Pre-Season Friendlies

Outwith the usual local friendlies I'd like to see Hibs get a few games down south this summer. With Hecky now manager it could be a possibility with his background down south. I'd also like to see us play Villa so we can give McGinn a good reception. I know our schedule depends on whether we are in Europe and also with the League Cup but hopefully we can fit one or two in.

Who would you like to see us play?

Down south please like Sheffield.

I'd love us to play Berwick Rangers, preferably away.

On a more serious note someone like Preston or Blackpool would be a decent trip

Professional thread starter Diclonius's Avatar
    It will be Berwick and Dunfermline away. I'd like to see us go somewhere else for a chance to give some non-Edinburgh fans a local game - Stenhousemuir perhaps?

we should have a home and away tie with Preston North End....we could title the event the world club championship final, as present world champions we would get Home advantage in the 2nd leg

Yeh, a couple of friendlies down south so we can have a bit of a jolly instead of the usual trips to Dunfermline and Berwick … please

@hibs.net private member cheltenhamhibee's Avatar
    Cheltenham purely and simply for selfish reasons

@hibs.net private member Auckland Hibs's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    Yeh, a couple of friendlies down south so we can have a bit of a jolly instead of the usual trips to Dunfermline and Berwick … please
    I think the Police will have a significant say in what pre-season games are agreed.

Sadly I can't see there being anything arranged for down South due to crowd issues over recent years i.e. Bolton, Port Vale, etc.

Would really like to have seen us play Villa away for SJM sentiment, or a decent long weekend away i.e. Brighton or Bournemouth.

Quote Originally Posted by Auckland Hibs View Post
    I think the Police will have a significant say in what pre-season games are agreed.

Sadly I can't see there being anything arranged for down South due to crowd issues over recent years i.e. Bolton, Port Vale, etc.

Would really like to have seen us play Villa away for SJM sentiment, or a decent long weekend away i.e. Brighton or Bournemouth.
    The last time we had any real issues was that Bolton match and that was bloomin' 10 years ago, plenty of Scottish clubs have played friendlies and competitive matches in England since then without any bother, including us … I highly doubt the likes of Greater Manchester police or West Midlands police used to handling huge crowds on a weekly basis would bat an eyelid at the visit of a couple of thousand Hibs fans, whose reputation for causing trouble only comes from being at the forefront of the casuals culture over 20 years ago.
    Last edited by NAE NOOKIE; 15-04-2019 at 12:50 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by cheltenhamhibee View Post
    Cheltenham purely and simply for selfish reasons
    New York for the same

Steeton fc, FC Halifax Town, Huddersfield Town then Sheffield Wednesday. Mini tour 😁
    Cougars!!!

Bangkok...great weather 🙏🏻😀

Quote Originally Posted by Bangkok Hibby View Post
    Bangkok...great weather 🙏🏻😀
    Definitely on the to do list

Aston Villa away 😊

Must be a strong likelihood that SJM will not be at Villa come pre-season.

Other than Shrewsbury when was the last time we had a visit down south (excluding Berwick Rangers)? Blackpool or Bolton about 10 year ago probably?

Days of pre-season tours and trips away are gone unfortunately. If we're in the europa the early rounds of that take care of pre-season, if we are not then the group stage of the league cup takes care of it. Shame as trips to Germany, Ireland, France, Belgium etc have been superb in the past.

@hibs.net private member Galahibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Haymaker View Post
    New York for the same
    I could definitely get behind that idea 😁

Hibernians - Away

Blows my mind that it hasn't been arranged before now

A trip to Yorkshire would be good. Loads of teams to play, some great places for a few beers and a good couple of days away and it's easy to get to by various modes of transport.

Berlin please

@hibs.net private member Greenfly's Avatar
    How about an all green tour? - eg. Yeovil, Plymouth and Norwich, with a wee foray north to Buckie if there's time.

PSN ID: friskyfraggle
    Blackpool away, or London so I can visit the family down that way

Quote Originally Posted by SteveHFC View Post
    Down south please like Sheffield.
    I like this suggestion a lot 😎

Quote Originally Posted by Future17 View Post
    Must be a strong likelihood that SJM will not be at Villa come pre-season.

If Villa get promoted then 100% SJM will still be there. If they don't I'd still say 80+%. You have to remember, Villa are a huge club, far bigger than many currently in top flight & their fans would go berserk if they sold SJM. The more rational point is, even if they sold SJM for say over £20m, who could they replace him with for that money?

Quote Originally Posted by brog View Post
    If Villa get promoted then 100% SJM will still be there. If they don't I'd still say 80+%. You have to remember, Villa are a huge club, far bigger than many currently in top flight & their fans would go berserk if they sold SJM. The more rational point is, even if they sold SJM for say over £20m, who could they replace him with for that money?
    Do Villa not have some serious cash flow issues just now? They might be banking on cashing in on Grealish and McGinn. I hope so I have several hundred shares on the Football Index for both of them.

I read something at the weekend that the PSG owners are looking at buying an English club and Villa were name-dropped.

in July 2001 Hibs played 4 friendlies in Brittany (including a weird one against Marseille which we won 2-1). I didn't live here at the time but was well annoyed that I was across for a week in July then again in August but not at the same time as Hibs.

A similar wee tour would do me fine.

@hibs.net private member H18S NX's Avatar
    I much prefer we go back to Trinidad and Tobago,oh yesss.

If we dont make the top 4 our pre-season maybe made up of mostly league cup games

totally agree,

Quote Originally Posted by GreenNWhiteArmy View Post
    Hibernians - Away

Blows my mind that it hasn't been arranged before now

Malta Hibernians would be great , beautiful place and cheapish flights. This and Aston Villa Home or Away would be ideal.

Quote Originally Posted by Sammy7nil View Post
    If we dont make the top 4 our pre-season maybe made up of mostly league cup games
    Alloa, Stirling, Cowdenbeath and Hamilton. The good old away days.