Pathetic. Anyone caught using electronic equipment to get answers in pub quizes should be banned. The equivalent off buying players you can't afford. Mind you, what self righteous team would do a thing Ike that?This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Results 3,421 to 3,450 of 14208
Thread: Pet Peeves IV
-
03-07-2017 10:01 PM #3421
-
03-07-2017 10:03 PM #3422This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
A colleague was doing this at our last Christmas night out and was quite pleased with himself.
Bawbag
-
03-07-2017 11:13 PM #3423This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
On that note, whenever I watch quizes on tele I get quite a lot right because there's so much random stuff that my brain seems to retain, but when it comes to me actually attending pub quizes I'm absolutely useless.
-
03-07-2017 11:21 PM #3424This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
04-07-2017 06:01 AM #3425This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
"You get what you pay for" and "that's how much it costs so pony up or shut up"
Folk in decent jobs banging on about how "everything's so expensive" wreck my head.
Shop around, don't buy it, I don't care but stop filling my airspace with your constant whines about prices.
-
04-07-2017 08:59 AM #3426This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
However, I was down south staying at a Village hotel and they were doing a quiz night where you actually use your mobile phone to answer the questions. You log on to the quizmasters WiFi (meaning you can't Google), enter your team name with a unique jingle when you buzz in, there's also multiple answer questions and speed rounds.
Even though I was on my own (sad act) I was 2nd most of the way through the quiz until the last question,,, "to the nearest number how many tube stations on the Circle line".
Being a virtual train spotter (again, sad act) working in the railway I knew it was in the region of 40, most teams guessed about 20 so yours truly won the Brucie Bonus 50 points.
1st prize was a pitcher of beer, unfortunately I couldn't drink it as I was up early next day and had to be fit for duty,,, still,,,, excellent fun and takes away the cheating element.
-
04-07-2017 12:33 PM #3427This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
04-07-2017 06:05 PM #3428
What depot/station do you work at? What do you do in the railway mate?
-
04-07-2017 09:26 PM #3429This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
A few years ago I was at a quiz and my team finished joint 1st. Each team had to nominate a member to answer a tie break question. I was chose and a coin was tossed to see which team answered first. The question was: in what year was Hansel & Gretel written and published? Closest wins but you only answers correct or earlier than the correct date count. I was sure it was 1818 so guessed 1813, 5 years earlier than I thought. The other team guessed 1695. The answer was 1812, I was one year out, they were 117 but won because I was a year later! Utter bullshot rule and cost us £100.PM Awards General Poster of The Year 2015, 2016, 2017. Probably robbed in other years
-
04-07-2017 10:34 PM #3430This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
05-07-2017 04:26 AM #3431This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
You wuz robbed.
-
05-07-2017 04:27 PM #3432
People who stand up at restaurants and let their chair slide back making a really annoying noise. Does my nut it, lady bunberry is particularly bad for doing this.
United we stand here....
-
05-07-2017 05:50 PM #3433
Handling chillis and feeling the burn. Oil up my nose and it's nippy.
I'm also sucking ice cubes as my mouth is burning too.
-
05-07-2017 09:18 PM #3434
People that go on holiday to family resorts and wear ridiculously tight trunks. I'm in Majorca the now and there's a couple of guys that wear wearing stuff totally inappropriate and more than borderline creepy.
I was in France last year and the hotel had a rule you had to wear trunks and not shorts for hygiene reasons so it's maybe just a cultural thing but I still find it wrong.
-
05-07-2017 11:31 PM #3435
Folk that wear football tops on holiday, I'm in Lanzarote just and have seen at least 20 people wearing a Celtic strips including a family of 4, mother and kids included wearing a full kit. Complete roasters. I have also seen nearly every EPL top over the last week.
-
05-07-2017 11:34 PM #3436
Throbbers that applaud on a plane when it lands. Whats that all about? Pilot is just doing their job. Do you applaud the butcher when he hands you your pound of mince, or applaud the postie when he delivers your mail? Naw you don't so pack it in!
-
06-07-2017 06:43 AM #3437This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I think with planes it may just be relief - I'm a pretty nervous flier and am always delighted to arrive safely. That said, I've never applauded
-
06-07-2017 07:11 AM #3438This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I was on a flight back from Turkey a few years ago, flying into Glasgow. Sat in front of Jimmy and Senga McHun and their band of billy boys. All in Rangers gear from head to toe. One of the kids was at least a wee bit dressed up because he was wearing the away tap.
Stupid prick kept telling one of his brood to 'kick the seat in front to make the plane go faster'. After about 5 boots to the back I told him to tell his child to stop. 'Stoap wit' Is there a problem big man?' Eventually he had a word until we landed when he said to give the seat an extra hard kick to 'make the breaks work'. This was followed by the whole family celebrating like a last minute winner at Hampden when the plane came to a stop.
Absolute cretins.PM Awards General Poster of The Year 2015, 2016, 2017. Probably robbed in other years
-
06-07-2017 10:36 AM #3439This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
06-07-2017 01:01 PM #3440
-
06-07-2017 01:02 PM #3441
Celtic fans with invincible t shirts. Undefeated 2016/17 season. They lost to the Red Imps.
-
06-07-2017 01:13 PM #3442This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I'm sure I'm not the type you're talking about but I've been pretty embarrassed at myself the last few days so feel the need to justify it. My laddie and another kid in the party were struggling with sore ears coming into land so in an effort to distract them we made a big deal of landing with clapping and cheering.
I'll take my yellow card on the chin if required though.
-
06-07-2017 01:40 PM #3443This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
06-07-2017 02:13 PM #3444This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
06-07-2017 03:19 PM #3445This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
06-07-2017 04:03 PM #3446
Rangers fans with no sense of humour. In Costa Adeje just now, when we heard two Rangers fans discussing the score the other night my laddie burst out laughing, if looks could kill!
-
06-07-2017 04:29 PM #3447
People who park their shopping trolley so that it blocks the whole aisle and bimble off somewhere else.
-
06-07-2017 04:43 PM #3448This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
06-07-2017 05:05 PM #3449This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
06-07-2017 05:35 PM #3450This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Answer: about 15 years seemingly.
Agree completely with your point. In Switzerland especially, supermarket design is ****ing chronic (eggs next to the luggage and lingerie, orange juice on a separate floor just past the homeware being my 2 favourite examples) and is coupled with an acute cultural lack of spatial awareness.