It's what was Khushis Broughton Street. There's another new place next door as well that used to the Bakehouse.This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk
Thread: Recent Restaurant Visits Reviews
-
19-07-2016 01:30 PM #301PM Awards General Poster of The Year 2015, 2016, 2017. Probably robbed in other years
-
19-07-2016 08:10 PM #302This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I've been intending going to the sister restaurant, the Apiary, for a pre-theatre meal when attending the EFT but I've prioritised other places so far (Hewat's; Kalpna; Mother India's Cafe et al). A friend who ate there recently was very positive about their experience, they had the seafood sharing platter and thought it was excellent.There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars
-
21-07-2016 10:55 AM #303
-
22-07-2016 07:40 PM #304
I went to the Gurkha bar and restaurant last night in Musselburgh. it's a nice wee small place with friendly staff.
The food was amazing, I'd go as far as saying the best curry I've ever tasted. There were 5 of us there and everyone was saying how great the food was.
Definitely going back!
-
26-08-2016 09:21 PM #305
Mother India's Cafe again, last night. It was absolutely heaving, really busy, but that probably suits the tapas style.
I know many on here will have been but for those who haven't, it's well worth a visit. Indian food, tapas style. Not your korma through to madras-style menu, but not really fancy either. Great food and great service, pretty reasonably priced, good range of non-meat dishes and some very tasty meat choices.There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars
-
28-08-2016 06:24 AM #306
The Spice Lounge Kitchen on Drum Brae. A warm welcome in tastefully and brightly decorated premises, this has attracted a family crowd. The waiter said it's bookings only on Fridays which is good going for an out of town place. I know their illuminated signage and stuff has annoyed local residents but I can't fault the food which was promptly served and of very good quality. Drinks were not exorbitant either. They do a myriad of food deals and have a menu about these which was hard to fathom but they're doing OK.
-
03-09-2016 05:22 PM #307
I had pre-theatre dinner in the Educated Flea on Broughton Street last night. It's the sister restaurant of Three Birds and the Apiary. It's small, I'm guessing less than thirty covers.
The service was very, very friendly, prompt and helpful when we asked for anything.
The food was very reasonably priced, especially the pre-theatre deal. It's an eclectic menu, influences from around the globe. Portions tended to be on the generous side, flavour was there most of the time - my main was beef cheeks that came with a sticky soy and star anise sauce that was exactly that, but the wasabi potatoes were lighter on the wasabi than I would have happily dealt with. Everything was cooked relatively well, the beef in particular.
Decent enough range of desserts, especially the ice creams and sorbets which had some interesting combinations. The wine list isn't huge but pretty much covers any food choice and they do house carafes at 500ml, which is helpful.
Liked it enough to make another reservation for next time we're going to the Playhouse.There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars
-
11-09-2016 06:52 PM #308
Anyone been to Xiangbala Hotpot in Dalry? I saw a thing on TV a week or so ago where they were in China and went to one of these hot pot restaurants. I quite like the look of it.
-
15-09-2016 02:37 PM #309
Has anyone been to Nonna's kitchen before up in morningside? Heard good things about it so thinking of going there for my birthday
-
15-09-2016 03:03 PM #310
I was in Walnut on Sunday for their Sunday lunch. As were a couple of other Hibbies that I hadn't seen for a while.
Good food, good service BYOB. Mains mostly around a tenner, fist courses and puddings around a fiver.
No sign of any walnuts though!
-
15-09-2016 03:07 PM #311This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
15-09-2016 03:16 PM #312
http://www.osteriafrancescana.it
10 days until I'm in this place...cannae wait is an understatement!"You opened the box....and your soul belongs to me...."
-
15-09-2016 03:33 PM #313This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
15-09-2016 04:01 PM #314
After folk raving about The Mosque Kitchen I was there the other week.
I really don't see what folk are seeing, or tasting here.
Lots of rice, lots and lots of rice, lots of curry sauce, which honestly is no better than my own, in which there was very little chicken. The nann bread was nice.
Yeah it's cheap but in my opinion it's not worth it. I really was quite disappointed.
Can't say I was impressed with the greetin faced staff other than the smiling girl clearing the tables. Maybe it was her last day.Space to let
-
15-09-2016 08:24 PM #315
Recently at Miro's Cantina on Rose Street, have now been there several times and yet to find fault.
-
15-09-2016 09:04 PM #316This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
16-09-2016 06:28 AM #317
Which one did you go to, Nicolson sq or the one in the mosque itself?
-
16-09-2016 08:10 AM #318
Nicolson Sq.Space to let
-
16-09-2016 09:09 AM #319This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Nicholson Sq one is about 5 years old and has called itself that to dupe tourists and to capitalise on the success of the original.
-
16-09-2016 09:46 AM #320
This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteSpace to let
-
16-09-2016 04:24 PM #321This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Go for it!
-
16-09-2016 07:22 PM #322This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
16-09-2016 10:14 PM #323This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I'd agree the one in the actual Mosque now serves infinitely better food.
-
18-09-2016 02:58 PM #324This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
29-10-2016 09:16 AM #325
Tried Tuk Tuk last night opposite the Kings Theatre, decent enough for the price and a cheap night with BYOB.
Went for the set menu,you can replenish each dish as often as yo like.
-
29-10-2016 07:25 PM #326
-
29-10-2016 07:28 PM #327
Wasn't overly impressed when there, but it was over a year ago. Nice Thai place in the side street just over the road. BYOB, and very very authentic called Absolute Thai. Best Thai in Edinburgh IMO. Good idea to book as it only seats about 25.
-
29-10-2016 07:30 PM #328
-
29-10-2016 08:11 PM #329
My old man was @ Kebabish in Dalry Road last night and said it was very good, BYOB too I think.
-
29-10-2016 08:27 PM #330This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote