I think it's not that the "the rangers men" (I assume this is the King/3 bears lot) didn't put the money up, it's just that the current board went with Ashley's offer. And whether the authorities allow King to be on the board or not, the club will still owe the money to Ashley, which means Ashley is still entitled to 2 directors on the board.This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I'm not sure on the legalities of King refusing to pay the debt, or somehow removing Ashley's men despite it being part of the £10m loan conditions. What takes precedence - the loan contract, or the shareholder vote to remove them and put King's lot in?
View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?
- Voters
- 1016. You may not vote on this poll
-
Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football
537 52.85% -
Opposed - but will continue to support the game.
454 44.69% -
In favour.
25 2.46%
Results 26,551 to 26,580 of 45185
-
10-02-2015 09:17 PM #26551
-
10-02-2015 09:27 PM #26552This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I think you're right about how the loan came to be made. I just think that it needn't have got that far if the current "good guys" put their money where their mouths were earlier. Not going to miss a chance to kick them
Would be amazed if the loan terms didn't make it repayable regardless. Might be able to avoid it if they liquidated the club again?Last edited by Bostonhibby; 10-02-2015 at 09:34 PM. Reason: fixing quotes
-
10-02-2015 09:55 PM #26553
King seems to have said that the loan may be legally challenged -
"The concern I have is that there are strong allegations that the commercial arrangements are very much in favour of Sports Direct and to the detriment of Rangers. If that was the case, it would be something we would look at.
"If Mike Ashley put £10m into Rangers, I'd expect there to be some cash in the bank, that would be quite pleasant. Would we pay him immediately? I don't think so. There needs to be a forensic investigation.
"If there's some form of malfeasance, the club would have a claim against Sports Direct, in which case I would rather his money was in the club and I would attach the money in lieu of a claim and not pay him back.
"Our intention is in the interests of transparency. If people have acted improperly, it can't be swept under the carpet. It's not going to be a witch hunt."
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/31139420
The bit that I wonder about though is whether he can challenge the terms of the loan, specifically Ashley having the right to pick 2 directors. If the vote goes against Llambias and Leach - do they get left where they are, put straight back in again, or are sevco in breach of the loan contract by voting them off?
-
10-02-2015 10:11 PM #26554This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
As far as King's legal remedies are concerned, he seems to be interpreting UK law in much the same way as when he recently declared himself the winner in his South African tax case.
The Ashley loan to the rangers wasn't a case of there being any doubt about the terms of the loan or anyone being unable to understand it - commercial loan to a commercial entity - I wonder what was illegal about it, I guess that will be one for King to fight with Ashley in court about if the board changes come about in the way he wants.
-
10-02-2015 10:22 PM #26555
Murray couldn't give Huns RIP away until Whyte came along.
When Huns RIP were liquidated, Green made the only serious offer to acquire the assets for Sevco Huns.
So where were the Three Bears and their money when all this was happening? At least King has a decent excuse - he was on trial for massive tax evasion and didn't know how much it would cost to buy his way out of a lengthy prison sentence.Mature, sensible signature required for responsible position. Good prospects for the right candidate. Apply within.
-
10-02-2015 11:08 PM #26556This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I don't think there will be anything in the Ibrox kitty come their meeting.
The £ 10 million facility was in two parts. the first £ 5 million was used to repay the £ 3 million already due to Mash Holdings and remaining £ 2 million will be eaten up with Jan. and Feb. wages and running costs. The second £ 5 million would be available after Ashley's guys do due diligence ie is he still in charge.
If King wins he will inherit an empty kitty , a stack of bills, March wages and a bill for the meeting he called. The incoming board better have deep pockets.
-
11-02-2015 06:30 AM #26557This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
11-02-2015 07:51 AM #26558This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
11-02-2015 08:22 AM #26559
-
11-02-2015 08:27 AM #26560This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
11-02-2015 08:38 AM #26561This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
If that means Ashley's men stay on the board until he gets his £10m back, then King is only going to get rid of half the board if his motion is passed.
-
11-02-2015 03:28 PM #26562
-
11-02-2015 04:09 PM #26563This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Theres nae chance a load of drunken fans of the team formerly known as Glasgow rangers would have gone down south for a major European final and behaved the same as they normally do, they have no form after all
The bizarre thing about their Chelski "connection" is the new boys seem to court it as Chelski are a big team and they play in blue but Chelski's recent surge has meant that other than a few numpties I really don't think they are comfortable aligning themselves with the latest version of newhun.
I have been to Stamford Bridge as a neutral with 3 die hard old style chelski men 7 or 8 times. Firstly, you rarely see a Union Jack there and certainly not on the scale you do at the SD arena, Secondly they have very few songs (one man went to mow and Celery, Celery) never mind all the Huns wee ditties, and thirdly, the 3 guys I go with have adopted Hibs and are up quite a bit, including pre season friendlies.
-
11-02-2015 06:59 PM #26564
Only King a convicted criminal in a multi million pound fraud would have the audacity to cast aspersions at a guy who whatever else he is has never been cast as dishonest.What the bigot numpties don't seem to latch on to is that the "Rangers Men"could have bought the business from Murray or failing that for £6million when it went belly up.They chose not to do so -I wonder why?
-
11-02-2015 08:15 PM #26565This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
If you remember, the CVA had a clause in it that said that, if it failed, the assets would be sold to Sevco for £5.5m. Sevco couldn't have been outbid.
-
11-02-2015 08:44 PM #26566
This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteSpace to let
-
11-02-2015 08:46 PM #26567This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
11-02-2015 09:09 PM #26568
-
11-02-2015 09:16 PM #26569This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I can't see him moving into the Boardroom one day, and then paying the loan off the next. As someone mentioned earlier, he's already hinted that he wouldn't.
I'm sure he has his strategy for the funding of the club, but I can see him stringing MA out for a while on the money....even if it goes to Court.
-
11-02-2015 09:30 PM #26570
King also hinted that he would work with Ashley - does that mean he knows that he and other shareholders can't vote Llambias and Leach off?
-
11-02-2015 09:42 PM #26571This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Having said that, it's such a mucky story that I could see a deal being done with MA before the GM..... and there are any number of possible scenarios in that event.
-
12-02-2015 10:01 AM #26572This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
12-02-2015 10:16 AM #26573
Praise for the Daily Record ehhhhhhhh, in the Daily Record, from the diplomat of our times.......
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/f...issues-5148681
......and the video of Keith Jackson et al is toe curling. These guys call themselves journalists.
-
12-02-2015 11:01 AM #26574This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
12-02-2015 11:53 AM #26575This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
-
12-02-2015 01:18 PM #26577This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I probably trust the MSM less than you (Jackson's re-positioning of himself is quite remarkable) and I'll make no apologies for dismissing the dull witterings of loonball bloggers who seem to shoot themselves in the foot at every opportunity as they manage to get every big result surrounding this story wrong as they're too wrapped up in their own wee cycle of bitterness to form a coherent and objective opinion.
-
12-02-2015 03:54 PM #26578This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
However, at least long-established titles employ actual reporters who are at least familiar with the concept of journalistic rigour. They still do the odd investigation at times, too.
Replace this with click-bait junk like The Bleacher Report (who serve no one except their shareholders) and we really will be sunk.
-
12-02-2015 04:01 PM #26579This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-