316. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes, good idea

48 15.19%
  • Yes, but not too happy about it

51 16.14%
  • No, them and the council deserve each other

166 52.53%
  • I'll no' be back if they bams start calling ER home.

51 16.14%
Page 40 of 54 FirstFirst ... 30383940414250 ... LastLast
Results 1,171 to 1,200 of 1603
    Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    No surprise. Resist!

I don't see why the council should help Rugby clubs far less "others". Any of these groups could approach the owners of a purpose built 20,000 seater stadium and be told where to go before using Meadowbank.

My understanding is that Edinburgh Rugby stopped using Meadowbank because they felt it lacked atmosphere. Not a good enough reason for the council to bail them out. Also David Murray will probably be in jail and not in a position to offer his land either.

Tgat's something the sru/Edinburgh rugby have been looking into for years. The size of stadium Edinburgh need on a regular basis is not that big. For the Glasgow match at Christmas/new year they need space though no more than 15,000 i reckon. If they go on a good Heineken cup run like last season they could go back to murrayfield.
    The size of stadium they were looking at building a few years back i heard was around 15k but they don't have land to build on. The practice pitches were looked at but that went out the window because murrayfield would be affected for playing internationals.
    Hearts would surely want something bigger than tynecastle but Edinburgh wouldn't want another stadium where a wee corner was filled each week.

Quote Originally Posted by Twiglet View Post
    Tgat's something the sru/Edinburgh rugby have been looking into for years. The size of stadium Edinburgh need on a regular basis is not that big. For the Glasgow match at Christmas/new year they need space though no more than 15,000 i reckon. If they go on a good Heineken cup run like last season they could go back to murrayfield.
    The size of stadium they were looking at building a few years back i heard was around 15k but they don't have land to build on. The practice pitches were looked at but that went out the window because murrayfield would be affected for playing internationals.
    Hearts would surely want something bigger than tynecastle but Edinburgh wouldn't want another stadium where a wee corner was filled each week.
    Why should a rugby club get any help from the council? We had to do it ourselves why shouldn't they?

PSN ID: Euphoria1875
    Quote Originally Posted by PatHead View Post
    Why should a rugby club get any help from the council? We had to do it ourselves why shouldn't they?
    Because folk tend to go into cardiac arrest when asked to actually pay for something these days.

Oh my sides
    Hearts have been trying to move to a new 30,000 seater stadium now for quite some time with fans constantly objecting. A new stadium would allow much higher annual income thus improving the team's finances and boosting their chances of success. Hearts fans shoot themselves in the foot and complain about a lack of success. I just don't get it. I'd love my team to move to a new modern stadium.

Quote Originally Posted by cam75 View Post
    Oh my sides
    Hearts have been trying to move to a new 30,000 seater stadium now for quite some time with fans constantly objecting. A new stadium would allow much higher annual income thus improving the team's finances and boosting their chances of success. Hearts fans shoot themselves in the foot and complain about a lack of success. I just don't get it. I'd love my team to move to a new modern stadium.
    I'd love that too, oh wait my team have a lovely modern stadium AND a modern training centre.

But most importantly my team have a future.

#maroonsevco

Hector and other things

Posting to see if I get "a Hector" logo too!

It set me thinking about HB Fish..... Dear Rod, " Am ah cummin up the back or up the front"?

I know a few Jumbloids who are still keeping their powder dry in an effort to wait for "the end of all things" when they hope that they can then salvage whats left of their club. I'm torn between encouraging them to contribute now or to hold off.

Hard to see any other outcome than them playing at a much lower level for a year or two and probably renting from ER. Let's hope it's soon and that they are put out of their misery ASAP.

In a capitalist society it's really about time a senior club was simply allowed to fail as happened all those years ago to Third Lanark. For those younger readers, Thirds were a club with a long history etc etc (although they never won two wars mind you).

First Team Breakthrough Devilstorment's Avatar

Gamertag: Devilstorment PSN ID: Devilstorment
    Quote Originally Posted by HibbyDave View Post
    Posting to see if I get "a Hector" logo too!

It set me thinking about HB Fish..... Dear Rod, " Am ah cummin up the back or up the front"?

I know a few Jumbloids who are still keeping their powder dry in an effort to wait for "the end of all things" when they hope that they can then salvage whats left of their club. I'm torn between encouraging them to contribute now or to hold off.

Hard to see any other outcome than them playing at a much lower level for a year or two and probably renting from ER. Let's hope it's soon and that they are put out of their misery ASAP.

In a capitalist society it's really about time a senior club was simply allowed to fail as happened all those years ago to Third Lanark. For those younger readers, Thirds were a club with a long history etc etc (although they never won two wars mind you).

You are kidding right? I think they would end up with a cozy deal where they can set up shop in Murrayfield after all they could probably fill it 5 times over if you listen to their delusions of grandeur.

Quote Originally Posted by David Anderson View Post
    You are kidding right? I think they would end up with a cozy deal where they can set up shop in Murrayfield after all they could probably fill it 5 times over if you listen to their delusions of grandeur.
    Murrayfield would have to be trebled to accommodate all those fans

Quote Originally Posted by euansdad View Post
    Murrayfield would have to be trebled to accommodate all those fans
    The council will build a stadium for them, to their spec.

@hibs.net private member greenginger's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by clerriehibs View Post

Less chance of that now that Jambo Dave Anderson from the Council city Development Dept. has resigned today.

Quote Originally Posted by clerriehibs View Post
    No way will the council have the funds to build some 30,000 seat Yamdome. At a push I could see the small proposed stadium for Edinburgh Rugby accommodating them, but I don't see a case for the Council building that, never mind a Hearts one.

Quote Originally Posted by greenginger View Post
    Less chance of that now that Jambo Dave Anderson from the Council city Development Dept. has resigned today.

Excellent!

Or, "Pleasing" with a crap graphic, as a yam might put it.

good riddance, just for him

Quote Originally Posted by Desperate Dan View Post
    good riddance, just for him

@hibs.net private member MrSmith's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by ScottB View Post
    No way will the council have the funds to build some 30,000 seat Yamdome. At a push I could see the small proposed stadium for Edinburgh Rugby accommodating them, but I don't see a case for the Council building that, never mind a Hearts one.
    I heard, on good authority, that Edinburgh Rugby would not facilitate Hearts, simply because of mad vald, Hearts demands re how the ground should be set-up; And; Failing to come up with a payment schedule to share costs equally.

He's a St. Johnstone supporter.

Quote Originally Posted by hibs0666 View Post
    He's a St. Johnstone supporter.
    What, in the same way that Chick Young and James Traynor are St Mirren and Airdrie fans respectively ie they are both Huns?

Quote Originally Posted by Bill Milne View Post
    What, in the same way that Chick Young and James Traynor are St Mirren and Airdrie fans respectively ie they are both Huns?
    Nah, as in someone who isn't that interested in football but would pick St. Johnstone as his team.

And again IF they are allowed in the 3rd Div, they will then again like the buns be debt free, a couple of Scottish cups better off and Edinburgh City Council will do everything in their power to build/acquire a stadium for them, because Edinburgh cant possibly do without hertz, a pillar of the community that means so much to so many (half a million from what I recall).

Watch this space for the cooncil tae step in, public interest blablaf,nbla,

OH but it would be great to be their landlords.

PAY UP YAMBOLOIDS OR WE´LL KICK YI´S OOT
    Last edited by Phil MaGlass; 29-11-2012 at 01:55 PM.

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Phil MaGlass View Post
    And again IF they are allowed in the 3rd Div, they will then again like the buns be debt free, a couple of Scottish cups better off and Edinburgh City Council will do everything in their power to build/acquire a stadium for them, because Edinburgh cant possibly do without hertz, a pillar of the community that means so much to so many (half a million from what I recall).

Watch this space for the cooncil tae step in, public interest blablaf,nbla,

OH but it would be great to be their landlords.

PAY UP YAMBOLOIDS OR WE´LL KICK YI´S OOT
    There is Zero chance of the council building them a stadium. They are skint and have no appetite for big projects after the trams.

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    There is Zero chance of the council building them a stadium. They are skint and have no appetite for big projects after the trams.
    There is no need to build a stadium. Meadowbank is available for rent!

That was proposed for Hibs back in the day.

@hibs.net private member hibees 7062's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by jgl07 View Post
    There is no need to build a stadium. Meadowbank is available for rent!

That was proposed for Hibs back in the day.

Council Plans

Today's newspaper states that the council have announced
    their plans to demolish Meadowbank and build a sports complex
    at Sighthill. ( So that's why the high flats and maisonettes were
    bulldozed ).
    It seems our friends across the city could find a nice modern home
    for themselves without to much hassle.

I would love them tohave a stadium with a running track round it

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    That's a disgrace if they demolish it completely, there's plenty wasted space there so they could sell some of it off and re-jig what's there but this side of town needs a place like meadowbank

@hibs.net private member StevieC's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by rosscarnie View Post
    I would love them tohave a stadium with a running track round it
    And a 10,000 seater stadium at best.
    But you know it ain't all about wealth,
    as long as you make a note to .. EXPRESS YOURSELF!

Quote Originally Posted by StevieC View Post
    And a 10,000 seater stadium at best.
    whatever will the other 390,000 do now?

Should Edinburgh City not have dibs on this, as they currently play at Meadowbank?