Page 87 of 126 FirstFirst ... 3777858687888997 ... LastLast
Results 2,581 to 2,610 of 3758
    @hibs.net private member LancsHibs's Avatar
    On Roumers site (I know!!) that Danny ****tu is signing for us Now this would be a signing Big Danny and McPake at the back would be the best pairing in the SPL bar none I have my doubts re wages but it's also on wiki that he's signing (probably the same person updating both sites?)
    If true we could have the best defence and worst midfield in the league

@hibs.net private member LancsHibs's Avatar
    OMG his name has been *** out for those who don't know his name is Danny S H I T T U. Ex QPR

@hibs.net private member NorthNorfolkHFC's Avatar

PSN ID: N/A
    Quote Originally Posted by hibbymark View Post
    Any irons in the fire? looking through the starting 11 from tuesday night and the reality that the season starts a week on saturday (sunday for us) I am now really worried about our lack of transfer activity. Even if we went on a mass signing spree now the team is never going to be ready in time for Tannadice or the smellies the week after. Im aware of the financial challenges at the moment and the chicken and egg season ticket sales v player signings but the squad is thread bare. I have sat back while listening to the agents and players are all on holiday and chairman asks fans to dig deep statements but still we have shown no sign of intent or any evidence to support any grounds for optimism for the coming season. Mcpake and Griffiths were part of the shambles that very nearly took us down last year and whilst im happy to see them back again the rest of the sqaud looks even worse than the one that humilated us at Hampden. I still think we need at least 3 or 4 players which I dont see happening. Time after time I see other clubs like Aberdeen with lower home gates ,less season ticket holders, crap ground,no training centre,larger debt sign players like Johnny Hayes in front of us not to mention the names being mentioned with servco and our inabilty to lure guys like Jim Goodwin from the mighty St. Mirren. Im really not looking forward to watching the likes of St. Johnstone and Inverness tearing us a new one every other week at Easter road again. How can a seasoned pro like Maybury who must have been on lunching vouchers with Saints play in 5 pre season games and still not be offered a deal? If we have other areas of the team that need strenthening before right back tell Maybury to do one and play whoever is going to be playing there. As a club we must surely get to a point where we gamble a little bit on success . Show a wee bit ambition even in the current football and global climate. I honestly think the fans ambition now matches that of the clubs. Lets plod along and try and get in the top 6. Lets turn up against Hearts in hope rather than expectation. Dont forget we do this on the back of some of the most expensive season ticket prices in the country. Hibernian a team in transition since 1875 !
    Exactly
    "Putting a damp spoon back in the bowl is the tea-drinking equivalent of sharing a needle!"

Gamertag: TheBull1875
    Any irons in the fire? looking through the starting 11 from tuesday night and the reality that the season starts a week on saturday (sunday for us) I am now really worried about our lack of transfer activity. Even if we went on a mass signing spree now the team is never going to be ready in time for Tannadice or the smellies the week after. Im aware of the financial challenges at the moment and the chicken and egg season ticket sales v player signings but the squad is thread bare. I have sat back while listening to the agents and players are all on holiday and chairman asks fans to dig deep statements but still we have shown no sign of intent or any evidence to support any grounds for optimism for the coming season. Mcpake and Griffiths were part of the shambles that very nearly took us down last year and whilst im happy to see them back again the rest of the sqaud looks even worse than the one that humilated us at Hampden. I still think we need at least 3 or 4 players which I dont see happening. Time after time I see other clubs like Aberdeen with lower home gates ,less season ticket holders, crap ground,no training centre,larger debt sign players like Johnny Hayes in front of us not to mention the names being mentioned with servco and our inabilty to lure guys like Jim Goodwin from the mighty St. Mirren. Im really not looking forward to watching the likes of St. Johnstone and Inverness tearing us a new one every other week at Easter road again. How can a seasoned pro like Maybury who must have been on lunching vouchers with Saints play in 5 pre season games and still not be offered a deal? If we have other areas of the team that need strenthening before right back tell Maybury to do one and play whoever is going to be playing there. As a club we must surely get to a point where we gamble a little bit on success . Show a wee bit ambition even in the current football and global climate. I honestly think the fans ambition now matches that of the clubs. Lets plod along and try and get in the top 6. Lets turn up against Hearts in hope rather than expectation. Dont forget we do this on the back of some of the most expensive season ticket prices in the country. Hibernian a team in transition since 1875 !

Really????? Never knew that.

First Team Breakthrough goosefat's Avatar
    Big Danny...

From the ultra-reliable wikipedia -

"****tu is currently in signing talks with Scottish Premier League club Hibernian FC, with a deal expected to be thrashed out by the end of the week."

If he does sign, Hibs.net will need to look into a filter bypass for him

@hibs.net private member SouthMoroccoStu's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by goosefat View Post
    Big Danny...

From the ultra-reliable wikipedia -

"****tu is currently in signing talks with Scottish Premier League club Hibernian FC, with a deal expected to be thrashed out by the end of the week."

If he does sign, Hibs.net will need to look into a filter bypass for him

New signings..will there be any more

I have got a horrible feeling we will sign Maybury and that will be it.......no other players on trial on tour,virtually nothing mentioned in papers or even the rumour mill.......If thats it,then another hard season ahead i'm afraid...Hope i'm wrong. GGTTH.

Nah. Got a feeling we will sign atleast another 3 players.plenty of time to go yet.

Quote Originally Posted by Phil MaGlass View Post
    Nah. Got a feeling we will sign atleast another 3 players.plenty of time to go yet.
    You better be right and they better be midfielders.

We will sign players at the end of august when players drop their demands and clubs want rid of them

Quote Originally Posted by Elephant Stone View Post
    You better be right and they better be midfielders.
    Or else?

@hibs.net private member & Biggest, Funniest Slaver on hibs.net 2012 Pedantic_Hibee's Avatar
    I'm hoping, for selfish gains, that we do it on transfer deadline day otherwise the D-Day Thread will be irrelevant.
    "Play for the name on the front of the jersey and the supporters will remember the name on the back"

Some pace in wide positions please.

If we are only going to play one up then Doyle, Griffiths and Caldwell might well be about enough although they aren't really suited to the lone role.

So, we really need a couple of players around them with pace and trickery. I don't think relying on plaeyrs like Sproule and Wotherspoon who failed to make any impact in a poor team last year will do it.

I was impressed with Claros on the tour and if we continue to play the short passing game then I think he will come more into it. Cairney looks well suited to being that attacking midfield player in front of the sitting two.

Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post

If we are only going to play one up then Doyle, Griffiths and Caldwell might well be about enough although they aren't really suited to the lone role.

So, we really need a couple of players around them with pace and trickery. I don't think relying on plaeyrs like Sproule and Wotherspoon who failed to make any impact in a poor team last year will do it.

I was impressed with Claros on the tour and if we continue to play the short passing game then I think he will come more into it. Cairney looks well suited to being that attacking midfield player in front of the sitting two.
    From what I've seen of Wotherspoon pre-season, I'm hopeful that he is finally about to contribute more in a meaningful attacking role. He looks like he has a bit more confidence and presence about him at the moment. He's also looking to play the killer ball a bit more now too. It may all come to more of the same of course, but fingers crossed.

Quote Originally Posted by Lucius Apuleius View Post
    Or else?
    Did you happen to catch much of last season?

Enough. Just wondering what your statement, that sounded more like a threat that it had BETTER be actually meant and what the consequences of it not being midfielders would be?

Left by mutual consent! AL-Qaholik's Avatar
    There does seem to be an unusual lack of rumours etc where potential signings are concerned.
    I'm hoping everyone at the club is still working bloody hard to get at least 3 or 4 more in as, right now, the whole "summer of change" and "Hibernian with bottle" campaigns look distinctly like empty promises - which the club can ill afford with the amount of frustration and apathy that the last 2/3 seasons generated...

We all know the "landscape has changed" but a clear show of intent by the club to bring in a couple of "exciting" signings (who were NOT part of the most humiliating Hibs team of all time - as much as I like McPake...) would go a long way towards restoring some semblance of a sense of pride and passion amongst our seemingly wavering "core" support!

Over to you Hibs!

GGTTH!

@hibs.net private member California-Hibs's Avatar

PSN ID: BringTheCairds
    We NEED midfielders badly!!!! Praying that we sign ATLEAST one winger!!

Enough. Just wondering what your statement, that sounded more like a threat that it had BETTER be actually meant and what the consequences of it not being midfielders would be?
    Well no one can be sure what the consequences will be but unless our midfield from last year has a miraculous change in capability we will be in for yet another year with no proper wingers and hence no width, and an overall totally impotent and ineffective midfield. That's not a threat by me, I'll be at the games regardless. It's just the horrible truth.

I think the obvious consequence is the team would be still ***** lol

Another relegation battle.

Gamertag: toomanydjs
    Any irons in the fire? looking through the starting 11 from tuesday night and the reality that the season starts a week on saturday (sunday for us) I am now really worried about our lack of transfer activity.Even if we went on a mass signing spree now the team is never going to be ready in time for Tannadice or the smellies the week after. Im aware of the financial challenges at the moment and the chicken and egg season ticket sales v player signings but the squad is thread bare. I have sat back while listening to the agents and players are all on holiday and chairman asks fans to dig deep statements but still we have shown no sign of intent or any evidence to support any grounds for optimism for the coming season.Mcpake and Griffiths were part of the shambles that very nearly took us down last year and whilst im happy to see them back again the rest of the sqaud looks even worse than the one that humilated us at Hampden. I still think we need at least 3 or 4 players which I dont see happening. Time after time I see other clubs like Aberdeen with lower home gates ,less season ticket holders, crap ground,no training centre,larger debt sign players like Johnny Hayes in front of us not to mention the names being mentioned with servco and our inabilty to lure guys like Jim Goodwin from the mighty St. Mirren. Im really not looking forward to watching the likes of St. Johnstone and Inverness tearing us a new one every other week at Easter road again. How can a seasoned pro like Maybury who must have been on lunching vouchers with Saints play in 5 pre season games and still not be offered a deal? If we have other areas of the team that need strenthening before right back tell Maybury to do one and play whoever is going to be playing there. As a club we must surely get to a point where we gamble a little bit on success . Show a wee bit ambition even in the current football and global climate. I honestly think the fans ambition now matches that of the clubs. Lets plod along and try and get in the top 6. Lets turn up against Hearts in hope rather than expectation. Dont forget we do this on the back of some of the most expensive season ticket prices in the country. Hibernian a team in transition since 1875 !
    I agree with your first bit about the squad not being ready, but if the money isnt there (I dont know whether it is or not), how do you suggest we go about signing more players? Its a nice thought that if we spent a little bit more (something it seems like weve doing anyway that hasnt worked) then it could bring success, but where is the cash going to come from?

You say that the squad is worse than the cup final team, why? Who have we lost that made such a big difference? O'Connor chipped in with his fair share of goals but we ultimately had to get rid. Other than that, I cant think of anyone else. If anything, we signed the only 2 players that were actually worth keeping from last season in Griffiths and McPake, whilst also signing a keeper, a fairly versatile defender and a midfielder.

As for other teams signings, Aberdeen, whilst good players, have only made 2 signings. Would that have been enough for us based on what was left at the club? Inverness lost nearly their whole team, including some very good players, and have replaced them with 5 fairly unknown players so who knows how they will get on. St. Johnstone have made good signings, but they had the slight lure of European football, as did Dundee United (who always make good signings). Most of the other teams have only made the odd signing, whilst Hearts havent signed anyone. We seem like one of the few clubs left who might actually do some business, particularly if more STs are sold, so Id say we might be in a slightly fortunate position.

Also, if we only bring in one or two more signings, I think Maybury, assuming Fenlon has seen enough to make a good decision on him, is a sensible signing. He can play in both midfield and defence, has lots of experience (especially in the SPL) and likely wont cost much. Obviously it isnt the more attacking player we are all hoping for, but maybe that sort of player isnt currently available on our budget.

@hibs.net private member KeithTheHibby's Avatar
    I don't think a winger is high up his list.

Technically he could play either Booth, Kujabi, Galbraith on the left and Spoony and Sproule on the right. Admittedly none of these players fill me with enthusiasm to play out wide however none of these players are likely to play every week anyway so need to be accomodated in some way.

God help us if we line up with Stevenson and Claros in the centre of midfield, far too lightweight.

Would ideally like to see another striker in, preferably a target man. Another midfielder too, perhaps someone similiar to Ozzy, big lad with a bit of presence.

Most good teams are built around the spine and at the moment I would say we only have Williams and McPake. It kinda falls apart after that.

Reckon Maybury would be a good addition and can play a variety of roles across the back and midfield.

Quote Originally Posted by too_many_djs View Post
    I agree with your first bit about the squad not being ready, but if the money isnt there (I dont know whether it is or not), how do you suggest we go about signing more players? Its a nice thought that if we spent a little bit more (something it seems like weve doing anyway that hasnt worked) then it could bring success, but where is the cash going to come from?

You say that the squad is worse than the cup final team, why? Who have we lost that made such a big difference? O'Connor chipped in with his fair share of goals but we ultimately had to get rid. Other than that, I cant think of anyone else. If anything, we signed the only 2 players that were actually worth keeping from last season in Griffiths and McPake, whilst also signing a keeper, a fairly versatile defender and a midfielder.

I think O'Connor, Osbourne, Doherty and Soares would walk into the current team.

Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post

Impressed with Claros? Not something we hear too often. What's the difference Andy?

Well no one can be sure what the consequences will be but unless our midfield from last year has a miraculous change in capability we will be in for yet another year with no proper wingers and hence no width, and an overall totally impotent and ineffective midfield. That's not a threat by me, I'll be at the games regardless. It's just the horrible truth.
    You had better be.

Quote Originally Posted by Rasta_Hibs View Post
    I think the obvious consequence is the team would be still ***** lol
    So what has changed over the last 40+ years apart from a couple of good seasons?

Quote Originally Posted by Steve20 View Post
    Another relegation battle.
    So be it.

Testimonial Due Billychaotic182's Avatar

Gamertag: Billy Chaotic PSN ID: BillyChaotic
    Anyone in the know, know if the Danny ****tu thing is true or just a load o ****tu

Lets be honest. We could point at any area on the pitch and say that we need to improve there.

Even if we do make a few more signings, we're still going to struggle.

Fenlon has a long hard task on his hands.

Quote Originally Posted by wee_hibee View Post
    Lets be honest. We could point at any area on the pitch and say that we need to improve there.
    Even if we do make a few more signings, we're still going to struggle.

Fenlon has a long hard task on his hands.
    Most teams could We all know the score regarding the current state of Scottish football. Heids down, get on with it.

Maybes aye maybes naw, but why advertise the fact you're on the lookout for 5 more players and give the agents the upperhand in negotiations?