View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?

1016. You may not vote on this poll
  • Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football

537 52.85%
  • Opposed - but will continue to support the game.

454 44.69%
  • In favour.

25 2.46%
Page 685 of 1507 FirstFirst ... 1855856356756836846856866876957357851185 ... LastLast
Results 20,521 to 20,550 of 45185
    The man is no idiot - his comments on RC are calculated...They say nothing and Green is proved right and a wedge develops with clubs...they issue a denial..then Green encourages minging hordes to add them to Ibrox Hit list...

Either way his playing to the gallery and reinforcing the siege / no one likes us mentality that makes for more cash in the Ibrox tills

@hibs.net private member Spike Mandela's Avatar
    They are really hurting. Celtic in the Champions league, Hearts grabbing the financial woe headlines, Shiels spouting off pish getting all the publicity.

Rangers with their Div 3 football, despite how hard the MSM try, are an irrelavence. Even their shock exit from the Ramsdens cup isn't really a shock. We can expect a lot more of these utterances from Green through the season and especially if Motherwell knock them out the league cup,hopefully.

Green needs the oxygen of publicity and as we get into the grind of Oct-Dec drudgery in div 3 he is going to get even more desperate and he will go full bore on the EBT investigation. Bad publicity is better than no publicity.

Quote Originally Posted by Spike Mandela View Post
    They are really hurting. Celtic in the Champions league, Hearts grabbing the financial woe headlines, Shiels spouting off pish getting all the publicity.

Rangers with their Div 3 football, despite how hard the MSM try, are an irrelavence. Even their shock exit from the Ramsdens cup isn't really a shock. We can expect a lot more of these utterances from Green through the season and especially if Motherwell knock them out the league cup,hopefully.

Green needs the oxygen of publicity and as we get into the grind of Oct-Dec drudgery in div 3 he is going to get even more desperate and he will go full bore on the EBT investigation. Bad publicity is better than no publicity.
    I keep seeing references to MSM. Is this shorthand for Mainstream Scottish Media?

There is lots of talk, on this thread and on other forums, about how Charlie Green is just in it for the money, and how once he's made his profit he'll disappear. Can someone please explain how he proposes to make his money from Rangers? I realise that he's bought assets at a knockdown price - he's got the players for next to nowt, and paid a pittance for the land and buildings. But how does he exit with a wad of cash in his hand?

Also when people talk about the planned share issue. The last one, done by SDM, was a complete disaster, and that was when Rangers were riding high. How on Earth does Green expect that the Ibrox faithful will commit their money to his new share issue?

Quote Originally Posted by grunt View Post
    There is lots of talk, on this thread and on other forums, about how Charlie Green is just in it for the money, and how once he's made his profit he'll disappear. Can someone please explain how he proposes to make his money from Rangers? I realise that he's bought assets at a knockdown price - he's got the players for next to nowt, and paid a pittance for the land and buildings. But how does he exit with a wad of cash in his hand?

Also when people talk about the planned share issue. The last one, done by SDM, was a complete disaster, and that was when Rangers were riding high. How on Earth does Green expect that the Ibrox faithful will commit their money to his new share issue?

Because Murray's share issue was to raise money to pay off debt and was diluted to the effect that even if 1 person bought all the shares, they still wouldn't have had a controlling interest. If Green gets a debt free Rangers back in the SPL then they'll be a very attractive proposition - probably worth 10 times the amount that Green paid.

@hibs.net private member Seveno's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    Because Murray's share issue was to raise money to pay off debt and was diluted to the effect that even if 1 person bought all the shares, they still wouldn't have had a controlling interest. If Green gets a debt free Rangers back in the SPL then they'll be a very attractive proposition - probably worth 10 times the amount that Green paid.
    But will they be debt free ? They currently owe Charlie £5m for starters. Will their revenue manage to stay ahead of their operating costs (and fines) as they scramble their way through the lower leagues ?

Quote Originally Posted by Seveno View Post
    But will they be debt free ? They currently owe Charlie £5m for starters. Will their revenue manage to stay ahead of their operating costs (and fines) as they scramble their way through the lower leagues ?
    Good questions. When they were in administration, I'm sure it was said that they were losing £1m a month. That was with SPL revenues, plus a small amount of European income. I realise that their wage bill will have reduced, but so presumably must their income.

Fascinating times ahead.

I'd like to suggest that we, and other good football fans, start up an investment fund to assist the development of Elgin City and aid them in their challenge for the SFL 3 title. It shouldn't take too much cash.

If I win the Lottery tonight, £1m will be going their way tomorrow.

I'm not so sure there will be a queue of buyers wanting them.

Yes, they have a large fan base to make money from, but consider the drawbacks:

There is no pot of gold in Scottish football, TV money is low, by the time they are back in the topflight we will likely still have only one CL place, with qualifying for the group stages a tough ask.

The fan base will demand all income is spent on players, making it difficult to take money out. Hell the fan base will demand they beat Celtic, who will be far stronger financially - a path into much more debt.

All the negatives the 'lunatic fringe' within said fan base bring.

Any impartial businessman / woman would just buy a Championship club and be done with it.

I'd like to suggest that we, and other good football fans, start up an investment fund to assist the development of Elgin City and aid them in their challenge for the SFL 3 title. It shouldn't take too much cash.

Actually a good idea, mate. Somebody should pump some money into one of the three teams above Sevco. Would be so awesome if the cheats stay in SFL3.

Quote Originally Posted by FalkirkHibby View Post
    Actually a good idea, mate. Somebody should pump some money into one of the three teams above Sevco. Would be so awesome if the cheats stay in SFL3.
    I don't think they would stay in SFL3 though. If they don't win promotion first time round, they would be dead !

As promoter of this scheme, I would insist on the first go of the bulldozer. I'll let you have second.

Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    The problem is that a club like Rangers operating within the SPL will always be loss making unless they can guarantee regular appearances in the Champions' League group stages or beyond. Celtic have a stronger support base and a bigger stadium but even they will lose considerable sums if they do not have a decent Champions' League run. This issue is shared with the top Portuguese clubs.

The fans will demand top players and the income that Rangers can generate domestically will come nowhere near. Their prospects for Europe are declining year by year as the Scottish coefficient drops. Form next season only the first placed club makes the Champions League and they will have to face three qualifying rounds.

Rangers own coefficient will drop considerably during the four year absence from European competition so they will not be seeded in any round even assuming they win the SPL. They will not get the sort of easy qualification ride that Celtic had this year.

The debt free Rangers is something of an oxymoron. They got into debt in the past and they will do so in future because the fans will insist that they keep up with Celtic in terms of spending.

I doubt very much if they will be anywhere near debt free by the time they emerge from the SFL unless there is substantial investment. This could result of them falling foul of UEFA Financial Fair Play rules.

What will be interesting will be to wait and see what Green values Sevco's assett's at.

@hibs.net private member greenginger's Avatar
    [QUOTE=jgl07;3364760]

Rangers own coefficient will drop considerably during the four year absence from European competition so they will not be seeded in any round even assuming they win the SPL. They will not get the sort of easy qualification ride that Celtic had this year.

Rangers will have no coefficient whatsoever if they return to Europe after their ban.

They are a new Club. EUFA won't be recognising Sevco's purchase of the dead clubs assets to include their coefficient.

Its a good argument ender if any hun tries to claim they are the same club.

I don't think they would stay in SFL3 though. If they don't win promotion first time round, they would be dead !

As promoter of this scheme, I would insist on the first go of the bulldozer. I'll let you have second.

Dead again? Some other jakey in a suit will buy them for a quid and claim they are the same club all over again. Failing that I bags 1st go on the demolition cannonball! Schwwwiiiing!!! :fenlon

What he is trying to do is keep them in the news, the more air time and coverage in the papers, (wether its bad news or not ) keeps the name and the club alive in folks minds.
    Thats all it is, LOOK WERE STILL HERE

Why not give Hibs £1m to invest in our squad, then we can loan a few players to Elgin to help them out?

You can employ me as chairman then. Elgin's my home town and I have a vested interest....

I'm sure I read somewhere that a Dons fans group were sponsoring a Berwick Rangers player, and possibly another supporters group were sponsoring another of their players.

'Mon the Elgin City!
    Sent from my keyboard using my fingers

Quote Originally Posted by HoboHarry View Post
    You can employ me as chairman then. Elgin's my home town and I have a vested interest....

I might make my move in the next window if Elgin are there or thereabouts. A few decent additions could see the zombie hun back in their zombie hun graves. Euro millions providing of course.

What I can't understand is this:

If found guilty of breaching the SFA's and the SPL's rules, one possible sanction is the stripping of league titles won during the period under investigation, a punishment the club have said they would strenuously challenge.

Is it not the case that, if they are found guilty of running dual contracts, the players involved were illegally registered, therefore not eligible to play, and the Huns automatically forfeit each match where this happened 0-3?

Green wants to be stripped of titles as this will get the numpties behind him-what he doesn't want is a financial penalty.

Anyone seen the idiots on RM creaming themselves over green in the 'orange' NTL top from a few years back? Cringeworthy.

Quote Originally Posted by ehf View Post

If found guilty of breaching the SFA's and the SPL's rules, one possible sanction is the stripping of league titles won during the period under investigation, a punishment the club have said they would strenuously challenge.

Is it not the case that, if they are found guilty of running dual contracts, the players involved were illegally registered, therefore not eligible to play, and the Huns automatically forfeit each match where this happened 0-3?
    Can you imagine the can of worms that would then be opened? Every club that lost out in terms of league placing, European qualification, Cup-ties and promotion would be entitled to sue. And that's just in the domestic game.....

However, I am not sure that they would have much of a case. Although the NewCo agreed to accept penalties from the SFA in return for being granted a licence, being sued by other clubs was not, AFAIK, part of the deal. Any legal action by other clubs would be against the OldCo, which hasn't a pot to micturate in.

Much better, IMO, for the SFA and SPL to hit NewCo with an almighty fine, to be distributed amongst the aggrieved clubs. We get cash, TRFC get rooked. Win-win.
    Last edited by CropleyWasGod; 24-09-2012 at 06:37 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by ehf View Post

What i cant understand if this statement is true (The Scottish Premier League's chief executive Neil Doncaster declined to comment on reports they wanted Rangers to accept the loss of league titles.)

Is why the hell would it be up for discussion, they just have to tell them the titles they won were won by default, and have been withdrawn and awarded to the 2nd place teams?

Sevco have no say in the matter, never mind accepting it or not?

What i cant understand if this statement is true (The Scottish Premier League's chief executive Neil Doncaster declined to comment on reports they wanted Rangers to accept the loss of league titles.)

Is why the hell would it be up for discussion, they just have to tell them the titles they won were won by default, and have been withdrawn and awarded to the 2nd place teams?

Sevco have no say in the matter, never mind accepting it or not?
    IMO, he is declining to comment because the case is still to be heard by the Independent Tribunal. It's up to them to decide the appropriate verdict and punishment, so it would be wrong of him to comment in advance. I think he's right to say nothing for now.

The whole idea of giving a team in Financial trouble " Financial penalties " is simply ridiculous to me

[QUOTE=greenginger;3364807]
    Quote Originally Posted by jgl07 View Post

Rangers will have no coefficient whatsoever if they return to Europe after their ban.

They are a new Club. EUFA won't be recognising Sevco's purchase of the dead clubs assets to include their coefficient.

Its a good argument ender if any hun tries to claim they are the same club.
    It will be irrelevant as they would have been out of Europe for five years and drop off the coefficent threshhold even if recognised as the same club. If Sevco get back into Europe they will start on the Scottish coefficient and will be right at the bottom.

Quote Originally Posted by cocopops1875 View Post
    The whole idea of giving a team in Financial trouble " Financial penalties " is simply ridiculous to me
    Are they in financial trouble though?