View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?

1016. You may not vote on this poll
  • Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football

537 52.85%
  • Opposed - but will continue to support the game.

454 44.69%
  • In favour.

25 2.46%
Page 621 of 1507 FirstFirst ... 1215215716116196206216226236316717211121 ... LastLast
Results 18,601 to 18,630 of 45185
    International players Carlos Bocanegra, Maurice Edu and Dorin Goian are poised to leave Rangers with the blessing of newco chief executive Charles Green. And Green has addressed non-playing staff about the prospect of widespread redundancies at Ibrox as a result of the club playing in Division Three.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/18865402

is neil Doncaster related to craig Levein? 2 peas in a pod

Quote Originally Posted by Brando7 View Post
    I've read somewhere it cost about £4-5million to run Ibrox stadium and £3m to run Murray Park so if you have 40,000 fans buying season tickets at £200 that only you raking them in £8m so there that money gone before you even start paying wages

I see him walking

Very simply put the wages to turnover ratio for the four years prior to Whytes takeover is less than 60%. Again, very simply, if you deduct what they officially paid out in wages from their income, and add in their trading losses over the period, Rangers spent £92.9m on things other than wages. By contrast Hibs, over the same period, spent £10m outwith their wages.

Basically Rangers spending, not including wages, was £23.23m per season against Hibs £2.5m per season.

I think they might have to tighten their belt a tad.
    Last edited by Kaiser1962; 16-07-2012 at 08:38 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Desperate Dan View Post
    They forgot tae mention the catholic conspiracy tae restore James II tae the throne.......

.....oops, sorry wrong century
    Wrong king as well - that was James VII

Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post
    One can only assume one Roderick Petrie is behind all this. He's made no statement yet denying it.
    Agreed. The longer he stays schtum on this the more obvious Rod is involved.

Well played The Tache.

Quote Originally Posted by Onion View Post
    Arrogant Greene and Coisty clearly thought they had served their time when "relegated" to D3, when actual fact this is what should have happened as a matter of course. What the Huns have done by defrauding HMRC, other clubs, taking the SFA to court, covering up Whyte's past etc etc goes way beyond a club that has simply gone bust. That's why - if they want to keep the good bits and history of the old co - they need to pay the price that goes with it.

If the Huns get hammered by the SFA for these transgressions - or lose many of their titles, cups and even their history - some of the faith I had lost in the authorities will be restored. Get intae them
    What good bits?

Quote Originally Posted by Eyrie View Post
    That's what he was called in the newco Monarchy, which strangely enough was allowed to move straight into the upper echelons in England. Oldco Monarchy he was James II and the oldco was allowed to hold onto their history too. Not for long though, we all know wha'ppened next - chop chop for reasons mainly down to taxation and sectarianism.

Quote Originally Posted by Kato View Post
    That's what he was called in the newco Monarchy, which strangely enough was allowed to move straight into the upper echelons in England. Oldco Monarchy he was James II and the oldco was allowed to hold onto their history too. Not for long though, we all know wha'ppened next - chop chop for reasons mainly down to taxation and sectarianism.
    This is how it feels

Quote Originally Posted by Kaiser1962 View Post
    Very simply put the wages to turnover ratio for the four years prior to Whytes takeover is less than 60%. Again, very simply, if you deduct what they officially paid out in wages from their income, and add in their trading losses over the period, Rangers spent £92.9m on things other than wages. By contrast Hibs, over the same period, spent £11.1m outwith their wages.

Basically Rangers spending, not including wages, was £23.23m per season.

I think they might have to tighten their belt a tad.
    I made a point about 600 pages ago that with such huge expenditure every year they have plenty of room to trim the fat without damaging things much or at all.

Quote Originally Posted by ScottB View Post
    I'm struggling to understand this.

Regan and co throughout seem to have been working to get Rangers the softest landing possible, keep them in the SPL, get them into SFL1, create an SPL2 for them to play in etc etc etc.

Now that all those plays have failed, the new strategy is to stop the newco, that has like 8 players at most, from signing any players?

Is the strategy them actively doing what they can to bring about the 'social unrest' and 'football armageddon' that was prophesied? It makes no sense.

I think forcing the newco to pay off football debts in exchange for getting the oldcos SFA licence is acceptable, as well as any stripping of titles from the oldco as per the findings of the dual contract investigation. But the signing ban doesn't make a lot of sense, better to have just kept them out for a year in the first place than this no?
    The signing ban was put in place partly for their misdeeds last season, along with the fines.

The other stuff you speak of is for deeds they will be found guilty of in the future that happened before then.
    Space to let

Quote Originally Posted by Skol View Post
    Now that it appears to have been concluded, I will make a suggestion that is controversial, but should be seriously considered.

We have 20k seats which we will realistically never fill until we get a successful side. We have a funding gap to be covered. We need people through the gate.

For Celtic and Hearts games, we should open up part of the west stand to them and give a bigger allocation. OK this means some fans will need to move and it will be harder to police and steward, but it is doable, it used to happen in the old west stand and would enable us to realise more income.

This should start from the derby on 11th August, no point having empty seats. Even if it means 6k+ jambos coming along on the cup final bandwagon.

Discuss....
    You can bolt pal.

Quote Originally Posted by JustPassing View Post
    What good bits?
    Brand, history, name, titles are still worth £££millions in future revenue. Greene knows it. Sadly, in a few years time the Huns WILL recover and all this sorry episode will be ignored by the media as if it never happened.

We won't ignore it though. It's something we'll never forget or let them forget.

Quote Originally Posted by Cabbage East View Post
    You can bolt pal.
    So the majority opinion seems to be that we accept empty seats when there is a way to bring in some additional income, income which may allow us to sign one more decent quality player.

OK, we may have to grit our teeth a little, but lets face it the stadium has been far from full of late and its hard to see that this will change dramatically unless we suddenly improve beyond all expectation.

I think that is a shortsighted view, but no one has supported it so like the SFA/SPL I will accept the majority view even if I dont agree with it.

Right, I misread 'good' in the literal sense and not in the commercial connection.

Quote Originally Posted by YehButNo But View Post
    International players Carlos Bocanegra, Maurice Edu and Dorin Goian are poised to leave Rangers with the blessing of newco chief executive Charles Green. And Green has addressed non-playing staff about the prospect of widespread redundancies at Ibrox as a result of the club playing in Division Three.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/18865402
    Green does D&P's job for them.

So the majority opinion seems to be that we accept empty seats when there is a way to bring in some additional income, income which may allow us to sign one more decent quality player.

OK, we may have to grit our teeth a little, but lets face it the stadium has been far from full of late and its hard to see that this will change dramatically unless we suddenly improve beyond all expectation.

I think that is a shortsighted view, but no one has supported it so like the SFA/SPL I will accept the majority view even if I dont agree with it.
    Letting a batch of well and truly baked buns into one of our stands for any of the games would only cause our own fanbase to drop even more.

Anyone know how many players Newco have left that can play for them?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/18862115

Rangers braced for SFA transfer embargo talks

The new Rangers' admission to the Third Division could be in doubt over the Scottish Football Association's demand that it accepts a transfer embargo imposed on the old company.

Ibrox chief executive Charles Green will meet the SFA on Tuesday in an attempt to resolve the issue. "Without SFA membership, we can't play in the Third Division," said Green. "They want to put some transfer embargo on us, but we can't have that as we don't have any players."

Now that it appears to have been concluded, I will make a suggestion that is controversial, but should be seriously considered.

We have 20k seats which we will realistically never fill until we get a successful side. We have a funding gap to be covered. We need people through the gate.

For Celtic and Hearts games, we should open up part of the west stand to them and give a bigger allocation. OK this means some fans will need to move and it will be harder to police and steward, but it is doable, it used to happen in the old west stand and would enable us to realise more income.

This should start from the derby on 11th August, no point having empty seats. Even if it means 6k+ jambos coming along on the cup final bandwagon.

Discuss....
    Are you joking?

Half the time Hearts don't come near to selling their 3,750 allocation. Hearts were struggling to pull in more than 8,000 to 9,000 for a lot of their home matches (including non-attending season ticket holders) so I don't think their is a hope in hell of getting 6,000 plus to Easter Road.

Celtic just about sell theirs but I doubt their is much extra demand unless it happens to be a title decider or something similar.

Both matches will be on TV anyway and at a silly time.

Bouncing season ticket hoders from their seat for certain matches is hardly the way to build up support. Especially as Section 43 would be in the area of the East given over to visitors.

@hibs.net private member Seveno's Avatar
    Green does D&P's job for them.
    Green will be delighted when any of the high earners leave. I just don't believe he has the money to pay their wages. He is going to need an awful lot of ST sales to keep this show on the road and history shows that there fans do indeed 'walk away'.

There has to be a very definite chance of them going bust again and that would leave him with his only real potential investment, Ibrox and Murray Park, but still needing cash to keep them going until another new Rangers is formed. Even then, could that new club afford to rent a massive stadium ?

It could all be just a downward spiral until this dreadful 'institution' becomes just a bad memory.

Aye yer right but boy will we enjoy rippin the pish while it lasts !!!!!

Got a feeling with the mess they are in that it will be a long time until they are back to anything like the club they have been in the past.

Quote Originally Posted by Kato View Post
    A fine tradition to uphold then.

The new Rangers' admission to the Third Division could be in doubt over the Scottish Football Association's demand that it accepts a transfer embargo imposed on the old company.

Ibrox chief executive Charles Green will meet the SFA on Tuesday in an attempt to resolve the issue. "Without SFA membership, we can't play in the Third Division," said Green. "They want to put some transfer embargo on us, but we can't have that as we don't have any players."
    Players that are left here

http://www.rangers.co.uk/ladies-and-girls

Not a lot to choose from when the ship-jumpers are gone.

http://www.rangers.co.uk/first-team

@hibs.net private member Just Alf's Avatar

According to this over 40!

http://scotslawthoughts.wordpress.co...-to-pick-from/

probably dropping as I type mind.....

Some good pictures in the Rangers Gallery (Guardian):

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/g...re-the-gallery

I believe that Everton owe "old co" money on the Jelavic transfer. Who do they pay this too, or can they walk away from it?

Quote Originally Posted by Eyrie
    Being pedantic I know but James VII and II were one and the same. James VII of Scotland was also James II of England.

I know were your coming from with this but surely we should be doing everything we can to get hibs fans in those empty seats otherwise we will end up like killie and motherwell relying on other teams for revenue and we all know how that might end up