On a similar theme, when you're behind someone in the queue in Greggs who asks "are the sausage rolls hot?" and, if they are told they are not, asks "are the steakbakes hot?". This then continued until they've listed every baked item in the shop and sometimes doesn't even stop when they are told that something they've asked about is hot.This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
On more than one occasion I've heard a staff member reply by listing what is hot, but that still doesn't stop these folk who seem incapable or retaining information more than 3 words in length.
Thread: Pet Peeves IV
-
26-08-2015 11:31 AM #721
-
26-08-2015 11:32 AM #722This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
26-08-2015 11:32 AM #723This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
He managwd to get to.the woman with the pram who literally had no where to move and said she couldn't move, he tried to barge by her but she stod her ground and some words were exchanged. As the doors open je jumped forward and actually stepped over this womans pram (it was one of tjose big ones with a proper baby, not a toddler) she shouted something like what you doing, and reached out to grab him.and caught is trailing leg causing it to Clip his other leg. He went proper flying and his manbag spread loads oof.paper on the platform. I was last of the train as I let every one off and he was still picking up the paper, I really hope he missed his train hah
-
26-08-2015 11:46 AM #724This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Where I get my lunchtime sandwiches, there are 3 blackboards that list the full range as well as glass displays full of sandwiches with a wee card in front of each pile to say what they are.
But there's always someone (normally a woman) who'll wait until they're served to ask "what sandwiches do you have?"
Then they might ask for something but with no butter or mayonnaise therefore the wifie behind the counter has to go and make it up specially. That's fair enough, but then they yake a big chocolate cake and a can of coke to go along with their sandwich. WHO ARE YOU TRYING TO KID???
-
-
26-08-2015 02:01 PM #726
One of my pet peeves is paying a fortune to taking the kids/grandkids to some sort of animal farm/zoo and find that half the stalls are empty due to renovations or the like.
No discount offered.
If I went into a pub and the barman poured me half a pint I'd be raging if he charged me for a full one.
-
26-08-2015 02:39 PM #727
Random folk who see you smoking and ask for a fag, eh naw bolt.
-
26-08-2015 02:42 PM #728
-
26-08-2015 03:35 PM #729This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
26-08-2015 03:50 PM #730
Group of asian folk who despite there being a half drunk pint, an open newspaper and a rucksack at my seat in the Doric thought it would be acceptable to take over my table while I was at the bar! Their response when I returned and told them to get to ****.......there are no other tables free!!!! Then the barman approached as I was about to lose it and told them sorry no kids allowed so they promptly left.
-
26-08-2015 04:01 PM #731This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
26-08-2015 04:32 PM #732This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
26-08-2015 06:11 PM #733This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
26-08-2015 10:08 PM #734This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
26-08-2015 11:13 PM #735
Waiting staff who wait on your shoulder and "pounce" to take your plate away a second after you have finished eating.
-
27-08-2015 07:14 AM #736This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I'm not sure whether there's a distinct cultural difference between certain nationalities or cultural groups, but you could not get more extremes of behaviour in relation to respect for others.
-
27-08-2015 07:23 AM #737This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
27-08-2015 09:40 AM #738
-
27-08-2015 09:44 AM #739
-
27-08-2015 10:29 AM #740
-
27-08-2015 12:02 PM #741
The number of people, particularly on this message board, who express disgust at certain newspapers and media, then advocate boycotts, swear to never buy the rag or give hits to their websites but whenever the need or desire arises, ask somebody for information or to paste the information. Principles are principles.
-
27-08-2015 12:42 PM #742
Automated, voice activated systems when you call a large organisation or office place.
"Please say the name of the person or department you are looking for"
Me - "John Smith"
"Connecting you to Joe Bloggs, unless you say cancel"
Me - "Cancel"
Ring Ring
-
27-08-2015 12:51 PM #743This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
As soon as he picked up the phone the automated system kicked in - "For room service say 'room service', for an alarm call say 'alarm call'..... for an outside line say 'operator'"
He said "operator"
"For room service say 'room service', for an alarm call say 'alarm call'..... for an outside line say 'operator'"
"operator"
"For room service say 'room service', for an alarm call say 'alarm call'..... for an outside line say 'operator'"
So he put on his bestest cheesy American accent "Uperaidrrr" - it worked!
-
28-08-2015 03:40 PM #744
Just had a work meeting, in attendance was someone wearing a brown suit, black shoes belt and shirt and an incredible hulk tie! Felt quite nauseous.
-
28-08-2015 07:50 PM #745
The fact that the DVLA can ban ARS as part of a number plate yet allows ERS in Scotland.
And who seriously buys a car with FUD ( saw one today)in the plate.Would tell the salesman to bolt.
-
29-08-2015 08:56 AM #746
People who just won't listen when you are trying to help them.
Phone rings at 10 to5 last night at work. New woman in the office answers and I overhear a few snippets of the conversation, realise it's a big customer so make a point of asking if she needs any help when she hangs up (she's only been with us 4 weeks and has a bad habit of going of on her own wee tangents or trying to do things her way which causes all kinds of logistical problems for my job).
She explains that was a customer, and as I said one of our biggest, who is looking for quite a few items by a week on Tuesday. The conversation that followed destroyed a part of my soul:
'They are looking for this, this, this and this by next Tuesday'
'Just pass that straight over to their account manager, it's specialist equipment and the specs and stuff will need to be checked'
'I'll just send them a link to the website'
'Those items won't be on our website, they're specialist'
'I'll send them a link to the supplier website then, she can have a look over the weekend then I'll speak to xxxxx on Monday about it'
'Hand it over to her now, it needs to be dealt with asap. It's specialist stuff, it needs priced and then handed over to me to be ordered and transported'
'She doesn't need it until next Tuesday, that's loads of time'
'It's not really, I'll need to check stock with suppliers then get it brought over from Germany. Just hand it to the xxxxx now, she'll deal with over the weekend then pass it to me on Monday,
'I'll just send her a link to the supplier website and hand it over on Monday'
'I really wouldn't recommend doing that, you're just going to cause more trouble for yourself on Monday. Xxxxx likes anything like this passed to her right away, it's not your job to deal with it, just hand it over'
'I think I'll just wait until Monday, there's nothing can be done over the weekend anyway'
At this point I just put my jacket on and left.PM Awards General Poster of The Year 2015, 2016, 2017. Probably robbed in other years
-
-
30-08-2015 07:25 AM #748
"Changed it up".
-
30-08-2015 07:29 PM #749
Urquhart Castle
About ten years ago I was disappointed and scunnered to see that the toilets at the main car park were inside the pay gate forcing 'desperate' tourists to fork out big bucks just to relieve themselves.
Their latest devious scheme appears to be allowing continual growth of bushes & trees to block all views of the castle or loch from the car park.
Shylockism or am I being cynical?
-