Page 193 of 484 FirstFirst ... 93143183191192193194195203243293 ... LastLast
Results 5,761 to 5,790 of 14514
    Quote Originally Posted by Speedway View Post
    Whether folk like Lennon or not, and I did, his record at the end was indefensible. He'd run out of ideas and probably worked his ticket.

I don't know what others feel but Lennon is the only manager we've had in decades who got angry at our underachievement. We were rarely unlucky according to him, he were either good enough or not good enough and not good enough was completely unacceptable to him.

He was also a bit radge, which is always a plus.

As we've discussed, Heckingbottom turned us round. Credit where it's due. He did so getting results that I'd expect any Hibs manager to get.

When we had to beat the bigger teams, (one who still smaller than us) we didn't, bar Hearts.

I want Hibs to win under any manager and any eleven that's on the park in the jersey. That doesn't mean blind support though.

I don't like the signings bar Scott Allan so far and I'm not impressed when I hear the manager speak or see his team play.

Unlike you, others can't debate that. When an opinon differs from their opinion, they attack. It's all they are capable of. That's social media in 2019.

With regard to aspirational signings, we didn't have money in the Miller days, quite the opposite and we could still attract quality players to the club. Stubbs and Lennon could do it once or twice too. I haven't seen evidence of that from Heckingbottom yet.
    We lacked playmakers to open up the better defences the top six have. Part of this was because Hyndman wasn't able to give us what we needed in the earlier part of the campaign and Petrie/Lawell were having there little spat which denied us Scott Allan. We lost Mcginn and Dylan too. Mallan is now bedded in and hopefully between Ojo/Omeonga they can replicate some of what SJM and Dylan managed to bring.

The one area I've got question marks about is the central defence. Jackson seems like a journeyman(i'm happy to be proven wrong) and big Daz is fine for certain types of game. Hanlon is very inconsistent over his career. Porteous is more comfortable on the left side, it's the right centre half position that worries me. Efe really was a star for us and often the source of our incisive attacks.

James, Newell seem like backups to me. Doidge is someone I think will surprise people. I don't think we're too far away from being a really good side.

Dunno, getting on a bit.

Genuine question Robbo, how long do you wait before expressing an opinion on any Hibs activity? Do you always get through a 90 minutes without an expressing an opinion on a player for example?

I ask because most of us don't, as any match day experience or match day thread will evidence.

The signings look unimpressive to me, I've said so. Where's the crime?
    I think you'll find the answer to that in the financial activities of a certain club in Glagow and an Edinburgh club that is not us.

Quote Originally Posted by RoxburghHibs View Post
    £125k + £125k =. £350k 😆
    Romanovomics

Dunno, getting on a bit.

Genuine question Robbo, how long do you wait before expressing an opinion on any Hibs activity? Do you always get through a 90 minutes without an expressing an opinion on a player for example?

I ask because most of us don't, as any match day experience or match day thread will evidence.

The signings look unimpressive to me, I've said so. Where's the crime?
    Speedo, there’s a boy on the bounce works for a social enterprise/registered charity if you fancy putting your time to better use?

The break from here and the good feeling you’d get helping others would hopefully be of great benefit you.

All the best for the future whatever you decide.

Left by mutual consent! Speedway's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Barman Stanton View Post
    In the Lexo days there was not the gulf in finances there was now. We were able to sign Archibald from Barca, the year after he was a first choice for them. I mean, thats unthinkable now. Even signing a player like Houchen right after he scored in the FA Cup final would be impossible now.

I get what your saying, with Lennon able to sign the likes of Ambrose and Marciano, proven internationals. But in reality no one really has any idea how good our new players are. 3 friendlies are no place to judge them. I remember people being unimpressed with David Murphy after his first friendly game. If I remember rightly Darren Jackson also took a while to settle in and went a while before scoring his first goal for us.

Anyway, we all want the same thing. A top quality Hibs team
    You're spot on with both of your examples re: Murph and Jackson. Where I would differ is that you can tell something from the level as player in his mid to late 20s has got to in his career, their stats and the ease if which they may have been signed. These can also act as early indicators of the quality of the player we've brought in. Not always, but often.

A recent example would be the heat I took for my criticism of MacLaren. Again a player who hadn't set the heather alight before coming to Hibs, scored some goals and .net decided he was superb except for I think around six posters who saw that he was never a player and would soon be found out.

Quote Originally Posted by GreenPJ View Post
    Do you account for the fact that its pre-season in your assessment?
    Not massively as I don't see the evidence that you only learn how to kick, run, head, mark and pass a ball once a season starts.

Some players come good when they find form of course but more often than not, if you and I see someone we think is a player, we see one regardless of the nature of the fixture. Example: Scott Allan.

Quote Originally Posted by Torto7 View Post
    We lacked playmakers to open up the better defences the top six have. Part of this was because Hyndman wasn't able to give us what we needed in the earlier part of the campaign and Petrie/Lawell were having there little spat which denied us Scott Allan. We lost Mcginn and Dylan too. Mallan is now bedded in and hopefully between Ojo/Omeonga they can replicate some of what SJM and Dylan managed to bring.

The one area I've got question marks about is the central defence. Jackson seems like a journeyman(i'm happy to be proven wrong) and big Daz is fine for certain types of game. Hanlon is very inconsistent over his career. Porteous is more comfortable on the left side, it's the right centre half position that worries me. Efe really was a star for us and often the source of our incisive attacks.

James, Newell seem like backups to me. Doidge is someone I think will surprise people. I don't think we're too far away from being a really good side.
    Obviously I hope that's right. I catch heat for not liking players that the majority do and vice versa. So far all the signings scream 'backup' to me with the exception of SA who I think has shown his quality immediately.

Quote Originally Posted by JohnMcM View Post
    I think you'll find the answer to that in the financial activities of a certain club in Glagow and an Edinburgh club that is not us.

Quote Originally Posted by DC_Hibs View Post
    Speedo, there’s a boy on the bounce works for a social enterprise/registered charity if you fancy putting your time to better use?

The break from here and the good feeling you’d get helping others would hopefully be of great benefit you.

All the best for the future whatever you decide.

Why?

What an insipid response.

In case you were unaware, a message board is a place where popular, unpopular, thought through and non-thought through opinions are posted, sometimes even backed by evidence.

You can be happy, miserable or a nippy wee soul like Flash, often making a snidey comment in one sentence and then disappearing in a flash lest he/she/it be engaged in debate.

Best of all, there's an ignore button so I don't have to suffer your pish and you don't have to suffer mine. Use it if you want.

Now, Heckingbottom has spent money on non-impressive signings.

Non-impressive in pedigree, calibre and in pre-season; performance.

The one player that looks quality is the one signed by our two previous managers.

Add to this the uninspired displays we put in under his leadership, in the split fixtures last season, bar Tynecastle.

The early signs are not impressive and hopefully that will change.

In the meantime, I'm losing no sleep over potentially (hasn't even happened yet) losing out to the sheep on an injured 27 year old S****horpe player who has had one good season in his career.

Alright?
    On your point that Ojo has had one good season in his career, what’s that based on?

It's fine, I'll just make a new thread for transfer discussion and close this one if we're just going to have endless bickering about the performance of our new signings after three friendly games.

Quote Originally Posted by Diclonius View Post
    It's fine, I'll just make a new thread for transfer discussion and close this one if we're just going to have endless bickering about the performance of our new signings after three friendly games.
    In which we've won our last two 🙄

@hibs.net private member hibbie02's Avatar
    You're spot on with both of your examples re: Murph and Jackson. Where I would differ is that you can tell something from the level as player in his mid to late 20s has got to in his career, their stats and the ease if which they may have been signed. These can also act as early indicators of the quality of the player we've brought in. Not always, but often.

A recent example would be the heat I took for my criticism of MacLaren. Again a player who hadn't set the heather alight before coming to Hibs, scored some goals and .net decided he was superb except for I think around six posters who saw that he was never a player and would soon be found out.

Not massively as I don't see the evidence that you only learn how to kick, run, head, mark and pass a ball once a season starts.

Some players come good when they find form of course but more often than not, if you and I see someone we think is a player, we see one regardless of the nature of the fixture. Example: Scott Allan.

Obviously I hope that's right. I catch heat for not liking players that the majority do and vice versa. So far all the signings scream 'backup' to me with the exception of SA who I think has shown his quality immediately.
    I find myself agreeing with you Speedy. I am just hoping out of those who have signed, we find 1 or 2 who will do a job for us. Although we have unearthed a couple of gems over the years, our forays into the depths of the English Leagues have provided more duds than gems. The fact that none of the new guys has stood out ahead of wheat we already had is a concern. Still a bit early to judge properly but I am prepared to see how it goes before writing any of them off.

Quote Originally Posted by HFC93 View Post
    On your point that Ojo has had one good season in his career, what’s that based on?
    12 seasons as a pro, played more than 30 games in only 4 of them, the only time buzz has been created around him was after he ascended to the lofty heights of S****horpe.

So either:

1. Doesn't get picked much
    2. Gets picked and gets injured a lot
    3. His standout season that has caught our eye is at English 3rd Division level.
    4. The last time he played at Europa League level (the level we're told we should be achieving each season) was a decade ago.
    5. He's 28 next month.

Barcelona announce Griezmann 108m

Atletico dispute deal saying his release clause should have been 180m.

I know but at least it is transfer gossip

Source: SSN

Lots of people looking to jump onto speedway for calling out the signings.

I don’t particularly agree BUT if you look at the thread on our starting 11 for next season many posters are indicating similar without saying so. What I don’t agree with is his/her assessment of PH as HC, he got us top six with a squad that wasn’t his and was in free fall, the squad was threadbare alsoncome the end of the season and other teams had more to play for. Also Hecky has been on record saying he was raging it looked like we downed tools after we finished above Hearts.

12 seasons as a pro, played more than 30 games in only 4 of them, the only time buzz has been created around him was after he ascended to the lofty heights of S****horpe.

So either:

3. His standout season that has caught our eye is at English 3rd Division level.
    4. The last time he played at Europa League level (the level we're told we should be achieving each season) was a decade ago.
    5. He's 28 next month.
    There must be a reason a lot of clubs are sniffing about him including Aberdeen? It doesn’t just seem to be a Random Calderwood signing picked out from down the road.

According to theRecord, Ojo is now rejecting US, and going to Aberdeen...

Daily Record saying Ojo going to Aberdeen

@hibs.net private member Heisenberg's Avatar
    Ojo signing for Aberdeen. Sounds like PH isn’t too pleased about it.

@hibs.net private member Hibs90's Avatar
    Aaaand meltdown in 3, 2, 1 ....

Daily Record reporting Ojo on his way to Pittodrie for talks.

This is going to be ****ing fun.

Quote Originally Posted by Heisenberg View Post
    Ojo signing for Aberdeen. Sounds like PH isn’t too pleased about it.
    What's he said?

So either:

5. He's 28 next month.
    Another way to spin it is that since 2014, he’s played 174 games, an average of pretty much 35 games a season for the last 5 seasons. 79 of those games were in the Dutch top flight.

Doesn’t tell us he’s brilliant but in that period he can’t have been injured or not picked that often.

Quote Originally Posted by B.H.F.C View Post
    Another way to spin it is that since 2014, he’s played 174 games, an average of pretty much 35 games a season for the last 5 seasons. 79 of those games were in the Dutch top flight.

Doesn’t tell us he’s brilliant but in that period he can’t have been injured or not picked that often.
    Edit, if he’s signing for Aberdeen he’s pish.

@hibs.net private member K-Zazu's Avatar
    Oh dear

This is Dylan Bikey all over again 😂

Quote Originally Posted by York Hibees View Post
    Forget about him and we move on to our next target.

Quote Originally Posted by Obscene Omeonga View Post
    Aaaand meltdown in 3, 2, 1 ....
    If we lose out on one of our main targets to a rival, when we’re massively short in that particular position, then people will be disappointed.

Quote Originally Posted by York Hibees View Post
    Doesn't mean we are out of it. Can't blame the player for properly weighing up his options. And like I said before, with two clubs interested, his agent will be playing one against the other to boost his contract terms (and his commision) to the max.
    Wait until he can't get the stink o' fish out of his nostrils then he'll be ours.

@hibs.net private member Hibs90's Avatar
    It could very well be that they have just simply offered more than us and there is not much we can do - especially if the budget isn't changing as RG has said.

Quote Originally Posted by SteveHFC View Post
    Forget about him and we move on to our next target.
    The player has every right to meet the sheep before deciding. It will be disappointing though considering he’s meant to have given his word to Hecky if he ends up there.