Page 10 of 30 FirstFirst ... 8910111220 ... LastLast
    I might have missed them doing it already but can someone from hoh please come out with something constructive (and realistic ) about what they would do. Just seems to be that they pick holes in everything else and come up with nothing constructive.
    im all for healthy debate and challenging the status quo ( and look what happens when you don't do this - yams and Huns) but it's easy to say everyone else is wrong, it's not so easy to come up with an alternative.

I fear I may need a Mekon like brain to keep up with some logic spouted here...

Sooooooooo, if I am right, the issue is now:

1) We are ALL (almost?) happy with the outcome of reduced debts and liabilities and interest rates and all that good stuff BUT.........
    2) We dont like how we got there/who done it/their claims and seeking credit for good work?

....the Mekon brain has just exploded into smitherines, quoting "radgeness....my brain has blown to bits through radgeeeeeenesssssssss"

David Low sticking his oar in. I had hoped he'd gone away:

Simon Pia@SimonPia1 22m22 minutes ago@Heavidor: Hibernian FC - Statement by David Low http://wp.me/p2VPkU-1n via @wordpressdotcom” - v interesting for HIBBIES & fitba media

@hibs.net private member green day's Avatar
    Pia is a radge from way back.

David Low, is that the tube Celtic fan that tried to buy The Rangers?

Oh well, haud me back while I soak up their opinions !

And his statement is http://t.co/IjswhBEC9Y

Going to get interesting now !

Quote Originally Posted by s.a.m View Post

Simon Pia@SimonPia1 22m22 minutes ago@Heavidor: Hibernian FC - Statement by David Low http://wp.me/p2VPkU-1n via @wordpressdotcom” - v interesting for HIBBIES & fitba media
    It is interesting in terms of how much Hibs is worth, and whether or not the share issue is fairly valued.

David Low does miss a fairly vital point though, which is that proceeds from this issue are going into the club rather than to pay off an existing owner.

I would have thought more details about the out sourcing of the retail operation will come out at the AGM.
    Last edited by jacomo; 22-01-2015 at 12:33 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    We don't need any money to pay of Petrie, just buy the shares and vote him off the board.
    He still has a share in the holding company.

Quote Originally Posted by CB_NO3 View Post
    He still has a share in the holding company.
    I don't think people will care whether that's the case or not. For most, it's just a matter of getting him off the Board of the club.
    Last edited by CropleyWasGod; 22-01-2015 at 01:05 PM.

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    I don't think people will care whether that's the case or not. For most, it's just a matter of getting him off the Board of the club.
    I agree. I don't mind him being a shareholder of the club. He just needs to leave the board of the club. It's the correct thing to do after the mess he has got us in.

Statement on behalf of Mike Riley, chair of Hibernian Supporters Association

HIBS FANS CHAIR OPPOSES CLUB'S NEW SHARE DEAL

A HIBS fans boss came out today against the club's new share-buying scheme after two Hibs supporters groups had already rejected the proposals earlier this week.

Mike Riley, chair of the Hibs Supporters Association, the official body of the supporters clubs which represents over 18 branches, criticised Sir Tom Farmer and Rod Petrie's plan to raise up to £2.5m from the fans to buy a 51 per shareholding and the lack of transparency over details of the debt owed to the majority shareholder, reportedly £5m, and how it would be paid back.

Riley said:

"This is not community ownership. The proposals are basically calling on fans to make a donation to the multi-millionaire club owner.

"Despite plans for a new company Hibernian Supporters Limited, the fans will still not own the club or be running it. Overall control will remain with the majority shareholder and the current board.

"So far I've only heard from branches who are against it, but there may be others who might not agree. Therefore we will be calling a meeting for all branches of the Hibs Supporters Association to discuss it after the club's AGM next week.

"I, myself, would advise fans not to put money in but I have made it clear these are my personal views as chairman. We are studying the club accounts and would like more information on the majority shareholder's debt or loan and how and why he wants a reported figure of £5m paid back."

On January 20th two separate fans groups, Hands on Hibs and BuyHibs, both urged fans to opt out and criticised the club's lack of transparency over the debt issue.
    Last edited by Tom Hart RIP; 22-01-2015 at 02:22 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Weststandwanab View Post
    And his statement is http://t.co/IjswhBEC9Y

Going to get interesting now !
    Who exactly is this man and why is he demanding this that and the other or even bothering to comment on this? Ya bid was rejected and you clearly state you wont be making another bid, so why comment other than ego and vanity and self importance?

Quote Originally Posted by Tom Hart RIP View Post
    MEDIA RELEASE ....MEDIA RELEASE ....MEDIA RELEASE ....MEDIA RELEASE ....

Thursday 22 January 2015

A HIBS fans boss came out today against the club's new share-buying scheme after two Hibs supporters groups had already rejected the proposals earlier this week.

Mike Riley, chair of the Hibs Supporters Association, the official body of the supporters clubs which represents over 18 branches, criticised Sir Tom Farmer and Rod Petrie's plan to raise up to £2.5m from the fans to buy a 51 per shareholding and the lack of transparency over details of the debt owed to the majority shareholder, reportedly £5m, and how it would be paid back.

Riley said:

"This is not community ownership. The proposals are basically calling on fans to make a donation to the multi-millionaire club owner.

"Despite plans for a new company Hibernian Supporters Limited, the fans will still not own the club or be running it. Overall control will remain with the majority shareholder and the current board.

"So far I've only heard from branches who are against it, but there may be others who might not agree. Therefore we will be calling a meeting for all branches of the Hibs Supporters Association to discuss it after the club's AGM next week.

"I, myself, would advise fans not to put money in but I have made it clear these are my personal views as chairman. We are studying the club accounts and would like more information on the majority shareholder's debt or loan and how and why he wants a reported figure of £5m paid back."

On January 20th two separate fans groups, Hands on Hibs and BuyHibs, both urged fans to opt out and criticised the club's lack of transparency over the debt issue.
    Is this guy not up for one of the fan positions on the board?!?

Thursday 22 January 2015

Riley said:

Wow. That's quite a responsibility to take on, talking for every member of the supporters branches. I hope he has their support. This is quite simply destructive behaviour.

Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    Wow. That's quite a responsibility to take on, talking for every member of the supporters branches. I hope he has their support. This is quite simply destructive behaviour.
    IMO, he's also sailing close to the wind with this statement ""I, myself, would advise fans not to put money in".

Giving advice, no?

Riley's statement. This bit is incredible, would it not make sense to discuss it with your members before mouthing off.

These statements are absolutely unbelievable in terms of shooting ourselves in the foot IMO. Too many self important clowns.
    Last edited by JimBHibees; 22-01-2015 at 02:16 PM.

Thursday 22 January 2015

Riley said:

Jackie McN just came out telling Hibs fans to get behind the HSL plan, and this self appointed dumpling decides he wants to get himself in the spot light. Unbelievable.

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    Riley's statement. This bit is incredible, would it not make sense to discuss if with your members before mouthing off.

These statements are absolutely unbelievable in terms of shooting ourselves in the foot IMO. Too many self important clowns.
    Maybe Simon Pia should just come out and declare himself as the official spokesperson for all three groups as it would appear that he is co-ordinating things here.
    Last edited by marinello59; 22-01-2015 at 01:57 PM.

Thursday 22 January 2015

Riley said:

So now the chairman of the supporters association speaks out against it. Funny that I was told on here yesterday 99% of Hibs fans supported it. I take it Mike won't be welcome at Easter Road and won't be the chairman of a 'real' supporters group now just like I was told about HOH yesterday.

That's three different supporters statements all against Farmer/Petries shakedown. As I asked yesterday is there any supporters group come out and backed Farmer yet?

Quote Originally Posted by kano View Post
    So now the chairman of the supporters association speaks out against it. Funny that I was told on here yesterday 99% of Hibs fans supported it. I take it Mike won't be welcome at Easter Road and won't be the chairman of a 'real' supporters group now just like I was told about HOH yesterday.

That's three different supporters statements all against Farmer/Petries shakedown. As I asked yesterday is there any supporters group come out and backed Farmer yet?
    Why does it have to be mob-rule?

Can you not accept that some people are capable of independent thought, and that, on the basis of the evidence out there, are able to come to their own conclusion?

Can you explain what you mean by "shake-down"?

The more I read the more angry I get. It would seem that irrespective of what he does STF can do no right in the eyes of a significant number of Hibs fans, you have to wonder when he might just say stuff this and walk away from all things Hibs.

Quote Originally Posted by SunshineOnLeith View Post
    Has any HOH representative ever either explained why they think lies (as in, assertions of fact which are provable as obviously false) are an appropriate tactic for a lobby group to use?

Alternatively, have they ever apologised for lying?
    Seeing kano's found his way back to his keyboard, let's gie this a wee bump.

Quote Originally Posted by s.a.m View Post

Maybe a journalist with an agenda contacted him and suggested he say something.

You're all part of the same, destructive movement as far as I'm concerned. Your ridiculous phrases give you away.

People who love the sound of their own voice.

Yesterday it was a handful of troublemakers and attention seekers, now it's 'Mob rule'

Utterly mental thing to do.

I really hope the various branches have been consulted and thought this through as that's a hell of an alienating statement by the chairman.

There's been some people getting carried away on here the past couple of days, and I see you've been engaging with one poster and then having others firing questions at you, which can be hard to deal with.

Healthy scepticism is welcome, as far as I am concerned. The club have proposed this scheme and set up HSL, and have a responsibility to explain why they have gone down this road. Hibs fans are being asked to put their own money into this, and are entitled to ask questions.

However - I am disappointed by Mike Riley's comments and I think he has got the wrong end of the stick. LD's statement last night went a long way to answering a lot of doubts, and I am sure the AGM will answer more.

By the way, the AGM looks like being a big deal now, as Hibs try and get this scheme off the ground in the face of some opposition. A couple of weeks ago I suggested that the AGM should be delayed until after the transfer window closed, to avoid any possible distraction from the over-riding priority this season - giving us the best possible chance of getting promoted. I was widely mocked and belittled for this view... but I still have concerns!

Maybe a journalist with an agenda contacted him and suggested he say something.
    Simon Pia's (digital) finger prints all over it. I don't know his agenda, but it seems to be personal between him and STF.

Yesterday it was a handful of troublemakers and attention seekers, now it's 'Mob rule'
    And today, like yesterday, it's questions which have gone unanswered.

Quote Originally Posted by Iain G View Post
    Who exactly is this man and why is he demanding this that and the other or even bothering to comment on this? Ya bid was rejected and you clearly state you wont be making another bid, so why comment other than ego and vanity and self importance?
    I am sorry I have no idea and cannot answer that

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    IMO, he's also sailing close to the wind with this statement ""I, myself, would advise fans not to put money in".

Giving advice, no?
    I agree with that but it could only be considered advice if someone takes it !

Quote Originally Posted by Lago View Post
    Jackie McN just came out telling Hibs fans to get behind the HSL plan, and this self appointed dumpling decides he wants to get himself in the spot light. Unbelievable.
    Somebody must have anointed him sorry appointed !

Maybe Simon Pia should just come out and declare himself as the official spokesperson for all three groups as it would appear that he is co-ordinating things here.
    At least it would give him something to so although that would involve making a decision

Quote Originally Posted by Lago View Post
    The more I read the more angry I get. It would seem that irrespective of what he does STF can do no right in the eyes of a significant number of Hibs fans, you have to wonder when he might just say stuff this and walk away from all things Hibs.
    I am almost convinced if Sir Tom gave the club to the Supporters for nothing there would still be criticism.

@hibs.net private member DarlingtonHibee's Avatar
    I dont know the guy, but I'll stick with the Hibs board, and these comments are not helpful at all.

I find it amazing what people will do for 15 minutes of fame, I would suggest it's a coordinated response with the other two mobs.

In my personal opinion, a journalist is stirring this, and getting his pals to publish.