Page 318 of 484 FirstFirst ... 218268308316317318319320328368418 ... LastLast
Results 9,511 to 9,540 of 14514
    @hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by HibeeJude View Post
    Folk would honestly prefer we didn’t take a player from there because they hate them despite the fact he would obviously improve us. Mental
    I totally agree. Sadly this thread confirms that we have a small number of bigots within our support and its something we can do without. Two wrongs never made a right.

Left by mutual consent! calumhibee1's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by HibeeJude View Post
    Folk would honestly prefer we didn’t take a player from there because they hate them despite the fact he would obviously improve us. Mental
    Yup. He’d improve Hibs. I couldn’t really care less where he comes from. He could be Rudi Skacels laddie for all I care.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    I couldn't bring myself to open that link.

I take it they're not exactly pleased?
    Most of them see it as a good move for him. A surprising number in fact.

First Team Breakthrough Seekyit's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    I couldn't bring myself to open that link.

I take it they're not exactly pleased?
    It didn’t start too badly then someone called “Superrangers” came along.

Quote Originally Posted by Golden Bear View Post
    I totally agree. Sadly this thread confirms that we have a small number of bigots within our support and its something we can do without. Two wrongs never made a right.
    Huge difference between hating a club so much that you can't stand the thought of signing their players and bigotry imo.

Not saying that's the same for everyone because I'm sure some of it is bigotry but it won't all be.

I'm happy for us to sign him though, seen him play some of the euro games last season and he was great. Especially against Villareal (I think it was)

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by BSEJVT View Post
    After being a poster on Hibs Net for god knows how many years I thought I had seen everything.

Whilst not all the anti sevco and anti Middleton posts are religiously motivated iI wonder if some are

I honestly thought we were above that

I would sign someone from any other team in the land if I thought it would improve us and wouldn’t think twice about it or the players motives or loyalty.

Some of the posts I have read are wild

Paranoid doesn’t begin to describe some of them
    A wee bit perspective and I’ve edited out all that faith bluster, forgive me.
    He’s maybe coming on loan. They’re hated, happily so. Fancy anyone young from Hearts to develop “on loan” then?

@hibs.net private member Smartie's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    Most of them see it as a good move for him. A surprising number in fact.
    I was surprised to see the move probably being better received over there than on here.

Interesting how many of them mentioned that it would "benefit all parties".

Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post
    I was surprised to see the move probably being better received over there than on here.

Interesting how many of them mentioned that it would "benefit all parties".
    Westminster chat!

Off the top of my head, the following have all come to Hibs either directly or indirectly from Rangers (several of them having begun their careers at ER):

Darren McGregor, Dylan McGeouch, Dougie Bell, Iain Munro, Ian Murray, Kevin Thomson and Steven Whittaker and each has given their all for our club. If Middleton does the same I couldn't care less where he comes from.

Even guys like Craig Paterson and Andy Goram who we sold to Rangers gave us good service and netted us a lot of much needed money and Goram remains one of my all-time favourite Hibs players. As does Russell Latapy who also ended up at Ibrox for a spell.

There have been one or two like Colin Stein and Kenny Miller who jumped ship as soon as Rangers came calling which stuck in the craw at the time but the bottom line is that every single member of our current squad would sign for Rangers if the deal was right for them. There's no 'moral code' among players about that sort of thing. At the end of the day it's all about their career, no matter how much they may genuinely like a particular club.

Quote Originally Posted by Golden Bear View Post

People have put forward good reasons for not wanting to do business with Sevco, and they have nothing to do with bigotry.

Quote Originally Posted by jacomo View Post
    People have put forward good reasons for not wanting to do business with Sevco, and they have nothing to do with bigotry.
    Thankfully the club has the best interest of the team and not some agenda in that case. I ****in hate rangers but I’m not going to turn down a quality player that will help us.

Quote Originally Posted by Iggy Pope View Post
    He’s maybe coming on loan. They’re hated, happily so. Fancy anyone young from Hearts to develop “on loan” then?
    Have they got anyone to develop?
    If it came to a transfer I'd take Naismith right away after all Willie Hamilton didn't do too badly.

Maybe we are a wee team. Reads like it.

Personally I would like if all clubs treated each other with more respect and that our game was enjoyed for what it is rather than what we’re against. A transaction like this can only help that along the way.

Unless we loaned from Celtic. Then you would be all for it.

Financially smaller than Rangers? Yes, we are.

Some false pride doesn’t change that.

If this guy makes us better and we turn him down because we’re afraid of looking small, well we’re a shrivelled prune already.

Left by mutual consent! Turnbullsmate's Avatar
    After being a poster on Hibs Net for god knows how many years I thought I had seen everything.

Sadly not

I detest both Rangers & Celtic but if I were pushed I would probably dislike Celtic more.

As a wee boy Hibs had the measure or Rangers but struggled to beat a very good Celtic side and consequently I disliked them

I also hate the patronising wee cousin pish

We hate Rangers they hate us it’s far simpler

I am quite saddened and shocked at some of the posts here

As a couldn’t care less Protestant whose best pal is a couldnt care less Catholic, religion has never played any part in my life.

Whilst not all the anti sevco and anti Middleton posts are religiously motivated iI wonder if some are

It’s the 21st century ffs.

I would sign someone from any other team in the land if I thought it would improve us and wouldn’t think twice about it or the player's motives or loyalty.

As others have said giving anything other than their best is career suicide

That there are other Hibs fans that would put their dislike of any other team before what’s best for Hibs really saddens me.

Bang on sir...could not argue with any of that.

Quote Originally Posted by ancient hibee View Post
    Have they got anyone to develop?
    If it came to a transfer I'd take Naismith right away after all Willie Hamilton didn't do too badly.
    A few I think. And so have we.

Willie Hamilton. Jeez, another auld name dragged out with no perspective. Talking religion is one thing but that name is of biblical proportions to most users on here as it’s so long ago. Do you remember Hibs getting a loan of many from them back then or even since? I’ve been at it close to 50 years and can’t remember one. Martin Henderson was one Hun we trialled but he’d the sense to go to Leicester first....

hopefully a loan to buy or such like. if he's excellent we keep him if he's pish then back to greyskull with him.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by 90+2 View Post
    Unless we loaned from Celtic. Then you would be all for it.
    Unfair and back that up please. Iggy Pope is a Username my friend. I’m not really the Pope. Don’t make this about a Celtic love in unless you’re Hertz.

What I have seen of the lad he seems pacy and direct and chips in with goals. Few assists too.

If the management team have identified him as a player who can improve our team then I’m all for it.

This is about Hibs and when he pulls on the jersey and plays his part he’ll get my full support. (Especially when he tears the yams a new one)

We got an unexpected injury to one of our key players and we get the opportunity to replace with a quality player who knows the league.

Leave the big team, wee team crap to others

Sadly not

I detest both Rangers & Celtic but if I were pushed I would probably dislike Celtic more.

As a wee boy Hibs had the measure or Rangers but struggled to beat a very good Celtic side and consequently I disliked them

As a couldn’t care less Protestant whose best pal is a couldnt care less Catholic, religion has never played any part in my life.

I would sign someone from any other team in the land if I thought it would improve us and wouldn’t think twice about it or the player's motives or loyalty.

That there are other Hibs fans that would put their dislike of any other team before what’s best for Hibs really saddens me.

Bang on but still hate the Huns more

Horrible despicable club hate ( I know it’s a strong word) them and all they stand for

Saying that based on what I have seen HIBS to date this season and Middleton last season happy to take the boy on and give him a chance as I feel our options seem to be narrowing but would still like to see the addition of a midfielder and striker if possible

Left by mutual consent! Turnbullsmate's Avatar
    Wee bit harsh no ? I , i am guessing are of the same generation or similar to BSEJVT , and like many Hiibby's over the years "faith is all we had. Never knock it mate.

In answer to your question .... no way would i condone us loaning and developing a ****bo which probably makes me a hypocrite as i abhor the Hun yet am quite open to the loan to us of the player in question.

Fine lines huh !!!

Just to clarify.... The FTB attempted to do worse to us than the Hun ever did...puts some "persective" on it as far as i am concerned.

@hibs.net private member BSEJVT's Avatar
    I would have thought someone of your vintage would have remembered when that sort of thing was commonplace, but I may be doing you a disservice.

But to answer your question, no problem at all.

If the player improves us and gets us out a hole then the fact that he may or may then not go back to Hearts and play for them is simply the price we would have to pay.

All I care about is Hibs, I hate Hearts as much as anyone but the idea of cutting off your nose to spite your face just strikes me as being stupid.

BTW

I used to coach a youth football team and was asked to go there and coach and I declined, for the simple reason it wouldn't benefit Hibs at all and may help them.

Similarly, my son, when he was very young was asked to go there for trials as a goalie, again we declined for the same reasons.

But if say Hibs didn't have a striker and they had one who would improve us for a season I would take him all day long.

You and I both know that that's never going to happen and I know you think yourself to be pretty clever trying to trap me into that answer but the answer I would give so there you go.

Fwiw I would seriously have to question the mentality of someone who gave a different answer.

If it is more important for you to do down hearts, even at Hibs expense than it is to help Hibs whilst maybe helping them then I would suggest you need to have a think about your priorities.

Finally

Just in case you wondered, I hate Rangers as much as anyone and beating them rather than anyone else in the cup final (except Hearts) given our recent history with them made the win all the sweeter, but all that matters is Hibs
    Last edited by BSEJVT; 05-08-2019 at 06:49 PM.

Sadly not

That's great but you're the one mentioning religion.

Most of us against doing business with them don't like them because of their direct attack on our club and it's fanbase.

They also resemble something I'd expect to see at an EDL march and I'd favour cutting as many ties with them as possible.

This is a hell of a medical they must be putting him through!

Quote Originally Posted by Blaster View Post
    We got an unexpected injury to one of our key players and we get the opportunity to replace with a quality player who knows the league.

Leave the big team, wee team crap to others
    Aye. We’ve got an opportunity to borrow one from Rangers and help him develop as we are a team a bit smaller than them to send him back better, not replace one. Boyle’s injury is hardly unexpected. I’m still amazed he was brought into that last Friday. It had relapse written all over it from where I was standing.
    I can’t see how this pans out in our favour - If he is great, we love him. He goes back and we seethe.
    If he’s ***** he’ll get it tight all week every week (and I might add, not from me, contrary to yer man 90+2s opinion of my outlook). Developing young players for our league rivals isn’t for me. And I don’t think we’ve done this before.

Quote Originally Posted by MacGruber View Post
    This is a hell of a medical they must be putting him through!
    Zombies are bound to take a while surely.

If you think about it Middleton coming to us is great. A youngster with great potential and it pisses off a large chunk of rangers fans.