Oi! Less of that ;-)

I've learned to just put it down to the fact that I just don't get America.

I love America, I have a few relatives there. My biggest regret and bitterness in life is that I couldn't move there. Without drifting too far into depressing territory on this day of all days, I have a fair idea what opportunities exist in 21st century Scotland for my wee girl and the opportunities that exist in the USA and in spite of having worked very hard and made many sacrifices I struggle to come to terms with the fact that as a parent I will be unable to offer her the opportunities that her cousins will all have.

The 2 main things I don't like about America are the gun laws and the politics, and they are so huge that I end up going as far as to say I just don't really understand what the place is all about.

It would have been nice to have the opportunity to really learn though.

Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post

I love America, I have a few relatives there. My biggest regret and bitterness in life is that I couldn't move there. Without drifting too far into depressing territory on this day of all days, I have a fair idea what opportunities exist in 21st century Scotland for my wee girl and the opportunities that exist in the USA and in spite of having worked very hard and made many sacrifices I struggle to come to terms with the fact that as a parent I will be unable to offer her the opportunities that her cousins will all have.

The 2 main things I don't like about America are the gun laws and the politics, and they are so huge that I end up going as far as to say I just don't really understand what the place is all about.

You should try Australia. It’s like America but without the gun laws. Still a bit more right wing and racist than Scotland but overall it’s a great way of life.
    Plenty opportunities here as well though otherwise I wouldn’t be here.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Interested why you think Biden would be a disaster? He is easily the most centrist of the front runners. He makes plenty of gaffes but this will already be priced in with voters and let's face it, Trump is off the scale barking. I think Biden is the clear front runner and in a battle of old white guys will beat Trump comfortably. Either Warren or Sanders would be a much closer race. Can't see anyone outside those 3 winning the nomination.
    I can't see the American electorate voting in a president whose health issues will mean he is unlikely to be able to serve his full term in office.

Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post

Britain is well towards the top of the inequality charts compared to other western European countries but we are practically Scandinavian compared to the US. It's a fine place to live - as long as you have the money,

Fertile territory for the likes of trump.

I thought he had no chance of winning until Oct 2016 when I took the kids to Disneyland. I got in a taxi to travel from Disney to Universal and the driver was a black Haitian female and the whole way there she was listening to right wing talk radio. I asked what she thought of Trump and she told me she was going to vote for him because he was going to clean up Washington and she didn’t like Hilary anyway. That’s was when I realised he could win although deep down I still didn’t really believe until it happened.

That's how he got in - Clinton was pretty much universally loathed. In the same way that Johnson, whatever you think of his politics, was universally acknowledged to be a total ********, but wasn't Corbyn.

@hibs.net private member Smartie's Avatar
    Yeah, that's the problem.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    That's how he got in - Clinton was pretty much universally loathed. In the same way that Johnson, whatever you think of his politics, was universally acknowledged to be a total ********, but wasn't Corbyn.
    This is said quite a bit, but did she not get more votes than Trumpet for POTUS?

Looking at the list of candidates in the OP I think Trump can rest easy, unfortunately.

Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    This is said quite a bit, but did she not get more votes than Trumpet for POTUS?
    She did but mainly for not being Trump. Virtually any other democrat would've won.

@hibs.net private member NORTHERNHIBBY's Avatar
    The US will be voting for Trump and not necessarily The Republican Party. Democrats might offer up a candidate who has no real political aspirations beyond 2020.

She did but mainly for not being Trump. Virtually any other democrat would've won.
    Hillary was definitely a candidate with plenty of baggage, however I don't believe that Bernie would have stood a chance. In fact, I think he might have performed worse.

Always find it interesting after a politician steps down from the frontline and starts expressing themselves more openly, Clinton being one such example. Shows she was definitely overstaffed/over-advised during her campaign in 2016, which made her come across as so disingenuous and robotic.

I'd love to see auld Bernie get the Democratic nomination. A real progressive who isn't in the pockets of the big money donors.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    I'd love to see auld Bernie get the Democratic nomination. A real progressive who isn't in the pockets of the big money donors.
    That'd just be an open door for a second term for Trump IMO.

Go full socialist and Trump wins. Doesn’t mean the Democrats aren’t dumb enough to try it though.

Quote Originally Posted by Vault Boy View Post
    That'd just be an open door for a second term for Trump IMO.
    Go full socialist and Trump wins. Doesn’t mean the Democrats aren’t dumb enough to try it though.

Sanders is no socialist, he's an FDR New Deal liberal, on the left of the Democratic Party. His brand of left wing populism would win back those traditionally Democratic states which tipped the balance for Trump in 2016, e.g. Pennsylvania and the rest of the rust belt. Hilary Clinton's love of trickledown economics ignored those left behind by forty years of Reaganomics. Why would any working class American oppose universal healthcare? Bernie could reach those states Clinton failed to. Trump sold them a lie - he's a great salesman - but he's done nothing for working class Americans, only given massive tax cuts to the wealthiest, whilst his health care bill kicked another twenty million people off coverage.
    Last edited by Hibernia&Alba; 24-12-2019 at 07:00 PM.

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    Sanders is no socialist, he's an FDR New Deal liberal, on the left of the Democratic Party. His brand of left wing populism would win back those traditionally Democratic states which tipped the balance for Trump in 2016, e.g. Pennsylvania and the rest of the rust belt. Hilary Clinton's love of trickledown economics ignored those left behind by forty years of Reaganomics. Why would any working class American oppose universal healthcare? Bernie could reach those states Clinton failed to. Trump sold them a lie - he's a great salesman - but he's done nothing for working class Americans, only given massive tax cuts to the wealthiest, whilst his health care bill kicked another twenty million people off coverage.
    Bill Clinton didn’t fail to win states. He and Obama won states Sanders would struggle to convince.
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

Quote Originally Posted by Mibbes Aye View Post
    Bill Clinton didn’t fail to win states. He and Obama won states Sanders would struggle to convince.
    I meant Hilary in 2016.

I’m sure Trump will hold back on calling him a socialist, especially as Sanders calls himself that.