Anyone on here (or does anyone on here know) a Hibs fan who lives in Guildford?!
Got the shock of my life tonight walking back from the train station to pass someone in the most recent black/green away top walking from the Surrey Sport Park!
Thread: The Mysterious Guildford Hibby??
-
20-06-2013 10:17 PM #1
The Mysterious Guildford Hibby??
It's hard to stitch my own back with these shaky hands
But even harder to accept the scars you left were planned
-
20-06-2013 10:21 PM #2This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
why didn't you stop for a blether?
-
20-06-2013 10:24 PM #3This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteIt's hard to stitch my own back with these shaky hands
-
-
20-06-2013 10:48 PM #5
There is a few Hibess that live there. I prey for them as Guildford is the most boring town I have ever had the misfortune to live in. Also the University of Surrey is the most over-rated institution I have ever worked in - terrible. Escape while you are young!!!!
-
20-06-2013 10:57 PM #6This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I'd have to disagree on both your other counts! Guildford is quiet but easily accessible to London as well as the leafy confines of Surrey.
And the University is deservedly soaring just now - 8th in the league tables, some world class research going on here and a wealth of funding/research initiatives...it's reputation is well deserved (certainly in my discipline) and it's worlds apart from the quality of the Universities in Scotland
Where did you work out of curiosity?It's hard to stitch my own back with these shaky hands
-
20-06-2013 11:12 PM #7This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
20-06-2013 11:21 PM #8This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I've no doubt it's far from the perfect article as a complete University though - there are some missing disciplines, some strange subjects and an odd fascination with some departments publishing in open-source journals.
I certainly don't find it pompous but I don't get embroiled into the University politics
Incidentally, seeing as the football related aspect of this post has long since evaporated, I guess an admin can feel free to move this if appropriateIt's hard to stitch my own back with these shaky hands
-
20-06-2013 11:28 PM #9This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
20-06-2013 11:49 PM #10
-
21-06-2013 01:38 AM #11
Might have been Surreyhibbie, originally from Musselburgh, did he look like a burglar? all shifty and discreet if yes it wisnae surreyhibbie he stopped all that when le left Musselburgh - I believe.
-
21-06-2013 02:02 AM #12
I like to buy posh university scarves from eBay and wear them out and about. I've returned some acknowledging glances from fellow oxbridgers.
I'll be damned if I'm spending five figures on a degree though.
-
21-06-2013 02:41 AM #13This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
21-06-2013 02:54 AM #14This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
What are you up to in the States - work pleasure or both? Hope he has raised you as a good Hibbie - is there any other kind? Huvnae seen B sine the 1991 Cup Final but still get banter on here.
Good to talk to you, take care and be lucky as they say over there
-
21-06-2013 07:13 AM #15This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
).
I'm in the Faculty of Engineering and Physical Sciences - mainly in water research but I've been doing a bit of work lately with our space centre looking into plasma and Stellar water development...
As for the Hibby I saw yesterday, he was a relatively big (athletic, not fat!) bloke with short dark hair. That doesn't narrow it down a jot but there can't be too many of us down here!It's hard to stitch my own back with these shaky hands
-
21-06-2013 02:39 PM #16This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
22-06-2013 02:08 PM #17
Long time since I was in Guildford...
That's my story and I am sticking to it....Alcohol IS the answer, but I forget the question...
-
22-06-2013 06:41 PM #18
This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteMy University life lasted almost three years - so I now have SAAS / Student Loans company on my back demanding money... and I failed!
-
27-06-2013 10:02 PM #19
trying not to sound defensive but whats wrong with universities in scotland?
p.s. are university rankings to do with research, or the quality of education / the graduates it produces?
curious - thanks
-
27-06-2013 10:43 PM #20
Oh I do like an academic debate - particularly one including with an international dimension ;)
Heidelberg is nice this time of year, or so I'm told. Scar (Lion King reference, sort of) is gonna getchya!
-
28-06-2013 02:38 AM #21This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
As for "failing"? That's all about how you see things.
You're 21 so you haven't really failed at anything yet. You have so many more opportunities.
I believe that true paths only begin when people are in their twenties and anything before that is not totally irrelevant but is definitely not as important.
-
28-06-2013 07:23 AM #22This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
The rankings are based on a lot of things - student satisfaction, publication quality and quantity, research, funding attracted and quality of teaching.It's hard to stitch my own back with these shaky hands