Page 20 of 30 FirstFirst ... 101819202122 ... LastLast
    “A proper low rent guy” - Springbank 21/10/24 easty's Avatar

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Quote Originally Posted by mjhibby View Post
    Totally agree. The worst thing was not booking Cosgrove second time then sending off findlay for a very similar tackle. Too many refs rushing to send players off these days. I don't know if they feel they might get into trouble with their bosses if they don't but McLean totally ruined that game. Pity as he has been one of the best.
    I don't think Findlay and Cosgrove's second tackles were at all similar. Findlay got the ball and a booking. Cosgrove took the man out late and got a talking to.

Quote Originally Posted by Sylar View Post
    McLean had an absolute shocker this weekend. How Cosgrove stays on the park, then he goes on to send off 3 Killie players (2 of them incredibly soft I thought) is laughable!
    This had passed me by, but Dundee fans had a wee campaign against McLean over his alleged Killie bias because he gave the penalty against Dundee that slowmo later revealed was a Jordan Jones dive.

https://www.eveningtelegraph.co.uk/f...to-kilmarnock/

So he may have been overcompensating, subconsciously or otherwise?

Anyway, don't listen to them Stevie, we'll always have Hampden ...

Haha, this is brilliant - Kilmarnock statement from last October following the Dundee whinge.

The original correspondence from the DSA to the SFA and Mr Fleming expressing concern over the suitability of Steven McLean to take charge of Kilmarnock matches was completely baseless and cast unfounded aspersions on the referee’s character.
    http://www.kilmarnockfc.co.uk/Article?id=7881&ShowCat

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Aye!

Arthur Montford the commentator the jacket the legend

I also liked Bob Crampsey with his headmasterly early 1960s match reports/blogs

The Daddy of them all.

https://youtu.be/iTEgsQz-Muw
    Me too …. I can hear him now … 'I well remember Third Lanark handing Clyde an absolute thrashing in 1953' …. nobody but nobody used the word 'thrashing' so brilliantly

Still cant beat David Francey though, the daddy of them all and simply a brilliant commentator may he rest in peace

Quote Originally Posted by mjhibby View Post
    Totally agree. The worst thing was not booking Cosgrove second time then sending off findlay for a very similar tackle. Too many refs rushing to send players off these days. I don't know if they feel they might get into trouble with their bosses if they don't but McLean totally ruined that game. Pity as he has been one of the best.
    I don't think he's been one of the best for a while. He's been awful in any game I've seen for quite some time.

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    Me too …. I can hear him now … 'I well remember Third Lanark handing Clyde an absolute thrashing in 1953' …. nobody but nobody used the word 'thrashing' so brilliantly

Still cant beat David Francey though, the daddy of them all and simply a brilliant commentator may he rest in peace
    Ha Ha!

Well worth listening to again forgot that the jambos came on the pitch trying to stop the game after the second goal

David Francey always just said enough to paint a picture

No more no less

”It’s a driiiiivvvvvvvveee!”

I also forgot about Derek Rae a fine up and coming commentator went stateside for the 1994 World Cup and the MLS came back sounding like Denis Law

HIBS v Hearts

Did not realise that Mcnultys penalty struck the post

Slivkas point blank header in front of goal

Slivka headers it onto his shoulder to take the pace off the ball

Stevenson gets booted up in the air by Uche -Stevenson kicks him back as he is falling- so McLean decides to dive on Stevenson

Stevenson and McLean booked

Fourth Official swears at Hecky

Michael Stewart disappointed at Hecky outburst

Motherwell v Dundee

Mickey Stewart all over David Turnbull Motherwell thinks he is the real deal

Get him signed up HIBS
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 28-04-2019 at 07:53 PM.

Very disappointed that the BBC chose to ignore the punch in the face delivered by Tge Rangers striker on Aberdeen goalkeeper. Commentator says something like “caught him and now they’re both injured”. Aye right. Mind you the ref hardly dealt with it either.

Quote Originally Posted by CentreLine View Post
    Very disappointed that the BBC chose to ignore the punch in the face delivered by Tge Rangers striker on Aberdeen goalkeeper. Commentator says something like “caught him and now they’re both injured”. Aye right. Mind you the ref hardly dealt with it either.
    Editing of that show is a shambles selective focus. Apparently hecky should be reported while defoes assault on Aberdeen goalie ignored. Same as Scott brown fouls ignored total joke with the usual protection of old firm players. Rangers penalties both a total joke.

Defoe was booked also so should be missing our game next week.

They neglected to show the stone wall penalty on McNulty.

Quote Originally Posted by jax67 View Post
    I don’t think that was a penalty. I was surprised they didn’t show the countless fouls by Uche though - enough to warrant more than 1 red card for persistent fouling.

I find sportscene’s coverage of every game bar the old form to be not a fair reflection of the games at all... tired of the first ‘highlight’ being around 20-30 mins into each game, while there are countless points worth discussion before the first shot on goal! They just gloss over most games’ important points to give more time to the old firm... it’s BBC Scotland for effs sake not BBC Glasgow!!!

What was their take on the ‘penalties’ awarded to the hun?

Quote Originally Posted by Joe6-2 View Post
    What was their take on the ‘penalties’ awarded to the hun?
    One was, one wasn’t I think they said. Although Stewart and Thompson were disagreeing.

I noticed in the last Derby at Tiny they did not even mention Daz wiping out Haring

Play on!

Aye I felt they brushed over it, sky sports news showed it so thought it would be discussed. Disappointing as it was a red card to me, got a history of injuring keepers, lovely lad and great pro plus all the good work he does with charity but undermines that a little with these antics.

Souttar got the ball.

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    HIBS v Hearts

Did not realise that Mcnultys penalty struck the post

Slivkas point blank header in front of goal

Slivka headers it onto his shoulder to take the pace off the ball

Stevenson gets booted up in the air by Uche -Stevenson kicks him back as he is falling- so McLean decides to dive on Stevenson

Stevenson and McLean booked

Fourth Official swears at Hecky

Michael Stewart disappointed at Hecky outburst

Motherwell v Dundee

Mickey Stewart all over David Turnbull Motherwell thinks he is the real deal

Get him signed up HIBS
    Are we actually interested or is this just a helpful suggestion?

Quote Originally Posted by Diclonius View Post
    Are we actually interested or is this just a helpful suggestion?
    Everyone else stealing their players so why not?

In Hecky we trust!

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    Souttar got the ball.
    Great tackle as well. Worth 5 million?

Quote Originally Posted by DexterStJock View Post
    5 million what certainly not pounds

I had a good view of it - it wasn't a penalty. McNulty mis-hit his first touch and then stumbled over a Jambo defender who wasn't in his way. If the Jambo wasn't there, he'd have been running away from the ball!
    Last edited by Aim Here; 29-04-2019 at 12:34 PM. Reason: FFS - the swear filter doesn't know about the word 'mi5hit!

@hibs.net private member Smartie's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by DexterStJock View Post
    It was a great tackle but I thought the guy was absolutely shambolic for the rest of the game.

On another day his howlers alone could have been punished by 3 or 4 goals.

Maroon defenders need to focus on lumping the ball up the park to whichever journeyman target man they happen to have in their employ at that time, and leave playing football to people who are capable.

Quote Originally Posted by Aim Here View Post
    I had a good view of it - it wasn't a penalty. McNulty mis-hit his first touch and then stumbled over a Jambo defender who wasn't in his way. If the Jambo wasn't there, he'd have been running away from the ball!
    👍. Looked a pen from the east.

@hibs.net private member erin go bragh's Avatar
    Souttar got the ball.
    Didn’t look like it to me . Thought sportcene would have at least showed it .
    SCOTTISH CUP WINNERS 2016

Souttar got the ball.
    Sorry Jim but he really didn't

I sit in the FF lower right behind the goals and it was a 100% stonewall penalty

Their was no way in the world Thomson was giving Hibs 2 penalties

Quote Originally Posted by erin go bragh View Post
    Didn’t look like it to me . Thought sportcene would have at least showed it .
    Pretty sure they did show it.

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    Sorry Jim but he really didn't

I sit in the FF lower right behind the goals and it was a 100% stonewall penalty

Their was no way in the world Thomson was giving Hibs 2 penalties
    Andy watched second half back this morning and clearly gets the ball.

I'l watch it later