If the newco end up in Div 1 the only reason will be that the people who run the game fear for the future of some clubs. Its the clubs themselves who are saying it will be hard to keep going if they are in the wilderness for more than a season, or 2 at most. This over reliance on THEM should have never been allowed to happen, but they are saying its the reality for them.This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I dont think they are being corrupt I think they are trying to find a solution that punishes Rangers without punishing everybody else as well. I know they are a new club, but their loss in financial terms will be the same, newco or not. A rose by any other name as they say.
As for the EPL ...... Dont make me laugh ... most of these clubs ( in spite of the billions lavished on them by TV ) have levels of debt that would make Mad Vlad blush. If the TV pulled the plug tomorrow 2 thirds of clubs in the EPL would go tits up.
Scottish football is looking at some unpalatable decisions because they genuinely fear that losing TV income will damage the game. Do you really think the EPL would think any differently if it looked like the TV folk were going to pull out. I dont think so.
Aye ... Things are far from ideal here ... but I will stay and fight for the club and game I love as best as I can. Not look for a way out by giving my money to the greediest league in the world.
View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?
- Voters
- 1016. You may not vote on this poll
-
Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football
537 52.85% -
Opposed - but will continue to support the game.
454 44.69% -
In favour.
25 2.46%
Results 16,681 to 16,710 of 45185
-
06-07-2012 06:55 AM #16681
-
06-07-2012 07:00 AM #16682
Pie in the sky thinking:
Two leagues of 16. (Rangers could go into the bottom league.)
Regional leagues below.
Proper pyramid system.
Knockout tournament (seeded, over 2 legs) for the League Championship between the top 8 in the top league, pioneering a more exciting end to the season and giving other teams a chance of winning. Culminates in a showpiece league decider at Hampden every year.
Play-offs for relegation beween top 4 in bottom league and bottom 4 in top league. At least 2 come up.
Do away with League Cup.
It must be a Friday. I'm off for a cup of tea.
-
06-07-2012 07:05 AM #16683This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
And unfortunately MJ holds a lot more shares than that!
-
06-07-2012 07:13 AM #16684
-
06-07-2012 07:18 AM #16685
This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote.
-
06-07-2012 07:20 AM #16686This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Proper winter break.
Bring back the Tennents Sixes or something similar.
Scottish football needs radically shaken up, it's time to get progressive.
-
06-07-2012 07:27 AM #16687This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
06-07-2012 07:28 AM #16688This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I do agree that the SPL is seriously flawed and that many of those people running the game have been found wanting. Wherever Rangers end up, the game as a whole has a mandate for orchestrating real lasting changes for the better.
-
06-07-2012 07:35 AM #16689This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I was just being sarcy.
On a serious note, I've discussed the statement at length with the Chairman of Stenny (definitely not a Hun apologist Stevie) and their view is based solely on income projections. Losing the SPL payments - which is what will happen - means they will be finished.
-
06-07-2012 07:42 AM #16690This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
06-07-2012 07:50 AM #16691
This is scandalous, and another indicator of the ineptitude of the footballing authorities in Scotland. The BBC pay Alan Hansen more than the entire SPL.
http://t.co/L2akVnqM
https://twitter.com/tonymckelvie/sta...46753758535680
https://twitter.com/tonymckelvie/sta...47200615485440
https://twitter.com/tonymckelvie/sta...47735565406209
-
06-07-2012 07:50 AM #16692
- Blog Entries
Originally Posted by Tony McKelvie @TonyMcKelvie
-
06-07-2012 07:51 AM #16693
The new Sticky Buns have only sold 250 season tickets
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/2012/07...6908-23904912/
Wouldn't Regan and Doncaster look a bit stupid if they forced Sevco into the second tier and they went bust?
-
06-07-2012 08:02 AM #16694
- Blog Entries
The whole Div1 thing irks me. Like it does many others
If they're being 'parachuted' into Div1 (or any other division) because they are 'rangers' then surely, because they're carrying the historical branding, then they should be punished for historical deeds.
Let them keep their history and all the jazz, but take the punishments (if/when they're finally worked out).
If they dont want any punishments (ranging from didly squat, through to expulsion) then they shouldnt be trated any differently from any other club who are appkying for SFA licence and application for SFL.
Yes - they'll claim not be rangers, but have their fanbase, access to stadium etc etc (unless Green sells them off to cover the costs he's already incurred), and we know they'll be calling themselves 'rangers' within months. (In fact they've done it already - on the back of the SPL presentation/pamphlet it stated 'We Are Rangers'.)
On a more lighthearted note...
http://t.co/lBovRNpP
An architects 3D digital visualisation of Ibrox in 2013.
-
06-07-2012 08:07 AM #16695
-
06-07-2012 08:13 AM #16696
The first article there, what do attendances matter, it's number of viewers that Sky / BBC are interested in.
How much it pays it's pundits like Hansen to do 2 or 3 shows a week + tournaments, or Lineaker to host various sports shows are again largely irrelevant. In any case the stuff they present will be watched by many, many more people than ever tune into our stuff.
For the BBC and Sky, EPL football is a viewer winner. They pay top dollar to keep their access to the top ratings draw, they need to show it. They show our game because they've gotten a decent price and feel like showing it. We have no position of strength to negotiate from, and that is reflected in the prices we get. It's a business, not a charity.
Besides, we need to be moving away from dependence on TV cash that will always screw our game up with daft kick off times and the like, not get out the begging bowl for more.
-
06-07-2012 08:20 AM #16697This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Crackin stuff! Its quite astonishing to see how undervalued Scottish football is if the figures presented are true. This is pretty concrete evidence that those responsible for representing the Scottish game have failed miserably.
-
06-07-2012 08:20 AM #16698This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteEvery gimmick hungry yob,
-
06-07-2012 08:24 AM #16699
Anyone who reckons Rod doesn't care about the club should look at the way he dressed for the Chairman's meeting at Hampden the other day:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/scottish-premier
-
06-07-2012 08:28 AM #16700This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
06-07-2012 08:29 AM #16701
What a way to end a hard night shift, coming across this pro-Hun drivel on the STV website:
http://m.stv.tv/sport/football/10951...ing-integrity/
Is there no end to total pish and drivel these pro-Hun Weedgie hacks will spout? In future all sports journalists should be vetted and any personal interests should be recorded, be it fan or shareholder of a club. Hopefully that way there might be less complete pish like the above article.
-
06-07-2012 08:31 AM #16702
The SPL doesn't work IMO, never has. Scottish football's got steadily worse since it went to the smaller league format. We need bigger divisions, be it 16, 18 or 20 teams. My preference would be for a top league of 20 and a second division of 22 (mainly based on the number of league clubs that we had before Rangers went bust). The main reason that we can't get to that is the club's insistence that they need the four home games against the Weejies to generate income. With Newrangers out of the picture for at least three years that should finally put paid to that argument. The way I see it, it gives two or three years to sort out the league structuring and get in a system that works. The whole set-up needs revised, but they need to get it right this time. To rush changes through in a couple of weeks will just screw things up even more, to do it to benefit one club, however they dress it up, is morally wrong.
-
06-07-2012 08:33 AM #16703This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
06-07-2012 08:37 AM #16704This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
The other clubs do not figure at all in their thoughts I suspect. It is a convenient tool for them to wave around though, the SPL and Scottish football are not the same thing.
The SPL has shown to be a fundamentally flawed business and needs to be scrapped - for something with less onus on the big(oted) 2. This current direction is killing scottish football and has been doing so for decades. Bring on the fallout from its demise if you ask me.
Get rid of those 2 for people with more vision, all my opinion of course.
-
-
06-07-2012 08:51 AM #16706
- Blog Entries
-
06-07-2012 08:52 AM #16707
-
06-07-2012 08:56 AM #16708This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
06-07-2012 08:57 AM #16709
I agree with what you are saying about the wasted opportunity but do you definitely think they will just bounce up the ladder each year and be back in the SPL for the 2015/16 season? Reading some of the links to some of their forums that have been posted on here there seems to be a move from infighting that was going on last week to a growing depression and sense of the stark realities now arriving at Edmiston Drive. If Stewart Regan is to be believed they will abandon the terraces and start running amok with machetes and samurai swords looking for "taig *****", to quote one lovely fellow on one of their forums.
Back to the wasted opportunity of a ground up reconstruction, who would be able to make a success of such a plan? Clearly not the SFA or the SPL and the SFL couldn't do it alone. I admit aforehand that I might be daydreaming in a Stalinist/totalitarian frame of mind but surely only government level intervention could give a right good slap to the heid of the SPL/SFL/SFA and force through a ground upwards total restructuring of the professional game?
-
06-07-2012 09:00 AM #16710
Far too many "pro" team in scotland imho. One league of 20. With regional play-offs to get into it every year. 2 out every year. 2 up every year. Scottish football needs to change, and needs to stop depending on the old firm for cash.