Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast
    Nothing more than a publicity stunt by Fish IMO.

Unfortunately he'll end up with less fans if he does this gig than he did to start with.

Quote Originally Posted by Phil MaGlass View Post
    Fish wants tae hold a benefit for them, cannae believe it masel,

http://www.scotsman.com/edinburgh-ev...-gig-1-2987038

p.s theres a poll on the right hand side if you wish to take part
    Surprised its not been mentioned before!

Quote Originally Posted by greengnome View Post
    Be better holding a benefit for his own club I would think...! Just my opinion.
    Exactly, with the proceeds going to the managers fund or youth development. Does Fish have a season ticket at ER? Just a thought like!

Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    Fish is very much a Hibby . He is of an age where football rivalry does not mean hatred and vitriol has to be the norm and I fully understand that. His mention of the Mcraes thing is respectful and dignified. He won't be the only Hibs fan who would mourn the loss of the Derby fixture. Just because that's not a popular view on here doesn't make him any less of a Hibs fan.
    It's a classy gesture from the big guy. I hope it raises very little cash though.
    Spot on J. I have to say though, in simple terms and in my view what he's doing smacks of him condoning what's gone before and that's exactly why they are in the mess they are in. Nothing to do with tribal rivalry ........... it's all about sporting integrity
    This is how it feels

Taken from the TAMB

From Fish:-

"My demeanour today isn't being helped by the flak I am taking from BOTH sides over this planned Hearts Benefit show.The feedback so far on both fan forums isn't inspiring and we can only hope that the Edinburgh Evening News article tonight generates some positivity. I'm no idiot and I knew I was going to take hits but it appears I may have misjudged the animosity between both sets of fans and I am currently acting as a lightning rod. Not a great feeling when a genuine offer is being spun with accusations of betrayal/ gloating/ publicity seeking etc and mixed in with a lot of personal abuse. A big dark cloud hovers over that subject and sucked a lot of my energies away today."

Quote Originally Posted by H18sry View Post

"My demeanour today isn't being helped by the flak I am taking from BOTH sides over this planned Hearts Benefit show.The feedback so far on both fan forums isn't inspiring and we can only hope that the Edinburgh Evening News article tonight generates some positivity. I'm no idiot and I knew I was going to take hits but it appears I may have misjudged the animosity between both sets of fans and I am currently acting as a lightning rod. Not a great feeling when a genuine offer is being spun with accusations of betrayal/ gloating/ publicity seeking etc and mixed in with a lot of personal abuse. A big dark cloud hovers over that subject and sucked a lot of my energies away today."
    No offence to him and I'm sure he meant well but what exactly did he expect?

Gamertag: TreadsoneScot
    Quote Originally Posted by Meh View Post
    No offence to him and I'm sure he meant well but what exactly did he expect?
    Publicity.

Quote Originally Posted by H18sry View Post

"it appears I may have misjudged the animosity between both sets of fans."
    You certainly got that right, it was naivety in the extreme to expect anything else.

Quote Originally Posted by Treadstone View Post
    Publicity.
    Bad publicity?

Quote Originally Posted by Meh View Post
    Bad publicity?
    There is only one thing in the world worse than being talked about, and that is not being talked about.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    You certainly got that right, it was naivety in the extreme to expect anything else.
    Maybe he believed that we were better than the Old Firm fans. He made it clear that he expected a hard time from many fans but finding himself subjected to personal abuse from Hibs fans may well have shocked him. Disagreeing with his actions is one thing, attacking him personally is another.
    Hearts should always be the target, not a fellow Hibby who wants to carry out a decent act amidst the animosity. I wouldn't lift a finger to help them out but surely we can at least respect the right of other Hibs fans to see things differently.

Maybe he believed that we were better than the Old Firm fans. He made it clear that he expected a hard time from many fans but finding himself subjected to personal abuse from Hibs fans may well have shocked him. Disagreeing with his actions is one thing, attacking him personally is another.
    Hearts should always be the target, not a fellow Hibby who wants to carry out a decent act amidst the animosity. I wouldn't lift a finger to help them out but surely we can at least respect the right of other Hibs fans to see things differently.
    He'd be better helping the people they've ripped off, that I could understand, surely they are mair deserving? Helping out that shower of ***** who dinnae give a **** about the tens of millions they have stolen from other people (5-1, 1902, big team, it was worth it )? Nah.

A foolish act, a cheap publicity stunt or baith
    Last edited by Saorsa; 04-07-2013 at 12:27 PM.

@hibs.net private member Jamesie's Avatar
    This gig would have been a sell out. Curious why it's been cancelled.

From Fish FB
    I received a call last night from a representative of Heart of Midlothian FC a few hours after the article was published in the Edinburgh Evening News and 24 hours after it was announced on electronic media. This is the resulting agreed statement.

“After discussion with HMFC we have decided to cancel the intended benefit gig for the club on August 7th. Despite our good intentions, it swiftly became very obvious from comments from both sets of fans, that we had underestimated the animosity that exists between the sets of supporters.

“There are a lot of genuine fans out there from both clubs and beyond who understood my gesture and the reasons behind my offer of support but there was also a number of fans who had a more negative and cynical take on the event and who didn't want it to happen.
    “With the level of disagreement on both sides and a potential struggle with ticket sales, HMFC and I decided it was wiser to cancel the gig rather than add to the existing animosity.

“As a Scottish football supporter I am saddened by the outcome and embarrassed by some of the bitter animosity on display from vocal minorities on both sides.

“It appears from the announcements from the HMFC administrators that the club will be taking the field in August and I'm glad that fans of Edinburgh football will be seeing derby games this season.

“I'd just like to thank the people at HMFC who were involved in organising the show and for all their efforts which, like mine, were sincere and genuine at all times and also I'd like to thank the fans who saw beyond the bitter rivalry and who wrote in support of the event which sadly is not now happening.”

A Hearts spokesperson said: “The offer from Fish to stage a concert to raise funds for the football club was admirable and well meaning. However, due to a lack of support in the city for the event, it was decided that a cancellation was in the best interests of all concerned.”

I sincerely hope this dramatic turnaround has not caused any of my fans who were thinking about traveling up to Edinburgh any inconvenience or financial loss as that would be a bitter irony given the circumstances.

I wanted to announce this as soon as possible to avoid any further inconveniences and asked Hearts for an agreed statement to be issued now rather than later.

Most of my thoughts are contained within the statement.

With the level of disagreement on both sides and a potential struggle with ticket sales

It was only opposed by a vocal minority? Yet it was cancelled because of a lack of support in the city?

And he can stick his genuine fans comment where the sun disnae shine.
    Last edited by Saorsa; 04-07-2013 at 04:41 PM.

High fives all round for the angry mob on here and Kickback who presented a united front against this evil musician. It was heart warming to see fans of both Edinburgh clubs put their rivalry aside to speak with a single voice against this wicked man.

i feel sorry for the guy i really do, but as some have pointed out, why should hertz get any benefit from extra dosh when they have spent the last few seasons basically cheating...and not paying debts, he should maybe have held a concert to help the employees that have lost their jobs at that horrible football club, maybe lord foulkes of p@shy breeks could offer a few months of expenses to help they former employees...it was that big buffoon that was instrumental in getting cowboy romanov into his Amateur little club in the first place go on foulkes...do something decent for a change you drunken old oaf

Bitter animosity?

**** those Hearts *****

I feel nothing for them or anyone who supports them. Fish was only a colaborator in my eyes. Any cash from any hibby to them, in any format other than to watch them play hibs lessens your claim as a hibs supporter. After all the pish they have spouted and the cheating before they deserve EVERYTHING and more of what they are going through.

Fish can piss right off with his genuine fans comments. Genuine fans from both sides would have told him what would happen. Could you imagine craig and charlie reid pulling this stunt? Even if in private they want them to survive they'd never say it.

Hearts should die. The quicker the better and any hibs fan who tries to slow that is only hurting hibs in the long run. Play a gig and give pat the money to get 2 strikers in if it matters that much. Im sure hibs and hibs fans would rally. Not sit on our arse doing nothing for 8 years.

PSN ID: FleshCabbage
    Genuine fans? Sorry but I am a genuine fan, what I don't agree with is helping out the mange-ridden ***** over in Gorgie. Sorry Fish, I'm so sorry I don't want to help them out after hearing all of their deluded statements for the past 8 years and for them showing no remorse for anything happening, whether it was bumping office staff out of a job or for lying to secure their place in the top league next season at the expense of Dundee. They even wanted to play the paedophile Craig Thomson again! They are the club with no shame and their reaction to you wanting to help them is worse than the one from us. Can't believe some of the tripe you have come out with Fish, very disappointed.

Why would you be embarrassed of our rivalry? Everyone knows we aren't friends and tubes like Mercer, Romanov, Foulkes, Zaliukas etc have done nothing other than to really fan the flames of our rivalry. I hate them and I'm not ashamed to admit that.

PSN ID: FleshCabbage
    Quote Originally Posted by Just_Jimmy View Post
    I feel nothing for them or anyone who supports them. Fish was only a colaborator in my eyes. Any cash from any hibby to them, in any format other than to watch them play hibs lessens your claim as a hibs supporter. After all the pish they have spouted and the cheating before they deserve EVERYTHING and more of what they are going through.

Fish can piss right off with his genuine fans comments. Genuine fans from both sides would have told him what would happen. Could you imagine craig and charlie reid pulling this stunt? Even if in private they want them to survive they'd never say it.

Hearts should die. The quicker the better and any hibs fan who tries to slow that is only hurting hibs in the long run. Play a gig and give pat the money to get 2 strikers in if it matters that much. Im sure hibs and hibs fans would rally. Not sit on our arse doing nothing for 8 years.
    Exactly, even now when Fish offered them a way of raising money for them they told him to bolt and were very abusive towards him. If I was a Yam (and thank **** I am not) then I'd be snapping the hand off of anyone trying to help out the club, not driving them away.

Quote Originally Posted by Desperate Dan View Post
    With the level of disagreement on both sides and a potential struggle with ticket sales

It was only opposed by a vocal minority? Yet it was cancelled because of a lack of support in the city?

And he can stick his genuine fans comment where the sun disnae shine.
    Quote Originally Posted by Salt & Sauzee View Post
    Genuine fans? Sorry but I am a genuine fan, what I don't agree with is helping out the mange-ridden ***** over in Gorgie. Sorry Fish, I'm so sorry I don't want to help them out after hearing all of their deluded statements for the past 8 years and for them showing no remorse for anything happening, whether it was bumping office staff out of a job or for lying to secure their place in the top league next season at the expense of Dundee. They even wanted to play the paedophile Craig Thomson again! They are the club with no shame and their reaction to you wanting to help them is worse than the one from us. Can't believe some of the tripe you have come out with Fish, very disappointed.

Why would you be embarrassed of our rivalry? Everyone knows we aren't friends and tubes like Mercer, Romanov, Foulkes, Zaliukas etc have done nothing other than to really fan the flames of our rivalry. I hate them and I'm not ashamed to admit that.
    I think you are misinterpreting that.

He isn't saying that fans that don't agree with him aren't somehow "genuine". He's only saying that there are genuine fans that do actually agree. He knows the default position is not to agree to this, hence the need to highlight.

High fives all round for the angry mob on here and Kickback who presented a united front against this evil musician. It was heart warming to see fans of both Edinburgh clubs put their rivalry aside to speak with a single voice against this wicked man.
    I feel similar sentiments and it's come to a pretty sad conclusion. I don't believe there was ever the real need to cancel and it's depressing that he felt he had to after basically laying all his cards on the table.

One thing he did do wrong in my opinion was justify himself to his fellow hibbys as he had no real need to do so. The whole of Scottish football thinks the same way as he does (they basically cheated), so it's probably natural for him to come out with these comments amongst fellow fans. However, you can't ignore the impact this type of talk will have on a lot of the hearts support. The truth hurts big time and when it comes from a public figure he will be the last person you want down your manor. Even if the facts regarding their "cheating" are debatable, the fact remains that he disrespected their club. They are a wounded animal just now.

That aside, I still believe this was a genuine offer of help. I totally understand hibs fans not agreeing to this and I'm sure Fish even understood them before making the offer. We've been there before and have survived Mercer almost killing us so there are bound to be boys who will gladly spit on their grave and therefore have dim views on anyone "helping" them. Even if hearts go in and out of liquidation and suffer years of abuse from hibs fans they won't get near the feeling of 20 odd years ago.

It's the internet loudmouth hearts fans who are responsible for this gig failing, which is tragic.
    OK, Fish's comments might not have gone down well with all at Tynecastle but there would have been a fair number of hearts fans willing to go because they were fans of Fish/Marillion. No doubt a lot of fans of the musicians would have attended just to hear the music regardless of the cause.

That's all not happening now because the same half a dozen internet mouths on kickback have posted enough vitriol and personal abuse to put the man off. They are defenders of their football club and have principles that won't allow such fund-raising at their club. They don't care for fish, his music and wouldn't have attended the gig anyway but that small band of internet hard men have ensured their "principles" have stopped anyone who would have considered going even getting the chance.
    If it was about principles, all they had to do was not attend.
    It's simply been an opportunity for the nameless and faceless to go on the offensive and cancelling the gig is giving them all far too much credit. They really aren't that important, and growing up in the west of Edinburgh I can tell you that they are certainly not a true representation of the hearts support and maybe that's another misjudgment fish has made. Before these message boards people wouldn't have had these platforms and the gig would have went ahead.

All this aside, Fish has went up in my estimation. It takes a big man with a big heart to make that offer.

Quote Originally Posted by peter douglas View Post
    I think you are misinterpreting that.

He isn't saying that fans that don't agree with him aren't somehow "genuine". He's only saying that there are genuine fans that do actually agree. He knows the default position is not to agree to this, hence the need to highlight.
    I dinnae. Why the need tae mention genuine at all then? What are those who disagree? IMO it's suggesting exactly that they are something other than genuine. Fans who agree would have done, IMO it is clearly a dig at those who disagree and he can **** right off.
    Last edited by Saorsa; 05-07-2013 at 07:09 AM.

Two words, one begins with F, the other with O

​**** h****s

and everything tae bury them. I'll never understand or agree with a Hibs fan who thinks otherwise, in fact we'll be as far apart as I am with any yam.

**** h****s
    If yer looking tae raise funds, this club could still dae with some, if you're looking tae raise funds for that shower of cheating *******s yer nae Hibby that I'd want tae ken.
    Maybe you should have a benefit concert for all the people and businesses that have been and are going tae get bumped out of tens of millions by these tax dodging, thieving cheating ****bags.

Raising money for a club that's already stolen tens of millions of other peoples money, an absolute disgrace as far as I'm concerned.
    A few of the comments you made in response to a dignified statement from a fellow Hibs fan.

I dinnae. Why the need tae mention genuine at all then? What are those who disagree? IMO it's suggesting exactly that they are something other than genuine. Fans who agree would have done, IMO it is clearly a dig at those who disagree and he can **** right off.
    Given what you and others have thrown at the guy are you not being a bit precious jumping all over the 'Genuine fans' comment? I actually thought his response was restrained. If you are prepared to dish it out surely you should be prepared to accept some back in return?

@hibs.net private member Part/Time Supporter's Avatar
    A depressing episode all round, really.

A few of the comments you made in response to a dignified statement from a fellow Hibs fan.

Given what you and others have thrown at the guy are you not being a bit precious jumping all over the 'Genuine fans' comment? I actually thought his response was restrained. If you are prepared to dish it out surely you should be prepared to accept some back in return?
    Did I question whether he was a genuine Hibs fan? Mind you efter reading a post on the MB if it's true saying he was in favour of a merged Edinburgh team, I might. I said he was nae Hibs fan I'd want tae ken, I said I disagree with raising money for that shower of *****.

Who the **** is he tae suggest who or what makes a genuine Hibs fan and who disnae just because they dinnae agree with his ****in' ***** idea. I'm a genuine fan of my club (and it costs me plenty every year), I couldnae give a **** about theirs.

IMO it was met with the response it merited and now it's binned and good riddance.
    Last edited by Saorsa; 05-07-2013 at 08:41 AM.

Did I question whether he was a genuine Hibs fan? Mind you efter reading a post on the MB if it's true saying he was in favour of a merged Edinburgh team, I might. I said he was nae Hibs fan I'd want tae ken, I said I disagree with raising money for that shower of *****.

Who the **** is he tae decide who is a genuine Hibs fan and who isnae just because they dinnae agree with his ****in' ***** idea.

IMO it was met with the response it deserved and now it's binned and good riddance.
    Did I say you did?

No but he did and you suggested it's ok, I suggested otherwise.

Anyway I winnae be going round and round on this with you J. I've got other things tae dae. It's now where it belongs IMO.
    Last edited by Saorsa; 05-07-2013 at 08:45 AM.

No but he did and you suggested it's ok, I suggested otherwise.

Anyway I winnae be going round and round on this with you J. I've got other things tae dae. It's now where it belongs IMO.
    Again you are putting words in my mouth and totally missing or evading the point I was making.