Page 192 of 484 FirstFirst ... 92142182190191192193194202242292 ... LastLast
Results 5,731 to 5,760 of 14514
    Left by mutual consent! Speedway's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Heisenberg View Post
    You just blanking out all the inspired displays we put in under Heckingbottom last season then?
    When we put the mighty Accies and St. Johnstone to the sword and the like?

Fair punching above our weight he got us there, right enough.

Any transfer news?

@hibs.net private member Callum_62's Avatar

Wii Code: 0083-4364-6418-4974
    Quote Originally Posted by Speedway View Post

To be fair he got us firing much better than our previous manager was doing

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

@hibs.net private member Hibs90's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Heisenberg View Post
    Pre season hasn’t told us anything apart from some of our fans seem to dislike Heckingbottom already, for some strange reason.
    Probably the same people who thought Neil Lennon was god.

You have been at it on here for years.

Quote Originally Posted by Barman Stanton View Post
    I think that if you can criticise the post split games you also have to give credit for turning our team around (with someone else's team). We went from free falling in 8th position to fighting for Europe.

You also have to realise where Scotland is now with signings. Financially we are miles behind other nations. Teams in league 1 and 2 in England can provide bigger wages than us. That's just where we are at now.
    An actual thought out response rather than just a dig. Thank you Barman.

Credit to him for our pre-split results when he came in, with the caveat that it was teams I expect Hibs to beat. Unqualified credit also for the Tynecastle victory.

When we had to punch at or above our weight, we saw a team and a manager who didn't deliver.

Your point on financials is beyond debate and I agree. That's where the manager comes in. When we sign Newell and he says it was the manager's presentation that swung him to sign for Hibs, I'm not impressed.

When a manager attracts Ambrose, Marciano, Archibald, Goram, Zemmama, Sauzee, Latapy, Zitelli, Stokes etc to the club, I am impressed.

Quote Originally Posted by Callum_62 View Post
    To be fair he got us firing much better than our previous manager was doing

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
    Lennon had run out of ideas, no question.

Quote Originally Posted by flash View Post
    You have been at it on here for years.
    Wee bit rich coming from you, pal.

Credit to him for our pre-split results when he came in, with the caveat that it was teams I expect Hibs to beat. Unqualified credit also for the Tynecastle victory.

When we had to punch at or above our weight, we saw a team and a manager who didn't deliver.

Your point on financials is beyond debate and I agree. That's where the manager comes in. When we sign Newell and he says it was the manager's presentation that swung him to sign for Hibs, I'm not impressed.

When a manager attracts Ambrose, Marciano, Archibald, Goram, Zemmama, Sauzee, Latapy, Zitelli, Stokes etc to the club, I am impressed.
    What about the threadbare squad we had during his time? I will reserve judgement on all our signings and won’t make any ridiculous opinions based on Pre season game time. They might be good or crap time will tell, it the latter in sure PH will suffer the consequences with the backing he’s being given.

Quote Originally Posted by SMAXXA View Post
    What about the threadbare squad we had during his time? I will reserve judgement on all our signings and won’t make any ridiculous opinions based on Pre season game time. They might be good or crap time will tell, it the latter in sure PH will suffer the consequences with the backing he’s being given.
    We'll all suffer consequences with the backing he's been given.

You really can be such a drama queen.

How many minutes hsve you see the new players play? How many minutes have you seem them perform for hibs in a competitive game?

Unless you have been personally been scouting these players, how do you know how awful they are?

The football climate was way different when we were signing the likes of Sauzee, Latapy etc. I mean we even had Caniggia turn up at Dundee in those days. Even Celtic with all their champions league money are operating in a different market now. Wont change until we can sort out a better tv deal.

I like Hecky and think he will do well. Unfortunately I fear that the manner in which Lennon left has resulted in many not giving the new guy a chance (not saying you fall into this category).

Any white smoke from Easter Road yet?

Why?

What an insipid response.

In case you were unaware, a message board is a place where popular, unpopular, thought through and non-thought through opinions are posted, sometimes even backed by evidence.

You can be happy, miserable or a nippy wee soul like Flash, often making a snidey comment in one sentence and then disappearing in a flash lest he/she/it be engaged in debate.

Best of all, there's an ignore button so I don't have to suffer your pish and you don't have to suffer mine. Use it if you want.

Now, Heckingbottom has spent money on non-impressive signings.

Non-impressive in pedigree, calibre and in pre-season; performance.

The one player that looks quality is the one signed by our two previous managers.

Add to this the uninspired displays we put in under his leadership, in the split fixtures last season, bar Tynecastle.

The early signs are not impressive and hopefully that will change.

In the meantime, I'm losing no sleep over potentially (hasn't even happened yet) losing out to the sheep on an injured 27 year old S****horpe player who has had one good season in his career.

Alright?
    Fairly threw your toys out the pram this time & you the wind up merchant par excellence. 😂

Lennon had run out of ideas, no question.

Wee bit rich coming from you, pal.
    Not really. You troll the whole forum and I amongst others, call you out for it.

Gamertag: Rehabacrossthesea Wii Code: 4040
    Quote Originally Posted by Higgo View Post
    How you feeling about Naismith signing for your team? That’s dragged on a bit...
    Quote Originally Posted by Lucy Brown View Post
    Higgo, hope you’re not just going to leave it at that?

Bit of a accusatory comment to just leave hanging there, don’t you think?
    Last edited by Here’s Lucy!; 12-07-2019 at 02:25 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Barman Stanton View Post
    The football climate was way different when we were signing the likes of Sauzee, Latapy etc. I mean we even had Caniggia turn up at Dundee in those days. Even Celtic with all their champions league money are operating in a different market now. Wont change until we can sort out a better tv deal.

I like Hecky and think he will do well. Unfortunately I fear that the manner in which Lennon left has resulted in many not giving the new guy a chance (not saying you fall into this category).
    Whether folk like Lennon or not, and I did, his record at the end was indefensible. He'd run out of ideas and probably worked his ticket.

I don't know what others feel but Lennon is the only manager we've had in decades who got angry at our underachievement. We were rarely unlucky according to him, he were either good enough or not good enough and not good enough was completely unacceptable to him.

He was also a bit radge, which is always a plus.

As we've discussed, Heckingbottom turned us round. Credit where it's due. He did so getting results that I'd expect any Hibs manager to get.

When we had to beat the bigger teams, (one who still smaller than us) we didn't, bar Hearts.

I want Hibs to win under any manager and any eleven that's on the park in the jersey. That doesn't mean blind support though.

I don't like the signings bar Scott Allan so far and I'm not impressed when I hear the manager speak or see his team play.

Unlike you, others can't debate that. When an opinon differs from their opinion, they attack. It's all they are capable of. That's social media in 2019.

With regard to aspirational signings, we didn't have money in the Miller days, quite the opposite and we could still attract quality players to the club. Stubbs and Lennon could do it once or twice too. I haven't seen evidence of that from Heckingbottom yet.

Quote Originally Posted by flash View Post
    Not really. You troll the whole forum and I amongst others, call you out for it.
    You post snidey digs and disappear. What's your point?

And, we have signed..........

Whether folk like Lennon or not, and I did, his record at the end was indefensible. He'd run out of ideas and probably worked his ticket. I don't know what others feel but Lennon is the only manager we've had in decades who got angry at our underachievement. We were rarely unlucky according to him, he were either good enough or not good enough and not good enough was completely unacceptable to him.He was also a bit radge, which is always a plus. As we've discussed, Heckingbottom turned us round. Credit where it's due. He did so getting results that I'd expect any Hibs manager to get.When we had to beat the bigger teams, (one who still smaller than us) we didn't, bar Hearts.I want Hibs to win under any manager and any eleven that's on the park in the jersey. That doesn't mean blind support though.I don't like the signings bar Scott Allan so far and I'm not impressed when I hear the manager speak or see his team play.Unlike you, others can't debate that. When an opinon differs from their opinion, they attack. It's all they are capable of. That's social media in 2019.With regard to aspirational signings, we didn't have money in the Miller days, quite the opposite and we could still attract quality players to the club. Stubbs and Lennon could do it once or twice too. I haven't seen evidence of that from Heckingbottom yet.
    The main point is you haven't seen any of his signings play in a competitive game for Hibs yet.Diodge could turn out to be the next Louis Moult and score 20 goals this season.You need to give them a chance to see what they can do first before spouting the negative bile.

Any transfer news tho

Quote Originally Posted by EdinCapitals View Post
    Lionel Messi.

Quote Originally Posted by EdinCapitals View Post

,,,,,,,,,,,, our contracts for peg-selling licences.

@hibs.net private member Hibs90's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Diclonius View Post
    Any transfer news tho
    Greizmann signed for Barca 100 odd mill

Quote Originally Posted by Diclonius View Post
    Any transfer news tho
    That would be much better !!!!

Poor Singhibs is going to wake up to 4 pages and think Ojo has signed then realise it's just bickering

Quote Originally Posted by Wakeyhibee View Post
    That would be much better !!!!

Hear hear!

Quote Originally Posted by Lucy Brown View Post
    Lionel Messi.

Dunno, getting on a bit.

Quote Originally Posted by Robbo27 View Post
    The main point is you haven't seen any of his signings play in a competitive game for Hibs yet.Diodge could turn out to be the next Louis Moult and score 20 goals this season.You need to give them a chance to see what they can do first before spouting the negative bile.
    Genuine question Robbo, how long do you wait before expressing an opinion on any Hibs activity? Do you always get through a 90 minutes without an expressing an opinion on a player for example?

I ask because most of us don't, as any match day experience or match day thread will evidence.

The signings look unimpressive to me, I've said so. Where's the crime?

Whether folk like Lennon or not, and I did, his record at the end was indefensible. He'd run out of ideas and probably worked his ticket.

I don't know what others feel but Lennon is the only manager we've had in decades who got angry at our underachievement. We were rarely unlucky according to him, he were either good enough or not good enough and not good enough was completely unacceptable to him.

He was also a bit radge, which is always a plus.

As we've discussed, Heckingbottom turned us round. Credit where it's due. He did so getting results that I'd expect any Hibs manager to get.

When we had to beat the bigger teams, (one who still smaller than us) we didn't, bar Hearts.

I want Hibs to win under any manager and any eleven that's on the park in the jersey. That doesn't mean blind support though.

I don't like the signings bar Scott Allan so far and I'm not impressed when I hear the manager speak or see his team play.

Unlike you, others can't debate that. When an opinon differs from their opinion, they attack. It's all they are capable of. That's social media in 2019.

With regard to aspirational signings, we didn't have money in the Miller days, quite the opposite and we could still attract quality players to the club. Stubbs and Lennon could do it once or twice too. I haven't seen evidence of that from Heckingbottom yet.
    In the Lexo days there was not the gulf in finances there was now. We were able to sign Archibald from Barca, the year after he was a first choice for them. I mean, thats unthinkable now. Even signing a player like Houchen right after he scored in the FA Cup final would be impossible now.

I get what your saying, with Lennon able to sign the likes of Ambrose and Marciano, proven internationals. But in reality no one really has any idea how good our new players are. 3 friendlies are no place to judge them. I remember people being unimpressed with David Murphy after his first friendly game. If I remember rightly Darren Jackson also took a while to settle in and went a while before scoring his first goal for us.

Anyway, we all want the same thing. A top quality Hibs team

Dunno, getting on a bit.

Genuine question Robbo, how long do you wait before expressing an opinion on any Hibs activity? Do you always get through a 90 minutes without an expressing an opinion on a player for example?

I ask because most of us don't, as any match day experience or match day thread will evidence.

The signings look unimpressive to me, I've said so. Where's the crime?
    Do you account for the fact that its pre-season in your assessment?