Why can't the rugby team build their own stadium![]()
View Poll Results: Would you be willing to see Hibs rent ER to Hearts
- Voters
- 316. You may not vote on this poll
Results 1,261 to 1,290 of 1603
-
-
09-02-2013 08:10 AM #1262
The big question is were would we stand! The last time we opposed it but if this were to happen, do we have any legal stance! ie bias towards them considering all the blocks that were put on us on land we owned etc....
-
09-02-2013 08:26 AM #1263This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
09-02-2013 08:28 AM #1264This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
09-02-2013 08:55 AM #1265This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Such a shame really.
-
09-02-2013 08:59 AM #1266
I'd have no objection to the council letting them use saughton enclosure.
And they can build them a stand as long as it's wooden and holds no more than 500.
Or they could always go back to the East meadows.
-
09-02-2013 09:04 AM #1267This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
09-02-2013 09:09 AM #1268
Edinburgh must be one of the only capital cities that doesn't have a quality sports centre or a purpose built concert/arts centre.
-
09-02-2013 09:18 AM #1269
Yet they have had three opportunities to build one in conjunction with Hibernian. One at Leith Academy, one at the Lochend Butterfly and one at the Jack Kane centre.
-
09-02-2013 09:19 AM #1270This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
09-02-2013 09:22 AM #1271This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
must have been the steam coming out of my ears !
Love clause 3.14
" HMFC are prepared to trade and include the land they own at Tynecastle for this purpose "
That will be with the £ 6.8 million security to a soon to be defunct Bank.
-
19-02-2013 04:18 PM #1272
Meanwhile our councillors are looking over this planning proposal which is coming to a vote in the next month. David Murray's Hermiston project which includes a stadium "providing an opportunity of relocation to an Edinburgh sporting institution".
http://www.edinburghsgardendistrict....tcharrette.pdf
Get out of Jail free for the Yams?
-
19-02-2013 04:28 PM #1273This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
also part 3 states, if a stadium isn't required we can use the land for other purposes
Might also be for Edinburgh Rugby
-
19-02-2013 04:30 PM #1274This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Could be although I understand that plans are afoot which could radically change the face of Scottish Rugby.
-
19-02-2013 04:52 PM #1275
If that does transpire it stinks. The Yams tae get a new stadium fae the council, unbelievably biased
-
19-02-2013 05:04 PM #1276
If the council have their say, they'll almost certainly make sure the Jambos benefit from it. There's nothing you can do about legal corruption except through the ballot box.
-
19-02-2013 06:04 PM #1277
This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteWould be utterly scandalous if allowed to proceed - only way it would even approach being justifiable would be if Hibs were gifted c£30m from the Edinburgh tax payers' purse as well to counter the advantage given to the Yams
-
19-02-2013 06:14 PM #1278This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
No doubt many councilors will insist on a football stadium being shoehorned in. How much council money will be sunk into this while meadowbank is left to rot? Don't even mention Leith waterworld.
This absolutely stinks.
-
-
19-02-2013 06:21 PM #1280This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Your only input will be paying for it.
-
19-02-2013 06:23 PM #1281This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
not quite, i'm a west lothian council tax payermind you though, if they groundshare with livi
-
19-02-2013 06:47 PM #1282This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
http://www.scotsman.com/news/scottis...fall-1-2799015
If the Council even suggest building a Yam Stadium after cancelling the Art Hub that has been promised for 20 years the Hoi-Poli will be revolting.
-
19-02-2013 07:12 PM #1283This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I would also call into question Murrays ability to pull this deal off (financially) in any event. Remember his companies were skint at the time the Huns were going under.
No matter how much the council love in with hearts is true - they cant push this through / build a stadium for them in anything less than a year or so. Their chickens are coming home to roost a lot sooner.
ho ho
-
19-02-2013 07:14 PM #1284
Well like someone said earlier we should vehemently question any move tae shoe horn them in tae a new stadium at the tax payers wxpense
-
19-02-2013 07:23 PM #1285This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteThis quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteThis quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteThis quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
100% GD...
I have to say I'm relaxed about this one if I'm honest. IF, and it's a huge if, CEC even try this one on it will cause mayhem within Edinburgh's tax payers, so much more needed in the city without this nonsense....
-
19-02-2013 07:32 PM #1286
There is absolutely no chance whatsoever that the Council will be building them a new stadium. This is a body needing to find well in excess of £100 million of savings, never mind any additional expenditure, and it is accountable to Audit Scotland for what it does in an age of unparallelled transparency with Freedom of Information.
All of the traditional Edinburgh establishment 'Get Out of Jail Free' cards the Yams could have played in years past are now worthless. The Council is skint, Bank of Scotland is a wreck and not Edinburgh run or owned and wealthy Edinburgh businessmen are a) few and far between and b) cannot cope with the scale of cost implicit here.
Hearts are now those guys you see sitting in scruffy huddles next to Edinburgh ATMs with hand written cards saying 'homeless'. They just don't realise it yet.
-
19-02-2013 07:34 PM #1287
There is a perfectly good stadium owned by a cash strapped outfit close by. Murrayfield. We do not need anymore stadia in Edinburgh! ER is international compliant and Murrayfield could also be used for the other form of Rugby. Doubt we need an arts hub either. Weekly bin collections would be a better use of council money in my view.
As for Tynecastle it is of limited value. Not enough land for big houses and more likely flats which have limited value for developers. Also I think i read somewhere that there is some form of factory near by that needs a blast zone that actually limits the housing potential at Tynecastle. Might be wrong!
-
19-02-2013 07:41 PM #1288
I've been told in days gone by, that HMFC pay £300,000 insurance just for the old stand!......
-
19-02-2013 07:48 PM #1289This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
19-02-2013 07:54 PM #1290This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Would be a pish deal for hearts in the long run just trying to think of ways hearts could wriggle out of this.