Page 6 of 16 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast
    Good pic of them all walking along the Sands at Bournemouth.
    Typical Lib Dems. All style and no substance.

Quote Originally Posted by bawheid View Post
    If they’re genuinely thinking that, quietly or not, then they’re not on this planet. There’s absolutely no chance the Lib Dems are going from a dozen or so seats to 300 odds in one go. Or ever!

As for Swinson, I can’t put my finger on it, but there’s something sinister about her. I think she’s a Tory who realised that to get into parliament in Scotland (at that time) you couldn’t be a Tory, so she became a Lib Dem.
    Bang on. She's a more attractve version of Ruthie, that's all.

Left by mutual consent! Fife-Hibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Renfrew_Hibby View Post
    Every man is a more attractive version of Ruthie.

Swinton = watered down Tory.

Quote Originally Posted by Mibbes Aye View Post
    You really do manipulate facts to portray a false position don’t you? Aren’t you ever embarrassed?

Swinson was backing party policy in 2008. The Lib Dems were calling for an in/out referendum in which they would back staying in. And let’s not forget this was under Nick Clegg, who may be many things but is as Europhile as they come.

She criticised Cameron for calling a referendum that was all about managing dissent within the Tories, which everyone agrees with.

And even if her personal view was to leave in 2008, which I’ve not seen any proof of - it is possible to change ones mind. Unfortunately there are a few too many swivel heads who want to direct anger against those who voted the other way in both referenda, rather than seeking to understand why they did and how to persuade them otherwise.

Seems to me that Swinson on here attracts disproportionate vitriol and insults, usually of a personal nature (her accent etc). That suggests to me that she may be more of a threat to those posters than they care to admit. I suspect some of the ladies on here doth protest too much :-)
    That's an incredible level of mental gymnastics you pulled off there. Good job.

There's "changing your mind" and there's "changing your mind because it suits your political career in that particular moment".

So what's to stop her "changing her mind" again if a tory coalition opportunity arises?
    Last edited by Fife-Hibee; 18-09-2019 at 05:27 PM.

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Fife-Hibee View Post
    That's an incredible level of mental gymnastics you pulled off there. Good job.

There's "changing your mind" and there's "changing your mind because it suits your political career in that particular moment".

So what's to stop her "changing her mind" again if a tory coalition opportunity arises?
    Manipulation again.

Who said she changed her mind, other than you?

You really are at it, but people aren’t so stupid not to see it, despite your previous posts calling voters stupid.

I think we can add another lie to the list you are accumulating.
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

Manipulation again.

Who said she changed her mind, other than you?

You really are at it, but people aren’t so stupid not to see it, despite your previous posts calling voters stupid.

I think we can add another lie to the list you are accumulating.
    You said "it is possible to change ones mind."

I agree with you. Although some politicians seem to change their mind back and forth to suit their own political career ambitions.

My question to you is. What's to stop her changing her mind again?

You've already been pulled up for calling me a liar. Lets not go down that route again.

You said "it is possible to change ones mind."

I agree with you. Although some politicians seem to change their mind back and forth to suit their own political career ambitions.

My question to you is. What's to stop her changing her mind again?

You've already been pulled up for calling me a liar. Lets not go down that route again.
    Pulled up by a poster who agrees with you, yeah, alright then

I said I hadn’t seen any proof her personal view in 2008 was to leave, which is what you are suggesting. Put up some proof and we can move this on.

I then said that even if she did, why wouldn’t it be possible to change her mind?

So, I’m speculating on a hypothetical that I don’t believe to be true anyway.

You are twisting the hypothetical and making it out to be fact.

To say you you lack subtlety is underegging it to a huge degree.
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

i mean, what's not to like about the leader of the tory lites

screenshot.3178.jpg
    Last edited by cabbageandribs1875; 18-09-2019 at 08:18 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by cabbageandribs1875 View Post

screenshot.3178.jpg
    You're wasting your time. Some people value soundbites over actions. Even if the actions completely contradict the soundbites.

Quote Originally Posted by Renfrew_Hibby View Post
    Posted without comment

Quote Originally Posted by degenerated View Post
    Posted without comment

saw a few of them earlier i honestly thought they were photoshops...........apparently not

They'll be posting pictures of Ed Milliband eating a bacon sandwich next.

@hibs.net private member Smartie's Avatar
    Posted without comment

Instead of comment can we get some Jeremy Corbyn creepy music to go with it?

Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post
    Instead of comment can we get some Jeremy Corbyn creepy music to go with it?
    Only if the BBC are prepared to broadcast it. Perhaps they'll get round to it when the fall out of love with her like they did with Ruth Davidson.

Posted without comment

Why would you post that? See my earlier post about desperate tactics by some folk who are a wee bit more unnerved about Swinson than their ego lets them admit. Otherwise they would make it about policy not personal.

Unnerved? We're laughing at her and those who can't see through her. I'm pretty sure you said we were "unnerved" by Ruth Davidson as well. Where is she now?

Quote Originally Posted by cabbageandribs1875 View Post

screenshot.3178.jpg
    Its not really debate when you copy and paste tawdry memes or the like, is it?

I am not a member of her party but I know her voting record on gay rights is solid. I know she voted against hereditary peers and I know she voted against making it harder to seek asylum in this country and she was anti-Trident, which should please a few folk on here.

I also know she voted for things I would disagree with but then she is a Lib Dem with the emphasis on Lib so what else should one expect? I don’t criticise Ken Clarke for wanting lower corporation tax, it is where he comes from politically. I can still be prepared to listen to and respect his views, even if I disagree.

Bit too much polarisation of views on here, it is all about put downs rather than actually engaging with different opinions, which is disappointing. Is that the best we can do?

Unnerved? We're laughing at her and those who can't see through her. I'm pretty sure you said we were "unnerved" by Ruth Davidson as well. Where is she now?
    Keep posting like that FH, it says all that needs to be said about you. No debate from you, just personal attacks and unsubstantiated or false accusations against people. It is poor, poor stuff.

I am not a member of her party but I know her voting record on gay rights is solid. I know she voted against hereditary peers and I know she voted against making it harder to seek asylum in this country and she was anti-Trident, which should please a few folk on here.

I also know she voted for things I would disagree with but then she is a Lib Dem with the emphasis on Lib so what else should one expect? I don’t criticise Ken Clarke for wanting lower corporation tax, it is where he comes from politically. I can still be prepared to listen to and respect his views, even if I disagree.

Bit too much polarisation of views on here, it is all about put downs rather than actually engaging with different opinions, which is disappointing. Is that the best we can do?
    She backed policies that drove people to suicide. If that's ok in your book, then thats your business. Don't expect everybody else on here to feel the same way.

These voting record things are beyond tedious. Minister in coalition government votes with the government is really not a story.

As I said on the other thread, I think the new ultra remain thing is overreaching but she’s getting them noticed in a way Farron & Cable singularly failed to.

As an aside, she’s a tactical boon for the SNP for any Westminster election because the Unionist vote that more or less coalesced around Ruth will split again.

Quote Originally Posted by JeMeSouviens View Post
    These voting record things are beyond tedious. Minister in coalition government votes with the government is really not a story.

As I said on the other thread, I think the new ultra remain thing is overreaching but she’s getting them noticed in a way Farron & Cable singularly failed to.

As an aside, she’s a tactical boon for the SNP for any Westminster election because the Unionist vote that more or less coalesced around Ruth will split again.
    Yes and agree with you about the They Vote For You stuff, it doesn’t contextualise the circumstances.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Posted without comment

That's pretty low. I've said it about Sturgeon and I'll now say it about Swinson, once the opposition start attacking someone for the way they look then you know they've exhausted their reasoned argumentation.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    That's pretty low. I've said it about Sturgeon and I'll now say it about Swinson, once the opposition start attacking someone for the way they look then you know they've exhausted their reasoned argumentation.
    The appearance stuff is mostly aimed at femae politicians. It’s sexist ****. Sad stuff.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    The appearance stuff is mostly aimed at femae politicians. It’s sexist ****. Sad stuff.
    I'd agree with "mostly" but it's certainly not exclusively, Salmond and Miliband got ripped apart for their appearance. To be fair I have had a go at Gove in the past, but that's more to do with his practiced look of sincerity and less to do with his appearance.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    The appearance stuff is mostly aimed at female politicians. It’s sexist ****. Sad stuff.
    Correct. I'm seeing a photo of a woman laughing. I'm not quite sure why people find this worthy of comment, never mind ridicule.

Because Boris Johnson is never compared to a baboon?

Why do people only ever get angry when it's aimed at female politicians, but nobody seems to bat an eyelid when it's aimed at male politicians?

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    Yes, regardless of political persuasion, attacking on looks is low and it is massively biased against women.

It says a lot lot more about those who post such trash than those who they are posting about.

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar
    Because Boris Johnson is never compared to a baboon?

Why do people only ever get angry when it's aimed at female politicians, but nobody seems to bat an eyelid when it's aimed at male politicians?
    Some folk don’t really care what politicians look like either way.

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    Some folk don’t really care what politicians look like either way.

I don't think anybody really cares what politicians look like. But people are always going to laugh and make fun on unflattering pictures of people in the public eye. It's not "sexist". It happens to people regardless of their gender. There just seems to be a bigger song and dance about it when it happens to females these days. Real sexism comes from treating women like delicate flowers who we can't laugh at the expense of like we do with men.