View Poll Results: Should Scotland be an independent country?

662. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

458 69.18%
  • No

175 26.44%
  • Undecided

29 4.38%
Page 168 of 885 FirstFirst ... 68118158166167168169170178218268668 ... LastLast
Results 5,011 to 5,040 of 26549
    Quote Originally Posted by Colonel_HFC View Post
    It's pretty worrying for a lot of people in Scotland that have worked hard and lived well only to have the risk of things being destroyed by a small minded nationalist movement backed up by ifs buts and maybes.

Fortunately for me I live overseas and will not be affected too much, other than my flat in Scotland potentially becoming worthless because SNP dollars (or whatever fictitious currency they want to claim to be able to use next) will not be of any value elsewhere. So I may lose a flat that is currently rented. I wouldn't even mind that so much because it could be worth it just to see the place fall to pieces - it would maybe show other places in the world that nationalism is stupid and worthless.

Sadly I still have family and friends in Scotland that may have to suffer the consequences directly. If I was there I'd vote no. And if a yes vote happened I'd be leaving anyway. But I'm fortunate that way - it's not a viable option for a lot of people.
    Look mate ....... I had a ( possibly wine fuelled ) emotional diatribe on here a few pages back some of which I regret, some of which I don't.

But all I can say after reading that load of old bollocks is that an independent Scotland would be starting off at an advantage from the word go without folk like you in it.

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Last night of the Proms on the BBC has certainly convinced me
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

[QUOTE=Leith Green;4167571]
    Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    It's not a rat. It just emphasises the shortcomings of the small sample sizes.

You could take 2 samples at ER today. Each 1000 people. Ask them yes or no. One sample could be 60:40 one way. The other 60:40 the other way.

What conclusion could you draw from that?[/QUOTE

Neck and neck, point taken...
    Don't think you could even say that, TBH.

You would have to know that the 2,000 were representative of all Hibbies. Age, gender, social background etc.

@hibs.net private member Leith Green's Avatar
    [QUOTE=CropleyWasGod;4167648]
    Quote Originally Posted by Leith Green View Post

Don't think you could even say that, TBH.

You would have to know that the 2,000 were representative of all Hibbies. Age, gender, social background etc.
    The one fact I take from these polls is that Support for Yes has risen over the past 4-6 weeks, and looks to have held its gains, even after the crazy past week with No throwing everything and anything at Yes

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    BBC news at it again, today in edinburgh a better together March got thousands of people, eh nah doll it was a ****ing orange march, sleekit *******s

Quote Originally Posted by Bob Servant View Post
    Too stupid to run our own country? It's not been a winning formula up till now, maybe we'll get the message on time - who knows. I'll sell my vote for a tea cake and a balloon on a stick if anyone's offering.
    Why has it not been a winning formula? Is your life not exactly how you want it to be? Must be the bloody English...

Quote Originally Posted by Mon Dieu4 View Post
    BBC news at it again, today in edinburgh a better together March got thousands of people, eh nah doll it was a ****ing orange march, sleekit *******s

Was announced on TV here that it was a march against Independence.

Quote Originally Posted by Mon Dieu4 View Post
    Aye, heard that as well.

TBH the BBC bias used to have me raging but I just laugh at it now. They are finished in Scotland after this referendum regardless of which way it goes.

I won't believe anything they say again.

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    Look mate ....... I had a ( possibly wine fuelled ) emotional diatribe on here a few pages back some of which I regret, some of which I don't.

But all I can say after reading that load of old bollocks is that an independent Scotland would be starting off at an advantage from the word go without folk like you in it.
    I won't be in it either way. It's just a point of view. I'm not asking you or anyone else to agree. I'm just venting / expressing / speaking (choose the verb). However, with folk like you in it, most would be better out of it... in my most humble of opinions...
    Last edited by Colonel_HFC; 14-09-2014 at 08:45 AM.

Why has it not been a winning formula? Is your life not exactly how you want it to be? Must be the bloody English...
    One of the biggest benefits of independence is that if it goes tits up we wont be able to blame the English, or anybody else for that matter ... you know .... like the other proper grown up countries.

Quote Originally Posted by Golden Fleece View Post
    Last night of the Proms on the BBC has certainly convinced me

I won't be in it either way. It's just a point of view. I'm not asking you or anyone else to agree. I'm just venting / expressing / speaking (choose the verb). However, with folk like you in it, most would be better out of it... I'm my most humble of opinions...

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    One of the biggest benefits of independence is that if it goes tits up we wont be able to blame the English, or anybody else for that matter ... you know .... like the other proper grown up countries.
    We're a country that, unlike the English, has managed to obsess about a stupid sectarian divide for the better part of the last one hundred and fifty years or so.

I'm not taking anything for granted in terms of how grown-up Scotland can be, independent or otherwise.
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

Quote Originally Posted by Mibbes Aye View Post
    We're a country that, unlike the English, has managed to obsess about a stupid sectarian divide for the better part of the last one hundred and fifty years or so.

I'm not taking anything for granted in terms of how grown-up Scotland can be, independent or otherwise.
    Every country has its crosses to bare mate ...... The sectarian divide IMO does not have the same social impact it once had, though it would be foolish to pretend it has gone away. Yes you still have the stupid marches and the crap at football, but I highly doubt what school you went to has as big an affect on job prospects as it once had, even in the west.

Don't get me wrong we have to keep working on it.

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    Every country has its crosses to bare mate ...... The sectarian divide IMO does not have the same social impact it once had, though it would be foolish to pretend it has gone away. Yes you still have the stupid marches and the crap at football, but I highly doubt what school you went to has as big an affect on job prospects as it once had, even in the west.

Don't get me wrong we have to keep working on it.
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

Jesus, that nick robinson is getting pelters on his twitter.. Thoroughly deserved in my opinion, the guy has been shown up for exactly what he is..

You seen the front page of tomorrow's Herald?

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    You seen the front page of tomorrow's Herald?
    Brilliant!

Brilliant!
    Sorry, think I posted the wrong pic.

This is the one I meant to post:-

https://twitter.com/newsundayherald/...438528/photo/1

Disgusting

We live in a country where we've seen exponential growth in food banks, children living in poverty, indiscriminate attacks on the disabled, the bedroom tax, billions set to be frittered away on weapons of mass destruction, mps troughing expenses at record levels, the gap between the rich and poor widening at an alarming rate.
    Aye, it's exactly how I wanted it.

You clearly can't see that for most of us voting yes it's less about "me" and more about "us"

Gamertag: Myjo5984 Wii Code: 3916 0145 9394 9493
    Quote Originally Posted by SteveHFC View Post

Disgusting
    That is outrageous. I'm getting properly disgusted by some of the headlines and coverage from the pro-union media and better together campaign.

My only hope is that the scaremongering and media bias is so obvious and downright desperate that the undecideds can see it fir what it really is and turn towards a yes vote and let us have nothing more to do with these contemptible people.

#persevered

The telegraph headline is disgusting. These are educated people making decisions to run these stories. Truly awful

Disgusting
    Just totally wrong on so many levels. Throw into that the amount of serviceman who were sent out to their deaths fighting wars in Iraq and afghanistan that were never about preserving the Union..

This paper should be ashamed of itself , especially on the day a Scotsman was discovered to have been beheaded.

Disgusting
    Quite simply sc@m. No depths these t@ssers won't plummet. Ironic as I seen yesterday a bit about the thousands of Sikhs who had died in the wars.

What they fail to grasp is that this referendum is about the future, not the past. This is going to prove their undoing, as thats the way people are looking at this. If that is their argument then hell mend them.

Future over past, hope above fear, confidence over insecurity, a voice louder than a whisper, the poor as much as the wealthy...

Gamertag: CoolHibeesdaft PSN ID: Hibeesdaft

Disgusting
    Prepare yourself for their desperation to get even worse over the next 5 days. That is absolutely shocking!!!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by BroxburnHibee View Post
    Prepare yourself for their desperation to get even worse over the next 5 days. That is absolutely shocking!!!!!!!
    Do you know what, both campaigns and the media should agree to a day off of the referendum tomorrow as a mark of respect to this Scotsmans family and friends

If only that were true... I have a feeling that if independence was a disaster Salmond and all the other Yes voters would be pointing south and whining about it not being their own fault.

Quote Originally Posted by degenerated View Post
    We live in a country where we've seen exponential growth in food banks, children living in poverty, indiscriminate attacks on the disabled, the bedroom tax, billions set to be frittered away on weapons of mass destruction, mps troughing expenses at record levels, the gap between the rich and poor widening at an alarming rate.
    Aye, it's exactly how I wanted it.

You clearly can't see that for most of us voting yes it's less about "me" and more about "us"
    And it's all someone else's fault. I am looking forward to see who gets the blame if independence happens. It could be quite amusing I suppose.