Am on my phone on a train and couldn't find the photo via the link. What was RP wearing? A green t-shirt with "**** The Huns" right across the chest?
View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?
- Voters
- 1016. You may not vote on this poll
-
Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football
537 52.85% -
Opposed - but will continue to support the game.
454 44.69% -
In favour.
25 2.46%
Results 16,711 to 16,740 of 45185
-
06-07-2012 09:00 AM #16711
-
06-07-2012 09:02 AM #16712
-
06-07-2012 09:02 AM #16713
Get rid of those 2 for people with more vision, all my opinion of course.[/QUOTE]
Agreed, if they can only come up with 3 million pounds for the rights to SPL football, including Celtic and their international following is really pathetic.
-
06-07-2012 09:08 AM #16714This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Ah.
Now I do...................
Very good.Last edited by oldbutdim; 06-07-2012 at 09:15 AM.
-
06-07-2012 09:09 AM #16715
What's happened with the double contracts investigation? Surely they still need to complete that? If old rangers are found guilty was the punishment not expulsion from the spl/sfa/sfa? If that's the case surely they have to wait for the outsome of that, decide the appropriate punishment and if that's expulsion then a newco couldn't replace them. Or am I completely off the mark?
-
06-07-2012 09:09 AM #16716This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
06-07-2012 09:16 AM #16717This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Excellent.
-
06-07-2012 09:17 AM #16718This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
To summarise: There is a strong and important case to be made from the figures presented that Scottish football could get more money they are currently receiving, but it requires people who are capable of realising that potential to negotiate it.
-
06-07-2012 09:26 AM #16719
For the EPL, Sky know that if they ever failed to get the rights, they'd lose vast amounts of business overnight. They also know that there are other companies, the most recent time 3 others (BT, ESPN, Al Jazerra) in the running too. So they will bid the most they can to make sure they keep their prize. There is no other choice for them.
Our current TV deal was negotiated when the league basically had none (the BBC deal), the only two in the running (Sky and ESPN) joined forces. They had all the strength, to win the rights just meant offering more than the BBC deal had been. Whether it was less than the league is worth doesn't really matter, because nobody else wanted the rights.
Going forward, Sky may want to bid again, and I could see BT wanting a go to bolster their football offering in the same way ESPN did when they won EPL rights. If we can get those two into a bidding war, maybe we will get a good deal. If they join forces as Sky and ESPN did, then we will just have to take whatever they are willing to bid.
-
06-07-2012 09:31 AM #16720
The prospect of Rangers retaining the titles and trophies they won whilst cheating, is making me feel physically sick.
-
06-07-2012 09:35 AM #16721
Sorry, daft idea, there'd be nae discussion and nae will for it from the authorities if it wisnae tae try and invent a fudge for them. You ken it and I ken it. The only reform they wanted was a 10 team league tae stack things even further in favour of the OF. New teams start at the bottom, that's the rules and if we cannae have change without bending or breaking those rules why bother? What happens if they find another way tae cheat and get caught again 10 years down the line, will we change the rules and reorganise again because they must win and be at the top at all costs? No for me!
Change because it's needed, yes, change tae accommodate the return of (in all but name) cheats, NO!Last edited by Saorsa; 06-07-2012 at 10:31 AM.
-
06-07-2012 09:40 AM #16722
When the dust settles on the Rangers shambles, and some of the main actors are inevitably moved on, the time will come to re-think the Scottish football business model.
As it stands Scottish football is attempting to go toe-to-toe with English football for eyeballs, TV deals and commercial interest. This strategy has shown to have failed and has led us into a 20 year cycle of decline. If Scottish football is to thrive it must be prepared to re-consider every aspect of the business model and be prepared to adopt radical change.
-
06-07-2012 09:41 AM #16723This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Last edited by Northern Hibby; 06-07-2012 at 09:41 AM. Reason: more coffee please
-
06-07-2012 09:46 AM #16724This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Have they actually proposed any sanctions for Division 1 entry?
Would those sanctions be enforceable (legally/NewCo)?
I still feel that Div3 is the "right" route to take, but it's NOT a punishment it's a consequence of actions.
After reading your post I might consider a Div1 entry, but ONLY if the sanctions WERE a punishment and that they were severe enough that the only ones to gain would be the other teams.
It would also have to include a larger league and fairer distribution of money.
-
06-07-2012 09:47 AM #16725
-
06-07-2012 09:52 AM #16726This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Yet you have Doncaster and Regan trying to re-float the Titanic, despite clear evidence that "new Rangers" will probably collapse within 12 months.
Scottish football should be trying to fill a niche. Switching to a summer season, when there are 3 months without EPL and naff all on Sky, is a no-brainer.
-
06-07-2012 09:59 AM #16727
More enlightened leaders would have recognised the new reality enabled by social media and created a new vision for the SPL and Scottish football that put supporters at the very core. Sadly that has not happened and, when the Rangers situation is finally played out, we will be left with a bloody great void where a compelling vision and strategic plan should be.
-
06-07-2012 10:01 AM #16728This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
On second thought......
-
06-07-2012 10:19 AM #16729
I agree with all your points regarding market forces, and why the EPL is able to command the amount that they get.
Going forward, Sky may want to bid again, and I could see BT wanting a go to bolster their football offering in the same way ESPN did when they won EPL rights. If we can get those two into a bidding war, maybe we will get a good deal. If they join forces as Sky and ESPN did, then we will just have to take whatever they are willing to bid.[/QUOTE]
This sounds like the beginnings of a strategy. It would be of interest to research how and why countries of similar size to us (and the lack of the big reputations), could achieve the deals that they get. As a starting point, if Scottish football were to look into its own television package, we could then see how the likes of ESPN, Sky etc respond. If they shrug their shoulders and walk away, then fair enough they weren't that interested anyway.
-
06-07-2012 10:36 AM #16730
- Blog Entries
_61396211_7393579.jpg
(click for bigger picture)
-
06-07-2012 10:43 AM #16731This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
They perhaps should stop all this in Govan
http://nepaliaashish.wordpress.com/2...-consequences/
-
06-07-2012 10:49 AM #16732
1. The present situation has absolutely nothing to do with Celtic, or indeed any other club it is entirely caused by the actions of one club i.e. Rangers.
2. The level of sectarian hatred and bile that emanates from around Ibrox is frankly unacceptable in this day and age. I am frankly amazed, as someone who practise no religion that absolutely no comment has been uttered by the football authorities or anyone else about the requirements of any NewCo to be not merely non-sectarian but positivly anti-sectarian. The efforts made officialy by Rangers have effectively been a chimera, as the contents of their fans websites reveals. The police should be looking at these website and the hate they purvey as a matter of some urgency. Their is no analogous website that I am aware of linked to Celtic or their supporters.
In my over forty years of supporting Scottish football I have only ever encountered sectarian behaviour afrom three sets of supporters namely the Huns, the Hertz and ****dee.
This is not to give a clean bill of health to Celtic, their supporters arrogance and their predilictions of some of them for the Provisional IRA are not to my mind acceotable sportingaffiliations.
-
06-07-2012 10:55 AM #16733
While say, Denmark, Belgium etc have similar sized leagues, they are their own countries, with their own TV providers. Our TV providers are UK wide, so the attraction / distraction of the EPL reigns supreme.
-
06-07-2012 10:59 AM #16734
I wish folk would stop talking about Rangers/newco being punished, the only teams who'd be punished would be the teams whose promotion chances to the premier division are drastically reduced, should the cheats be admitted to Div 1.
-
06-07-2012 11:00 AM #16735
That photo is pure comedy genius! It's like finally being able to look at that footage/photo of the JFK assassination and see who the figure is at the fence behind the grassy knoll
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/scottish-
premier
-
06-07-2012 11:10 AM #16736This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
It would be no different if it was Celtic. Celtic fans may have a secterian element to a far lesser degree, but their fans are just as arrogant and big headed as their pals across the city.
They would be trying to cheat their way back in as well if it was them in this situation. Neither club knows anything about sporting integrity.
Personally I hope Rangers disappear forever and Celtic follow them.
-
06-07-2012 11:30 AM #16737
-
06-07-2012 11:43 AM #16738
If we only get 3 million we should just scrap the tv deal. I'm sure that could be made up by more fans going to the games they would have watched on tv.
I don't spend 28 quid or whatever going to watch the OF against us cos it's on tv. I'll pay to go to the hearts games though.
Fuller stadiums, better atmospheres against the big teams will draw fans back. Cut tv off if that's what we are going to get.
-
06-07-2012 11:45 AM #16739
What stadium will Rangers be playing their home games at this season?
Or has it not been decided yet?
-
06-07-2012 11:45 AM #16740This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
“There is no one more angry, embarrassed or apologetic than me. This should not have happened to our football club".
I must have missed that