Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread: Dundee United

Uses to work next to someone close to the club. The story I was told was when Eddie Thomson passed away the children looked at how much he was giving to the club and thought **** that, my inheritance money is not going into that. So the money dried up very quickly. They survived for a few years with fees for guys like Goodwillie £2M and Russell £750K etc. But he is desperate to get out and sell.

Quote Originally Posted by James310 View Post
    Uses to work next to someone close to the club. The story I was told was when Eddie Thomson passed away the children looked at how much he was giving to the club and thought **** that, my inheritance money is not going into that. So the money dried up very quickly. They survived for a few years with fees for guys like Goodwillie £2M and Russell £750K etc. But he is desperate to get out and sell.
    I've also heard that of Eddie Thomson's kids, the guy who eventually took over was the last one you'd want in charge of your club. Seemingly his daughter was far more competent and far more formidable but wasn't interested in getting all that involved.

I thought the Thomsons were ancient history anyway? Did the brother of someone on here not have them for a while, then some Americans took over around Christmas?

@hibs.net private member proud_and_green's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Since452 View Post
    I'd love to swap Hamilton and Livingston for Dundee United and Dunfermline. Decent fanbase at those clubs.
    This is where i'm torn,

I cannae stand Livi or Hamilton - although Rice has Hamilton playing football rather than the hack 'n' hoof they played under Canning - but Utd annoy me.

That said, i have some fond memories of away trips to Tannadice - Sauzee's birthday - i think the German Porn Star scored and more wins than losses strangely enough. I think it was one of my first away trips in the 70s, Tannadice was always jam packed and they had that strange crew in the corner with their orange and black dennis the menace jerseys and similarly coloured wrap round glasses - or was that a dream?

I suppose on balance i do want them up - bugger

Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post
    I've also heard that of Eddie Thomson's kids, the guy who eventually took over was the last one you'd want in charge of your club. Seemingly his daughter was far more competent and far more formidable but wasn't interested in getting all that involved.

I thought the Thomsons were ancient history anyway? Did the brother of someone on here not have them for a while, then some Americans took over around Christmas?
    United were taken over by an American millionaire in December who has spent a fair bit of money on new players and coaches for youth set up. They were on the brink before the Yank showed up.

The daughter was involved with the club.

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by gloryhunter View Post
    Probably took the job on a modest salary with the Brucie Bonus of the transfer fee % not coming directly from the owner's pocket.
    Allegedly Dundee Utd offered him less than what he was on at Partick and the cut of transfers was the way his pay was topped up.

Quote Originally Posted by Since452 View Post
    I'd love to swap Hamilton and Livingston for Dundee United and Dunfermline. Decent fanbase at those clubs.
    Decent pubs in Dunfermline and Dundee for pre and after match pints then train home.

Yes they were taken over, totally forgot about that.

It was my brother who bought out both the Thompson. Maxine wasn't really interested though she was more sensible than Stephen. Could tell a lot more but settling down to watch the Masters. Maybe another day.

Not sure why people are so bothered about teams getting up because they have a bigger fanbase than others. The obsession by people in Scottish Football in other clubs attendances is strange.

I’d rather Livi and Hamilton stay up rather than Dundee Utd getting up.

Quote Originally Posted by Steve20 View Post
    Not sure why people are so bothered about teams getting up because they have a bigger fanbase than others. The obsession by people in Scottish Football in other clubs attendances is strange.

Keep em down

Because they bring more away fans, thus producing more income for hibs.

@hibs.net private member staunchhibby's Avatar
    And Dunfermline have superb steak bakes.

Have you ever been to Hamilton away?

So long as football is a meritocracy I will never grudge the likes of Hamilton or Livingston or the few hardy souls who support them their places in the top league, its up to the so called bigger clubs to dislodge them.

But looking at things from the perspective of what would be good for our game in a financial sense and, if such a phrase can ever be applied to Scottish football, the glamour side of things the ongoing absence of Dundee Utd from the premiership is no good to anybody. We currently have 3 clubs in the premiership whose combined turnout of home supporters would be bettered by a competitive Dundee United team.

I don't understand the desire from some folk to see Dundee United faced with a situation they might take decades to recover from, if at all. Remember what a 4th season in the championship would have done to us, it would have been nothing short of catastrophic. So if United do go tits up who will replace them … ICT, Falkirk, Queen of the South ? … No disrespect to those clubs, but how's that going to help the finances or image of our game?

We are not like England or Germany where there is a queue of big clubs just itching to replace a fallen giant, we don't have that luxury and IMO that means doing what we can to ensure our best supported clubs are protected …. by that I don't mean giving them any unfair sporting advantage, but structuring our game in such a way as they are not put in danger of spending so long in the wilderness that their very survival as full time professional clubs is put at risk.

That for me means restructuring the leagues to ensure that clubs like Dundee United still have a chance of being relegated, but if they are a higher percentage chance of bouncing back. It means a 16 team top division with 2 automatic relegation places and the bottom 3rd team in a play off situation. That structure would also create room for the likes of Dunfermline with a decent support and a proper stadium to make it back as well.
    Last edited by NAE NOOKIE; 14-04-2019 at 12:43 PM.

Keep them down

Professional thread starter Diclonius's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    So long as football is a meritocracy I will never grudge the likes of Hamilton or Livingston or the few hardy souls who support them their places in the top league, its up to the so called bigger clubs to dislodge them.

But looking at things from the perspective of what would be good for our game in a financial sense and, if such a phrase can ever be applied to Scottish football, the glamour side of things the ongoing absence of Dundee Utd from the premiership is no good to anybody. We currently have 3 clubs in the premiership whose combined turnout of home supporters would be bettered by a competitive Dundee United team.

I don't understand the desire from some folk to see Dundee United faced with a situation they might take decades to recover from, if at all. Remember what a 4th season in the championship would have done to us, it would have been nothing short of catastrophic. So if United do go tits up who will replace them … ICT, Falkirk, Queen of the South ? … No disrespect to those clubs, but how's that going to help the finances or image of our game?

We are not like England or Germany where there is a queue of big clubs just itching to replace a fallen giant, we don't have that luxury and IMO that means doing what we can to ensure our best supported clubs are protected …. by that I don't mean giving them any unfair sporting advantage, but structuring our game in such a way as they are not put in danger of spending so long in the wilderness that their very survival as full time professional clubs is put at risk.

That for me means restructuring the leagues to ensure that clubs like Dundee United still have a chance of being relegated, but if they are a higher percentage chance of bouncing back. It means a 16 team top division with 2 automatic relegation places and the bottom 3rd team in a play off situation. That structure would also create room for the likes of Dunfermline with a decent support and a proper stadium to make it back as well.
    The SFA, media and OF supporters don't care about any clubs in Scotland outwith the OF. You could have a Scottish Premiership of Celtic, Rangers, Albion Rovers, Brechin and East Stirlingshire after everyone else folds and no one would be bothered.

Quote Originally Posted by Diclonius View Post
    The SFA, media and OF supporters don't care about any clubs in Scotland outwith the OF. You could have a Scottish Premiership of Celtic, Rangers, Albion Rovers, Brechin and East Stirlingshire after everyone else folds and no one would be bothered.
    Probably true … my post was from the perspective of somebody who actually cares about our game.

@hibs.net private member Ringothedog's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post

Statistically 2 from 16 being automatically relegated are worse odds than the current 1 from 12, clubs will not vote for something that increases their chances of being removed from the top league. The 16 team league would mean either a reduction in games from 38 to 30 which could be a potential income loss of about £1m to Hibs in gate money, it would also mean less income from the SPFL for each club that is in the Premiership. Your idea is great in principle but would cost all clubs money. The way it is now isn’t great but is the best we can have

Quote Originally Posted by Ringothedog View Post
    Statistically 2 from 16 being automatically relegated are worse odds than the current 1 from 12, clubs will not vote for something that increases their chances of being removed from the top league. The 16 team league would mean either a reduction in games from 38 to 30 which could be a potential income loss of about £1m to Hibs in gate money, it would also mean less income from the SPFL for each club that is in the Premiership. Your idea is great in principle but would cost all clubs money. The way it is now isn’t great but is the best we can have
    Lies damned lies and statistics as they say I would take my chances that there will be two teams worse than mine in a 16 team league than one team worse in a 12 team league.

As for a 16 team league …. Bin the daft group system we currently have for the league cup and have an 8 / 8 split after each team has played each other home and away. That would do away with the unequal pre split system of fixtures we have now and give each team a total of 44 games as opposed to 38 now, that's only 6 more.
    Last edited by NAE NOOKIE; 14-04-2019 at 02:05 PM.

If the league structure is to be reformed then it needs to have a fluid promotion/relegation situation so that getting back up isn't a real struggle due to limited places. It also needs to do away with any split which gives an uneven allocation of home and away games against each opponent.

So I'd have two leagues of 12. The Upper 12 play each other home and away for a total of 22 games. After that, the top 8 form the Championship group, retaining their points against each other and playing home and away again for a further 14 games and a total of 36. The winner of this group is the league Champion and the European places go to the next two/three clubs (depending on the Scottish Cup winner).

The Lower 12 do the same, with their bottom 8 clubs going into a Relegation group and the bottom two being relegated to the National League comprising the remaining 18 teams who play each other home and away for a total of 34 games.

The bottom 4 from the Upper 12 and top 4 in the Lower 12 meet in the Playoff group, all starting on nil points and with the top 4 teams going into next year's Upper 12 and the bottom 4 into the Lower 12.

The winter break slots neatly into the gap between the two halves of the season and the second half of the season will remain competitive because every team will have something to play for against teams of their own caliber, unlike a 16/18/20 team league.
    Mature, sensible signature required for responsible position. Good prospects for the right candidate. Apply within.

Come on Unehted! From the land o' pehs and Brehdies!