I totally agree. Sadly this thread confirms that we have a small number of bigots within our support and its something we can do without. Two wrongs never made a right.This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Results 9,511 to 9,540 of 14514
Thread: Summer 2019 transfer thread
-
05-08-2019 05:34 PM #9511
-
05-08-2019 05:35 PM #9512This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
05-08-2019 05:36 PM #9513This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
05-08-2019 05:37 PM #9514This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
05-08-2019 05:38 PM #9515
Not saying that's the same for everyone because I'm sure some of it is bigotry but it won't all be.
I'm happy for us to sign him though, seen him play some of the euro games last season and he was great. Especially against Villareal (I think it was)
-
05-08-2019 05:39 PM #9516This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
He’s maybe coming on loan. They’re hated, happily so. Fancy anyone young from Hearts to develop “on loan” then?
-
05-08-2019 05:40 PM #9517This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Interesting how many of them mentioned that it would "benefit all parties".
-
05-08-2019 05:41 PM #9518This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
05-08-2019 05:56 PM #9519
Off the top of my head, the following have all come to Hibs either directly or indirectly from Rangers (several of them having begun their careers at ER):
Darren McGregor, Dylan McGeouch, Dougie Bell, Iain Munro, Ian Murray, Kevin Thomson and Steven Whittaker and each has given their all for our club. If Middleton does the same I couldn't care less where he comes from.
Even guys like Craig Paterson and Andy Goram who we sold to Rangers gave us good service and netted us a lot of much needed money and Goram remains one of my all-time favourite Hibs players. As does Russell Latapy who also ended up at Ibrox for a spell.
There have been one or two like Colin Stein and Kenny Miller who jumped ship as soon as Rangers came calling which stuck in the craw at the time but the bottom line is that every single member of our current squad would sign for Rangers if the deal was right for them. There's no 'moral code' among players about that sort of thing. At the end of the day it's all about their career, no matter how much they may genuinely like a particular club.
-
05-08-2019 05:59 PM #9520This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
People have put forward good reasons for not wanting to do business with Sevco, and they have nothing to do with bigotry.
-
05-08-2019 06:01 PM #9521
-
05-08-2019 06:03 PM #9522
If it came to a transfer I'd take Naismith right away after all Willie Hamilton didn't do too badly.
-
-
05-08-2019 06:04 PM #9524
Personally I would like if all clubs treated each other with more respect and that our game was enjoyed for what it is rather than what we’re against. A transaction like this can only help that along the way.
-
05-08-2019 06:05 PM #9525
-
05-08-2019 06:06 PM #9526This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Some false pride doesn’t change that.
If this guy makes us better and we turn him down because we’re afraid of looking small, well we’re a shrivelled prune already.
-
05-08-2019 06:10 PM #9527This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
05-08-2019 06:14 PM #9528This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Willie Hamilton. Jeez, another auld name dragged out with no perspective. Talking religion is one thing but that name is of biblical proportions to most users on here as it’s so long ago. Do you remember Hibs getting a loan of many from them back then or even since? I’ve been at it close to 50 years and can’t remember one. Martin Henderson was one Hun we trialled but he’d the sense to go to Leicester first....
-
05-08-2019 06:14 PM #9529
hopefully a loan to buy or such like. if he's excellent we keep him if he's pish then back to greyskull with him.
Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk
-
05-08-2019 06:17 PM #9530This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
05-08-2019 06:22 PM #9531
What I have seen of the lad he seems pacy and direct and chips in with goals. Few assists too.
If the management team have identified him as a player who can improve our team then I’m all for it.
This is about Hibs and when he pulls on the jersey and plays his part he’ll get my full support. (Especially when he tears the yams a new one)
-
05-08-2019 06:24 PM #9532
Leave the big team, wee team crap to others
-
05-08-2019 06:25 PM #9533This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Horrible despicable club hate ( I know it’s a strong word) them and all they stand for
Saying that based on what I have seen HIBS to date this season and Middleton last season happy to take the boy on and give him a chance as I feel our options seem to be narrowing but would still like to see the addition of a midfielder and striker if possible
-
05-08-2019 06:29 PM #9534This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
In answer to your question .... no way would i condone us loaning and developing a ****bo which probably makes me a hypocrite as i abhor the Hun yet am quite open to the loan to us of the player in question.
Fine lines huh !!!
Just to clarify.... The FTB attempted to do worse to us than the Hun ever did...puts some "persective" on it as far as i am concerned.
-
05-08-2019 06:34 PM #9535This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
But to answer your question, no problem at all.
If the player improves us and gets us out a hole then the fact that he may or may then not go back to Hearts and play for them is simply the price we would have to pay.
All I care about is Hibs, I hate Hearts as much as anyone but the idea of cutting off your nose to spite your face just strikes me as being stupid.
BTW
I used to coach a youth football team and was asked to go there and coach and I declined, for the simple reason it wouldn't benefit Hibs at all and may help them.
Similarly, my son, when he was very young was asked to go there for trials as a goalie, again we declined for the same reasons.
But if say Hibs didn't have a striker and they had one who would improve us for a season I would take him all day long.
You and I both know that that's never going to happen and I know you think yourself to be pretty clever trying to trap me into that answer but the answer I would give so there you go.
Fwiw I would seriously have to question the mentality of someone who gave a different answer.
If it is more important for you to do down hearts, even at Hibs expense than it is to help Hibs whilst maybe helping them then I would suggest you need to have a think about your priorities.
Finally
Just in case you wondered, I hate Rangers as much as anyone and beating them rather than anyone else in the cup final (except Hearts) given our recent history with them made the win all the sweeter, but all that matters is HibsLast edited by BSEJVT; 05-08-2019 at 06:49 PM.
-
05-08-2019 06:36 PM #9536
Most of us against doing business with them don't like them because of their direct attack on our club and it's fanbase.
They also resemble something I'd expect to see at an EDL march and I'd favour cutting as many ties with them as possible.
-
-
05-08-2019 06:38 PM #9538This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I can’t see how this pans out in our favour - If he is great, we love him. He goes back and we seethe.
If he’s ***** he’ll get it tight all week every week (and I might add, not from me, contrary to yer man 90+2s opinion of my outlook). Developing young players for our league rivals isn’t for me. And I don’t think we’ve done this before.
-
05-08-2019 06:39 PM #9539This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
05-08-2019 06:39 PM #9540
If you think about it Middleton coming to us is great. A youngster with great potential and it pisses off a large chunk of rangers fans.