Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread: N word

Quote Originally Posted by Fuzzywuzzy View Post
    In my opinion, all the **** with Brexit has given the racists carte blanche to come out with this kind of thing.
    Yeah, you’ve nailed it. If Brexit had been defeated, the boys mentioned by the OP would have described the player in question as ‘the black gentleman running down the wing’.

Yes, of course they would.

Quote Originally Posted by 90+2 View Post
    Why would the racists son be stupid?
    I didn’t carry out an IQ test on him, if that’s what you’re asking?

From recollection as it was such a long time ago, it was his glaikit grin, saying nothing, while his old man ranted on. Stuck in the mind as I have never encountered such a thing with Hibs fans since, though it’s obviously not a complete one off.

Quote Originally Posted by Fuzzywuzzy View Post
    In my opinion, all the **** with Brexit has given the racists carte blanche to come out with this kind of thing.
    Here we go!

Quote Originally Posted by wallpaperman View Post
    Yeah, you’ve nailed it. If Brexit had been defeated, the boys mentioned by the OP would have described the player in question as ‘the black gentleman running down the wing’.

But it's true that the number of complaints made to police for racist behaviour spiked after the referendum. However, it's a different issue from a bigot making a casual remark.

Quote Originally Posted by Sammy7nil View Post
    Seriously stop trying to deflect this yes that is terrible and there are 100's of thread over the years on that subject stick to the topic and post on other threads.
    Whos trying to deflect it???

Quote Originally Posted by Weegreenman View Post
    It seems it’s ok for rappers to slip it into their lyrics though. What’s that all about?
    If that's a genuine question, then the answer is it's reclamation of a word by the community that it was/is used to abuse.

The LGBT community have done similar with the word queer.

Completely irrelevant to supposed fans using it in a public space mind. That's horrible to read from the OP, disappointing.

Quote Originally Posted by Moody Blues View Post
    Here we go!
    https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.bbc.co.uk/news/amp/uk-wales-48692863

Of course it's just my opinion

@hibs.net private member Coco Bryce's Avatar
    I was out in town last night and N word was used many times. Mostly by my black mate who uses this as a greeting.

I would not use that word now but until fairly recently "****** in a woodpile" was a wholly accepted phrase, although not by me.

In the late seventies it was generally accepted that rather than use the name black as a colour of someone's skin it was better to say coloured.

Then this changed back to black as per one football commentator who found out.

Words change meaning over time. Using the n word casually is not on as far as I am concerned but there are some painfully ignorant people out there.

Quote Originally Posted by Coco Bryce View Post
    I was out in town last night and N word was used many times. Mostly by my black mate who uses this as a greeting.
    I simply don't understand why so many black people use that as a greeting. I get they want to own the word but just seems strange to me.

It's the way in which its said as well as there is 2 different variations the greeting usually ends in an A and a slant ends with ER confusing I know. No matter which way it's a word I wouldnt dream of using and one of the words I actually hate to hear along with the c u next tuesday just not nice and vulgar

Quote Originally Posted by Coco Bryce View Post
    Some of my best friends are black too.

Quote Originally Posted by wookie70 View Post
    The use of that type of language has been encouraged by the incumbent at No 10 and racism and xenophobia are generally on the rise. We have a small minority of cretins who no doubt will all have a ticket for Tiny and make a tit of themselves
    Not encouraged by No. 10 at all.

@hibs.net private member Coco Bryce's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Cataplana View Post
    Some of my best friends are black too.
    And mine. They really don't have a problem with the word. They call me Wigga

Interesting view.

I've always said it's not what's said it's how its said.

I've been called a 'porridge wog' no offence taken.

A mate in Australia spoke about newspaper ads saying ' the Pakkis are coming' when they toured cricket a few years ago.

My old boy used to talk about playin g with a big darkie in the same breath at he woukd the wee ginger when he played in the 50s.

Never have I ever thought the n word was acceptable if rappers want to use it it up to them but not something I think acceptable and there would be hello to pay if my kids used it

Quote Originally Posted by wallpaperman View Post

Brexit was based around immigration. Farage and his pals forced it down everyones throats how bad immigrants were. Coming to the UK and taking everyones jobs and benefits! Immigrants were portrayed as these horrible people, the uk openly voting for Brexit was like a free licence to openly say how much you don't like immigrants. If more than 50% of the country voted for it then what's the problem?, kind of thing. That has led to other form of racism. The whole UK political environment is horrible at the moment. The current uk prime minister (who won by a landslide) is a proven racist, sexist, homophobic ****bag.

Quote Originally Posted by FilipinoHibs View Post
    The N word is used heavily by US black artists in hip and rap. Maybe that is where the young team are picking it up from.
    Haha.. this isn’t a serious suggestion is it?

Black hip-hop artists using “n***a” in their lyrics is being picked up by football fans who are now using it to describe opposition players but in a completely non-derogatory or offensive way?

I’m having a “whoosh” moment aren’t I. No way you’re serious.

Quote Originally Posted by Biff Tannen View Post
    I was walking out the main stand and there was a group of boys talking about game and casually slipped in the N word about a rangers player. It was along the lines of ‘Aye when the ******** was running doon the wing....’ they were about 20 yards behind and I was utterly perplexed and not sure I heard right until a boy beside me looked at me and we were gobsmacked he then slipped it in again in another sentence as casual as you like and I turned round and shouted he was an utter embarrassment and should be ashamed of himself. I was absolutely boiling with rage. Who the ****** are these Neanderthals? It’s also the reason why racism will unfortunately never be wiped out. Actual said it like it was normal. Utter ****bag and probably the same phanny that threw the bottle. Do not need people like that in our support away and F off and never come back

Made a thread about the same thing right after the game and it was shut down because it “didn’t happen”

I take it you have all noticed that the OP lobbed this bomb in 3 days ago and hasn't been seen since.

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by CMurdoch View Post
    I take it you have all noticed that the OP lobbed this bomb in 3 days ago and hasn't been seen since.
    The OP is a good pal of mine, a huge Hibs fan and wouldn't make stuff like that up, he just isn't on here that often

Quote Originally Posted by Mon Dieu4 View Post
    The OP is a good pal of mine, a huge Hibs fan and wouldn't make stuff like that up, he just isn't on here that often