Looking to drive people to invite confrontation then they can claim to be keeping the peace.This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Thread: Catalunya
-
20-10-2019 12:33 PM #31
-
20-10-2019 12:37 PM #32
-
20-10-2019 12:44 PM #33
Until, God forbid, the first protester dies then the sh@t will hit the fan.
-
20-10-2019 12:46 PM #34
Certainly the BBC seem to be siding with the seperatists here.
-
20-10-2019 12:53 PM #35
I have been back in Scotland the past couple of months but friends have said that there is a lot, but not universal support in Andalusia but we have aspirations of further attomonny here.
-
20-10-2019 01:24 PM #36This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Although the Spanish civil war and its aftermath are massively interlinked with the situation in Catalonia now, there’s a hell of a lot else going on.
-
20-10-2019 01:28 PM #37This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
20-10-2019 01:31 PM #38
For context, check the lead stories in El Pais (roughly the Guardian equivalent).
https://elpais.com/elpais/inenglish.html
-
20-10-2019 02:35 PM #39
This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote.
-
20-10-2019 02:49 PM #40
-
20-10-2019 03:31 PM #41
screenshot.3982.jpg
giving it laldy to the polis
https://www.facebook.com/groups/45fo...5764711904066/
-
20-10-2019 03:42 PM #42This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
20-10-2019 03:48 PM #43
Missing ballot boxes, referendum, it's almost like I've heard about that happening elsewhere.
-
20-10-2019 04:02 PM #44This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteThere is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.
-
20-10-2019 04:14 PM #45
Vés-te'n, hen, vés-te'n.
-
20-10-2019 04:20 PM #46This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
en efecte
-
20-10-2019 05:16 PM #47
-
20-10-2019 05:19 PM #48This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Un munt de rialles
:)
-
20-10-2019 05:23 PM #49
-
20-10-2019 07:41 PM #50
They were one of over 4,000 signatories of the National agreement for the referendum, a group comprising political parties, and civil society organisations.
Moreover, the behind closed doors match in 2017 which had the word, democracia, emblazoned on the scoreboard during the whole match.
Mair power tae them.
-
20-10-2019 09:17 PM #51
Some of the videos of police brutality are shocking makes you wonder if this is the future for the EU?
Independence movements crushed and police brutality brushed under the carpet.
-
20-10-2019 09:59 PM #52This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
20-10-2019 09:59 PM #53
-
20-10-2019 10:01 PM #54
FC Barcelona have always been a pro- Catalan but have only given limited support. They issued a statement in support of the jailed men but did not demand their release, as they should have imho, done
-
20-10-2019 10:14 PM #55
-
20-10-2019 10:44 PM #56
Over 50 comments so far 2 of them by me and I have to say I just don`t recognise the Spain that most comments here are suggesting Spain is .
A few observations :
1. Recent demonstrations in Catalonia are supposed to be demonstrating against Spanish courts decisions to imprison some independence politicians . Not all the people on marches will support independence - most will but some will be Catalans who don`t support independence but oppose courts decision and others seem to be a mixture of anti system from various countries who join any protest going .
2. Decision to imprison politicians was taken by 7 independent judges not by politicians . The decision was based on attacks on the Spanish constitution which gives regions considerable autonomy ( Catalonia has more autonomy than Scotland for example even though Catalonia has never been an independent state ) but is designed to protect national unity too . The Spanish constitition is a copy of the German one and similar to the Italian , French and Austrian ones . I suspect Germany and France would never let any region get into a situation where any region could cause so many problems and would certainly act just as heavy handedly if problems arose .
3. Franco has nothing to do with present situation in Catalonia or anywhere else in Spain . As some have mentioned here already Franco had many supporters in Catalonia ( many of the independence supporting Catalan politicians are grandchildren of Franco supporters ) . Many foreign journalists ( particularly British ones ) like to bring Franco into Spanish politics and unfortunately his exhumation this week will be used by press and some unsrupulous politicians to mix him with Catalan situation .
4. Accusations of police brutality . Not entirely sure what images people in UK are seeing and after the illegal referendum in 2017 many images shown had been recorded several years before . Spanish police ( from all regions of Spain - within Spain Catalan police seem to have worst reputation ) seem to have a reputation with foreigners particularly football fans for not hanging back if provoced . All the news reports I`m seeing are mentioning the tremendous aggression of minority of demonstrators who are causing trouble and the tremendous job the police (Catalan regional police and national police forces ) are doing in terrible conditions . A lot of people reading this will have been on holiday in Spanish costas and islands and seen tourists acting like animals without great police repression .
5. In any country i find that people want to live well - safety being the first priority and politics is secondary . This week`s demonstrations have made thousands of decent people of varying or no political leaning suffer terribly . Old people terrified to go out , massive vandalism , dangerous fires near petrol stations etc etc . A lesson for Scottish nationalism - unilateral demand for independence would put movement back many years .
-
21-10-2019 06:55 AM #57This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Catalonia has its own police force, the Mossos d'Esquadra that has largely replaced the Guardia Civil and Policia Nacional so it is largely the local police force that is involved. Some reinforcements have been drafted in from Valencia, Zaragoza and Madrid to help. Incidentally the Spanish police are held in very high esteem by the majority of Spaniards and are consistently rated highly in polls of public satisfaction with public services. There is generally a lot of trust in them.
Franco saw Catalonia and the Basque country as threats and invested heavily in the regions building industry there. The logic was that if people had a decent standard of living and employment then independence would be less of a threat. Ironically this helped to make them 2 of the economic powerhouses of the country and they could both do well economically as independent countries.
As we know from situations like Northern Ireland this type of situation can only be settled by dialogue and concessions from both sides. Sadly both sides seem to be digging in their heels and the blame game is being played at present.
Spanish politics and history are both fascinating and complicated. Some time ago I read Ghosts of Spain, travelling through a country's hidden past by Giles Tremlett, the Guardian's Spanish correspondent. A fascinating book that gives much insight into Spain's past with many things I did not know or appreciate
-
21-10-2019 07:24 AM #58
Very interesting insights, thanks very much guys.
-
21-10-2019 07:43 AM #59
-
21-10-2019 07:52 AM #60