Page 354 of 484 FirstFirst ... 254304344352353354355356364404454 ... LastLast
Results 10,591 to 10,620 of 14514
    Quote Originally Posted by mcfly View Post
    Such a negative post

Glad your not doing our team talk on Sunday

Deary me
    Yet you failed to answer any of the questions? Who is there protecting the back line?

One up top, wide players bombing on with an aging right back and a inexperienced left back leaving us completely vulnerable to attacks and open us up.

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Torto7 View Post
    We've lost Milligan, Marv and Omeonga. There were times last season when we were bullied and overrun in midfield. I'm happy with Vela and Allan coming in but we need more. I don't understand how anyone could think we don't.
    I agree, the idea of a fluid midfield where everyone can do a bit of everything sounds fantastic but I think it’s a bit idealistic when up against the stronger sides.

Mallan for example I don’t think will ever be someone we can rely on to perform disciplined defensive duties. That’s not a dig at him, that’s just not his game.

There’ll be many games we don’t need a natural defensive midfielder and it’s refreshing to hear Heckers talking like that, to think we will never need one this season is naive IMO.

Unfortunately I think one game we will need one is coming up on Sunday and I fear a pumping will be coming our way if we’ve got ideas of not offering proper protection to our defence.

Quote Originally Posted by 04Sauzee View Post
    We need to realise that Rangers are spending a fortune on their recruitment now, they are much better than they were last season. Where we finish in the league this season will not be determined by tomorrows result or performance. Just like Hearts start to last season had no bearing to how they would end the season. We are 1 game in I can't understand why folk are getting so worked up.
    They are, but we can at least sign players to stop teams getting to us away from home. It seems even if we get pumped on Dhnday it will be “oh rangers have spent much more”. We struggled against the worst team in the league last week having struggled pre-season (3 wins aye I know, all games struggles though) there’s not nearly enough positional cover in major areas.

@hibs.net private member Unseen work's Avatar
    We were after Omeonga and McNulty prior to them signing for other clubs, I would imagine since we never got them were still looking for a midfielder and a striker, regardless of what Heckingbottom says in a press conference.

Middleton is coming in for Boyle.

Re the money, Gordon said he has gave us a 7 figure sum to do with what we wish, it will be down to Leanne and George what that gets spent on and by the sounds of it the playing squad won’t be the priority as we already have a good, competitive budget.

If he says we have a bigger budget clubs and players will seek more money.

It makes no difference if Heckingbottom would have signed Allan before, we have him now and Hecky is clearly a fan, said he’s a good player and is clearly a big part of his plans, starting him in games.

The forum is getting very petty, folk arguing and getting upset at the slightest thing.

Theres nothing wrong with someone thinking a Hearts, Aberdeen, Celtic or Rangers signing is superb, good, bad or terrible

Left by mutual consent! PaulSmith's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by underscore View Post
    Bartley would start about what 7/8 games a season? Campbell or Stirling are both better footballers.
    Based on your opinion of having watched them in the reserves?

@hibs.net private member Stuart93's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Callum_62 View Post
    Anyone else find the quotes about our finances not changing as slightly odd?

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
    What were the quotes?

Not really. Budgets were put in place prior to Ron buying Hibs. Think he’s just assessing the situation, and looking to the long term

I'd be lying if I said an alarm bell didn't go off in my head.

There's a thread on the bounce though that seems to suggest that Ron Gordon has been very involved behind the scenes and Leanne and each department at the club are getting business plans together to be submitted to RG.

If this is the case I'm wondering if we'll be keeping back money until these plans are approved? I don't think we need too many more in just one or two.

I also think folk were expecting more razzle dazzle after the takeover but he seems to be taking the patient approach which isn't a bad thing necessarily.

Such quotes are about 2 things after Ron's heralded arrival
    1. playing poker with players, agents and other football clubs about what money we are willing to spend
    2. managing the expectations of Hibs supporters and those at 1. above

Once those 2 things have been achieved we can go about our business on an even playing field again.

Club and manager chat on such matters should be ignored for the above reasons.
    All that really matters is what actually happens.

P.S. I expect us to get another 2 good quality players in on loan after Middleton's arrival
    Last edited by CMurdoch; 09-08-2019 at 04:40 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by 90+2 View Post
    They are, but we can at least sign players to stop teams getting to us away from home. It seems even if we get pumped on Dhnday it will be “oh rangers have spent much more”. We struggled against the worst team in the league last week having struggled pre-season (3 wins aye I know, all games struggles though) there’s not nearly enough positional cover in major areas.
    You have us down for a 1-0 or 2-1 reverse. That's not to shabby. Rangers will finish closer to Celtic than they will to Hibs.

Quote Originally Posted by Barman Stanton View Post
    Ffs you do realise you are on a Hibs forum yeah?
    Duncan knows exactly where he is.

Quote Originally Posted by Torto7 View Post
    I'd be lying if I said an alarm bell didn't go off in my head.

There's a thread on the bounce though that seems to suggest that Ron Gordon has been very involved behind the scenes and Leanne and each department at the club are getting business plans together to be submitted to RG.

If this is the case I'm wondering if we'll be keeping back money until these plans are approved? I don't think we need too many more in just one or two.

I also think folk were expecting more razzle dazzle after the takeover but he seems to be taking the patient approach which isn't a bad thing necessarily.
    I’m maybe clutching at straws a little as well but Heckers isn’t ‘his man’ so there could be an element of him being assessed before throwing money at him.

I still think if a particularly good opportunity comes up to sign someone we’ll try to get it done but it wouldn’t be a very good start for Heckingbottom under Rons reign if he pretty much ignored the boundaries he was set and just wanted more and more.

Quote Originally Posted by hibbyfraelibby View Post
    Duncan knows exactly where he is.
    This Duncan's chat is embarrassing. It's about as insulting as yams.

@hibs.net private member jeffers's Avatar
    Hopefully his chat about no more signings is pish otherwise like others I think we are in for a long hard season. Whether we want to call them a defensive midfielder or not we have no one bar Vela who will put their foot in or stand up and be counted when Hearts and Aberdeen are trying to kick us off the park.

I worry our midfield will get steamrollered on Sunday and will struggle against other sides.

Again he could be talking pish but he says we don’t have the budget for more signings, makes the decision not to go with a shirt sponsor all the more bewildering.

Quote Originally Posted by Since90+2 View Post
    It’s dreadful.

I dont think anybody would use it out of Hibs.net though.

Its only an insult if you are one, an embarassment if you are a snowflake and a coded observation if you are not fooled

I actually think it's pretty clever, and I'm not usually one for all the cringeworthy names we use for them on here ("yam" being the prime example).

If we win on Sunday this place will go into meltdown 😉

Quote Originally Posted by Diclonius View Post
    I actually think it's pretty clever, and I'm not usually one for all the cringeworthy names we use for them on here ("yam" being the prime example).
    Where has it come from? Passed me by but seen it a lot in the last week or so.

Quote Originally Posted by Since452 View Post
    I’m going there to see us win

Quote Originally Posted by Since452 View Post
    If we don't win I'll be back on here about Wed/Thu 😂

Quote Originally Posted by hibbyfraelibby View Post
    Its only an insult if you are one, an embarassment if you are a snowflake and a coded observation if you are not fooled
    Why is it insulting though? Is it not some chat about a made up Murray brother? It's hardly insulting.

Like Yams I'd be surprised if it's ever used outside of Hibs.net. Thankfully.

@hibs.net private member jeffers's Avatar
    Agree I think it’s quite funny too, not sure it will be used much outwith here, but far better than Yam IMO

Quote Originally Posted by beensaidbefore View Post

I thought I was the only one who didn't understand lol. OK get it now......

Ah, I get I now. Thanks.

I actually thought that was hilarious when saw it a few weeks back. Good fun. I was a bit concerned it had something to do with a hospital building in morningside!

Why is it insulting though? Is it not some chat about a made up Murray brother? It's hardly insulting.

Like Yams I'd be surprised if it's ever used outside of Hibs.net. Thankfully.
    You were the one who called it insulting in your post I responded to.

Maybe you can explain the thinking behind "its almost as insulting as Yams" as you obviously equate it as such.

Quote Originally Posted by PaulSmith View Post
    Based on your opinion of having watched them in the reserves?

Why the need for a defensive midfielder? Best midfield in 20 years had a deep playmaker, a box to box and an attacking playmaker. It's the box to box/ballwinner Mcginn type were missing now, not a Marv type. Although having one to bring on or for Tynecastle could be helpful but it's not a vital thing.

Quote Originally Posted by Winston Ingram View Post
    ...evidenced by the fact he didn’t play there last week.
    Our midfield rotated last week. But he could also just tell him to stay as a fixed DM.