Page 319 of 484 FirstFirst ... 219269309317318319320321329369419 ... LastLast
Results 9,541 to 9,570 of 14514
    Quote Originally Posted by Iggy Pope View Post
    Aye. We’ve got an opportunity to borrow one from Rangers and help him develop as we are a team a bit smaller than them to send him back better, not replace one. Boyle’s injury is hardly unexpected. I’m still amazed he was brought into that last Friday. It had relapse written all over it from where I was standing.
    I can’t see how this pans out in our favour - If he is great, we love him. He goes back and we seethe.
    If he’s ***** he’ll get it tight all week every week (and I might add, not from me, contrary to yer man 90+2s opinion of my outlook). Developing young players for our league rivals isn’t for me. And I don’t think we’ve done this before.
    At the very least we can expect to loan another quality winger next season, or perhaps by then we’ll have the resources to buy, certainly that’ll be easier if this guy helps us get European football this term.

Left by mutual consent! calumhibee1's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    If you think about it Middleton coming to us is great. A youngster with great potential and it pisses off a large chunk of rangers fans.
    And even though he’s a youngster with great potential (and a lot to offer now aswell) its pissed off a load of our own seemingly. I’m sure he’ll prove them wrong.

Aye. We’ve got an opportunity to borrow one from Rangers and help him develop as we are a team a bit smaller than them to send him back better, not replace one. Boyle’s injury is hardly unexpected. I’m still amazed he was brought into that last Friday. It had relapse written all over it from where I was standing.
    I can’t see how this pans out in our favour - If he is great, we love him. He goes back and we seethe.
    If he’s ***** he’ll get it tight all week every week (and I might add, not from me, contrary to yer man 90+2s opinion of my outlook). Developing young players for our league rivals isn’t for me. And I don’t think we’ve done this before.
    Would you be as concerned if he was being loaned from Aberdeen?

Loan players are for the short term benefit of us. It may benefit them too, unfortunately, but I’m only concerned about us and this coming season.

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by BSEJVT View Post
    I would have thought someone of your vintage would have remembered when that sort of thing was commonplace, but I may be doing you a disservice.

But to answer your question, no problem at all.

If the player improves us and gets us out a hole then the fact that he may or may then not go back to Hearts and play for them is simply the price we would have to pay.

All I care about is Hibs, I hate Hearts as much as anyone but the idea of cutting off your nose to spite your face just strikes me as being stupid.

BTW

I used to coach a youth football team and was asked to go there and coach and I declined, for the simple reason it wouldn't benefit Hibs at all and may help them.

Similarly, my son, when he was very young was asked to go there for trials as a goalie, again we declined for the same reasons.

But if say Hibs didn't have a striker and they had one who would improve us for a season I would take him all day long.

You and I both know that that's never going to happen and I know you think yourself to be pretty clever trying to trap me into that answer but the answer I would give so there you go.

Fwiw I would seriously have to question the mentality of someone who gave a different answer.

If it is more important for you to do down hearts, even at Hibs expense than it is to help Hibs whilst maybe helping them then I would suggest you need to have a think about your priorities.

Finally

Just in case you wondered, I hate Rangers as much as anyone and betaing them rather than anyone else in the cup final (except Hearts) given our recent history with them made the win all the sweeter, but all that matters is Hibs
    Now now, you’ve got my hand delivered all inclusive Media Memory Stick haven’t you of that day in 2016 if not all my memories, so no disservice. I never remember a player on loan from any of them.
    You can question my mentality at the HSL meeting if you make yourself known again.
    I’ll be the drunk fellah in the ould leprechaun outfit with the pig under his arm. Mines a Guiness .

Quote Originally Posted by Blaster View Post
    Would you be as concerned if he was being loaned from Aberdeen?

Loan players are for the short term benefit of us. It may benefit them too, unfortunately, but I’m only concerned about us and this coming season.

How awkward will the jambos feel sitting in Middletons before a Derby if he's scored the winner in the previous😂😂

👍

@hibs.net private member BSEJVT's Avatar
    Now now, you’ve got my hand delivered all inclusive Media Memory Stick haven’t you of that day in 2016 if not all my memories, so no disservice. I never remember a player on loan from any of them.
    You can question my mentality at the HSL meeting if you make yourself known again.
    I’ll be the drunk fellah in the ould leprechaun outfit with the pig under his arm. Mines a Guiness .
    I knew it was you S and we have a mutual friend in Hibernation and yes I still watch those clips regularly and for that you have my eternal gratitude.

I hope things are good with you?

Although I am pretty vocal about HSL and will attend that meeting I will be keeping a very low profile as my public pronouncements on HSL, which are mine and mine only, are let's say incompatible with my employment status, which is why I use a nom de plume, like you.

More than happy to buy you a pint as I am certainly due you one for the stick.

I have a firm recollection of loans between Hibs & Hearts happening but will need to re-read the old books to be sure when it last happened.

I know for certain it used to happen around the time of the Famous Five and yes I know you are not that old :-)

There was also movement between the 2 clubs for sure in the early TT days, but that may not have been loans

All the best

G

Quote Originally Posted by Just Jimmy View Post
    hopefully a loan to buy or such like. if he's excellent we keep him if he's pish then back to greyskull with him.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk
    I get the impression that this is purely to get the guy playing regularly at the top level in Scotland. He is very highly thought of at Ibrox but unfortunately for him just there at the wrong time to secure a place in their starting line-up.

Zombies are bound to take a while surely.
    Lol - true!

Quote Originally Posted by Golden Bear View Post
    I totally agree. Sadly this thread confirms that we have a small number of bigots within our support and its something we can do without. Two wrongs never made a right.
    Small?

Quote Originally Posted by MacGruber View Post
    This is a hell of a medical they must be putting him through!
    Maybe he has failed it.

Of those dissenting on here I've not heard a single one mention religion. I can only properly speak for myself but that's not a factor in my misgivings about this.

We have a lot of threads on here giving Newco grief, saying how terrible they are, embarrassing club etc and now the same posters are delighted to be doing business with them.

It's the loan bit that really bothers me. He'll back at Ibrox in 10 months and potentially a better player for it. We're helping a club that has attacked our team over the last couple of years to improve their squad. That's doesn't sit well with me tbh.

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    Maybe he has failed it.
    If part if it is to bleed green he has already failed.

@hibs.net private member Smartie's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by neil7908 View Post
    Of those dissenting on here I've not heard a single one mention religion. I can only properly speak for myself but that's not a factor in my misgivings about this.

We have a lot of threads on here giving Newco grief, saying how terrible they are, embarrassing club etc and now the same posters are delighted to be doing business with them.

It's the loan bit that really bothers me. He'll back at Ibrox in 10 months and potentially a better player for it. We're helping a club that has attacked our team over the last couple of years to improve their squad. That's doesn't sit well with me tbh.
    We're helping our own team though, and that should take priority over everything.

I don't like doing business with Rangers but would we really want to see an inferior Hibs team over doing business with them?

Quote Originally Posted by MacGruber View Post
    This is a hell of a medical they must be putting him through!
    Takes a while to clense the Rangers filth out of the system

@hibs.net private member SouthMoroccoStu's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Since452 View Post
    Takes a while to clense the Rangers filth out of the system
    Put him in quarantine for a week or so with the 2016 cup final on a continuous loop

That’ll cure him

Quote Originally Posted by calumhibee1 View Post
    Yup. He’d improve Hibs. I couldn’t really care less where he comes from. He could be Rudi Skacels laddie for all I care.
    Now come on u took that too far faf

Quote Originally Posted by 90+2 View Post
    Championship too.
    Thanks. Didn't know that.

@hibs.net private member BSEJVT's Avatar

If I am confused about whether something is or isn’t something I use the duck test.

If it looks like a duck

Walks like a duck and

Talks like a duck

Chances are it’s a duck

I don’t remember any comment at all when we signed Stokes Henderson & McGeouch, not one

Yet Celtic have screwed us over in the past (Riordan immediately springs to mind)

They tried to do it again with McGinn yet afterwards folk were orgasmic about getting Morgan & Briton to name just two on loan last year.

Anyone see any inconsistencies?

I get the argument that Rangers sins are arguably greater but we have never layed a glove on Celtic since 72

Not only did we deny The Rangers their first proper trophy but we then celebrated on the pitch in front of them and unquestionably assaulted at least one of their players

What were we expecting congratulations cards?

Their post match response was as predictable as it was pathetic. Pure deflection and a chance to have the orcs forget the defeat and rally behind their club in a siege mentality.

I am delighted they hate us it shows we have hurt them whereas Celtic pat us on the head and tell us well done wee bro.

For those that hate the idea of loaning anyone from any of our competitors, fair do’s not my position but it’s consistent.

For those that are selective in their hatred of loans depending on who is doing the loaning it a lot less clear.

Left by mutual consent! Speedway's Avatar
    He’s passed his medical according to someone on Twitter.

Couple of Rangers fans at work really rate him and are a bit surprised they are letting him out on loan. Both said he is a good player and think he will do well at us.

Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post
    We're helping our own team though, and that should take priority over everything.

I don't like doing business with Rangers but would we really want to see an inferior Hibs team over doing business with them?
    I do get that but surely it isn't a binary choice, Middleton or no one? Is he the only winger available to us?

What if he's the best one available to us?

Testimonial Due NadeAteMyLunch!'s Avatar
    Our football dept must think he is the best option available so that’s all that should matter imo

I knew it was you S and we have a mutual friend in Hibernation and yes I still watch those clips regularly and for that you have my eternal gratitude.

I hope things are good with you?

Although I am pretty vocal about HSL and will attend that meeting I will be keeping a very low profile as my public pronouncements on HSL, which are mine and mine only, are let's say incompatible with my employment status, which is why I use a nom de plume, like you.

More than happy to buy you a pint as I am certainly due you one for the stick.

I have a firm recollection of loans between Hibs & Hearts happening but will need to re-read the old books to be sure when it last happened.

I know for certain it used to happen around the time of the Famous Five and yes I know you are not that old :-)

There was also movement between the 2 clubs for sure in the early TT days, but that may not have been loans

All the best

G
    You too friend. And you and J need no introduction. We are the same vintage (maybe not girth) but speaking as a fat ****, I can’t remember any loans at all . Transfers, frees, swaps. Aye. Geez a lend o him? Not in yer puff. I’m 56. xx

Do we honestly think we are getting this guy to improve him prior to him going back to Rangers?

He is in the shop window pure and simple and in my opinion not in Gerrard's future plans, just my take on it.

Quote Originally Posted by 90+2 View Post
    Unless we loaned from Celtic. Then you would be all for it.
    Unfair and back that up please. Iggy Pope is a Username my friend. I’m not really the Pope. Don’t make this about a Celtic love in unless you’re Hertz.
    Gave it a while now and you’ve gone quiet so will you explain that snidely one or do I just ignore your bollox like I used to?

If I am confused about whether something is or isn’t something I use the duck test.

If it looks like a duck

Walks like a duck and

Talks like a duck

Chances are it’s a duck

I don’t remember any comment at all when we signed Stokes Henderson & McGeouch, not one

Yet Celtic have screwed us over in the past (Riordan immediately springs to mind)

They tried to do it again with McGinn yet afterwards folk were orgasmic about getting Morgan & Briton to name just two on loan last year.

I get the argument that Rangers sins are arguably greater but we have never layed a glove on Celtic since 72

Not only did we deny The Rangers their first proper trophy but we then celebrated on the pitch in front of them and unquestionably assaulted at least one of their players

Their post match response was as predictable as it was pathetic. Pure deflection and a chance to have the orcs forget the defeat and rally behind their club in a siege mentality.

I am delighted they hate us it shows we have hurt them whereas Celtic pat us on the head and tell us well done wee bro.

For those that hate the idea of loaning anyone from any of our competitors, fair do’s not my position but it’s consistent.

For those that are selective in their hatred of loans depending on who is doing the loaning it a lot less clear.
    Good post as well a Deek there is also Caldwell

If it looks like a duck

Walks like a duck and

Talks like a duck

Chances are it’s a duck

1. We weren’t in the same division as Celtc for most of those loans, and they are still clearly a fair step ahead of us
    2. Celtc haven’t run a propaganda campaign trying to punish our club because they are bad losers.

There are no inconsistencies, just a wilful refusal on your part to understand why people have reservations about doing business with Sevco.

None of this is Middleton’s fault though, and he will have my support if he signs.