Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Quote Originally Posted by Lester B View Post
    Think Tom Smith wasn't let go but had to retire through injury?

Anyone remember Hartley's first game for Hibs? Came on as a sub and his first ever touch was amazing. And then he did nothing for two years...

The only noteworthy thing he did afterwards was to get booked once despite not actually playing at the time.
    Was hartleys touch killing a ball out of the sky dead on the touchline? If so, I'll be massively impressed with my memory - would have only been about 7!!

Brian Hamilton for me - although having McGinlay in that 94/95 side was brilliant in terms of goals I do feel we lost a bit of something (good) when we moved him in at the expense of Hamilton.

Hartley - and I loved watching him that year we were in the 1st division.

Paul Lovering - don't think he was SPL standard but was great to watch.

Alex Marinkov - who made his debut the same day as Sauzee. Tidy no-nonsense stopper. Going a wee bit further back - big Joe McLaughlin. Think he was about 40 when he joined us but was still an outstanding centre half in the short time he was with us.

Quote Originally Posted by tamig View Post
    Alex Marinkov - who made his debut the same day as Sauzee. Tidy no-nonsense stopper. Going a wee bit further back - big Joe McLaughlin. Think he was about 40 when he joined us but was still an outstanding centre half in the short time he was with us.
    Excellent timing! It was doing my head in trying to remember the big ex-Chelsea boy we signed.
    Ty kindly!

Quote Originally Posted by PatHead View Post
    Stephen Fletcher. The amount of folk who didn't rate him compared to the rest of the golden generation was incredible. To be fair never had him down as a £14m player myself.

John Connolly ..

Quote Originally Posted by Lee View Post
    Tommy McIntyre for me....never understood why he never got even one Scotland call-up while with us
    Always wondered why Gordon Hunter was never capped. I thought he was a good servant to Hibs!

For me it has to be JOHN PARKE
    Born 1937 he Joined from Linfield in 1963; played 21 games before being transferred to Sunderland and after 86 games with them finished up at Belgian club KV Mechelen before retiring in 1968
    Earned 14 caps for Nth Ireland
    Died of Alzheimer's disease in 2011, aged 74.

For a good few of us we didn't realise how good a player he was until he had gone - definately underrated .
    On top of that he was always willing to help out with coaching youngsters be it at a school or just kicking a ball about in the public park

@hibs.net private member HibeeSince85's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    Paul Fenwick

Done well for Hibs.

Graham Mitchell. Very steady player for a number of years.
    Ralph Callachan, got losds of stick from fans unfairly i think.
    Always liked Bobby Flavell for some reason!
    Joe T always gave 100% as dis Alan Sneddon, not great players but underrated in terms of the effort and commitment from both.
    In my time most Hibs players have been underrated by at least a section of the support!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Brooster View Post
    I dont think Lovell and Oneill were particularly underatted, both were very much appreciated by the fans and both got capped whilst at Hibs so somebody mustve rated them. I think brian hamilton was underated, pat mcginlay got all the credit but hamilton played a very important part in that midfield......until he chose to lick stamps for a living.
    Lovell was the target of the boo boy (ie moron) section of out support. Well supported by some but definately underrated by our support as a whole.

Joe Tortollano was also underrated - although not quite in the same way. He DID have some nightmares at left back but also had the sweetest left foot - something conveniently ignored by the moronic element when they were slaughtering the guy.

Vaz Te is an obvious one - MANY fans had him written off as nae good after a few sub appearances.

I would also include big Akpo Sodje in the underrated list - appreciated by the fans enough but one that current boss Pat Fenlon apparently didn't rate. I thought he was a 100%-er whos rumbustious style was well suited to life in the SPL - would have been worth hanging on to IMO.

anyone remember David Farrell? Always liked him when he played, never got many games for Hibs but when he did he was one of those no nonsense not affraid to put the boot in players, he spent years at the club ad i'm pretty sure he played in the cup final defeat to Rangers in 93.

Revisionism shouldn't be used on these sort of threads, Vaz Te was pretty poor for Hibs in the short time he was here re-building his fitness, the fact that he now plays in the EPL doesnae hide that fact.

Zibby :-)

Probably the only club in Scotland that underrates their players more than any other club,
    so many to choose from .....

Definitely Brian Hamilton (really wished he had scored that free kick in the Skol Cup Final)
    Joe Tortolano (some may agree others wont)
    Benny Brazil
    Fletcher (always thought he was outstanding, didnea understand the flack he got at all from some)
    Nish
    Hartley (as others have said)
    Dobie

It could actually be said that some never fitted into our type of pi5h fitba and only looked good after they moved to a more accomodating team.....

I could actually go on for hours but it wouldnt be fair on others.

Quote Originally Posted by JustSimplyHibs View Post
    anyone remember David Farrell? Always liked him when he played, never got many games for Hibs but when he did he was one of those no nonsense not affraid to put the boot in players, he spent years at the club ad i'm pretty sure he played in the cup final defeat to Rangers in 93.
    Sorry, I simply can't agree, although his "lying down" goal celebration did make me laugh.

Quote Originally Posted by West Upper View Post
    Fabian Yantorno.

Can't believe he never got a proper chance in a Hibs tops. Appeared to have bags of talent.

I wonder what's happened to him.

I'm going back to when I was a bairn, so, my memory could be playing tricks on me, but, I'll thrown in Bobby Flavell. Oh aye, and Gary Murray too.
    Last edited by HUTCHYHIBBY; 13-09-2012 at 11:37 AM.

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    Why didn't Joe Tortolano feature in the Skol Cup final?

I've met him, he's a sound guy and an absolute gent.
    ''It's always been just part of the culture. Growing up, for most working-class kids, is all about football, music or clothes. You might not have much money, but whatever you have got, you're going to look good.'' - Paul Weller

@hibs.net private member RyeSloan's Avatar
    Brian Hamilton was the first player I had seen that's main talent was the 'hidden work' he did....under rated, surely not. More like over rated by too many!!

As for the free kick at Hampden..it was a cracker but it didn't go in....which was the same result as his slightly less cracking penalty at ER against Henry Smith iirc....

@hibs.net private member RyeSloan's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by wee_hibee View Post

Can't believe he never got a proper chance in a Hibs tops. Appeared to have bags of talent.

I wonder what's happened to him.

Urmm this is the guy that never fully recovered from injury is it not...unsure how he wasn't given a proper chance, unless of course I am missing some sarcastic humour here.

As for 'where is he now'...in Columbia acording to Wiki after managing a mighty 33 games in the 3 or 4 years since he left Hibs...

@hibs.net private member Stevie Reid's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by SiMar View Post
    Brian Hamilton was the first player I had seen that's main talent was the 'hidden work' he did....under rated, surely not. More like over rated by too many!!

As for the free kick at Hampden..it was a cracker but it didn't go in....which was the same result as his slightly less cracking penalty at ER against Henry Smith iirc....
    Was a very well struck penalty, and a superb save by Smith.

Yet another game where we gave them a doing, and came away without a win.

@hibs.net private member Frazerbob's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Stevie Reid View Post
    Was a very well struck penalty, and a superb save by Smith.

Yet another game where we gave them a doing, and came away without a win.
    Was that the game which the match programme featured a diagram of Hamilton's previous penalty and thus giving Henry, Henry Drop The Ball a wee insight?

Pat Mcginlay.

God he was so underrated!!.

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    Pat Mcginlay.

God he was so underrated!!.
    Not by the Hibs fans though?

@hibs.net private member ginger_rice's Avatar
    I know I'll take stick for this but I thought Shaun Dennis was a better player than most gave him credit for, at that time he came in we had a very shaky defence, the big man just did what was needed blooter the ball into the old main stand and often with the attacking player following the ball.
    "Football should always be played beautifully, you should play in an attacking way, it must be a spectacle". Johan Cruyff.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    I'm going back to when I was a bairn, so, my memory could be playing tricks on me, but, I'll thrown in Bobby Flavell. Oh aye, and Gary Murray too.
    Remember walking back from my Gran's through Saughton Park, Aberdeen were training around 10am on one of the pitches. Ferguson was standing talking to the kit boy, I shouted something along lines of "yer pish, we will hump your lot later", then went on my merry way......

Sure Gary Murray scored a double that day and we pumped them, my psychic powers were there from an early age....
    "There's class, there's first class and there's Hibs class" - Eddie Turnbull

@hibs.net private member erin go bragh's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by hibeemikey21 View Post
    Was hartleys touch killing a ball out of the sky dead on the touchline? If so, I'll be massively impressed with my memory - would have only been about 7!!
    spot on my friend [remember saying to my laddie ,he was going to be some player]
    i was a wee bit right .

Left by mutual consent! Speedway's Avatar
    Always though Neil Orr suffered from the 'Utility Man' tag. A very tidy and competent player for us.

Alan Sneddon, done a good job over many years and got himself a testimonial aswell..