Thread: 20mph

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar

20mph

How long before we have to drive everywhere in reverse?

Can I ask a silly question?

Are all the streets, that have the new limit, signed accordingly?

I was driving about yesterday, a tad confused.

@hibs.net private member speedy_gonzales's Avatar
    Drove through Kirkliston this morning, plenty 20 signs up and paint on the road so you'd have to be Mr Magoo to miss it. However, there was a little confusion where the old 20 zone outside the primary school is/was. The council have left the 30 roundels up on the back of the big sign with the yellow flashers so there is some contradictory signage.

Apart from that, the 20 zone seemed to be obeyed by all motorists around me, long may it continue??

@hibs.net private member derekHFC's Avatar
    I didn't realise that it was a phased implementation, I thought it was all of Edinburgh at once and was surprised that there weren't more signs up.

I stay in zone 2, so it doesn't come into effect for me till later on, its just the town centre and west of the city for now.

I did speak to someone earlier who said that in one street, it was sign-posted for 20mph going one way and 30mph going the other. I don't know if he was being serious or not
    Someone once told me that hard work wouldn't kill me.

I thought: "Hell, why take the chance"!

Quote Originally Posted by derekHFC View Post
    I didn't realise that it was a phased implementation, I thought it was all of Edinburgh at once and was surprised that there weren't more signs up.

I stay in zone 2, so it doesn't come into effect for me till later on, its just the town centre and west of the city for now.

I did speak to someone earlier who said that in one street, it was sign-posted for 20mph going one way and 30mph going the other. I don't know if he was being serious or not

That surely wouldn't be the case - maybe they ran out of paint or haven't replaced the signs.

On a related note, I'd like to see motorways etc being upped to 80 MPH.

Quote Originally Posted by steakbake View Post
    That surely wouldn't be the case - maybe they ran out of paint or haven't replaced the signs.

Not sure it would make much odds here with just 2 lanes, you would still get you folk on the inside sitting at 50 then the knock on with slightly quicker but still slow vehicles clogging the overtaking lane to get by them - I doubt putting it up to 80 would make those that are slow anyway go much quicker and they are the real barrier to getting the roads moving more quickly.

It's the biggest load of pish ever. Another money spinner for the counci, pointless venture.

If you're worried about folk speeding, just put cameras up? simple. Now you end up stuck driving behind somebody driving 14mph all the way through the grassmarket and holyrood park, adding a good 10 minutes to the journey time with cyclists overtaking you.

Quote Originally Posted by speedy_gonzales View Post
    Drove through Kirkliston this morning, plenty 20 signs up and paint on the road so you'd have to be Mr Magoo to miss it. However, there was a little confusion where the old 20 zone outside the primary school is/was. The council have left the 30 roundels up on the back of the big sign with the yellow flashers so there is some contradictory signage.

Apart from that, the 20 zone seemed to be obeyed by all motorists around me, long may it continue??

Love the irony, given your user name.

Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post
    Not sure it would make much odds here with just 2 lanes, you would still get you folk on the inside sitting at 50 then the knock on with slightly quicker but still slow vehicles clogging the overtaking lane to get by them - I doubt putting it up to 80 would make those that are slow anyway go much quicker and they are the real barrier to getting the roads moving more quickly.
    Amazing that since the invention of the motor car 30mph in towns seemed reasonable. All of a sudden it's too fast.

It's reasonable to have 20 mph limits in residential areas and I'd have no objection to a full implementation of that. But this is taking it too far. I can see this causing a lot of frustration. The ********s that come up with this need to be put down, I don't believe for one second that this was met by approval on the apparent survey they carried out.

Quote Originally Posted by #FromTheCapital View Post
    It's reasonable to have 20 mph limits in residential areas and I'd have no objection to a full implementation of that. But this is taking it too far. I can see this causing a lot of frustration. The ********s that come up with this need to be put down, I don't believe for one second that this was met by approval on the apparent survey they carried out.
    Aye, I love surveys. I'm sure I could arrange the 'selection' to get any result I wanted.
    i.e. Poll the residents of Barton re. building a new prison there. Difficult to predict the outcome, eh?

@hibs.net private member EH6 Hibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by steakbake View Post

If they're doing the zones in line with their parking restrictions then it could be the case that one side of the road is different to the other.

I got my one and only parking ticket on Montrose terrace for that reason. I regularly park on the left hand side going towards London Road, you can park between 9.15am and 4.30pm. There were no spaces one day so I parked on the other side and got a ticket. You can't park on that side between 8am and 6pm.

Agreed it's a load of pish, thankfully most people seem to be ignoring it including the police car I was behind on the mound earlier.

United we stand here....

I was stuck behind this old geezer on the way home from the meadows, going south. Despite the fact we were outside the zone he stuck to 19 mph for 2 miles, despite there being no one about and him being outside the zone! Lots of people clearly thinking its 20 mph everywhere.

Ah you see that's the problem. You and I and who knows how many others thump their keyboard on here (dotnet and the like) but won't, or didn't, object when the consultation was on. Nor as far as I'm aware, because I'm sure we would have heard ;-) did those representing the professional drivers like the taxi companies or trade associations.

Apathy at its best and the more apathic we are the more crap like this we'll get.
    Space to let

Signs say 30 but paint on the road says 20, crazy so I added them together and done 50.

Left by mutual consent! calumhibee1's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Signs say 30 but paint on the road says 20, crazy so I added them together and done 50.

PSN ID: Euphoria1875
    How has the city centre been since this has been in place, is ok or carnage? The thing that get me is that there's a huge difference between central Edinburgh and the rest of the city, I just don't see 20mph as the way forward.

I wonder what sort of impact this will have on taxi fares?

@hibs.net private member RyeSloan's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Gatecrasher View Post
    How has the city centre been since this has been in place, is ok or carnage? The thing that get me is that there's a huge difference between central Edinburgh and the rest of the city, I just don't see 20mph as the way forward.
    The centre is all stop start anyway so not sure it makes one jot of difference to the traffic in the likes of George St.

Beyond that I've not noticed any difference at all but will surely get stuck behind some do goofed doing 17mpg soon enough!

Quote Originally Posted by SiMar View Post
    The centre is all stop start anyway so not sure it makes one jot of difference to the traffic in the likes of George St.

Beyond that I've not noticed any difference at all but will surely get stuck behind some do goofed doing 17mpg soon enough!
    Glad I'm not paying their road tax.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    It shouldn't make any difference as your fare is mostly calculated on distance travelled. It's only when the cab is stationary that it would make any difference. For example if you travel 10 miles at 30mph it would cost the same as travelling 10 miles at 60mph even though the time in the taxi would be half as much.

United we stand here....

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    No impact at all, they will still be expensive

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    No impact at all, they will still be expensive
    Reassuringly expensive old boy

United we stand here....

Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    It shouldn't make any difference as your fare is mostly calculated on distance travelled. It's only when the cab is stationary that it would make any difference. For example if you travel 10 miles at 30mph it would cost the same as travelling 10 miles at 60mph even though the time in the taxi would be half as much.
    Cheers! Cannae even remember the last time I was in one. Probably asked the driver if he'd been busy though!

@hibs.net private member RyeSloan's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by JeMeSouviens View Post
    Glad I'm not paying their road tax.
    Bloomin' autocorrect!

However, if there's a substantial increase in journey times because of the new limits, cabbies will have to work longer for the same money. That can't be good for you.

Equally so, punters might be less happy, and your tips could suffer.

I never knew that! �� I always thought it was just in the cab. You learn something new every day

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    However, if there's a substantial increase in journey times because of the new limits, cabbies will have to work longer for the same money. That can't be good for you.

Equally so, punters might be less happy, and your tips could suffer.
    All that is true, hopefully it won't happen though.

United we stand here....

@hibs.net private member Callum7's Avatar
    I'll have a man walking infront of my car with a red flag.