Yes, that sounds excellent. I don't doubt a scholar such as yourself fits in perfectly on the left bank 😂This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Results 4,591 to 4,620 of 14210
Thread: Pet Peeves IV
-
25-01-2018 02:00 PM #4591
-
25-01-2018 02:01 PM #4592This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
25-01-2018 02:16 PM #4593This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
25-01-2018 04:45 PM #4594This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
25-01-2018 04:55 PM #4595
In your post you listed "People who think that an opinion is ‘pish’, ‘nonsense’, ‘rubbish’ etc just because it is negative in tone."
To which the reply was "pish".
I don't think it was serious.
-
25-01-2018 05:00 PM #4596This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
My horrible, snotty, sanctimonious reply was a demonstration of another of my pet peeves, hence the bit in brackets where I said ‘that’s also one btw’.
I put it to you, Sir, that you were the one who was in fact wooshed
-
25-01-2018 05:02 PM #4597This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
25-01-2018 07:33 PM #4598This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
People who claim that they were either joking or were playing devil's advocate all along when they've ****ed up an argument.
People who only ever dismiss or criticise things but never, ever bring something with any value to the table.
Folk who wait to hear other people's opinions before voicing their own so that they can fall in with the crowd rather than standing by their own opinionFollow the Hibs podcast, Longbangers, on Twitter (@longbangers)
https://www.patreon.com/user?u=18491...rshare_creator
https://youtube.com/@longbangers?si=N9JL5Ugx2l2aKEC8
-
-
-
26-01-2018 11:49 AM #4601
When they start making out like they were "fishing" all along when a debate gets a bit heated and they're incorrect.
-
26-01-2018 09:26 PM #4602
It must have been mentioned already, but I saw a couple more examples this week of something which always annoys me. When music videos show the singers in the studio with headphones on, why do they always feel the need to hold on to one or both earcups? Why not just get a pair of headphones that fit?
#PERSEVERED
-
26-01-2018 10:28 PM #4603This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Sometimes you'll see people putting on headphones so they only use one ear. They're less likely to cup the headphone as, with one ear exposed, a wee bit of extra external sound in the other is less noticeable.
Recording with headphones is a necessary evil as, like listening to a recording of your own voice, everything sounds bizarre.
-
27-01-2018 12:30 AM #4604This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Similar effect to what the Aran jersey folkies used to do when singing in group harmony. They put a finger in one ear to take out the other voices so they could hear their own voice more clearly.
-
27-01-2018 03:11 PM #4605
People who post those annoying "live every day like it's your last" pictures on Facebook.
Really aye? One last day and you've got yersel posting ***** on social media ?Last edited by IGRIGI; 27-01-2018 at 03:15 PM.
-
27-01-2018 03:23 PM #4606This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuotePM Awards General Poster of The Year 2015, 2016, 2017. Probably robbed in other years
-
28-01-2018 12:17 AM #4607
Another Hibs.net one
the term “intelligent player with good movement”.
In most cases it’s just a nonsense phrase that means nothing and is completely unmeasurable and, imo, is only used so people can pretend that they know more about football by being able to ‘see’ something that others can’t see.
It’s usually reserved exclusively for strikers who either don’t score enough or haven’t scored yet as some sort of pat on the back for at least trying. Strikers that actually score goals never seem to get this type of praise however.
James Collins, Dagnall, Dja Djedje, Grant Holt, Brian Graham all low scoring strikers who were regularly praised for being “intelligent players with good movement”.
Oli Shaw, Martin Boyle, James Keatings all praised for the same thing as they searched for their first goals too but it stopped after they started scoring (although in Keating case it would pop up now an again during his long barren spells).
Jamie MacLaren is the latest of our intelligent players with good movement apparently.Last edited by My_Wife_Camille; 28-01-2018 at 12:26 AM.
-
28-01-2018 06:19 AM #4608
"Networking is crucial to getting a promotion"
Corporate speak for
"Don't bother turning on your computer and doing actual work, carry your laptop in one hand, carry an overpriced "mocha latte" from Starbucks in the other, and stalk management and kiss arse all day long"
-
-
28-01-2018 12:56 PM #4610This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
28-01-2018 03:35 PM #4611This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Might as well just say " pre planned humping soon"No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn
-
28-01-2018 07:18 PM #4612
Can't stand it either. Complete roasters.
-
28-01-2018 08:04 PM #4613
However, while I can appreciate it being a peeve, I think it's a fair observation for some players. Some strikers dinnae score enough goals, and it's no there fault completely, they're doing a lot right but the service is *****.
-
28-01-2018 09:56 PM #4614This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
The peeve is more the fact that it generally means nothing and it’s just a phrase that’s thrown about as a one size fits all excuse for strikers who don’t score, similar to ‘unseen work’ for crap midfielders, ‘good communicators’ for crap defenders and ‘good distribution’ for crap keepers.
In some cases it’s actually true but even a stopped clock is right twice a day etc
I’ll have a quick go on the search facility for Djedje
-
-
-
29-01-2018 11:10 AM #4617
Sorry, Sleeping Giant. Pet peeve is ' pre- planned '. Planned is something organised in advance.
-
29-01-2018 06:42 PM #4618This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Why people feel the need to try and crush your hand when shaking hands is beyond me.
-
29-01-2018 07:09 PM #4619This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
My one that's I've been reminded of recently is the ****ing Superbowl and more specifically, folk turning into passionate fans for 2 days a year and spraffing ***** on Facebook and staying up until 5am or whatever.
I'll confess the sport itself is entirely lost on me, all this stop-start pish, but the Superbowl as an event is NFL on Crack. Not a fan.
-
29-01-2018 08:52 PM #4620This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I don't want to arm-wrestle with you, ya torque wrench.