Page 1 of 16 12311 ... LastLast

Hearts bump HWU for training ground rent (merged)

Are they still training at Riccarton?

The council might do them a deal to use Starbank Park.
    Last edited by Part/Time Supporter; 25-06-2013 at 04:53 PM. Reason: +yams

Quote Originally Posted by green glory View Post

As I mentioned earlier in the thread I believe that their contract will run out June 29th. Scottish Rugby Union are to move in their for 6 months due to the training pitches at Murrayfield undergoing repair. This is from a family member who does work with the SRU.

Mair money they're due

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/f...raised-1990566

Quote Originally Posted by poolman View Post
    Hmmmm - HWU are a body that relies on public funding for a significant amount of its income. I hope us poor taxpayers aren't going to be subsidising their inevitable write-off of Yam debt.

Gamertag: TreadsoneScot
    Quote Originally Posted by GloryGlory View Post
    Hmmmm - HWU are a body that relies on public funding for a significant amount of its income. I hope us poor taxpayers aren't going to be subsidising their inevitable write-off of Yam debt.
    And accruing more.

Quote Originally Posted by poolman View Post
    That's a huge chunk of Wonga for HW to give up. Makes you suspect they've cut some kind of a deal with Yams but why anyone would trust anything from PBS is beyond me, maybe they had a reference from Danny Wilson!!

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by brog View Post
    That's a huge chunk of Wonga for HW to give up. Makes you suspect they've cut some kind of a deal with Yams but why anyone would trust anything from PBS is beyond me, maybe they had a reference from Danny Wilson!!
    It's public money they are throwing at a private business to the detriment of their competitors.
    Clearly a case of the SNP playing fast and loose with the education budget.

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post

It's public money they are throwing at a private business to the detriment of their competitors.
    Was the deal to hold the land not made before the when it was still a Lib/Lab council?

Don't think there's every been a Lib/Lab council. Last council was Lib/SNP - Cardownie hasn't been out of power for ages (if ever - he was Labour when they ran the show).

What an astonishing comment that is? Have you any proof at all that the SNP would have had any input to this decision. It would be up to Heriot Watt to run their own budget and make their own decisions regarding Hearts. It would make no PR sense at all for them to have refused them entry all you would have got was a group of slack jawed yokels trying to attack a couple of lecturers going to class.

£150k is a lot of money for a University to be losing that is for sure. It would be interesting to know the terms of this debt and for how long they have not been paying it.

Not sure about that sounds like it would be more hassle to let them use than ban them. No doubt just another name to add to the list of creditors.

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    What an astonishing comment that is? Have you any proof at all that the SNP would have had any input to this decision. It would be up to Heriot Watt to run their own budget and make their own decisions regarding Hearts. It would make no PR sense at all for them to have refused them entry all you would have got was a group of slack jawed yokels trying to attack a couple of lecturers going to class.

£150k is a lot of money for a University to be losing that is for sure. It would be interesting to know the terms of this debt and for how long they have not been paying it.
    SNP have been in power for 6 years now. They set the higher education budget and carry ultimate responsibility for how public money is spent. If Heriot watt are willing to write off £150k to a private business while still allowing them to run up further debts the perhaps the SNP need to decide if Heriot Watt is perhaps a little over funded.
    Either way, the SNP are in power and are ultimately responsible.

I doubt there's any deal in place yet. Don't be surprised if Hertz are turned away on Thursday when they turn up for training. As far as I'm aware they are not, as the story claims, "Happy to co-operate."

SNP have been in power for 6 years now. They set the higher education budget and carry ultimate responsibility for how public money is spent. If Heriot watt are willing to write off £150k to a private business while still allowing them to run up further debts the perhaps the SNP need to decide if Heriot Watt is perhaps a little over funded.
    Who says they are willing to write off anything. I am sure they probably tried to keep Hearts to their payment schedule. Your attempt to tie it to any Government policy is IMO a lame one as no doubt Universities have a fair degree of autonomy in how they use whatever funds they get.

lmfao not even worth an answer/debate

With all due respect you obviously have no idea how higher education is run or funded in Scotland.
    Space to let

Let's not lose focus here; it's the gimps at fault.

The tynecastle gimps.

The gorgie gimps.

The lying gimps.

The cheating gimps.

The thieving gimps.

The inbred gimps.

The in-admin gimps.

The bloodied turd gimps.

The dirty gimps.

The gimps. I hope those gimpy bar stewards die.

The gimps.

Quote Originally Posted by clerriehibs View Post

The tynecastle gimps.

The gorgie gimps.

The lying gimps.

The cheating gimps.

The thieving gimps.

The inbred gimps.

The in-admin gimps.

The bloodied turd gimps.

The dirty gimps.

The gimps.
    So...who is really at fault then? Don't sit on the fence now

They are supposed to be paying them 10k per month so are 15 months behind and counting.

Quote Originally Posted by clerriehibs View Post

The tynecastle gimps.

The gorgie gimps.

The lying gimps.

The cheating gimps.

The thieving gimps.

The inbred gimps.

The in-admin gimps.

The bloodied turd gimps.

The dirty gimps.

The gimps.
    In depth, well researched and factual. For all you Lazy Journos looking in this is how it is done.

Quote Originally Posted by sidneyhibbie View Post
    They are supposed to be paying them 10k per month so are 15 months behind and counting.
    I have to say that I am less than impressed with HWU if that is the case. In fact, they were my alma mater.... I'm appalled.

What organisation lets its debtors away with 15 months interest-free credit? If that were the commercial world, HWU would have been in serious trouble a long time ago.

I'm quite frankly disgusted if it's true that Heriot Watt are willing to let Hearts still use their facilites despite being over 150K in arrears to them already, and there be little or no prospect of future payment. What are they, a publicly funded university, or a charity! So, why should anyone else paying to use their facilites continue to do so? They should just copy Hearts and stop paying now.

In fact why should any other football club bother to pay anyone for anything anymore? Just overspend like crazy and then thumb your nose at your creditors! "Awww we're a puir wee fitba club, geeza break, we're special"

No wonder society is going down the tubes. No responsibility, no consequences, no rules that can't be bent or broken if you know the right people.

@hibs.net private member & Biggest, Funniest Slaver on hibs.net 2012 Pedantic_Hibee's Avatar
    I believe Hearts have a "special relationship" with HWU......
    "Play for the name on the front of the jersey and the supporters will remember the name on the back"

Quote Originally Posted by sidneyhibbie View Post
    Wow didnt realise that. That is a shocker to be honest and HWU have a lot to answer for letting them off when also seeing them sign new players in front of their face. They should have threatened them with losing access to the facilities and then punted them if no payment. To allow non-payment to continue for a year and 3 months is appalling governance IMO.

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    I have to say that I am less than impressed with HWU if that is the case. In fact, they were my alma mater.... I'm appalled.

What organisation lets its debtors away with 15 months interest-free credit? If that were the commercial world, HWU would have been in serious trouble a long time ago.
    Completely agree that is a joke.

Why do hearts fans think they have a "special relationship" with everything

NOBODY like yous ya cheating, horrible, bigotted, arrogant, class less, grotty, scabby wee club! :fenlon

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post

I will be raising this with Heriot-Watt and fellow students, especially if education is cut there next year from this year, within in my area of study or not. I will not let them harm my and others education for the sake of their mismanagement and corruption.

Quote Originally Posted by Green-T View Post
    I will be raising this with Heriot-Watt and fellow students, especially if education is cut there next year from this year, within in my area of study or not. I will not let them harm my and others education for the sake of their mismanagement and corruption.
    Good call.

In fact, sodd it... I don't normally get wound up enough to write to people, but they are supposed to be a centre of technology and business. Mavis, fetch me my quill.

@hibs.net private member greenginger's Avatar
    I wonder what our organ of truth, aka. the Edinburgh Evening News will have to say about this bill. The newspaper has been banging on about the Yams being self sufficient and self funding for the best part of a year. Did the Yams lie to the news or did they just not ask .

I wonder if anyone on Tweeting terms with Allisbarry could put the question.

There is two accounts the Yams have that I hope are miles behind and due a real hefty wedge. Their accountants, Johnston Carmichael and their solicitors, HBJ both deserve to be hung out to dry for their connivance in concealing the obvious insolvency at the PBS.

Wow didnt realise that. That is a shocker to be honest and HWU have a lot to answer for letting them off when also seeing them sign new players in front of their face. They should have threatened them with losing access to the facilities and then punted them if no payment. To allow non-payment to continue for a year and 3 months is appalling governance IMO.
    HWU know they won't get the money due, however if they take that on the chin and help the yams to 'survive, then they'll have a tenant/lessee for the next x number of years that they may not have otherwise.