View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?

1016. You may not vote on this poll
  • Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football

537 52.85%
  • Opposed - but will continue to support the game.

454 44.69%
  • In favour.

25 2.46%
Page 622 of 1507 FirstFirst ... 1225225726126206216226236246326727221122 ... LastLast
Results 18,631 to 18,660 of 45185
    Look away for a second and the offer is whipped away..................

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/18865842 ...not.

Quote Originally Posted by green glory View Post
    Being pedantic I know but James VII and II were one and the same. James VII of Scotland was also James II of England.
    Was it not King James I of Great Britain

Quote Originally Posted by goldenhibby View Post
    I believe that Everton owe "old co" money on the Jelavic transfer. Who do they pay this too, or can they walk away from it?

I am not sure they do as i thought the whole point was that the Everton money was cash whereas the West Ham deal was installments. But IF they do the money is owed, and will be paid to, Oldhun. The fact that Oldhun did not settle with Vienna only highlights the abuse and manipulation that the administration process is open to in the hands of unscrupulous and the dishonest.

Quote Originally Posted by goldenhibby View Post
    I believe that Everton owe "old co" money on the Jelavic transfer. Who do they pay this too, or can they walk away from it?
    It's still due to Deidhun if it hasn't already been paid. The liquidators will then add it to the pot to pay the creditors.

Quote Originally Posted by VickMackie View Post
    I made a point about 600 pages ago that with such huge expenditure every year they have plenty of room to trim the fat without damaging things much or at all.

You would think so but I would argue back that, having been "run by the bank" (ref; Watty Smith (2009)) I would suggest that any fat that there was had already recieved major surgery. I could be wrong but I would imagine the bank's people would have trimmed any extravagance there, and this would be borne out by the eveidence that Rangers posted profits for two of the three seasons the bank were "running" things, and they did not pay transfer fees for over two seasons.

They were already on a major economy drive, and had been for a while.

@hibs.net private member greenginger's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Caversham Green View Post
    It's still due to Deidhun if it hasn't already been paid. The liquidators will then add it to the pot to pay the creditors.
    I thought Green's deal was he bought all transfer debtor's liabilities with the £5.5 million he is due to pay/has paid. I'm sure he is hoping to get the cash.

Quote Originally Posted by alexedwards View Post
    Look away for a second and the offer is whipped away..................

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/18865842 ...not.
    Regan and Doncaster are total incompetents. It's Tuesday and they are STILL in their jobs? We really need to keep the pressure on to get shot of these overpaid clowns, and get people in who think there is a future for the game and will work (competently) towards that. IMHO we have no more than 2 years until the Huns are back calling the shots, with their Celtic pals (supported by SKY money, media and sponsors).

The SPL 10 and SFL clubs must make the most of this one in a life-time opportunity to restructure the governing bodies, the way they operate (voting etc), league structure and distribution of money. Every day counts and getting rid of these 2 con-men would be a start. They are part of the murky past which needs flushed away.

Quote Originally Posted by YehButNo But View Post
    Anyone know how many players Newco have left that can play for them?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/18862115

Rangers braced for SFA transfer embargo talks

The new Rangers' admission to the Third Division could be in doubt over the Scottish Football Association's demand that it accepts a transfer embargo imposed on the old company.

Ibrox chief executive Charles Green will meet the SFA on Tuesday in an attempt to resolve the issue. "Without SFA membership, we can't play in the Third Division," said Green. "They want to put some transfer embargo on us, but we can't have that as we don't have any players."
    Aw diddums. Every other third division team has to scrabble around for players - you'd be allowed to sign players under 18. No problem there.

Quote Originally Posted by greenginger View Post
    I thought Green's deal was he bought all transfer debtor's liabilities with the £5.5 million he is due to pay/has paid. I'm sure he is hoping to get the cash.
    There were a few papers saying that, but the debtors weren't included in either the newco part of the CVA proposal or the final settlement figures that valued Ibrox and Murray Park at £1.5m.

Quote Originally Posted by Haymaker

Was it not King James I of Great Britain
    No, James VI of Scotland was also James I of England. James VII of Scotland was also James II of England, who was usurped by William of Orange, who became William II of Scotland and III of England. The Act of Union didn't come about till 1707, before which the separate titles were used by what was still two kingdoms.

Another example is Elizabeth II is actually Elizabeth I of Scotland. The English forget this though.

@hibs.net private member Just Alf's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by green glory View Post
    No, James VI of Scotland was also James I of England. James VII of Scotland was also James II of England, who was usurped by William of Orange, who became William II of Scotland and III of England. The Act of Union didn't come about till 1707, before which the separate titles were used by what was still two kingdoms.

Another example is Elizabeth II is actually Elizabeth I of Scotland. The English forget this though.
    Footy, Politics, Finance, Law, Comedy and now History! ......

the thread that just keeps giving

Quote Originally Posted by Sir Alf R View Post
    Footy, Politics, Finance, Law, Comedy and now History! ......

the thread that just keeps giving

and Sally Magnuson!

Last edited by WindyMiller; 17-07-2012 at 09:10 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    I know were your coming from with this but surely we should be doing everything we can to get hibs fans in those empty seats otherwise we will end up like killie and motherwell relying on other teams for revenue and we all know how that might end up
    Here's a thought. Instead of just focusing on the short-term, why not aim longer-term with the options that empty seats give?

Give them away to Edinburgh schoolchildren. Better having a load of potential new fans sitting there cheering us on that away supporters and its a hell of a lot more direct than giving away stuff in schools. Get them in the door and part of the family - in a few years time you have a load more paying fans...

First Team Breakthrough Lungo--Drom's Avatar
    I'm starting to think that Charles Green is some kind of fifth columnist....

Quote Originally Posted by Seveno View Post
    Green will be delighted when any of the high earners leave. I just don't believe he has the money to pay their wages. He is going to need an awful lot of ST sales to keep this show on the road and history shows that there fans do indeed 'walk away'.

There has to be a very definite chance of them going bust again and that would leave him with his only real potential investment, Ibrox and Murray Park, but still needing cash to keep them going until another new Rangers is formed. Even then, could that new club afford to rent a massive stadium ?

It could all be just a downward spiral until this dreadful 'institution' becomes just a bad memory.

@hibs.net private member BoltonHibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Caversham Green View Post
    Why is Green trying to do a deal with UEFA, to pay a portion of the c. £3M owed to European clubs, from newco?

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs On Tour View Post
    Here's a thought. Instead of just focusing on the short-term, why not aim longer-term with the options that empty seats give?

Give them away to Edinburgh schoolchildren. Better having a load of potential new fans sitting there cheering us on that away supporters and its a hell of a lot more direct than giving away stuff in schools. Get them in the door and part of the family - in a few years time you have a load more paying fans...
    They do already.

I think about 500 are given away for each game.

The problem is they are reluctant to do more because season ticket holders have already paid decent money for their kids and are seeing others get in for free. Also, if you had too many to give away, it would probably lead to some of those who would by a ticket then not bothering if they knew the free ones were available.

@hibs.net private member greenginger's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by BoltonHibee View Post
    Why is Green trying to do a deal with UEFA, to pay a portion of the c. £3M owed to European clubs, from newco?

May'be UEFA has told Green Sevco Rangers will never kick a ball in European Competition until the debts to other European clubs are settled.

Financial Fair Play and all that ! It might have been a bad idea to keep Old Hun History.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs On Tour View Post

Yeah that's the sort of thing we should be doing. We need to be promoting our club better than we currently do. I understand the argument for not lowering the st prices but I think the time has now come to try new ideas a whole new approach is needed because what were doing now isn't working

Quote Originally Posted by down-the-slope View Post
    What you are missing is they are trying to have Rangers FC (IA) SFA membership transfered...if they didn't they would be a 'new' application and would not have the 3 years accounts required......

They are between a rock and a hard place (with The only effective SFA chair / Vice chair (the others having made themselves scarce) being no other than Mr Hardball RP)
    According to this they do not have to provide old accounts.

Scottish FA: Rangers newco 'do not have to provide old accounts'

The Scottish FA says Sevco Scotland Limited do not have to provide historic accounts in order to inherit Rangers’ membership of the governing body.

Charles Green’s newco have applied to take over the club’s membership, having purchased it from oldco administrators Duff and Phelps in June. It had been claimed Sevco would not qualify as they are unable to provide their own historic accounts, having only formed the company in 2012. The Scottish FA however say they will be able to use the oldco’s financial documentation as a new membership is not being requested. The organisation was unavailable for immediate comment on whether the most recent accounts for the membership had been filed by the oldco. In a statement, the governing body said: “Sevco Scotland Ltd bought Rangers Football Club PLC’s share in the SPL and membership of the Scottish FA as part of their acquisition of assets. “Under Article 14.1, Sevco Scotland are requesting the transfer of the existing membership of Oldco. This is different to an application for a new membership, which generally requires four years of financial statements.”

Further talks between Sevco and the Scottish FA will take place on Tuesday, as they attempt to reach a compromise over conditions attached to the transfer of membership. The Scottish FA want Green’s newco to accept a previously imposed 12 month registration embargo, which was ruled at the Court of Session to have been imposed outwith the organisation’s remit. If a deal can be struck, the governing body will then consider whether to reconvene its Appellate Tribunal, and also says any punishments attached will apply to the newco. “The Scottish FA has been in dialogue with Rangers FC in respect of the outstanding disciplinary sanction,” they said. “The decision of the Court of Session to set aside the 12-month registration embargo was complicated by Rangers FC’s administration and subsequent request from Sevco Scotland for a transfer of membership of the Scottish FA. “Again, now that the club’s status has been confirmed by the SPL and SFL, we will consider the award of transfer once Rangers FC satisfy the necessary criteria. “The Scottish FA Board has the power to transfer membership under Article 14.1, which states: ‘…Transfer of membership will be reviewed by the Board, which will have the complete discretion to reject or to grant such application on such terms and conditions as the Board may think fit.’”

Further information has been requested from Sevco over who is financially backing the company, in line with the Scottish FA’s fit and proper person guidelines. “The Scottish FA has received private and confidential documentation from Sevco Scotland Ltd relating to the above,” the statement read on the matter. “We have asked Sevco to provide further supplementary information and will consider that information this week. “Under new Scottish FA rules, it is a requirement of the outgoing club directors to conduct a full investigation under the Fit and Proper Guidelines. “Given Rangers FC’s insolvency event, it has been incumbent on the administrators, Duff and Phelps, to carry out the necessary checks on the proposed new directors, as well as our own investigations.”

http://sport.stv.tv/football/clubs/r...-old-accounts/

@hibs.net private member dangermouse's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by YehButNo But View Post
    Anyone know how many players Newco have left that can play for them?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/18862115

Rangers braced for SFA transfer embargo talks

The new Rangers' admission to the Third Division could be in doubt over the Scottish Football Association's demand that it accepts a transfer embargo imposed on the old company.

Ibrox chief executive Charles Green will meet the SFA on Tuesday in an attempt to resolve the issue. "Without SFA membership, we can't play in the Third Division," said Green. "They want to put some transfer embargo on us, but we can't have that as we don't have any players."
    But they have 8 players and you only need 7 to start a competitive football match
    55° 57' 42.5'' N 3° 9' 55.1'' W

Quote Originally Posted by dangermouse View Post
    But they have 8 players and you only need 7 to start a competitive football match

They can play their youth set up. Get Sally in a strip! It's kids and old men in the turd divi.

Gamertag: GlasMatt PSN ID: mrxblaikiex
    Quote Originally Posted by FalkirkHibby View Post
    They can play their youth set up. Get Sally in a strip! It's kids and old men in the turd divi.
    Don't forget Gazza!

Quote Originally Posted by WindyMiller View Post
    and Sally Magnuson!

I dinnae see the attraction!

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    I dinnae see the attraction!
    In that photo she looks like Andy Murray wi boobs!

Finally!!!!!

@STVSport: SFA Compliance Officer to review Ally McCoist’s comments on judicial panel

http://t.co/r0WaRgqQ

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar

At last, they seem to know their place after all

There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

Now what is Craigy boy up to?

From a twitter link ...

Now, as I have stated previously, stalking someone is highly illegal in France and Monaco so I have absolutely no idea how someone can tell me that our hero CW boarded a plane this morning at 10.40 to Zurich (LX563). Maybe he has a business meeting there? Maybe it’s just a wild guess?

Hmmm .... THAT consortium, Blue Back garden, pitch or summat.. The one that Green refuses to tell anyone about.. Where's that based again?

The twitter bit
    @TonyMcKelvie: @STVGrant For a wee conspiracy, check this out Grant :¬) http://t.co/ujSG9s7H

According to the Twits, Charlie Green also enroute to Zurich...... Very interesting if true ..... Plot gets thicker

@hibs.net private member Hibs Class's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Sir Alf R View Post
    According to the Twits, Charlie Green also enroute to Zurich...... Very interesting if true ..... Plot gets thicker

I thought green was meeting SFA today to plead for leniency re embargo, etc.
    ​#PERSEVERED