View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?

1016. You may not vote on this poll
  • Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football

537 52.85%
  • Opposed - but will continue to support the game.

454 44.69%
  • In favour.

25 2.46%
Page 821 of 1507 FirstFirst ... 3217217718118198208218228238318719211321 ... LastLast
Results 24,601 to 24,630 of 45185
    @hibs.net private member Spike Mandela's Avatar
    Whether you think the 'club' is two years old or not ,any finance that The Rangers claim they are due prior to liquidation would surely be paid into the creditors pot of the liquidated entity?

As far as I can see people's opinion of the current incarnation of Rangers for or against is irrelevant.

The club called Rangers in a business sense ceased to exist in October 2012. Around that time a new club The Rangers was formed. In view of that fact it flies in the face of logic for The Rangers to demand compensation for development work done on a player by A) a different football club ...... and B) a football club which in a legal business sense no longer exists.

Never mind the fact that Steven Thompson is giving us all a bloody good laugh, in a business sense he is utterly correct.

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    As far as I can see people's opinion of the current incarnation of Rangers for or against is irrelevant.

The club called Rangers in a business sense ceased to exist in October 2012. Around that time a new club The Rangers was formed. In view of that fact it flies in the face of logic for The Rangers to demand compensation for development work done on a player by A) a different football club ...... and B) a football club which in a legal business sense no longer exists.

Never mind the fact that Steven Thompson is giving us all a bloody good laugh, in a business sense he is utterly correct.
    Well said, and it again begs the question that has never been satisfactorily answered: why have The Rangers been allowed to keep their history?

Gretna are now called Gretna 2008. Why aren't Rangers called The Rangers 2012?

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    Well said, and it again begs the question that has never been satisfactorily answered: why have The Rangers been allowed to keep their history?

Gretna are now called Gretna 2008. Why aren't Rangers called The Rangers 2012?
    Because none of the creditors objected to the continued use of the brand name iirc.

Quote Originally Posted by Mr White View Post
    Because none of the creditors objected to the continued use of the brand name iirc.
    It's a shame such a façade should be allowed to hide the truth. New club, new brand.

Quote Originally Posted by Mr White View Post
    Who objected to Gretna being called Gretna

Quote Originally Posted by DaveF View Post
    Who objected to Gretna being called Gretna
    Not sure about them but when Airdrie's liquidation was completed a couple of years ago they were able to change their name from airdrie utd to airdieonians after the legal impediment to using the original name was removed.

http://i62.tinypic.com/2s99mom.png

Coral know the score swell.

Coral bookies to be boycotted too for telling the truth.

Quote Originally Posted by scott_b_ View Post

............... love it

Dundee Utd seem to be Scottish Football's chief wind up merchant of the Zombies - more power to them I say! Really wanted them to draw The Rangers in the league cup semi, just for their Zombie Outbreak Squad banter to get another airing.

@hibs.net private member givescotlandfreedom's Avatar
    They're only saying the truth

They're 2 already? jeez where does the time go, they seem to have been around forever, I hope someone bought them a birthday cake. With a file in it.

@hibs.net private member CraigHibee's Avatar

Why aren't Rangers called The Rangers 2012?
    because they are SEVCO

It's a shame such a façade should be allowed to hide the truth. New club, new brand.
    But they're not a new brand. It's the same old Rangers pish of bigotry & intolerance served up for thick as mince Buckie swilling shellsuited eejits.

Steven Thompson really really hates Rangers. And that dislike goes back a long way.

I really hope the decision goes Utd's way. Newhun can't have it all ways. They managed to wipe out an enormous debt with their Sevco manoeuvre so I fail to see why they should gain any benefit due to the time a player spent with the now defunct company.

when they come to easter road will we have the balls to call them THE RANGERS on the scoreboard ??

doubt it...

Quote Originally Posted by 7Hero View Post
    when they come to easter road will we have the balls to call them THE RANGERS on the scoreboard ??

doubt it...
    Zombies is shorter

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    Zombies is shorter
    id take that too..

I don't know why it's seen as so controversial to claim that Sevco and Rangers are two different clubs.

They're the only organisation from any field that I've ever heard of which has gone through liquidation and yet still claims to be the same organisation to the one which existed before liquidation occurred.

The club that exists now has only been in existence since 2012.

Never let them forget.

@hibs.net private member & Biggest, Funniest Slaver on hibs.net 2012 Pedantic_Hibee's Avatar
    They know themselves they're a new club, hence their "140 years unbroken history" merchandise. It's all a bit cringe if you ask me. New club, deal with it.
    "Play for the name on the front of the jersey and the supporters will remember the name on the back"

I think sevco will get away with it.

The authorities allow them to be the same club so that they can insist football debt is taken care of.

They'll argue that if football debt is transferable then so should football credit.

Just saying likes, I'm not saying I agree.
    Space to let

@hibs.net private member _hucks_'s Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by scott_b_ View Post

They'll get their data feed from RunningBall, who have them listed as The Rangers on absolutely everything. I use it most days for work and it always gives me a chuckle.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by AndyM_1875 View Post
    Steven Thompson really really hates Rangers. And that dislike goes back a long way.
    Any special reason for that (I mean, anything over and above the usual reasons)

Coaching Staff The Green Goblin's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by 7Hero View Post

doubt it...
    Board for us says Hibernian, but for the away team it just says "visitors" doesn't it? Or have they changed it? It was a Mowbray idea - one of many small wee digs he came up with to give Hibs a psychological edge...

Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    Any special reason for that (I mean, anything over and above the usual reasons)
    Various reasons but relations have been bad between the clubs since 2007 or so and getting worse.

United losing the LC final to Rangers on penalties where Thompson felt his team had been cheated was particularly sore.

A couple of years before Rangers had smashed United 7-1 at Hampden in a semi final, Thompson was angry and unpleasantly offensive in the Hospitality areas at Hampden that night ( I was there with a work party).

The Mike McCurry refereed game at Ibrox that Rangers won 3-2 where Dundee United nearly walked off. It is without doubt the most biased piece of refereeing I have ever seen in an SPL game. It was so bad I felt sorry for Craig Levein the United manager who was having a breakdown at the side of the pitch.

Then there was the general unpleasantness between the clubs over abandoned matches due to weather conditions. After a game was abandoned at half time Thompson refused to issue vouchers to the travelling Rangers fans and basically said "screw the lot of you, you can pay full price in the rearranged game". Rangers howled in protest at this but the SFA said there was nothing they can do.

United were one of the first clubs to vote to boot Rangers out the league in 2012. Their vote was issued with glee rather than the resigned sigh most of the other clubs announced theirs with and the between sobs manner that Celtic issued theirs.

These two clubs (irrespective of what you view Rangers status as) really despise each other. The urban rumour I've heard is that delegates from United and Rangers will not talk to each other at SFA/SPFL meetings. But it has to be said Stephen Thompson is something of a **** stirrer because if he really did actually view Rangers as a new club rather than the old enemy, he wouldn't use the language he does about them because it's all fuelled by the perceived injustices that predate the Rangers meltdown.

Aside from the legal/paperwork fiddly bits, anyone who insists on calling Rangers "The Rangers 2012" or similar is having a mare of a facepalm moment IMO.

It may be technically correct, but they still play at Ibrox, in blue, still have the same horrid bigoted fans and I imagine still have an Ibrox Trophy Room stuffed to the rafters.

They're Rangers - do we now sing "We hate The Glasgow Rangers................. " etc? Does anyone really say, in the pub, who are "The" Rangers playing this weekend?

Move on and continue to despise them as much as we always have.

The brand was bought by the new company. Old brand, new owners.

Quote Originally Posted by Trig View Post
    I don't know why it's seen as so controversial to claim that Sevco and Rangers are two different clubs.

They're the only organisation from any field that I've ever heard of which has gone through liquidation and yet still claims to be the same organisation to the one which existed before liquidation occurred.

The club that exists now has only been in existence since 2012.

Never let them forget.
    There are many, many situations in the business world where a company has gone into liquidation, and where the assets of that business (including its name and brand) have been bought by a new company.

Rangers are no different in that respect.

Quote Originally Posted by The Green Goblin View Post
    Board for us says Hibernian, but for the away team it just says "visitors" doesn't it? Or have they changed it? It was a Mowbray idea - one of many small wee digs he came up with to give Hibs a psychological edge...
    Definitely has the away teams name now, hasn't had "Visitors" for a while

Quote Originally Posted by The Green Goblin View Post
    It's back to the teams mate... Preferred visitors. Would have been funny to put

The visitors

Just the once though