Did the UK not bail out Irish Banks and contribute to the bail outs in Greece, Portugal, etc.
This would be the same if, IF, any Scottish bank went to the wall.
However I'd like to think that Banks/Governments have learnt their lessons and not just done a Rangers.
View Poll Results: Should Scotland be an independent country?
- Voters
- 662. You may not vote on this poll
-
Yes
458 69.18% -
No
175 26.44% -
Undecided
29 4.38%
Thread: Scottish Independence
-
20-02-2014 01:57 PM #691
-
20-02-2014 02:01 PM #692This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
"I'm not going to argue that an iScotland would not have got caught up in the banking crisis".
-
20-02-2014 02:08 PM #693
I have to hold up my hands and admit to a bit of a cringe today.
Some of the Scottish newspapers' "Bowie enters independence debate" kind of headlines... fair play to the guy for expressing an opinion, but either way - had he said go for it, Scotland even - a throwaway remark at the end of an acceptance speech for an award he didn't even turn up to collect is being w**ked over and turned into screeds of scrying journalistic interpretations about what it will all mean for the future of the country. It's all wee a bit "Dundee Man Missing At Sea" in the Courier when the Titanic went down.
Bowie would "enter" the independence debate if he said something with a bit more substance. "Stay with the UK, Scotland for the following reasons x y z" would be entering the debate. "Stay with us, Scotland" isn't entering a debate - it's expressing his valid opinion.
Still - many more months of this tedium - on both sides, I hasten to add - to come.Last edited by steakbake; 20-02-2014 at 02:11 PM.
-
20-02-2014 04:53 PM #694
Bowie speaks, very politely, from the heart: "Scotland please stay with us".
Here is the tolerant, inclusive, democratic stuff we see come spilling out - http://www.buzzfeed.com/jimwaterson/...id-bowies-brit
It is pretty ugly when the mask slips.
The irony of some of the comments, given Sean Connery's position, seems to be lost on them too.
-
20-02-2014 04:59 PM #695This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I had the misfortune of watching the Brits last night - wife and kids to blame for that - and saw the whole thing unfold live.
Firstly what a revolting pack of self congratulatory gits these 'celebs' are.
Secondly Kate Moss' reading of Bowie's words was a bit mangled. However the moment I heard those words pass from her lips I knew two things were certain. One, ludicrously offensive and over the top response from separatists. Two, ludicrously excessive and over top response from media.
As you say steakbake, 7 more months of this to go. It. Is. Awful.
Whoever loses this vote should agree to shut up and not speak of it ever again. Actually, so should whoever wins it.
-
20-02-2014 05:05 PM #696This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Whichever way you look at it these 2 banks were not bailed out by the UK Government.
IMO Just Alf was asserting (correctly) that there was a lot more to the UK bank bail out than UK Government money. It is clear that emergency loans, for example, made available by the US Federal Reserve played a significant role in preventing the banking sector going tits up. They did this because, as previously stated, banks were bailed out based on where they operated (i.e - not simply where they were headquartered).
With regard my plagiarismof the Business of Scotland article, I'm not afraid to say that this was where I sourced the information in my earlier post, however, unlike the BoS article I don't think it is particularly clever to draw conclusions as to how an iScotland would have coped with or indeed handled the banking crisis. Fact is, Scotland was not Independent at the time of the crisis. Who knows how things could have panned out - relatively unscathed like Norway or badly scarred like EIRE - it depends on how the country was being governed I guess - but you don't know anymore than BoS how things would have panned out.
What you can't seem to accept is that the banking crisis happened under the 'watchful' eye of the UK Government.
The banks that went bust were UK Banks!
Nationalists are often criticised for portraying a vision of a land of 'milk and honey'. I have never suggested that being an Independent Nation State would be easy. I do, however, think it is about Scots making choices in the best interests of Scotland and having to stand or fall by the decisions we take. I also think it is fair to say, that many pro Union supporters (I include you in this category) are just as guilty of portraying an iScotland as a 'basket case' economy.
-
20-02-2014 05:10 PM #697This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pmGjiokfQ2A
-
20-02-2014 05:16 PM #698This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
20-02-2014 05:19 PM #699This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
If you think some drunken The Rangers supporters talking pish in the street equates to people with Yes emblems on their twitter/facebook accounts posting those kinds of comments and responses about someone who politely says "Scotland please stay with us" then you crack on.
-
20-02-2014 05:39 PM #700This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
We don't have a basket case economy but we could do if this shambles is allowed to continue. Independence with clarity and certainty is one thing. Independence with chaos is quite another.
-
20-02-2014 05:54 PM #701
Aargh! .... Out for a few hours and see what happens!
Just to be clear, the remarks quoted by ODS would have been a bit (lot) clearer if I had "UK banks alone"
I'll also say that using the principle already shown of governments bailing out banks dependent on covering the business done in their country, they are protecting their own interests after all, then if Scotland had been independent we would have been on the hook for 10% of the UKs £65 billion.
Whether we would have been in a position to cover it or not is a whole other question!
Heading out again
-
20-02-2014 06:05 PM #702This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
20-02-2014 06:55 PM #703This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
2. Is it possible to be too hard on DR journos?
TBF I don't read any papers.
-
20-02-2014 06:56 PM #704This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
It's all your fault....
We'll see if we can stitch you up for something else while you're out.
-
20-02-2014 07:14 PM #705This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
20-02-2014 08:09 PM #706
Just catching up with this thread. It seems Barroso has been put back in his place.
http://www.newsnetscotland.com/index...er-eu-comments
http://www.newsnetscotland.com/index...rector-generalLast edited by ronaldo7; 20-02-2014 at 08:12 PM.
-
20-02-2014 08:35 PM #707
-
20-02-2014 08:36 PM #708This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Your point about 'what makes a nation' is more a philosophical poser than a political one. I would suggest that an historic SNP majority in Holyrood goes someway in countering your view that the Scottish people cannot actively contribute to their destiny. What a sensational result at the ballot box that was. I don't share your dim view of the Scottish voters but I do welcome your comments as, when added to the unionist "aye but" rhetoric that has been thrown at us in recent weeks, I think they only fuel a growing resentment to the status quo. Scotland is politically and socially different to much of the UK and my view is that we have no less of a right than any other sovereign nation to see our choices at the ballot box being reflected in our politicians.
One Tory MP in the Borders and David Cameron can send his flying monkey to Edinburgh to preach at us. He has no mandate in Westminster, never mind in Scotland.
The union is not right for Scotland and we can do something about it in September. There are many unanswered questions from Salmond and the Yes camp, but I have seen enough to be convinced that Scotland deserves better. I will be voting Yes in September.
-
20-02-2014 08:37 PM #709
This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteLast edited by steakbake; 20-02-2014 at 08:40 PM.
-
20-02-2014 08:50 PM #710This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
The drunken The Rangers supporters clearly get off the street often enough to pump bile out on the internet, often on newspaper websites which is confusing because I didn't think they could read. This is descending in to "whataboutery", so I'll stop it there, save to say that I think you are overlooking the fact that your side of the debate is not lacking bampots either.
Oh, and just for absolute accuracy, putting the word in bold does not change the fact that he didn't say it!!!! How impolite. In fact, the sort of thing I'd expect from a drunken The Rangers supporter!
-
20-02-2014 08:55 PM #711
Nobody mentioned evidence...only you. I merely posted a couple of links in connection with Barroso's comments from the week end.
Couldn't find them in the MSMFound it, here you go http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotlan...itics-26278237
Having listened to Barroso at the week end, and now seeing Mr Currie, a former EC Director General speaking in the link. I prefer to believe the latter if that's ok with you.
Last edited by ronaldo7; 20-02-2014 at 09:16 PM.
-
21-02-2014 07:04 AM #712
Yes it's fine to believe what you wish. But don't expect the majority of Scotland to believe a ex director over the current President. Have you read the thread on Mormonism on the PM board. I think your made for it 😃
-
21-02-2014 07:12 AM #713This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
21-02-2014 07:25 AM #714This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
21-02-2014 07:40 AM #715This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
21-02-2014 01:32 PM #716This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Surely all of the issues you mention above are symptomatic of those faced by any Nation State?
For me, in the last 40 years, Westminster (despite all our wealth) has not done enough to address these issues.
We have a horrendous level of national debt - £1.3trillion?
We are one of the most unequal countries in the OECD. An extremely sad state of affairs which IMO does nothing to encourage sustained economic growth.
We have what can only be described as a huge ‘social underclass’.
We have thousands of hard working people desperately trying to balance the books at home by shopping at foodbanks.
We’ve been dragged through a shocking conflict in Iraq on the false pretences of Tony Blair.
Despite 13 years of Labour Government from 1997 – 2010 we still have what I can only refer to as the abhorrence that is the House of Lords.
Nobody in their right mind is suggesting that Scottish Independence will be able to change or address all of these deep rooted problems overnight but Westminster has surely had its day? With regard to the debate around the economics of rUK versus iScotland, people are just going to have to weigh up the options and decide for themselves. The Financial Times seems to thinks we’ll do OK.
http://www.ft.com/cms/s/2/5b5ec2ca-8...de.html#slide1
PS - Have a good weekend ODS.Last edited by allmodcons; 21-02-2014 at 02:23 PM. Reason: Added PS.
-
21-02-2014 04:11 PM #717
It seems the air is being let out of the Balloon before it get's off the ground. http://www.heraldscotland.com/politi...y-mps.23491458
-
21-02-2014 07:09 PM #718This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
-
21-02-2014 07:30 PM #720