View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?

1016. You may not vote on this poll
  • Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football

537 52.85%
  • Opposed - but will continue to support the game.

454 44.69%
  • In favour.

25 2.46%
Page 612 of 1507 FirstFirst ... 1125125626026106116126136146226627121112 ... LastLast
Results 18,331 to 18,360 of 45185
    Quote Originally Posted by TQM View Post
    Why is this erchiehole still tolerated on here? Get him tae!! Enjoy Peterhead, Elgin etc ya balloon :giruy:
    Because if all the 'erchiehole's' were launched it would be a very sparsely poulated place indeed

Quote Originally Posted by Dalkeith View Post
    what would be the impact on game if by 5pm monday newco where back in spl or in div 1?
    Armageddon. A quick death for Scottish football.

Quote Originally Posted by Dalkeith View Post
    what would be the impact on game if by 5pm monday newco where back in spl or in div 1?

I suspect that Rangers could sue, if they were so inclined. A number of their players, with substantial market value, have walked away on the grounds that they were demoted. I am sure they could evidence others that have not been signed.

Just saying, likes.

@hibs.net private member Part/Time Supporter's Avatar
    http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/footbal...6908-23908629/

DUNDEE UNITED and Hearts last night insisted Rangers newco stand NO chance of being admitted to the SPL or an SPL2 tomorrow. A conference call of the SPL board took place on Friday, outlining the options available following the SFL’s decision to put Gers in the Third Division. And further informal calls between other club chiefs have since taken place ahead of tomorrow’s SPL agm.

United chairman Stephen Thompson, who jetted in today from a family holiday in the USA, told MailSport last night the SPL can’t make a mockery of democracy. He said: “Both scenarios are total non-starters. They have NO chance of happening.” Hearts managing director David Southern also fired out a similar message last night.

It’s understood Aberdeen, St Johnstone, Motherwell, Celtic and Hibs are just as unequivocal on their original decision to refuse the newco a place in the top flight.

Quote Originally Posted by Emerald View Post
    Interesting comments from St. Mirren! I wonder who the five clubs are? Killie, Motherwell, ICT, St Mirren look like the obvious ones, but who else? When will our 'leaders' start talking up the Scottish game though? Well said Hertz and Dundee Utd.

Quote Originally Posted by Scotsman Website
    Gilmour said: “This is horrific news for St Mirren FC. The consequences are terrible – catastrophic even. I just hope they realise the damage they have done to Scottish football. Five clubs in the SPL could be in administration within weeks – and we will have to do everything we can to avoid being one of them.”

Such feeling has prompted speculation that the SPL 2 plan could yet be revived at tomorrow’s SPL agm but Hearts managing director David Southern cast doubt on that last night. “Anything’s possible for discussion but certainly nothing has been mentioned to us as a club that that is on the agenda for discussion,” Southern said. “We think it would be a very, very short discussion indeed. We are focused on the new season. Rangers, as has been elected, will play in Division Three. That’s how it stands at the moment and that’s how we fully expect it to stand at five o’clock on Monday evening.”

A statement from Dundee United was more emphatic. It said: “For the avoidance of doubt, following yesterday’s vote, the club would not support any counter proposals for the formation of SPL 2 or regarding any other route for The Rangers FC to join the SPL.”

@hibs.net private member Spike Mandela's Avatar
    No matter if Sevco play in div 3 or are suspended by the SFA the result will be the same as if the SFL hat votied them in to div 1.

The year long propaganda, scaremongering and no doubt a genuine administration victim or two will ensure Sevco are back in any reconstructed top flight next season and probably without any further sanction.

The chances of a 3 or 4 year delay to a top flight return I would suggest are very near nil.

Unless we hold strong

When are the Hibs board going to release a statement to let people know where they stand?

I don't like the silence at all.

PSN ID: Euphoria1875
    Well not only were we struggling we had to compete with more clubs overspending, well I have no sympathy for st mirren and ict. Now we know why they could compete In the top flight. Rangers on a smaller scale. IMO its time to bring in rules to stop this kind of irresponsibility.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Not sure if it's already been suggested, but a worry for me is that clubs like Killiemarnock who now need more punters coming through the gates might attempt to acquire some former Rangers fans by starting to present themselves as a Protestant football club. And so Protestant bile, which has traditionally attached itself to just one big club might, with the demise of that focus, become attached to several smaller ones. This would not be good.

Quote Originally Posted by reallapsedhibee View Post
    Not sure if it's already been suggested, but a worry for me is that clubs like Killiemarnock who now need more punters coming through the gates might attempt to acquire some former Rangers fans by starting to present themselves as a Protestant football club. And so Protestant bile, which has traditionally attached itself to just one big club might, with the demise of that focus, become attached to several smaller ones. This would not be good.
    Haven't killie already had an element of this before?

I doubt the people on the killie board are saying "Lets become bigots and hopefully we can attract some desperate huns".

It's more likely that ex-Rangers fans will just turn up for games, dragging their bile along with them.

Every club has to cut back, will we now try and attract more catholics? Clubs will try to attract more fans from every faith, and nationality.

This is the best thing that could ever happen to Scottish fitba. We're a tiny nation of 5 million who stupidly based their whole footballing model on that off the most heavily invested (and most debt-ridden leagues) on the planet. If we now find our league being the equivalent of the Irish and Croatian so be it. That's our level. Let those who are "fortunate" enough to be supporting a club in England, France, Germany, Spain and Italy continue to chase European glory and let us just get back to basics and back to football. If Sky f*** off (PLEASE DO!!!!) and we all need to cut back so be it.... Bring it on.

Quote Originally Posted by wee_hibee View Post
    When are the Hibs board going to release a statement to let people know where they stand?

When Petrie's finished his croissants and logged online to see his name has been mentioned in a leaked email. I'd expect something tomorrow...

They will struggle seeing as ROD is part of the corruption going on at the SFA

Quote Originally Posted by theonlywayisup View Post
    Interesting comments from St. Mirren! I wonder who the five clubs are? Killie, Motherwell, ICT, St Mirren look like the obvious ones, but who else? When will our 'leaders' start talking up the Scottish game though? Well said Hertz and Dundee Utd.

I think Killie are the only obvious one. The usual suspects would have been Hearts but Vlad has been throwing money at them lately. The only other one might be Aberdeen but Stewart Milne would have to withdraw his backing, or get pissed off with the amount of abuse his stewardship gets. Same could be said for STF I suppose. United are in a better position this year than last, following the sales last year, although they are more reliant on TV money than some of the others. ICT, St.Mirren and St.J all have little or no debt to carry and Celtic, although they now have the largest debt outside Hearts, are in a good position and can carry it easily.
    Last edited by The Falcon; 15-07-2012 at 09:09 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Antifa Hibs View Post
    This is the best thing that could ever happen to Scottish fitba. We're a tiny nation of 5 million who stupidly based their whole footballing model on that off the most heavily invested (and most debt-ridden leagues) on the planet. If we now find our league being the equivalent of the Irish and Croatian so be it. That's our level. Let those who are "fortunate" enough to be supporting a club in England, France, Germany, Spain and Italy continue to chase European glory and let us just get back to basics and back to football. If Sky f*** off (PLEASE DO!!!!) and we all need to cut back so be it.... Bring it on.
    Excellent post

Banish the big earners, keep 3-4 experienced pros and let the young boys flourish

Quote Originally Posted by Antifa Hibs View Post
    Couldn't agree more.

Besides, if most clubs in the SPL can only attract an average of 5000 (0.001%) of the Scottish population to their grounds, then its clear that we're not doing enough to promote our game.

Quote Originally Posted by stuart7-0 View Post
    Any proof to back that statement up Stuart?

Every club has to cut back, will we now try and attract more catholics? Clubs will try to attract more fans from every faith, and nationality.
    I don't actually know how many DodoHun fans were catholics, but I feel confident that there won't be 50,000 people attending SevcoHuns D3 matches, and that many of those who won't be attending will have enjoyed the sound of the loyal folk songs. Is all I'm saying.

If Hibs went pop tomorrow, would you go and watch Hearts, i imagine they are your nearest club?

I think you are needlessly worrying about nothing here.

Also if they enjoy the loyal folk songs so much , why would they go somewhere where they are not sung?

If Hibs went pop tomorrow, would you go and watch Hearts, i imagine they are your nearest club?

That would never happen.

As Hearts aren't our closest club.

The fanbase of Leith Athletics would take a sudden upturn though.

Wait and see.

That would never happen.

As Hearts aren't our closest club.

The fanbase of Leith Athletics would take a sudden upturn though.
    I'd forgotten about them.

Quote Originally Posted by The Falcon View Post
    Wait and see.
    I'm hoping your right and knowing our ROD he'll put the necessary spin on it to save his neck !

I would be tempted to watch Hearts if they adopted enough of the things I like about Hibs - for example, if they abandoned their disgusting strips and adopted green tops with white sleeves.

Fitba is an attractive game. If the Huns do actually go pop, 50 thousand people will not disappear.

I'm not really that worried - it's just there's possibly an argument for keeping poison in one place until an effective antidote is invented.

Quote Originally Posted by crewetollhibee View Post
    scotch corner......scotch corner......scotch corner..........

I'm hoping your right and knowing our ROD he'll put the necessary spin on it to save his neck !
    It depends Stuart. If Petrie was actually behind it then his position is untenable, given his public utterances.

I suspect something more political though, and I further suspect that Rod is exactly where he wants to be, having played his part (from the inside) in engineering this situation to end up in a place of his choosing.

No votes have went Rangers way have they? Are Rangers in a better position than what we wanted them to be (other than die altogether that is)?

I think if you had asked Rod at the start of all this what the end result should be this would not be far away from his, or our, desired outcome.

Couldn't agree more.

Besides, if most clubs in the SPL can only attract an average of 5000 (0.001%) of the Scottish population to their grounds, then its clear that we're not doing enough to promote our game.
    Your Maths are wrong. It's about 0.1% of the national population.
    It's also an irrelevant statistic. Per capita, Scottish football is one of the best attended leagues in the world. As a percentage of population, the only valid figure is local support, which is very high. Hibs have unfortunately the lowest percentage local attending support of any spl team, around 2%. Most clubs attract at least 5% on a match day.

Quote Originally Posted by The Falcon View Post
    It depends Stuart. If Petrie was actually behind it then his position is untenable, given his public utterances.

I suspect something more political though, and I further suspect that Rod is exactly where he wants to be, having played his part (from the inside) in engineering this situation to end up in a place of his choosing.

No votes have went Rangers way have they? Are Rangers in a better position than what we wanted them to be (other than die altogether that is)?

I think if you had asked Rod at the start of all this what the end result should be this would not be far away from his, or our, desired outcome.
    As I said - for Hibs sake I hope yer right mate