VLADIMIR ROMANOV was today urged to hand over control of Hearts to supporters in an open letter from the Save Our Hearts fans’ group. They are asking the Russian businessman to give his majority shareholding to Alex Mackie’s Foundation of Hearts consortium, which aims to run the club on behalf of its playing public.
Foundation of Hearts had a bid for control rejected by Romanov on Tuesday, but will not give up in their quest for fan-based ownership. They want to implement a membership scheme, similar to that used by Barcelona, to fund the running of the Edinburgh club. The Foundation of Hearts website is already asking supporters how much they would contribute to a monthly membership, from £10 to £100.
Save Our Hearts have endorsed the plan in their open letter to Romanov. The group were heavily involved in ousting former Hearts chairman Chris Robinson from Tynecastle in 2004 and now want his successor to choose a “dignified exit” and give the club to its supporters.
The letter reads: “Dear Vladimir, when you swept into Edinburgh eight years ago, surrounded by mystery, we were really grateful to you for rescuing our club from the dastardly plans of Chris Robinson. We still remember that sunny day in September 2004 when we heard the good news that you had purchased Robinson’s share holding. We were in the central square of the town of Braga as we awaited the UEFA Cup tie between Braga & Heart of Midlothian. The original Save Our Hearts campaign had three main aims: 1. The removal of the (then) chief executive. 2. To remain playing at Tynecastle. 3. The long-term survival of the football club.
“At that time, and for the last seven years, we thought we had achieved all of these aims. As a group of activists, the SOH guys have been ‘dormant’, for want of a better expression, over that period. There had been no need to be otherwise.
“We’ve been doing what we love to do – having a few beers and watching the best football team (in our eyes) in world football. We’ve had a great time and wouldn’t change it for the world. We have witnessed two Scottish Cup wins – one a “squeak” against a so-called lesser team and the other a canter against our fiercest and closest rivals. We made it to the qualifying rounds of the Champions League, and who could forget our experiences against Tottenham and, more recently, Liverpool?
“Then, last Wednesday, the ‘rollercoaster’ that is Heart of Midlothian FC very nearly came off the rails. The club released a statement indicating that the St Mirren game could be our very last due to a winding up order from HMRC. That is when the ride got a little bit too scary. I now think that both parties – the fans and you – want to get off. The constant cashflow troubles at the club do not provide a stable enough environment for us to be convinced the club is financially safe and sound. Vladimir, you have done some great things since you arrived – debt for equity swaps of significant amounts for example, and we know that, unlike the aforementioned Robinson, you hold the traditions and history of this club in the highest regard.
“That is why we are now asking you to work together with the Foundation of Hearts so that 138 years of history can be preserved. We will give this group our backing and you can be provided with the fantastic legacy both of leaving the club in a stronger position than when you arrived, and in the hands of the supporters. We believe it’s now time for a dignified exit and to allow a new chapter in the history of Hearts to unfold. Thank you for all you have done for us – we will never forget you. Please do the right thing and Save Our Hearts.”
Is that a wind-up??
- Voters
- 1526. You may not vote on this poll
Results 4,141 to 4,170 of 47452
-
15-11-2012 11:55 AM #4141This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Is that a wind-up??Follow the Hibs podcast, Longbangers, on Twitter (@longbangers)
https://www.patreon.com/user?u=18491...rshare_creator
https://youtube.com/@longbangers?si=N9JL5Ugx2l2aKEC8
-
15-11-2012 11:55 AM #4142
The most sycophantic pi$h I have ever read!!!
"We will never forget you".... aye I bet you won't ya plums!
-
15-11-2012 12:00 PM #4143This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
When i first read that i felt sick as it's so pathetic, stomach turningly truly cringeworthy....then i read it again and thought it must be a wind up and laughed so much i made myself feel sick again but in a different way...
-
15-11-2012 12:00 PM #4144This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I about choked on my cheese rolls!!
-
15-11-2012 12:01 PM #4145This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
"dear Vladimir, when you swept into Edinburgh, surrounded by mystery..."
-
15-11-2012 12:05 PM #4146
Heads buried firmly in the sand and warnings given on their financial figures by their rivals was tagged as "Hobonomics".
I cannot wait to dance on their grave.
-
15-11-2012 12:07 PM #4147
"You hold the traditions and history of the club in the highest regard".....2 days after he sells everything that isn't nailed down so he can try and keep the club afloat after bumping bills.
This has to be a wind up.
-
15-11-2012 12:07 PM #4148This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
15-11-2012 12:16 PM #4149
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/20338071
more pish from mcfud including the line;
It's not the entire squad but some are not going to get paid for six to eight weeks.
-
15-11-2012 12:21 PM #4150This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
15-11-2012 12:23 PM #4151This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
15-11-2012 12:23 PM #4152This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Is there a way of knowing what players have agreed to have their wages defered?
-
15-11-2012 12:25 PM #4153This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
15-11-2012 12:26 PM #4154
That letter really tugs at the heart strings, I'm considering organising a collection for them when I don't go to the MK Dons cup game.
-
15-11-2012 12:29 PM #4155
-
15-11-2012 12:29 PM #4156This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Last edited by HUTCHYHIBBY; 15-11-2012 at 12:32 PM.
-
15-11-2012 12:29 PM #4157This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
15-11-2012 12:33 PM #4158This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
15-11-2012 12:33 PM #4159This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
of Chris Robinson'. It's just brilliant
-
15-11-2012 12:36 PM #4160
"Saturday's match with St. Mirren will attract a crowd of over 15,000."
So no sell-out.
I guess the other 385000 must be Xmas shopping...........
They can't save themselves, why should anyone else?
-
15-11-2012 12:41 PM #4161This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
here he is
-
15-11-2012 12:47 PM #4162This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f1gfZwejPv8
-
-
15-11-2012 12:50 PM #4164This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
15-11-2012 12:52 PM #4165
-
15-11-2012 12:59 PM #4166This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
When McGlynn said last week that they were stuggling to get this game to go ahead, he wasn't saying it for a laugh.
Last man oot switch the lights off, oops to late, they are already off. Meter needing a refill.
-
15-11-2012 12:59 PM #4167This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
15-11-2012 01:00 PM #4168
As of 1pm today, Hertz hadn't paid 1 penny to HMRC...
Waiting 'till the last hour as ever?
-
15-11-2012 01:01 PM #4169
You couldn't make it up.
Although, they certainly seem to be doing a good job of it.
-
15-11-2012 01:01 PM #4170