Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Royal Wedding

Royal Wedding

What’s the best way of avoiding this crock of *****? I’m considering going to the cinema!

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Colr View Post
    What’s the best way of avoiding this crock of *****? I’m considering going to the cinema!
    I'll find something more enjoyable to do than watch all the "Pump & Fill-yer-pants".
    Like having root canal treatment.

I'll be up and out at about 4am. Aim to be up and down Ben Lomond by 11. Meet the girlfriend and daughter and have Lunch by the loch around Balmaha then a wee wander to Tom Weirs statue. Drive home and watch something on Netflix or similar and have a few beers.

That's what I'd be doing anyway so not intentionally avoiding the wedding. It's easy enough to do if you want to.

Not a fan of the royals but there's something pleasurable about the pomp and ceremony.

I'll be up and out at about 4am. Aim to be up and down Ben Lomond by 11. Meet the girlfriend and daughter and have Lunch by the loch around Balmaha then a wee wander to Tom Weirs statue. Drive home and watch something on Netflix or similar and have a few beers.

That's what I'd be doing anyway so not intentionally avoiding the wedding. It's easy enough to do if you want to.
    I’ll be up a hill as well. Possibly Liathach in Torridon if the current forecast for Saturday holds.

I'll be smack bang in the middle of a stag do in Benidorm, no doubt royally hung over.

May as well watch it. We're paying for it, aren't we?
    Or do the bride's folks pick up the tab in the traditional way?

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by JeMeSouviens View Post
    I’ll be up a hill as well. Possibly Liathach in Torridon if the current forecast for Saturday holds.
    I'll throw my hat into the ring as being one of the "up a hill" brigade too.

Not planned it yet though - down in the lake district currently and keeping an eye on the weather forecast. If it's good I'll be having a look at what Munroes I've not done yet or dragging the other half up her first - probably Ben Lomond or schihalian for a first timer I'd say.
    Mon the Hibs.

Just carry on with your normal routine?

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    When is it?

Just checked and it’s blanket coverage on Saturday morning from 9-2. BBC, ITV and Sky One, with highlights later in case you miss it.

The cup final build up doesn’t start until 2, which is an hour later than normal. Poor stuff.

I saw someone on twitter earlier saying the wedding should be a pay per view event - totally agree. Test the loyalty of the loyalists by asking them to put their hand in their pockets.

I'll be watching the Cup final. I'm not in the slightest fussed about some bloke and his Mrs to be's wedding that I've never met.

That said, said bloke is punching big time.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

Couldn't care less about it. The Royals are leitches and to still have a monarchy in this modern day and age is a joke IMO. Why should one family have endless privileges courtesy of the tax payer when others have to work their ***** off every day just to get by.

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Danderhall Hibs View Post
    Just checked and it’s blanket coverage on Saturday morning from 9-2. BBC, ITV and Sky One, with highlights later in case you miss it.

The cup final build up doesn’t start until 2, which is an hour later than normal. Poor stuff.

I saw someone on twitter earlier saying the wedding should be a pay per view event - totally agree. Test the loyalty of the loyalists by asking them to put their hand in their pockets.
    Blanket coverage started on Monday with the BBC News at 6 having a 'feature' speculating on the dress and flowers.
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

Switch the tv off and go out in the garden

It gets blanket coverage because the viewer numbers will merit it. The wedding will blow the Scottish and FA Cup finals out the water for viewers.

For a lot of people it's their cup final day and they will act accordingly. I know folk who are having fancy breakfasts, cocktails, dressing up and sitting down to watch it together. It's not my cup of tea but if people are having a nice day with their friends and it puts a smile on their face I can't get too upset about it. It's not impacting on me.

It gets blanket coverage because the viewer numbers will merit it. The wedding will blow the Scottish and FA Cup finals out the water for viewers.

For a lot of people it's their cup final day and they will act accordingly. I know folk who are having fancy breakfasts, cocktails, dressing up and sitting down to watch it together. It's not my cup of tea but if people are having a nice day with their friends and it puts a smile on their face I can't get too upset about it. It's not impacting on me.
    Exactly where I am with it. I’ll be avoiding it by simply watching another channel.

I'm on the tee at 11.56 so I'll take my own advice and arrive an hour early to stretch, warm up and hit a few shots first.

I should be off the course by about 4.00 and home free.

Depending on the half time score at Hampden, I might rush home to catch the 2nd half, otherwise it'll be Man U v Chelsea at 5.15 for me.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    The dog will be getting a long long walk so I'll miss it and the missus won't have the dog jumping all over her when it's on. Home for the Cup Final and hopefully celebrate us getting into Europe.

@hibs.net private member One Day Soon's Avatar

Gamertag: 4 PSN ID: 6 Wii Code: 5
    Big fan of both Suits and especially Meghan Markle.

I've a lot to do on Saturday but I may accidentally see some Markle-related bits of the wedding once or twice while I'm channel surfing on my tea breaks....

Anyway the televised introduction of the genetic concept of hybrid vigor to the Royal Family is practically David Attenborough stuff people. So if I watch any of it, it's in the support and pursuit of science.

Why should we bother watching it. Her dad probably won't be going and his dad didn't even get an invite.

Travelling to Liverpool on Friday night so I can join up with the pre wedding street drinks party at my Dad's street. Up early on Saturday for champagne breakfast at Liverpool Hilton before heading to party with live screening at St George's Hall. Can't wait, I love a Royal Wedding.

The TV has been awash with utter drivel about this non event all week, I even turned over this afternoon to see a washed up BBC reporter on a celebrity chef's cookery show re creating the meal they allegedly ate the night he proposed ... I mean FFS c'mon !!! .... I have to pay a TV licence so they can produce this Ertha Kitt.

Someone on the news on one of their never ending vox pops on the subject even said 'it makes you proud to be British' and another said 'it was all about Britishness' ......... what an absolute avalanche of nonsense, but what it does show is that there is no let up in the myth perpetuated by the forelock tugging peasants and sycophants in our society that being loyal to your country but not being a royalist are mutually exclusive. A state of mind even enshrined in law which precludes anyone from sitting in parliament as an MP unless they swear allegiance to the queen and her heirs and successors ... not to the UK, not to the people of the UK but to the queen.

A state of affairs by the way which precludes democratically elected Irish nationalist MPs from taking their seats in parliament because by definition they cant swear allegiance to the queen, though to be fair I suppose they wouldn't swear allegiance to the UK either. You then of course have the farce of having many SNP MPs ( a party with a healthy number of republicans ) being put in the position of swearing an oath to an institution they fundamentally disagree with on pain of being denied taking up their seats, without so much as a by your leave to or consideration for the citizens of this country who voted for them .... it would appear the royal family are more important.

That's why the never ending pre event coverage and live broadcast of the event itself isn't just a harmless distraction for old ladies and the simple minded ... its free publicity and overwhelmingly supportive, even fawning, publicity which helps to popularise and perpetuate a situation which makes a mockery of the idea that we live in a democracy and should have been consigned to the history books hundreds of years ago.

Good luck to the happy couple.
    Last edited by NAE NOOKIE; 16-05-2018 at 12:17 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Geo_1875 View Post
    Why should we bother watching it. Her dad probably won't be going and his dad didn't even get an invite.

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibby View Post
    Travelling to Liverpool on Friday night so I can join up with the pre wedding street drinks party at my Dad's street. Up early on Saturday for champagne breakfast at Liverpool Hilton before heading to party with live screening at St George's Hall. Can't wait, I love a Royal Wedding.
    I think the street parties are more of an English thing but I was surprised by how many there were in Scotland when William and Kate got married. As others have said, I don't see the harm. I'll be working but my family will probably all be watching. Shame Pippa Middleton's not a bridesmaid this time round.

Quote Originally Posted by G B Young View Post
    I think the street parties are more of an English thing but I was surprised by how many there were in Scotland when William and Kate got married. As others have said, I don't see the harm. I'll be working but my family will probably all be watching. Shame Pippa Middleton's not a bridesmaid this time round.
    Its helping to perpetuate a culture in this country that supports and maintains the myth that some people are more worthy of position and deference due to the circumstances of their birth than others.

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    Its helping to perpetuate a culture in this country that supports and maintains the myth that some people are more worthy of position and deference due to the circumstances of their birth than others.
    Aye whatever.

Its hilarious when everyone gets on their superiority high horse over North Koreans who "worship" their Dear Leader and then outdo them by a far amount without any hint of irony when the Saxe-Coburg and Gotha crew put on a show.

I’d love to avoid it but unfortunately I’m marrying the ginger prick

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibby View Post
    Traveling to Liverpool...or to the 1950s?