Page 114 of 126 FirstFirst ... 1464104112113114115116124 ... LastLast
Results 3,391 to 3,420 of 3758
    Quote Originally Posted by Callum_62 View Post
    Dont think thats the case, not for me anyway

I would have accepted a loss if we showed some level of improvement.....some ability with the ball, some creativity, some drive, some passion

we showed none of that on Sunday

Not one shot on target tells its own story
    I keep thinking back to Mowbrays first league game, a 1-0 home loss to Kilmarnock (Boyd Freekick). We'd been a mess under Williamson for a while and everyone still had the 'who' and 'whats he done' tags on Mowbray. I remember leaving that game convinced we'd have a good season because of the drive and the fact we dominated Kilmarnock that day.

Mowbray said the same on the season review DVD, that after that 90 minutes, he knew his team was ready. I've not seen that 'readiness' from any hibs team since. We always start the season miles behind everyone else in preperation.

PSN ID: MrHibs
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chris_Iwelumo

Been told he can leave Watford. Bags of experience and age shouldn't be too much of an issue given his style of play. Worth a punt

Gamertag: toomanydjs
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibstrooper View Post

Been told he can leave Watford. Bags of experience and age shouldn't be too much of an issue given his style of play. Worth a punt
    Ive always really liked Iwelumo, think he gets a bit of a hard time off people. Isnt a prolific goalscorer but he hasnt went through decent spells at clubs. Getting on a bit at 34 but he would well be worth a year or two imo.

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post
    We weren't going to get much of that with about 5 players who couldn't get their game for the team that finished second bottom last year.
    Quote Originally Posted by Callum_62 View Post
    Dont think thats the case, not for me anyway

I would have accepted a loss if we showed some level of improvement.....some ability with the ball, some creativity, some drive, some passion

we showed none of that on Sunday

Not one shot on target tells its own story

I totally agree Callum. It's even more worrying that there is still no evidence that the team is capable of putting the opposition (any opposition), under sustained pressure for a period of time.

@hibs.net private member LancsHibs's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibstrooper View Post

Yes

First Team Breakthrough goosefat's Avatar
    This is just a thought.

Let us assume, for arguments sake, that PF gets in 2 more players before the window closes. We then see a very gradual improvement in comparison to last season, get a couple more faces added in January and then finish, say, 9th.

Would this be acceptable?

The way I read some of the posts on this thread people are, on the one hand, saying the PF has a massive rebuilding job to do but, on the other hand, seem to want a top 6 squad in place before the end of August. I just don’t think that’s realistic. Provided we can get some continuity and stability within the squad personnel, steadily build it over a 3-4 year period (yes, it may take that long or even longer) then we may have to reserve judgment for some time yet.

Having said all of that, if we do continue to change the manager the night before every AGM then none if this is ever going to happen. I’m not saying that getting rid of CC was the wrong move but at some point I do think we are going to have to accept that change will not happen in the space of one transfer window and that if we do see improvement, however small, then we should probably stick with whoever is taking us on that course, otherwise we’ll just end up an infinite loop of restructure and re-building.

Quote Originally Posted by CRAZYHIBBY View Post
    There is something seriously wrong at hibs, petrie and co know that we are in desperate need of reinforcements yet as per usual **** all is being done about it.............free transfers and sub standard signings seem to be the norm for us.........hearts have been seriously weekened yet are still a far stronger team than us,.......
    On the point highlighted, we do appear to have paid a fee for Deegan.

Though officially 'undisclosed', press sources down in Coventry are putting the fee at around £100k. That's a lot for us for bringing someone in on a one year contract.

So the bonus from the Bamba sell-on from Leicester City seems to have been re-invested in Deegan.

Quote Originally Posted by goosefat View Post
    This is just a thought.

Let us assume, for arguments sake, that PF gets in 2 more players before the window closes. We then see a very gradual improvement in comparison to last season, get a couple more faces added in January and then finish, say, 9th.

Would this be acceptable?

The way I read some of the posts on this thread people are, on the one hand, saying the PF has a massive rebuilding job to do but, on the other hand, seem to want a top 6 squad in place before the end of August. I just don’t think that’s realistic. Provided we can get some continuity and stability within the squad personnel, steadily build it over a 3-4 year period (yes, it may take that long or even longer) then we may have to reserve judgment for some time yet.

Having said all of that, if we do continue to change the manager the night before every AGM then none if this is ever going to happen. I’m not saying that getting rid of CC was the wrong move but at some point I do think we are going to have to accept that change will not happen in the space of one transfer window and that if we do see improvement, however small, then we should probably stick with whoever is taking us on that course, otherwise we’ll just end up an infinite loop of restructure and re-building.
    Top 6 this season should be exactly what Hibs are aiming to achieve, minimum.

When you look around the Rangers-free SPL, Motherwell, Kilmarnock, St Mirren, St Johnstone are all, for me, significantly weakened. Hibernian had the chance to rebuild and start afresh.

'Well losing Jennings and Clancy and not being able to add is telling. Last season they led a charmed life with regards injuries and suspensions. Kilmarnock lost Deano and released a few, only to my knowledge adding Rory Boulding of note. Saints lost Sandaza, Morris, Sheridan......Tade and Hasselbaink don't fill that void for me. St Mirren have even been weakened and not been able to add.

Aberdeen added a couple of good players and have a competitive looking squad - Dundee United are streets ahead of the rest, yet with injuries to Daly/Russell or GMS who knows what the season will bring. Hearts, despite I thought looking average, always muster up steely squads and Tynecastle is always good for them.

Hibernian need to get into the good habit of preparing for the new season weeks before the current one ends, and have players signed up, fit and ready to go, first kick of the season. Instead we add on last days of the window, rushed/panic signings, nothing long term agreed. They also need to look at the creative aspect of the team - that is what excites fans and brings them back, even if there is a defeat. Bums of seat players, with pace and a touch of 'what's he going to do next'.

Can anyone for example remember the last truly gifted and skilful Hibs winger ? Has anyone replaced Latapy in the central area as a consistently good, dazzling centre mid ?

Maybe it's because I was a midfielder that I remember as a kid wanting to be Ally MacLeod, Gordon Strachan, Andy Ritchie, Dalglish or a Davie Cooper. Players who when they got the ball they nearly always did something with it and had you going to the park afterwards and trying to do it.

If I wanted to do a David Wotherspoon impression nowadays for example I would simply have to have someone throw a ball to me and watch it bounce off my foot straight out of play !

Pace, width and some bloody skill - get it sorted Petrie

Quote Originally Posted by truehibernian View Post
    If I wanted to do a David Wotherspoon impression nowadays for example I would simply have to have someone throw a ball to me and watch it bounce off my foot straight out of play !
    Correction: that should read "throw a ball at my neck and watch it bounce straight out of play."

Rumours

Sent from my GT-I9000 using Tapatalk you heard it here first hibs are talking to callum elliott

Dance instructor?

Quote Originally Posted by davey 2 good View Post
    Sent from my GT-I9000 using Tapatalk you heard it here first hibs are talking to callum elliott

Louie Spence is doing the negotiations.

@hibs.net private member MrSmith's Avatar
    For a team like Hibs, anything less than a top 4 finish should be classed as dismal failure! Or the 'terrible awful' according to Minnie!

Davey 2 Bad
    Last edited by cabbageandribs1875; 07-08-2012 at 01:24 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by cabbageandribs1875 View Post
    Davey 2 Bad

2 good 2 bad?? Wheres adrian chiles...............

Quote Originally Posted by MrSmith View Post
    For a team like Hibs, anything less than a top 4 finish should be classed as dismal failure! Or the 'terrible awful' according to Minnie!
    For a team like Hibs (meaning the team we have right now) a top 4 finish is not realistic. The team people expect Hibs to be, and where they should finish, and the team they are right now are light years apart.

We need to keep in mind where we are at present and, unfortunately, lower our short term expectations.

For a team like Hibs (meaning the team we have right now) a top 4 finish is not realistic. The team people expect Hibs to be, and where they should finish, and the team they are right now are light years apart.

We need to keep in mid where we are at present and, unfortunately, lower our short term expectations.

Your right we will be lucky to get bottom 4!!

@hibs.net private member hibees 7062's Avatar
    Did they fall oot wi him like ?

You heard it here first, that is absolute b@@locks

We need to keep in mid where we are at present and, unfortunately, lower our short term expectations.
    For me this is a huge part of the problem! As hibs fans, for starters we have never been short term but we have become subserviant to the term above in bold. **** lowering oor expectations! The jumbos from across the city are £40m in debt and do they lower their expectations? Do the ****! That is the winning mentality we need, the seige mentality!

How long do the board expect us to raise our butts in the air and accept a rogering? For me, enough is enough! I'll support the team, ffs, I have done for 40+ years but now is the time for action, from our board, not talk!

@hibs.net private member offshorehibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by truehibernian View Post
    Top 6 this season should be exactly what Hibs are aiming to achieve, minimum.

When you look around the Rangers-free SPL, Motherwell, Kilmarnock, St Mirren, St Johnstone are all, for me, significantly weakened. Hibernian had the chance to rebuild and start afresh.

'Well losing Jennings and Clancy and not being able to add is telling. Last season they led a charmed life with regards injuries and suspensions. Kilmarnock lost Deano and released a few, only to my knowledge adding Rory Boulding of note. Saints lost Sandaza, Morris, Sheridan......Tade and Hasselbaink don't fill that void for me. St Mirren have even been weakened and not been able to add.

Aberdeen added a couple of good players and have a competitive looking squad - Dundee United are streets ahead of the rest, yet with injuries to Daly/Russell or GMS who knows what the season will bring. Hearts, despite I thought looking average, always muster up steely squads and Tynecastle is always good for them.

Hibernian need to get into the good habit of preparing for the new season weeks before the current one ends, and have players signed up, fit and ready to go, first kick of the season. Instead we add on last days of the window, rushed/panic signings, nothing long term agreed. They also need to look at the creative aspect of the team - that is what excites fans and brings them back, even if there is a defeat. Bums of seat players, with pace and a touch of 'what's he going to do next'.

Can anyone for example remember the last truly gifted and skilful Hibs winger ? Has anyone replaced Latapy in the central area as a consistently good, dazzling centre mid ?

Maybe it's because I was a midfielder that I remember as a kid wanting to be Ally MacLeod, Gordon Strachan, Andy Ritchie, Dalglish or a Davie Cooper. Players who when they got the ball they nearly always did something with it and had you going to the park afterwards and trying to do it.

Pace, width and some bloody skill - get it sorted Petrie
    I would imagine PF & Hibs had signing targets in mind at the end of last season or early into into the close season. Our preferred targets just did not wont to sign for us and who can blame them. Finishing second bottom is not a good selling point.

If PF can get the right couple of people in over the next few weeks then adding again in January and we see a marked improvement then next season our preferred targets will be saying well, Hibs look a better option. Then we take the next step.

Most people have said that it'll take a couple of seasons to get to a decent place but after game one we're greeting.
    TOP CASH BACK
    The easy way to make money

Left by mutual consent! Speedway's Avatar
    Do you think we'll line up like this v. Yams?

Williams

Clancy
    McPake
    O'Hanlon
    Maybury

Cairney
    Kerr
    Deegan
    Forsyth

Griffiths
    Sheridan

Quote Originally Posted by Speedway View Post

Williams

Clancy
    McPake
    O'Hanlon
    Maybury

Cairney
    Kerr
    Deegan
    Forsyth

Griffiths
    Sheridan
    I dunno Speedy, what do you think?

Quote Originally Posted by Speedway View Post

Williams

Clancy
    McPake
    O'Hanlon
    Maybury

Cairney
    Kerr
    Deegan
    Forsyth

Griffiths
    Sheridan
    No Hanlon, Stevens, Stevenson, Sproule or wotherspoon! Now that would be a step forward. Is this a hint at something you have heard?

Its clear we need another centre half to play, and if its nobody new then Hanlon should play there. That means we need someone else at left back, and for me whoever plays there be it Kujabi or Booth, then we have just made that position weaker.

I wonder if Maybury would be a short term answer at left back, but is he any better than what we have?

The rest of the team is weak, you could pick any combination of whats left, and then think straight away you needed to change it.

Its clear we need another centre half to play, and if its nobody new then Hanlon should play there. That means we need someone else at left back, and for me whoever plays there be it Kujabi or Booth, then we have just made that position weaker.

I wonder if Maybury would be a short term answer at left back, but is he any better than what we have?

The rest of the team is weak, you could pick any combination of whats left, and then think straight away you needed to change it.
    Maybury has the experience and won't panic or get out of position every 2 seconds like the rest of that lot, same goes for Kerr, not my 1st choice but again knows what it's all about.

@hibs.net private member & Biggest, Funniest Slaver on hibs.net 2012 Pedantic_Hibee's Avatar
    No, it's Speeders at the wind-up. One of these days we'll collectively realise he likes to chuck in a wee grenade here and there
    "Play for the name on the front of the jersey and the supporters will remember the name on the back"

@hibs.net private member & Biggest, Funniest Slaver on hibs.net 2012 Pedantic_Hibee's Avatar
    I just seen Stephens driving an expensive car through Tranent High Street. He looked me straight in the eye and I think even he came to the realisation that he was staring at a better footballer than him.

I even had a cigarette in my hand.
    "Play for the name on the front of the jersey and the supporters will remember the name on the back"