Brian McLauchlin has the vid up on his BBC twitter - https://twitter.com/BBCBMcLauchlin
EDIT - Yeah, let's over invest, again![]()
View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?
- Voters
- 1016. You may not vote on this poll
-
Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football
537 52.85% -
Opposed - but will continue to support the game.
454 44.69% -
In favour.
25 2.46%
Results 28,021 to 28,050 of 45185
-
08-06-2015 04:59 PM #28021
-
08-06-2015 05:34 PM #28022
As a football fan I'll have a good hoot at the misfortune of all other clubs, particularly our rivals.Space to let
-
08-06-2015 05:37 PM #28023
Because throwing money at it has worked for them recently, eh?
Make it all the sweeter when we win the league.
-
08-06-2015 05:45 PM #28024
It sounded desperate to me. Gie us yer money for STs and honestly we will spend hunners and hunners oan players. Why doesn't he just do as he said he would and invest his own cash? Oh aye that's right he is a lying *******!!!!
-
08-06-2015 06:37 PM #28025
One thing I noticed during the interview was he couldn't stare into your eyes and tell the truth
-
08-06-2015 06:42 PM #28026
By the sound of it they assume that the championship is won. I like that. It means when we turn them over and they have to play the playoffs again I will laugh all the harder.
"We have three transfer windows to get it right"? Pretty big assumptions in that wee sentence alone.
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former.
-
08-06-2015 06:49 PM #28027
The following is on STV Sports News. I've simply copied and pasted without comment from me:
King said budgets, and his own investment, would be dependent on the season ticket uptake and the loan from Sports Direct.
He said: I think it’s probably the right thing to over invest this season to make sure that we do comfortably come out of the league and at least have a fairly strong squad going into next season that could probably be topped up over the next couple of windows.
"I don’t have a figure in mind [for how much it would take to win promotion] as that is dependant on a lot of factors outside our control.
"It would depend on whether we can renegotiate the commercial arrangements, it will depend on the level of season ticket uptake, it will depend on whether we repay the £5 million loan.
"So what I’m saying is that the investment must be whatever it takes to comfortably win the league and to build a squad that can substantially take us forward."
King has stated previously he believes it would take around £30m to put Rangers on a level-footing with rivals Celtic and promised to provide 50% of the funding as he seeks to restore Rangers to their previous dominant position.
King was speaking to the media on Monday as he launched the club's season ticket renewals for 2015/16.
The club confirmed season ticket prices were going up 5%, double the rate of inflation.
He said: "I hope to sell out the season tickets. If we did that that would bring in around £12-13m.
-
08-06-2015 06:57 PM #28028
Sorry but I personally think he's full of *****.
They will do **** all this season!
-
08-06-2015 07:00 PM #28029
-
08-06-2015 07:03 PM #28030This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
We just need to worry about winning as many of our games as possible and we will be just fine. No fear at all looking at that mob. No manager, no players so let them keep talking themselves up while we actually go about signing players that will win us the league.
-
08-06-2015 07:03 PM #28031
eye thought this was funny. Hope I don't fall foul of the I/net Polis for it though
-
08-06-2015 07:07 PM #28032This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
08-06-2015 07:08 PM #28033This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
08-06-2015 07:17 PM #28034
Thing is there are so many things needing money spent on it around their club. Ibrox is crumbling and requires a massive upkeep, they have no recruitment strategy, no manager, no players and no long term strategy as well as Sally and McDowell's drain on the club and that is not even mentioning whatever Ashley decides to do about his loan, security on the club's assets and kit deals.
How does King deal with it?
It will all be okay if we sell all the season tickets and raise £12m and just stick our fingers in our ears when Ashley says anything..
-
08-06-2015 07:18 PM #28035This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Last season they sold 17,000 season tickets. I doubt they will sell that many this time. Given their higher cost base I think they will be shopping in the same market as us for players.
-
08-06-2015 07:19 PM #28036
It never rains but it pours.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotlan...-west-33050105
-
08-06-2015 07:20 PM #28037
Given that last year's budget wasn't enough to buy promotion, they'll need to spend even more this season.
Latest rumour (admittedly from a Septic fan at work) is that King hasn't put a penny into Sevco Huns because he's not allowed to move money out of South Africa.Mature, sensible signature required for responsible position. Good prospects for the right candidate. Apply within.
-
08-06-2015 07:21 PM #28038This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
08-06-2015 07:22 PM #28039This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
08-06-2015 07:25 PM #28040This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
08-06-2015 07:36 PM #28041This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Knock off £1m for VAT, add on a few million for TV etc and there's the budget.
£10m ............For everything. Players,non-playing staff,overheads, stadium repairs..... and the MASH loan.
-
08-06-2015 07:39 PM #28042This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
08-06-2015 07:53 PM #28043
I have no doubt THE Rangers will be stronger this season that last. But I also have no doubt so will we. Lets not forget we will have a core of a squad that has played under the same manager, bonded together and understands what the manager wants from them. They have lost that backbone and will need to find a new manager and replace the deadwood with quality. I also doubt they have or will get the funds in place to build a squad good enough for the start of the season. Therefore, the key to us going up is to start fast build up a lead whilst hopefully they start slow and also make sure we beat them at home. 10-15 more points than last season and I think that would be enough for us to win the league (only my opinion).
-
08-06-2015 07:55 PM #28044This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
08-06-2015 08:04 PM #28045This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
08-06-2015 08:10 PM #28046
Its getting a bit late for them now.The best players will be signing up to one of the many thousands of other clubs so to sort out there immediate future.Not waiting for some weird Scottish backwards second tier club to sign them.
-
08-06-2015 09:21 PM #28047
Personally I hope The Rangers put a good footballing side together. I really think Hibs play better and are far more effective playing teams who get the ball down and have a go. I also think Stubbs will have learned a lot from last seasons poor results against sides who sit in, making it hard for us to pass through them, and will be a lot wiser in how to deal with this. All in all I'm quietly confident if this team can get off to a flyer we will be very hard to stop.
-
08-06-2015 09:24 PM #28048This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Cant agree, i want them to struggle and get relegated.
-
08-06-2015 09:40 PM #28049This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
My point was that if they put a decent passing side together we would beat them as in my opinion we are making huge strides and have a squad who have had a season knowing how Stubbs wants them to play. If they try to take us on at our own game I have no doubt we would come out on top. But yeah... Part of me agrees with you!!
-
08-06-2015 10:43 PM #28050
Seems some of the supporters are revolting.......
http://forum.rangersmedia.co.uk/inde...=284071&page=1
Beware if offended by language