Thread: N word

Promising Youngster Biff Tannen's Avatar

N word

I was walking out the main stand and there was a group of boys talking about game and casually slipped in the N word about a rangers player. It was along the lines of ‘Aye when the ******** was running doon the wing....’ they were about 20 yards behind and I was utterly perplexed and not sure I heard right until a boy beside me looked at me and we were gobsmacked he then slipped it in again in another sentence as casual as you like and I turned round and shouted he was an utter embarrassment and should be ashamed of himself. I was absolutely boiling with rage. Who the ****** are these Neanderthals? It’s also the reason why racism will unfortunately never be wiped out. Actual said it like it was normal. Utter ****bag and probably the same phanny that threw the bottle. Do not need people like that in our support away and F off and never come back

Quote Originally Posted by Biff Tannen View Post
    I was walking out the main stand and there was a group of boys talking about game and casually slipped in the N word about a rangers player. It was along the lines of ‘Aye when the ******** was running doon the wing....’ they were about 20 yards behind and I was utterly perplexed and not sure I heard right until a boy beside me looked at me and we were gobsmacked he then slipped it in again in another sentence as casual as you like and I turned round and shouted he was an utter embarrassment and should be ashamed of himself. I was absolutely boiling with rage. Who the ****** are these Neanderthals? It’s also the reason why racism will unfortunately never be wiped out. Actual said it like it was normal. Utter ****bag and probably the same phanny that threw the bottle. Do not need people like that in our support away and F off and never come back
    You get it in all walks of life, casual racism is absolutely rife, our support are not immune we have some absolute knuckle draggers.

I remember many years back sitting in the old North Stand listening to some old goat Hibs fan call Kevin Harper a n***** repeatedly while his stupid son sat by and said nothing.

Some things sadly will never change.

Quote Originally Posted by wallpaperman View Post
    You get it in all walks of life, casual racism is absolutely rife, our support are not immune we have some absolute knuckle draggers.

I remember many years back sitting in the old North Stand listening to some old goat Hibs fan call Kevin Harper a n***** repeatedly while his stupid son sat by and said nothing.

Nothing casual about using that word

The same ****s with the attitude that throwing a bottle is acceptable at a football stadium.

And right after 90 odd minutes listening to thousands of adults singing about killing Catholics. What a world we live in

The use of that type of language has been encouraged by the incumbent at No 10 and racism and xenophobia are generally on the rise. We have a small minority of cretins who no doubt will all have a ticket for Tiny and make a tit of themselves

Quote Originally Posted by Since452 View Post
    And right after 90 odd minutes listening to thousands of adults singing about killing Catholics. What a world we live in
    Seriously stop trying to deflect this yes that is terrible and there are 100's of thread over the years on that subject stick to the topic and post on other threads.

Quote Originally Posted by Sammy7nil View Post
    Nothing casual about using that word
    I agree, probably didn’t phrase that the best. No doubt the people that said it would shrug it off as casual though.

Yeah I agree no dig at you

Society has people with prejudices of all kinds, including racists.

As much as we'd like it to be different, no football team's support will ever be immune.

I get what you were meaning, it was used casually, which is probably more alarming than somebody saying it for shock value etc.

Saying such a disgusting, offensive and racist word so casually is the sign of someone who isn't aware of what a bigoted prick they are, or they are and they've made peace with it. Either way, it's a disgrace.

@hibs.net private member Frazerbob's Avatar
    Seriously stop trying to deflect this yes that is terrible and there are 100's of thread over the years on that subject stick to the topic and post on other threads.
    Unless I’m having a woosh moment, I don’t read that as deflecting. Racism and sectarianism are one and the same in most decent folks’ book.

Left by mutual consent! calumhibee1's Avatar
    I don’t think he was trying to deflect it at all

It’s a relevant point, at football in general people seem to think it’s totally acceptable to do/say totally unacceptable things. Whether it’s the N bomb, sectarian, homophobic or probably plenty other things I can’t think of off the top of my head and whether it’s Hibs, Hearts, Rangers, Celtic or whoever else, every club has them and more needs to be done to be stamped out.

The N word is used heavily by US black artists in hip and rap. Maybe that is where the young team are picking it up from.

Why would the racists son be stupid?

Quote Originally Posted by FilipinoHibs View Post
    The N word is used heavily by US black artists in hip and rap. Maybe that is where the young team are picking it up from.
    Think people of black skin can call others that name.

We’re no in Compton tho’ - muppets. And what’s it with jamming your mitts down your trousers. Bonkers man.
    "We know the people who have invested so far are simple fans." Vladimir Romanov - Scotsman 10th December 2012
    "Romanov was like a breath of fresh air - laced with cyanide." Me.

apologist?

I was actually gobsmacked a few years back when some rodent in the same row as me screamed to a Hibs player...…..get tae f/ck ya useless Irish *******. unbelievable. !!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by monktonharp View Post
    apologist?
    Not making apology for their behaviour. The use of the n word is certainly a no no for older generations and was used as a racist slur. But for younger people they may not be aware of these conotations and are only familiar of the word through rap and hip hop. Being in Scotland they may not be aware of who can and cannot use the word in US youth culture without causing offence. The language of US black youth has certainly slipped into our youth's vocabulary. So for an older person using the word is racist but for a young person that may not be the case.

Take the c word which is deeply offensive to women. But is used such as he is good c. He's fast c. Personally because I am older I would never use either word because of their meaning from my era when growing up.

Not making apology for their behaviour. The use of the n word is certainly a no no for older generations and was used as a racist slur. But for younger people they may not be aware of these conotations and are only familiar of the word through rap and hip hop. Being in Scotland they may not be aware of who can and cannot use the word in US youth culture without causing offence. The language of US black youth has certainly slipped into our youth's vocabulary. So for an older person using the word is racist but for a young person that may not be the case.

Take the c word which is deeply offensive to women. But is used such as he is good c. He's fast c. Personally because I am older I would never use either word because of their meaning from my era when growing up.
    It's no secret that the N Bomb is a nasty racist slur and Scots teens don't grow up in so much of a bubble that this would pass them by. Well done the OP for shouting him out on it. Stupid Cs like that need to learn it's not acceptable

Quote Originally Posted by basehibby View Post
    It's no secret that the N Bomb is a nasty racist slur and Scots teens don't grow up in so much of a bubble that this would pass them by. Well done the OP for shouting him out on it. Stupid Cs like that need to learn it's not acceptable
    Your reply is very uninformed and does take account of the cultural shift in the UK's youth. See the story below:

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2012/dec/04/man-cleared-racial-abuse-endearment

It seems it’s ok for rappers to slip it into their lyrics though. What’s that all about?

It’s not on. Fair play to the OP for saying something. I’m not sure I would.

Inexcusable behaviour. It's been years since I've heard that word in public.

Presumably they are too stupid to know they are not black hip hop artists? It's all about context, and they must have been extremely poor school attenders to have missed the fact the word is offensive.

Quote Originally Posted by Weegreenman View Post
    It seems it’s ok for rappers to slip it into their lyrics though. What’s that all about?

It’s not on. Fair play to the OP for saying something. I’m not sure I would.
    Irony.

@hibs.net private member One Day Soon's Avatar

Gamertag: 4 PSN ID: 6 Wii Code: 5

I'm not buying that for a second. The chances of spotty white Scottish youth not knowing that it's an offensive racist term are zero in the social media age. They will have seen people using it and being called out on it on Facebook, Twitter etc. They will have been lectured on it at school. They will have been confronted about it or seen others confronted about it by peers at school. They would have had to have led a spectacularly sheltered life not to know that it is a racist term.

And they would also have to have been completely unaware of that fact that in the popular culture they consume on screen and in music the only people using that term are black. Then on top of that they would have to have no mirrors at home to be unaware that they themselves are not black.

In my opinion, all the **** with Brexit has given the racists carte blanche to come out with this kind of thing.

To have a little bit of context to this there is a mixed race rapper who imo made one of the best songs to cover the whole race issue I'm no racist is the song title. The N word was first used as a term of endearment between blacks in the days of slavery however whites used it as a term to keep them oppressed. Yes I get that it is used heavily in alot of hop hop rap but that is the same as uk grime artists using the word man it has no connotations between blacks as it would if used between a white man and a black man because of the history. Could it be the that youth of today see it as a term to use because of the way it is used in the genre possibly but it is no excuse.

Also as far as I'm aware there is two ways in which it is said american artists end it with an A the racist term is ended with an ER how it is different and what's separates them I have no idea
    Last edited by pontius pilate; 22-12-2019 at 08:11 AM.

[QUOTE=Fuzzywuzzy;6023780]In my opinion, all the **** with Brexit has given the racists carte blanche to come out with this kind of thing.[/QUOTE

Racists don’t need an excuse to be racist.

Blaming Brexit is just bull****!

Brexit was never about racism, it was about protectionism.