Page 9 of 16 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast
    Left by mutual consent! Fife-Hibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Mibbes Aye View Post
    It is not just me who says it. Do you ever feel uncomfortable about the fact that you consistently target women? What is wrong with you?
    Are you suggesting that Nicola Sturgeon, Leanne Wood and Caroline Lucas are not women. But Boris Johnson, Nigel Farage and Alex Cole-Hamilton are?

Do you ever feel uncomfortable about your generalized sweeping inaccurate statements?
    Last edited by Fife-Hibee; 03-11-2019 at 10:37 PM.

Another disastrous interview from Swinson (who i'm not allowed to criticize because she's a woman....)

https://twitter.com/toryfibs/status/...uefwGbamjuzaIo

Last edited by Fife-Hibee; 03-11-2019 at 11:03 PM.

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Fife-Hibee View Post
    Are you suggesting that Nicola Sturgeon, Leanne Wood and Caroline Lucas are not women. But Boris Johnson, Nigel Farage and Alex Cole-Hamilton are?

Do you ever feel uncomfortable about your generalized sweeping inaccurate statements?
    I don’t really take your judgements on me that seriously. You are hard to take seriously as a poster. You pontificate, and then when called out for inaccuracy or lies disappear only to re-emerge after a gap. And that’s not my opinion. Other posters called you out for it before I did.

I, and other posters, have called you out because you seem to direct your venom at women politicians. Own it.
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

I don’t really take your judgements on me that seriously. You are hard to take seriously as a poster. You pontificate, and then when called out for inaccuracy or lies disappear only to re-emerge after a gap. And that’s not my opinion. Other posters called you out for it before I did.

I, and other posters, have called you out because you seem to direct your venom at women politicians. Own it.
    You're right, I do direct venom at politicians who happen to be women. I also happen to direct venom at politicians that happen to be men.

But in your "totally non-sexist" mind, women are too delicate to face criticism on the level that men do.

Get out of the 60s.

Another disastrous interview from Swinson (who i'm not allowed to criticize because she's a woman....)

And you’re not the first person to post that but I am not seeing what was disastrous about it. I am a member of a different party than hers but she responded fairly and accurately.

I think Jo Swinson scares the likes of folk like you, that’s why there is so much venom and vitriol poured at her, from you. Unfortunately it just makes you look worse.

Is it because she is a woman? Is it because she scares you? I don’t know but I don’t think for a second you will be honest about it.
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

And you’re not the first person to post that but I am not seeing what was disastrous about it. I am a member of a different party than hers but she responded fairly and accurately.

I think Jo Swinson scares the likes of folk like you, that’s why there is so much venom and vitriol poured at her, from you. Unfortunately it just makes you look worse.

Is it because she is a woman? Is it because she scares you? I don’t know but I don’t think for a second you will be honest about it.
    Fairly and accurately? Her party has been sending out data that simply doesn't exist. Everything from graphs generated from non-existent data to claims that Jo Swinson is going to be the Primeminister after the election. Are you sure you're not just 100% completely blinkered?

You're right, I do direct venom at politicians who happen to be women. I also happen to direct venom at politicians that happen to be men.

But in your "totally non-sexist" mind, women are too delicate to face criticism on the level that men do.

Get out of the 60s.
    ‘Directing venom’ is a pretty sad place to find yourself in. Is that where you find yourself in life? ‘Directing venom’? You are an adult I assume.

The reason you are getting called out for it, and not just by me, is it appears to be directed more at women, which is worrying. Any grown-up should be able to recognise that.

‘Directing venom’ is a pretty sad place to find yourself in. Is that where you find yourself in life? ‘Directing venom’? You are an adult I assume.

The reason you are getting called out for it, and not just by me, is it appears to be directed more at women, which is worrying. Any grown-up should be able to recognise that.
    I simply used your own words seeing as you associate any perfectly legitimate criticism I aim towards female politicians on here as "directing venom".

Seeing as you're the only person on here that seems to "recognise" it, perhaps you actually have a lot of growing up to do. It's generally little children who see things that aren't there.

But seeing as you rightfully pointed out that the interview had already been posted by another poster. I'll be more than happy to post yet another car crash interview involving Jo Swinson.

I simply used your own words seeing as you associate any perfectly legitimate criticism I aim towards female politicians on here as "directing venom".

Seeing as you're the only person on here that seems to "recognise" it, perhaps you actually have a lot of growing up to do. It's generally little children who see things that aren't there.
    Okay.

So you come on a Hibs fans website, and post pretty much on the non-football threads and say you direct venom at women politicians. That is your words, even if you deleted the post it would still show in my reply.

In the current climate that isn’t acceptable, nor is it acceptable towards male MPs, but you really need a refresher class on equality, given some of your previous posts.

This is a forum for debate, not for venom. Did no one explain that to you?

Okay.

So you come on a Hibs fans website, and post pretty much on the non-football threads and say you direct venom at women politicians. That is your words, even if you deleted the post it would still show in my reply.

In the current climate that isn’t acceptable, nor is it acceptable towards male MPs, but you really need a refresher class on equality, given some of your previous posts.

This is a forum for debate, not for venom. Did no one explain that to you?
    "Venom" was your choice of word. Which indicates to me, like so many of your other posts on here that you're not here to have a grown up debate with anyone.

There is no debating with someone who sees things that are not, but can't see things that are.

But seeing as you rightfully pointed out that the interview had already been posted by another poster. I'll be more than happy to post yet another car crash interview involving Jo Swinson.

She is Tory lite; diet Tory. Appalling.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    She is Tory lite; diet Tory. Appalling.
    Playing devils advocate here but weren't the snp called 'tartan tories' at one time too.

Quote Originally Posted by Frankhfc View Post
    Playing devils advocate here but weren't the snp called 'tartan tories' at one time too.
    Aye, they have become more progressive since that time, but are to the right of a party I would vote for.

"Venom" was your choice of word. Which indicates to me, like so many of your other posts on here that you're not here to have a grown up debate with anyone.

There is no debating with someone who sees things that are not, but can't see things that are.
    You said you direct venom at politicians who are women. Your words, not mine.

You have been accused by what I would suggest are reasonable posters on here as having problems with female politicians. I would suggest that you can’t refute that. If you could then you should and would have by now.

Aye, they have become more progressive since that time, but are to the right of a party I would vote for.
    Well here's an idea. Why don't you make a case for that party instead of calling the Lib Dems 'appalling tory lites' when there's people like me who are anti tory but find the Lib Dems an appealing anti Brexit party. It doesn't make for decent reading or debate when name calling, It doesn't attract anyone who might wish to make a different point for fear of being heckled.

You have been accused by what I would suggest are reasonable posters on here as having problems with female politicians. I would suggest that you can’t refute that. If you could then you should and would have by now.
    I do have a problem with female politicians though, bad female politicians.

Your problem is, you live in a bubble where people aren't allowed to call out politicians on their BS is they just so happen to be female. Which seems kind of sexist to me.

Well here's an idea. Why don't you make a case for that party instead of calling the Lib Dems 'appalling tory lites' when there's people like me who are anti tory but find the Lib Dems an appealing anti Brexit party. It doesn't make for decent reading or debate when name calling, It doesn't attract anyone who might wish to make a different point for fear of being heckled.
    You can make any point you wish and nobody will heckle you. If you wish to support the Lib Dems, good luck to you. There are a wide range of views on this forum regarding Brexit, Scottish independence and many other things. Nobody is censored from expressing their views nor are they heckled. I think Swinson is terribly inept, but wouldn't shout anybody down who supports her. I was merely giving my view, not castigating anyone of a different opinion.

By the way, this thread specifically asks for thoughts on Jo Swinson, so you shouldn't be surprised when opinions are offered, and of course not all will be positive.
    Last edited by Hibernia&Alba; 04-11-2019 at 10:25 AM.

You can make any point you wish and nobody will heckle you. If you wish to support the Lib Dems, good luck to you. There are a wide range of views on this forum regarding Brexit, Scottish independence and many other things. Nobody is censored from expressing their views nor are they heckled. I think Swinson is terribly inept, but wouldn't shout anybody down who supports her. I was merely giving my view, not castigating anyone of a different opinion.
    Could you rank our political leaders in order of ineptness?

I'm going to have to review my ignore list.

I'm obviously missing out on too much fun!

I do have a problem with female politicians though, bad female politicians.

Your problem is, you live in a bubble where people aren't allowed to call out politicians on their BS is they just so happen to be female. Which seems kind of sexist to me.
    Which echoes the point I made earlier.

You either don’t understand or don’t want to understand, or choose not to understand inequality, which is why you say that males should be treated the same way as females, even though all the evidence points out to how women are disadvantaged in comparison.

And (I think it was you, I can check) white people can be racially discriminated against, even though racism is very much structured on an axis of white people dominating others. So again, you can’t apply the same rules.

And likewise, gay people have faced discrimination in so many ways that straight people can’t imagine.

If I live in a bubble I bet it is a bubble that more people would want to live in than yours.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    That's a tough yin; the competition is fierce.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    As a HoC performer, 1. Corbyn

All round ineptness, 1. Johnson

In fairness to Swinson she is a reflection of the horrendous standard of political leaders we have. These are the worst in my lifetime. Worse than Kinnock,milliband,hague,Howard,etc. Oh for a John Smith or Charles Kennedy. Real people instead of schemers only doing what suits their ends. No principles or morals. What have we done to deserve these phonies.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by mjhibby View Post
    In fairness to Swinson she is a reflection of the horrendous standard of political leaders we have. These are the worst in my lifetime. Worse than Kinnock,milliband,hague,Howard,etc. Oh for a John Smith or Charles Kennedy. Real people instead of schemers only doing what suits their ends. No principles or morals. What have we done to deserve these phonies.
    Vote for them.

Which echoes the point I made earlier.

You either don’t understand or don’t want to understand, or choose not to understand inequality, which is why you say that males should be treated the same way as females, even though all the evidence points out to how women are disadvantaged in comparison.

And (I think it was you, I can check) white people can be racially discriminated against, even though racism is very much structured on an axis of white people dominating others. So again, you can’t apply the same rules.

And likewise, gay people have faced discrimination in so many ways that straight people can’t imagine.

If I live in a bubble I bet it is a bubble that more people would want to live in than yours.
    Inequality is subjective. Don’t just assume that your own personal take on the issue is the version everybody buys into. It’s not all anti-women, men can also be disadvantaged in certain situations. We’re just not as loud about it.

It makes no difference to me if a woman is paid less for either working less or doing a job where the demand for the Labour isn’t strong enough to pay well. It’s a Labour driven economy and business won’t pay anybody more than they need to.

I’m wasting my time here though, because these are concepts you just don’t grasp.

@hibs.net private member Smartie's Avatar
    I think it's got a bit dull now.

The Tories did a lot of damage to a lot of people in Scotland, particularly during Thatcher in the 1908s. During that time the "Tory brand" suffered irreparable damage, and rightly so.

Since then, calling folk Tories of various descriptions - red Tories, tartan Tories etc has been a go to insult.

It's dull and it is irrelevant. Just because something is a wee bit to the right of where you happen to sit doesn't make them a Tory. Just because something is a wee bit to the left doesn't make them a communist.

It's lowest common denominator rubbish and it turns a lot more people off than it actually has a positive effect on.

Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post
    I think it's got a bit dull now.

The Tories did a lot of damage to a lot of people in Scotland, particularly during Thatcher in the 1908s. During that time the "Tory brand" suffered irreparable damage, and rightly so.

Since then, calling folk Tories of various descriptions - red Tories, tartan Tories etc has been a go to insult.

It's dull and it is irrelevant. Just because something is a wee bit to the right of where you happen to sit doesn't make them a Tory. Just because something is a wee bit to the left doesn't make them a communist.

It's lowest common denominator rubbish and it turns a lot more people off than it actually has a positive effect on.
    Hold on a minute, let's look at the record. Swinson was happy to serve in a coalition government with a Tory government which imposed unnecessary suffering on the poorest during years of austerity. She voted for those policies, yet she says she wouldn't do the same for Labour if required. She is one of those 'Orange Book' free marketeer Lib Dems who lean more towards the Tory view. Her claim she couldn't support a Labour government because Corbyn hasn't been tough enough on anti-Semitism is disingenuous. Charles Kennedy, for example, was on the more progressive wing of the party.

Whatever Fife's faults are on here, you put those words into his emmm... fingers, backed him into a corner insisting he has sexist tendencies. And your relentless pursuing of him, because he's an advocate of Scottish independence, is getting a bit tiresome.

So what if he posts mainly in the holy ground? It's entirely up to him and he's not the only one.

Hold on a minute, let's look at the record. Swinson was happy to serve in a coalition government with a Tory government which imposed unnecessary suffering on the poorest during years of austerity. She voted for those policies, yet she says she wouldn't do the same for Labour if required. She is one of those 'Orange Book' free marketeer Lib Dems who lean more towards the Tory view. Her claim she couldn't support a Labour government because Corbyn hasn't been tough enough on anti-Semitism is disingenuous. Charles Kennedy, for example, was on the more progressive wing of the party.
    What any politician says about what they would and wouldn't do if they were in a hung parliament should be taken with a huge pinch of salt.

No, I'm wrong, it should be totally ignored.

Every word they say is designed to make them more attractive to their target audience.

She'll deal with Labour in a hung parliament if it's expedient to do so. The reverse is also true, although Labour would currently deny that.