View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?

1016. You may not vote on this poll
  • Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football

537 52.85%
  • Opposed - but will continue to support the game.

454 44.69%
  • In favour.

25 2.46%
Page 768 of 1507 FirstFirst ... 2686687187587667677687697707788188681268 ... LastLast
Results 23,011 to 23,040 of 45185
    http://www.rangers.co.uk/news/headli...p3c3ew.twitter

Looks like more infighting coming up at The Big Hoose

Quote Originally Posted by Tynie01011973 View Post
    http://www.rangers.co.uk/news/headli...p3c3ew.twitter

Looks like more infighting coming up at The Big Hoose

"The Requisition puts forward resolutions for the removal of Craig Mather, Brian Stockbridge and Bryan Smart as directors of the Company and the appointment of Paul Murray and Frank Blin as directors of the Company."

Wow, swapping the directors back already.

In the words of the famous Ronald of McDonald, "I'm loving it"

@hibs.net private member Seveno's Avatar
    Let the fun commence. Or should that be farce ?

@hibs.net private member Spike Mandela's Avatar
    Poor wee soul..............

http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/...cence.21772611

"My view hasn't changed. I'm not an accountant and I'm not a financial man. Looking back, I never questioned the EBTs. As far as I was concerned they were totally above board - they had been signed off by lawyers."

Take it you haven't paid back the 'loan' then Campbell?
    Last edited by Spike Mandela; 03-08-2013 at 11:22 AM.

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    Quote Originally Posted by Kaiser1962 View Post
    Thats just it though, they are assembling an SPL side, on better than SPL wages, to get them out of Division two. Last update I saw had them losing close to £1m a month. They have learned hee haw.

It's like buying an Aston because you have a race against your neighbours Reliant Robin, when a Focus would be more than adequate.
    An interesting article on the BBC though their comparison is Rolls Royce and Mini Metro

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/23471292

Staggering comparison with Livingston drawn here - Gary Bollan lead Livi to the 3rd and 2nd division titles with a collective salary cost of £350k per season (£7k total per week), equating to the same amount that Rangers are paying Lee McCulloch per week.

Clearly they have learned bugger all and no doubt it'll once again be everybody elses fault when they encounter financial bother again.
    Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.

@hibs.net private member Part/Time Supporter's Avatar
    Rangers lose to Forfar in the League Cup...

Ally McCoist said he was absolutely appalled by what Charles Green has said in the newspapers this morning. [McCoist] said:

"The self-confident, self-talking, straight-talking Yorkshireman has let himself down again. His total contempt and total lack of respect for the Rangers players and for Scottish football is an embarrassment."

Last edited by Part/Time Supporter; 03-08-2013 at 06:16 PM.

Don't think McCoist is very happy with Green judging by his comments after todays game, should be fun & games behind the scenes.

BBC Sportsound@bbcsportsound 19m Ally McCoist tells media he's "absolutely appalled" at Charles Green's comments in today's press which contributed to today's defeat.

BBC Sportsound@bbcsportsound 13m Forfar Atheltic's Gavin S****ie struck an extra-time winner to send Rangers out of Scottish League Cup in 1st round

BBC Sportsound@bbcsportsound 11m Ally McCoist says of Charles Green's comments in the press "As team talks go Charles, that was not your best." #BBCSportsound

BBC Sportsound@bbcsportsound 8m McCoist on Green: "the self-confident straight-talking Yorkshireman has let himself down again. His total contempt and and total lack..."

BBC Sportsound@bbcsportsound 7m McCoist on Green cont: "...of respect for the Rangers players and for Scottish football is an embarrassment" #BBCSportsound

Coaching Staff The Green Goblin's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by YehButNoBut View Post
    Don't think McCoist is very happy with Green judging by his comments after todays game, should be fun & games behind the scenes.

BBC Sportsound@bbcsportsound 19m Ally McCoist tells media he's "absolutely appalled" at Charles Green's comments in today's press which contributed to today's defeat.

BBC Sportsound@bbcsportsound 13m Forfar Atheltic's Gavin S****ie struck an extra-time winner to send Rangers out of Scottish League Cup in 1st round

BBC Sportsound@bbcsportsound 11m Ally McCoist says of Charles Green's comments in the press "As team talks go Charles, that was not your best." #BBCSportsound

BBC Sportsound@bbcsportsound 8m McCoist on Green: "the self-confident straight-talking Yorkshireman has let himself down again. His total contempt and and total lack..."

BBC Sportsound@bbcsportsound 7m McCoist on Green cont: "...of respect for the Rangers players and for Scottish football is an embarrassment" #BBCSportsound
    "Which contributed to today's defeat" eh? It's
    Never ever their own fault with these people is it?

@hibs.net private member Bishop Hibee's Avatar
    McCoist has lost it. He'll get the boot before too long.

I have a mate who is a Celtc fan who is also a fund manager and writes under the pseudonym 'Barrow Bhoy' for Not the View. Similary to our own financial wizards with hertz, he is all over the newco story. He predicted way ahead of any official media that Green who has made an investment of 50K will get about £2m back. Payoff time approaches.

Nice work if you can get it!
    "Washing one's hands of the conflict between the powerful and the powerless means to side with the powerful, not to be neutral.' - Paulo Freire

Quote Originally Posted by green glory View Post
    Great stuff. Looking forward to him making an even bigger laughing stock of them.
    you didn't have to wait long

Quote Originally Posted by YehButNoBut View Post

Coisty getting brave - must think Watty will shield him

bit in bold ......gotta love swear filters

Quote Originally Posted by Bishop Hibee View Post
    McCoist has lost it. He'll get the boot before too long.

I have a mate who is a Celtc fan who is also a fund manager and writes under the pseudonym 'Barrow Bhoy' for Not the View. Similary to our own financial wizards with hertz, he is all over the newco story. He predicted way ahead of any official media that Green who has made an investment of 50K will get about £2m back. Payoff time approaches.

Nice work if you can get it!
    The share price is tumbling, and Green can't sell until November/December.

That is why he's been brought back IMO.... to save his, and others', windfalls.

Rangers posted this article on their website:

ALLY McCOIST has accused Charles Green of treating Rangers and its fans with contempt and believes he has no interest in the club. The manager was furious to waken up this morning to comments from the former Light Blues chief executive – appointed as a consultant to the club yesterday - in a national newspaper. In the interview, he insisted McCoist had to win the league and a cup this season or he would ‘have a problem’. Green also reiterated his belief last season’s team was the worst in the club’s history and described events at Ibrox as ‘a circus’. And he maintained he’d have raised season ticket prices this term and wouldn’t have given McCoist the volume of players Craig Mather has allowed him to recruit. The manager was furious in particular with the timing of Green dismissing the same squad from 2012/13 he was working with at today’s League Cup tie against Forfar.

Gers lost 2-1 after extra-time and McCoist feels the Yorkshireman’s words played a part. He said: “They were a terrible distraction and I found his comments appalling, I really did. Once again, he was reminding our boys who had a serious cup tie in four hours that he thinks they were the worst Rangers team in history. What kind of team talk is that from somebody who is supposed to have the club’s best interests at heart? He’s fooling nobody. He’s trying to kid the fans on that he’s this, that and the next thing but he’s not interested in Rangers Football Club, not at all. I think it’s plain to see his contempt and total lack of respect for my players, the staff at the club, the supporters and Scottish football in general. It’s totally unacceptable.”

McCoist went into this afternoon’s match at Station Park minus the eight new players he has recruited over the last few weeks. The difference in play without them was evident as Rangers struggled to break down their fellow League One opponents for large spells. Fraser Aird did cancel out Gavin Swinkie’s early opener to force an additional half hour of play and there were chances for the Light Blues to edge it. Instead they fell to a second Swinkie strike in windy conditions and McCoist knows his players didn’t perform the way they could have.

He said: “I’m very disappointed. The team shooting with the wind obviously had a very strong advantage and conditions weren’t ideal. Forfar adapted better than us. With that said, once we did get the equaliser I thought we had chances to win the game and we should have done. It was a moment of slackness that cost us and we just switched off. Let’s put things into perspective though. It was last year’s team playing – which did well for us last year – and we had eight lads in the stand who couldn’t play but who’ll feature. For long periods of the game, we had the ball and we had great chances to score but we couldn’t convert and we’ll congratulate Dick Campbell and his team on their win. Now we look ahead to the Newcastle game, which will give us an opportunity to play lads our new chief executive has stood by and allowed to bring into the club. We have to remember we’ve brought in good players, people who have played in the Premier League, and I’ve no doubt they will make us better.”
    http://www.rangers.co.uk/news/headli...t-for-our-club

It's since been pulled off the website and replaced with another article that is not critical of Green.

It's an oft-used phrase, but "shambles of a club" comes to mind.

Last edited by Part/Time Supporter; 03-08-2013 at 06:25 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Part/Time Supporter View Post

It's since been pulled off the website.

Swinkie......don't want to upset the polite sensibilities of their supporters

It's since been pulled off the website and replaced with another article that is not critical of Green.

Maybe they need to appoint a media manager and preferably one who knows how the press works?
    Mature, sensible signature required for responsible position. Good prospects for the right candidate. Apply within.

Forfar - ha ha

Todays result shows McCOIST up for all he is.
    Comedy result. Class :)

great effort by the new boys today, always going to be a big ask until they establish themselves at this level. On the plus side they got a goal at the highest level they have played. One for the record books for The Rangers.

Quote Originally Posted by Bostonhibby View Post
    great effort by the new boys today, always going to be a big ask until they establish themselves at this level. On the plus side they got a goal at the highest level they have played. One for the record books for The Rangers.
    It was the league cup not the league so the new club have played at that level before against SPL opposition.

@hibs.net private member worcesterhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Spike Mandela View Post
    Graham Spiers
    @GrahamSpiers
    In The Herald tomorrow: SFA president Campbell Ogilvie tells me of his regret over his Rangers EBT, and the ‘sheer vitriol’ he has endured.
    4:53 p.m. Fri, Aug 2

Can't wait to read this 'bleeding Heart' revising of history.
    Ogilivie sums up all that is wrong with Scottish Football. A director of Rangers during their worst excesses and the receiver of a £90,000 EBT pay off..then on to be Managing Director of Hearts during the worst of their excessive over-spending. He presided over two of Scotland's biggest clubs during their most shameful periods of history...so what happens next...he gets to be President of the SFA !!!! Cheats in Charge...shameful !

Quote Originally Posted by PatHead View Post
    It was the league cup not the league so the new club have played at that level before against SPL opposition.
    Bloody hell Pathead thanks for pointing it out, I couldnt wait - I have just txtd the same bollox to my Hun supporting cousin (also an ex Porters man ) as well!

Im Hearing, that Aunty Sally has been Emptied.... dont know for sure but it seems like The newspapers will state that she has either quit or walked etc...

Screen grab of the original article

http://easycaptures.com/fs/uploaded/715/7630096196.jpg

Don't think he's gone...........yet

STV article on tonight's McCoist comments.

http://sport.stv.tv/football/clubs/r...medium=twitter

Ally McCoist labels Charles Green 'an embarrassment' after cup defeat

Rangers manager Ally McCoist has launched a sensational attack on former Ibrox chief executive Charles Green, branding him "an embarrassment".

The Light Blues boss hit out after Green — who has returned to the club as consultant — warned the manager in a article published The Sun newspaper that he must win a cup this year and as simply delivering another league title would not be enough.

Hours later, Rangers crashed out of the first round of the Scottish League Cup 2-1 after extra-time to Forfar.

Speaking after the loss at Station Park, McCoist said, when asked for his thoughts on Green's remarks, "I was appalled by them to be quite honest with you.

"The self-acclaimed, straight-talking Yorkshireman has again let himself down.

"His contempt and total lack of respect for my players, for our football club, for our support and Scottish football in general is appalling — and he is an embarrassment."

On Green's cup claims, McCoist added: "If it was a threat then the self-acclaimed, straight-talking Yorkshireman should know that boys from the West of Scotland don't scare easily.

"If he does come back, I'll certainly go and pick him at the airport. I won't have a problem doing that.

"It's just more hot air that we've come to expect from Charles."

Green quit as chief executive in April but, in a statement to the London Stock Exchange on Friday, the club confirmed his return as a consultant.

And McCoist, who was unhappy with Green branding his players "the worst Rangers team ever" last season, made it clear he did not welcome the Yorkshireman's return.

He said: "After I've given him that endorsement it would be crazy of me to say 'welcome back Charles'.

"I've got to be careful because Forfar deserved their win and well done to Dick Campbell and his players.

"But our players picked up the newspaper at breakfast to be reminded they're the worst team in Rangers' history.

"I'll tell you, that would be bad luck — to have the worst Rangers team in history and the worst chief executive in history at the same time. That's downright bad luck.

"Instead of concentrating on the match, their minds are elsewhere and they're worrying about their jobs. Because, let's face it, if he's said we don't win a cup and we go, then some of the players would be under threat too.

"As team-talks go, I don't think it was one of Charles' best."

The match was played against a backdrop of fresh off-field turmoil, with a group of shareholders aiming to see the removal of key board members, including new chief executive Craig Mather.

McCoist said: "That's something I can't legislate for and don't have any control over.

"What I can say is that the current chief executive has backed us with players coming in, absolutely.

"Craig Mather has been shoulder-to-shoulder with us, which is something Charles seems to have taken umbrage to.

"Let's be honest about it, I don't think it's surprising that we're probably at our most vulnerable and weakest because we can't play our new signings [due to a transfer embargo].

"That's when Charles has surfaced and the biggest thing of the lot is that he's turned up after 34,000 fans have bought season tickets.

"Coincidence? Perhaps not."

Quote Originally Posted by SteveHFC View Post
    Shameful!!

Its all very well posting pictures of dejected huns but where's the dancing zebra? Way below your standard Steve

Quote Originally Posted by Kaff View Post
    Shameful!!

Its all very well posting pictures of dejected huns but where's the dancing zebra? Way below your standard Steve
    Like this one as well

Quote Originally Posted by worcesterhibby View Post
    Ogilivie sums up all that is wrong with Scottish Football. A director of Rangers during their worst excesses and the receiver of a £90,000 EBT pay off..then on to be Managing Director of Hearts during the worst of their excessive over-spending. He presided over two of Scotland's biggest clubs during their most shameful periods of history...so what happens next...he gets to be President of the SFA !!!! Cheats in Charge...shameful !
    just about sums it up, about Scottish football. nay wonder we are in the state we are in, when tossers like that can still be around after his involvement in sheer madness,coupled with hypopcrisy after the fact.

this is all becoming too much ma sides are f/kin splittin', ma nose is bleedin' , in fact I'm goin' up toon tae try and source mair drink.! laughed so much about the Huns when it all happened then laughed even mair when it unfolded in gorgie. now this, coupled with an early exit from a major cup competition(some say no) by the Huns. wee 'coisty, that cheeky wee imp,looks as if he's shot his bolt,and big bad Mr Green and his cohorts will empty him asap. laugh? I've never laughed so much since ma Granny caught her tit in the mangle, and thon wis a laugh! what next? what a season this could be! this is my story, this is my song.............new words to be added.

A team which was promoted last season in its first SFL season lost away to a team which got into the higher division's playoffs last season. Why is anyone treating this like it was a shock? McCoist took his club to a clear win in their division last season. I can't understand why anyone is questioning his ability to continue in his position after this entirely normal result. He's a young manager learning his trade and should be given as much time as he needs to get to grips with football in the lower Scottish divisions. It's sad that Scotland wants to stifle this type of emerging talent.

Quote Originally Posted by ballengeich View Post
    A team which was promoted last season in its first SFL season lost away to a team which got into the higher division's playoffs last season. Why is anyone treating this like it was a shock? McCoist took his club to a clear win in their division last season. I can't understand why anyone is questioning his ability to continue in his position after this entirely normal result. He's a young manager learning his trade and should be given as much time as he needs to get to grips with football in the lower Scottish divisions. It's sad that Scotland wants to stifle this type of emerging talent.
    true, but naughty, very naughty