Page 5 of 28 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast

Thread: Cooking Tips

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibby View Post
    Anyone know where I can buy Panko breadcrumbs? Just bog standard crumbs in all of the supermarkets.
    The Chinese supermarket a few doors away from the harp and castle do big bag at a cheap price. Have also seen them in the Tesco at Duke Street, but there a fraction of the size and more expensive.

Anyone know where I can buy Panko breadcrumbs? Just bog standard crumbs in all of the supermarkets.
    You can make your own with a decent food processor and some stale bread.

If not - drop me a PM and I can get branded panko to you nae probs.

Quote Originally Posted by Sergey View Post

If not - drop me a PM and I can get branded panko to you nae probs.
    Cheers G I will try the Chinese supermarket first as I am a lazy bassa👍

@hibs.net private member speedy_gonzales's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Sergey View Post
    Was going to suggest the exact same earlier, I tend to buy the "artisan" (dinnae, just dinnae) loaves when they've been reduced at Tesco or Morrisons. Roughly cut them up and leave them out under a clean tea towel overnight, blitz them the next day and store the breadcrumbs in a jar.

Quote Originally Posted by DetroitHibs View Post
    Anyone got a recipe for proper Chinese curry sauce? Choking on some good curry sauce on my rice or chips, nothing even close this side of the pond.
    Well if you fly to Portland Oregon there is a brilliant street food cart selling Fish suppers with excellent chinese style curry sauce. Tbh the fish is as good as I've tasted. Run by a wee Glasgow boy too.

Not helpful i suppose as you're in Michigan. But there you go lol.

Left by mutual consent! calumhibee1's Avatar
    I’ve bought them in Asda at Newhaven before.

Bought some at Xmas, at sainsburys Blackhall

Cheers G I will try the Chinese supermarket first as I am a lazy bassa👍
    Waitrose sell it.

Its electricity passed through dough. Clearly, the happy outcome from some Japanese student jape!

Left by mutual consent! calumhibee1's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    Bought some at Xmas, at sainsburys Blackhall
    Now that I think about it that’s actually where I got it, not Asda at Newhaven.

Quote Originally Posted by Colr View Post
    Thanks. I’ll check out bOrough market and see if I can get hold of some.
    No nduja there! Did get buratta, though.

Quote Originally Posted by adhibs View Post
    The Chinese supermarket a few doors away from the harp and castle do big bag at a cheap price. Have also seen them in the Tesco at Duke Street, but there a fraction of the size and more expensive.
    They also do a good curry sauce as mentioned earlier in the thread, all you need to add is hot water.

Just bought some root veg (similar but not potato) called albi? Albo? Tried googling but no luck. Was going to make a Bombay potato with it but would be handy to know what it's called. Also have a pakora mix for veg which I am looking forward to making. Next stage will be making my own pakora mix

Quote Originally Posted by wpj View Post
    Just bought some root veg (similar but not potato) called albi? Albo? Tried googling but no luck. Was going to make a Bombay potato with it but would be handy to know what it's called. Also have a pakora mix for veg which I am looking forward to making. Next stage will be making my own pakora mix
    Pakora is fairly easy to make, get yourself some gram flour (chick pea), I get mines from the ethnic aisle at Tesco.
    Onion or chicken recipes aplenty on the net and add some DIY spiced onions as a side,,,,bootiful!

If grilling a piece of fish then remove the wire rack and put about half an inch of water in the bottom of the grill tray then put the fish on top of the water. Grill as you normally would and your fish will not be dried out and tasteless.

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by HappyAsHellas View Post
    If grilling a piece of fish then remove the wire rack and put about half an inch of water in the bottom of the grill tray then put the fish on top of the water. Grill as you normally would and your fish will not be dried out and tasteless.
    Like that. Will give it a try.
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

Quote Originally Posted by speedy_gonzales View Post
    Pakora is fairly easy to make, get yourself some gram flour (chick pea), I get mines from the ethnic aisle at Tesco.
    Onion or chicken recipes aplenty on the net and add some DIY spiced onions as a side,,,,bootiful!
    Thanks for that. In answer to the next post I have a "fish kettle" which makes excellent poached or roasted fish dishes

Haggis pakora are great but do tend to break apart quite a bit.

Do you cook the chicken before frying in the gram flour batter? Fish would in raw as it only takes a few minutes to cook.

Quote Originally Posted by Colr View Post
    Haggis pakora are great but do tend to break apart quite a bit.

Do you cook the chicken before frying in the gram flour batter? Fish would in raw as it only takes a few minutes to cook.
    Personally I let the chicken (strips) marinade in a mix of garlic, ginger, chili, garam masala, mint etc for about an hour before adding a few table spoons of gram flour followed by a few tea spoons of water. Fried off in a wok of vegetable oil until they colour and then in an oven for 10 minutes @ 200°C,,,,
    There's many variants out there but this works for me and my relatively fussy family.

Personally I let the chicken (strips) marinade in a mix of garlic, ginger, chili, garam masala, mint etc for about an hour before adding a few table spoons of gram flour followed by a few tea spoons of water. Fried off in a wok of vegetable oil until they colour and then in an oven for 10 minutes @ 200°C,,,,
    There's many variants out there but this works for me and my relatively fussy family.

Sounds nice. Gonna give that a go. Thanks

Have made my own garam masala for a while now. Quite satisfying and can last a while in the fridge.

Would you share how you do it?

Quote Originally Posted by bigwheel View Post
    Would you share how you do it?
    Sorry for the generic reply but I just follow the basic recipe and add heat as I fancy. If you make the masala mix it will stay fresh in the fridge and is really good with any near to sell by meat or veg.
    https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Garam_masala

Sorry for the generic reply but I just follow the basic recipe and add heat as I fancy. If you make the masala mix it will stay fresh in the fridge and is really good with any near to sell by meat or veg.
    https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Garam_masala
    Sorry I should add that is a dried mix. Another option is to use celery peppers and various other veg, sometimes that is better than adding meat

I make a chilli sauce that everyone always asks where I got it.

4 or 5 tomatoes skin off
    2 cloves of garlic
    Decent glug of Red wine vinegar
    3 birds eye chillies
    1 jalapeno
    1/2 a Scotch bonnet
    Half a teaspoon of habanero powder
    Big pinch of salt
    Tablespoon of sugar
    An apricot and half a mango
    A splash or 2 of water if needed

Chop the chillies, fruit etc stick it all in a saute pan and cook for about 10 minutes until everything is softened up. Blitz in a blender/processor, stand for 5 minutes then bottle/jar it and keep it in the fridge. It's best after 3 or 4 days and will keep for about a month. It's hot but the fruit gives a really nice sweet note.

I like to add tinned anchovies to virtually every salad I have, I drain them, dry them, roll in flour and smoked paprika and deep fry them in very hot oil for minutes.
    Last edited by Scouse Hibee; 28-07-2018 at 07:28 PM.

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    I like to add tinned anchovies to virtually very salad I have, I drain them, dry them, roll in flour and smoked paprika and deep fry them in very hot oil for minutes.
    A tinned anchovy fillet adds a kick of umami to most savoury dishes, but especially tomato sauces. You can freeze the remaining anchovies and just add them straight into dishes. Tins are cheap, perhaps 60p or so and the depth of flavour is phenomenal for the outlay.
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

On the subject of anchovies, rather than use them tinned, look out for them salted. They can be purchased by weight and will keep indefinitely stored in the fridge. You have to rehydrate them in several changes of water (over 24 hours if you have the time) and then use them as you would if they came out of a can.

The benefit is they aren't as flimsy as canned and you can use them in different ways. In stir-fry dishes they hold their texture (chop into small pieces) and retain a crunch - the Chinese use them in their 'Salted Fish' dishes.

For those travelling to Greece - they are readily available over there for little or no money. If you can get fresh anchovies, then you can always salt your own.

I like to add tinned anchovies to virtually very salad I have, I drain them, dry them, roll in flour and smoked paprika and deep fry them in very hot oil for minutes.

That sounds fantastic!

As a fan of anchovies, Tesco sell jars of silver anchovies in all.

They are not as salty as tinned ones and have more meat to them.

Quote Originally Posted by pollution View Post
    That sounds fantastic!

As a fan of anchovies, Tesco sell jars of silver anchovies in all.

They are not as salty as tinned ones and have more meat to them.
    Also in the anchovy fan club. As I have mentioned before I have used then to season sauces.

Have just moved house and am going to order a takeaway. Big move as it's my first one here in my new address. Not looking for tips (I'm in Cambridge) but it's a massive move to get what you want. I'm going for Chinese or Indian. A result tonight will be an influence On my future purchases