Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    @hibs.net private member Newry Hibs's Avatar
    Erseholes. Actually that's unfair because erseholes have a use.

These types of people are the utter dregs of society. They should ship all these muppets and their Ra Sellick counterparts to a desert island somewhere and let them enjoy the 17th century together.
    Also known as Ireland.

Quote Originally Posted by Bostonhibby View Post
    Didn't someone say wee fat eck had recently declared Scotland sectarianism free?
    Head of the OO said that did he not? A few days later some mother painted K.A.T (Kill all taigs) in the finest red, white and bloo face paint on her 8 year old daughters face when the oranges went on a few walks round various towns and cities on July 12th.

Chance have you got....

Quote Originally Posted by AndyM_1875 View Post
    There is absolutely no excuse for this kind of disgusting behavior and the Rangers online mob are a truly mental bunch capable of the worst kind of atrocious bigotry and vile slander. But they are just a straight reflection of the online mental sad case Celtic types and the hack in question, Angela Haggerty, is a mouthpiece for bigoted pretend hack Phil McGhiollabhain and she edited his book and is close to him.

So its hardly a shock that the bluenoses turn their brain dead ire on her. If you swim in the sewer and all that....
    Phil Mcthingy-ma-jig is a complete knob i'll agree with that. Attention seeking prick.

WTF has he said/published that has been "bigoted" though?

Police "Scotland" claimed that existing legislation was strong enough to deal with the scourge of sectarianism.

Well it has been used to good effect in the East of Scotland.
    Police Scotland won't do owt either. They were making big noises when a few hundred brits in uniform marching around ibrox singing hullo hullo, bouncy, sash, billy boys etc and like most of these things they'll go quiet, hope everyone forgets and will sweep it under the carpet. They've got more important things to be doing like spending a few grand ensuring Hibs fans can't sneak a can on the train to Berwick...

Quote Originally Posted by scott_b_ View Post
    Head of the OO said that did he not? A few days later some mother painted K.A.T (Kill all taigs) in the finest red, white and bloo face paint on her 8 year old daughters face when the oranges went on a few walks round various towns and cities on July 12th.

Chance have you got....
    FFS, what chance have we atheists got?

Probably quite good as they won't know what an atheist is :-).

@hibs.net private member Off the bar's Avatar
    FFS, what chance have we atheists got?

Probably quite good as they won't know what an atheist is :-).
    or as my brother was once asked in Glasgow 'are you a catholic atheist or a protestant atheist?'

First Team Breakthrough Lewis77's Avatar

You have to ask

Quote Originally Posted by emerald green View Post
    This should come as no surprise to anyone by now unless they have been living on the moon.

Sectarian bigots will never change. "Scotland's secret shame". Aye right, it's no secret, and never has been. Swept under the carpet for as long as you care to look back.
    I believe more has been done to address sectarianism of late, but you have to ask why it's never been properly addressed ? Who did it serve not to address it? They have little if any (let's call it traditional) sectarianism in England. Why is it so prevalent in our society? I would suggest sectarianism in Scotland has always been beneficial to those in power at Westminster.

Quote Originally Posted by Lewis77 View Post
    I believe more has been done to address sectarianism of late, but you have to ask why it's never been properly addressed ? Who did it serve not to address it? They have little if any (let's call it traditional) sectarianism in England. Why is it so prevalent in our society? I would suggest sectarianism in Scotland has always been beneficial to those in power at Westminster.
    One of the reasons for the lack of sectarianism in England is that CofE is very, very close to Catholicism in all it's rites and rituals. We in Scotland (and Ireland) have suffered from it due to the fire and brimstone Protestantism of John Knox and his successors.

Quote Originally Posted by hoxtonhibby View Post
    or as my brother was once asked in Glasgow 'are you a catholic atheist or a protestant atheist?'
    Agnostic atheism is the future.

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Agnostic atheism is the future.
    I believe that, or maybe I don't, Im not sure, can I be undecided on whether it is or isn't the future?

There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

Sorry man, can't except that.

Quote Originally Posted by Geo_1875 View Post
    One of the reasons for the lack of sectarianism in England is that CofE is very, very close to Catholicism in all it's rites and rituals. We in Scotland (and Ireland) have suffered from it due to the fire and brimstone Protestantism of John Knox and his successors.
    There's plenty of fire and brimstone in traditional English Protestantism, especially the Methodist & Baptist churches.

Quote Originally Posted by scott_b_ View Post
    Phil Mcthingy-ma-jig is a complete knob i'll agree with that. Attention seeking prick.

WTF has he said/published that has been "bigoted" though?

His constant references to Rangers fans as Nazi sympathisers or KKK sympathisers, his pet nickname for them is "Klan" (this has also been used with frequency by Haggerty). His entire output for months was been aimed at de-humanizing the entire support of Rangers Football Club with his lazy clichéd nonsense.

Whilst there is no doubt that Rangers have a lot of complete bell ends in their support and a lot of bigots to say all of them are is just ridiculous. Don't forget as well the Sun were going to his book "Downfall" (yes I got reference of the title too) but the Sports hacks did some digging and read his blog (it was the piece called 'the Incubator' that did for him) before running the proverbial mile from it. They said he was "tarred with a sickening sectarian brush".

I didn't buy his crap 2 years ago and I'm not buying it now.
    Last edited by AndyM_1875; 16-07-2014 at 01:09 PM.

Gamertag: TheBull1875
    Cannot agree with that. The vast majority of these numpties have never sat in a church and listened to a fire and brimstone minister preaching. I go to church most Sundays and I couldn't even tell you the last time I heard a fire and brimstone minister, if ever more is the pity.

Quote Originally Posted by Golden Fleece View Post
    I believe that, or maybe I don't, Im not sure, can I be undecided on whether it is or isn't the future?

Like the rest of the world, maybe we need a good faith based war to sort it all out? The biggest team should win :-)

Quote Originally Posted by Lucius Apuleius View Post
    Cannot agree with that. The vast majority of these numpties haveinterchangeablenever sat in a church and listened to a fire and brichurchminister preaching. I go to church most Sundays and I couldn't even tell you the last time I heard a fire and brimstone minister, if ever more is the pity.
    It's a historical view. Once Cromwell was finished the CofE and RC churches became pretty much Interchangeable. As you say, most Scots couldn't nametheir nearestt church or chapel but you can bet their ancestors did.

I'm not sure why you would suggest that sectarianism has always been beneficial to those in power at Westminster Lewis.

Anyway, without wanting to drag this subject out, there is a pretty good bit on Nil By Mouth website entitled History of Sectarianism.

Quote Originally Posted by emerald green View Post
    I'm not sure why you would suggest that sectarianism has always been beneficial to those in power at Westminster Lewis.
    I'm not so much talking about sectarianism in football but Scottish society in general. Divide and conquer and all that. I'm not suggesting those in power implemented sectarianism rather that they did nothing to combat it. This notion shouldn't be dismissed out of hand.

Right, I see what you're saying now. Cheers.

First Team Regular over the line's Avatar
    As I am a long term exile in the north west of England and having never lived in Glasgow, I find it unbelievable that this **** still exhists! Have these people really got such tiny brains and such dull existences that they have to fill their pointless vacuums of 'lives' with such childish, pathetic, hate filled, nonsense!?!?!?

Life is too short, let it go and enjoy your lives!
    Last edited by over the line; 16-07-2014 at 07:29 PM.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by E/Port_Hibee View Post
    As I am a long term exile in the north west of England and having never lived in Glasgow, I find it unbelievable that this **** still exhists! Have these people really got such tiny brains and such dull existences that they have to fill their pointless vacuums of 'lives' with such childish, pathetic, hate filled, nonsense!?!?!?
    Yup.

Left by mutual consent! Phil D. Rolls's Avatar
    What is the reason for lack of sectarianism in Holland, France, Germany and Spain then? Is that John Knoxs fault as well?

First Team Regular over the line's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Filled Rolls View Post
    What is the reason for lack of sectarianism in Holland, France, Germany and Spain then? Is that John Knoxs fault as well?
    Maybe they just channel their hatred against other 'enemies'? The Dutch hate the Germans, the French hate soap, the Germans.....(not going there!) and the Spanish hate young British holidaymakers!

Quote Originally Posted by Filled Rolls View Post
    It must be due to a low percentage of Scots settling there!

Left by mutual consent! Phil D. Rolls's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by E/Port_Hibee View Post
    Maybe they just channel their hatred against other 'enemies'? The Dutch hate the Germans, the French hate soap, the Germans.....(not going there!) and the Spanish hate young British holidaymakers!
    Maybe we need to get more European in selecting people to fight with.

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    It must be due to a low percentage of Scots settling there!
    One Scotsman is all it would take. One Scotsman and an empty room.