Always been an SNP voter myself (of course this isnae about any party or any person), and I will of course be voting YES. Here's hoping you and many others considering the idea will vote YES when the time comes, I ken a few that have changed their way of thinking and will now be voting YES.This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
View Poll Results: Should Scotland be an independent country?
- Voters
- 662. You may not vote on this poll
-
Yes
458 69.18% -
No
175 26.44% -
Undecided
29 4.38%
Thread: Scottish Independence
-
03-10-2013 09:20 PM #31
Last edited by Saorsa; 03-10-2013 at 09:30 PM.
-
03-10-2013 09:30 PM #32
I don't have a major issue with the concept of independence per se, but I cannot stand the SNP and the thought of independence under them scares the life out of me.
If the referendum was held tomorrow, I'd be voting 'no' and it would take quite a bit of persuasion for me to change my mind.
-
03-10-2013 09:36 PM #33
This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteLast edited by Saorsa; 03-10-2013 at 09:54 PM.
-
03-10-2013 10:06 PM #34
I've been an inactive member of the SNP for a few years. I'm up and about now supporting the Yes campaign, though. If (when - please!) Scotland becomes independent, I am not sure who I will vote for. I look forward to that dilemma! Bottom line is that there is absolutely no rule that independence means the SNP in charge.
-
03-10-2013 10:57 PM #35
The SNP won an absolute majority in the 2011 Scottish election. Can't remember the exact figures, but Labour way outperformed SNP at the Westminster poll the previous year. In an independent Scotland, I would expect the result to be closer to a Scottish election result. I would certainly expect the SNP to win the first post indie vote - win or lose.
-
03-10-2013 11:13 PM #36
A quick add: don't know if it was ever party policy, but the assumption used to be that, having achieved its aim, the SNP would dissolve itself, but I don't think that will happen.
My belief is that the SNP would hold together, at least for a while, and the leadership would tack to the right to try and assure the markets.
The SNP is a coalition and it would eventually split.
I have relatives who are SNP and view Salmond as a necessary evil to achieve independence and allow space for some sort of Scandanavian social democracy.
-
04-10-2013 07:54 AM #37This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
05-10-2013 06:18 PM #38
-
05-10-2013 07:00 PM #39
Always have been, and always will be a fundamental nationalist. I cringe every time I see an 'argument' that we will be £5 a week better or worse off - are we really that shallow?
Just one further point on a post independence Scotland, no party will dominate because we won't adopt the antiquitated fpp voting system. This will likely mean coalition or minority governments for the forseeable future.
-
-
05-10-2013 08:12 PM #41This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I'm from a traditional Labour voting family but will be voting YES for the opportunity to steer our own course rather than have our govt chosen by whoever the South of England votes in.
This is too big a chance to miss - Vote YES.
-
05-10-2013 10:01 PM #42
Definitely a Yes vote from me.
It is the most natural thing in the world for countries to run their own lives and I have always found it rather strange thst people in Scotland ask people from from another country to run their life for them.
It is far more than that though as once you control the levers of power you can then shape and mould society in a way the people of that country decide.
This is once in a lifetime opportunity to build a far fairer and equitable society with Scottish solutions to Scottish problems.
I have been quite impressed by the performance of the Scottish Parliament since its inception and I would be very much in favour to increase its power to that of every other normal country and Scotland would be a far better place for it.
-
06-10-2013 08:14 AM #43
I'd like to know if there are any SNP folks here who intend voting no next year?
-
06-10-2013 08:20 AM #44
you really ought to start viewing SNP's agenda re everything above. With the exception of your Rosyth question, they've already all been answered by the party.
-
06-10-2013 08:37 AM #45
Definitely a yes from me too - the chance to declare ourselves an independent nation is one I hope we don't miss.
Even if the 'No' vote wins I personally feel that independence is inevitable - I hope I live to see it.
-
06-10-2013 09:29 AM #46
A yes vote makes perfect sense to me. Not sure tho if we will get another crack at this , due to the way our parliament is geared for no overall control, so i reckon we need to grab our chance.
I can understand labour not wanting us to go but for the Tories it's financial. If we were a liability , now or in near future, then Davie C would be printing scottish passports fairly sharpish.
-
06-10-2013 09:29 AM #47This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Last edited by Aldo; 06-10-2013 at 09:49 AM.
-
06-10-2013 09:58 AM #48This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Currency? Best we leave that to Westminster to keep control of. Bottled.
Head of State. Let's base that in London. The fairer and more equitable society Independence will bring will have a figurehead decided by the hereditary principle. Bottled.
Defence? An Independent Scotland will take a clear and principled stand on Nuclear weapons by kicking them off our soil. We will however apply to join Nato so that we can shelter under it's nuclear umbrella. Bottled.
I don't think the SNP will disband if we vote Yes next year, there will still be a place for them in Scottish politics. Vote No and I reckon they will be ripping themselves to pieces for years with Salmond ending up generally reviled. I just hope that no matter which way it goes that the majority of us accept the result and move on without rancour.Every gimmick hungry yob,
-
06-10-2013 10:41 AM #49This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
It's up to the Yes campaign to get that out of folks heids.
-
06-10-2013 02:41 PM #50
-
06-10-2013 03:28 PM #51
The independence that the SNP win wont be set in stone. I support a republic, I would prefer a Scottish currency at some point in the future, and even though I support EU membership at this moment I could easily be swayed the other way.
I dont agree with the SNP's policies in many areas but they would not be the government forever in an independent Scotland. I would rather be going to vote in an election on issues like the above without the cringeworthy "vote us tae keep the Tories oot!" message being the only campaign message given.
For me, next year is about voting yes to the opportunity to set our own path rather than sitting in the passsenger seat of a car that is travelling in a direction I really do not like.
-
06-10-2013 06:18 PM #52
This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteLast edited by Saorsa; 06-10-2013 at 06:22 PM.
-
06-10-2013 06:31 PM #53This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
As for me, I'll go with whoever best fits my views at the time (and apart from Indy, the SNP don't currently fit)
-
06-10-2013 07:41 PM #54This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
The Tories may have less problems. The agricultural community in the SNP's North East heartlands were solidly Tory until one of their own, Hamish Watt, won a seat. Salmond won his seat from the Buchan bulldog, Albert McQuarrie. Mad Mitch of Aden fame was an Aberdeenshire MP as well. Both bonkers but well loved up there. An Independent Scotland could well result in a big Tory revival. How ironic would that be?Every gimmick hungry yob,
-
06-10-2013 10:18 PM #55
Everyone seems to think everything must happen on day one after a positive yes vote.
What's the rush?
There will obviously be a day one situation but things like currency, defence et al don't need to be 'finalized' for day one.
An independent Scotland will be a small but very powerful nation in every way. We will be in a position to court our suitors.
As a wee pretend nation we're no bad, as an independent nation the world is ours to be what every other independent nation can be, but better because we're actually very good.
We have nothing to fear but our own limited ambitions.
-
07-10-2013 08:48 AM #56This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
09-10-2013 06:08 PM #57This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
09-10-2013 06:49 PM #58This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
09-10-2013 07:10 PM #59
This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteSeriously though I ken a few, managed tae persuade one though what the vote is about and it's no Salmond or the SNP. I will be doing my best tae make others see what the real issue is and if they still choose tae vote no then fair enough. There are some people who really need tae open there eyes though and look beyond Salmond and the SNP, if that's their only reason for voting no it's a very poor one.
-
10-10-2013 05:26 PM #60
Keep up the good work!
YES Scotland.