Page 62 of 126 FirstFirst ... 1252606162636472112 ... LastLast
Results 1,831 to 1,860 of 3758
    Quote Originally Posted by erin go bragh View Post
    Grant Stott tweeted that Dean Shiels has had informal talks about a return to hibs .

Tweeted that this morning . would be a fantastic signing.

It must be true then ;)

Who's next?I've heard a whisper about Ofay Rhumer a striker from Ur Athletic.

Quote Originally Posted by Doddie View Post
    Truthfully, no.

What I'm saying is, this is what we need - talk of us leading the challenge to Celtic next season (McPake in the Record) or making the top half of the SPL are woefully premature IMO.

We've signed a couple of reasonable defenders and a midfield player from SFL One - provided Pat has done his homework, good.

Pat is talking about other signings - good.

But right now he's operating with a skeleton staff; at last count the squad was as follows:

Goalies - Mark Brown (who I understand hasn't yet agreed terms?) and Paul Grant (very inexperienced).
    You forgot to mention Callum Antell. A top prospect by all accounts. Not sure if this season is too soon for him but I'd like to see what he can do in pre-season.

Quote Originally Posted by PJ IronHIbee View Post
    I have a funny feeling that PH will prove his doubters wrong this season. There is no doubt he is a better player when McPake plays along side him. People seem to forget he is still relatively young. There was a real confidence issue around ER last season that even the most experienced of players found difficult to handle. Let's get Deano back on board, bring in a tough tackling midfielder a new keeper, and two strikers and jobs a good un! I appreciate this may prove difficult in the current financial climate, but needs must and it's now or never.

GGTTH COYI

:pfgwa
    Agreed. Hibs cannot afford to keep letting good young players leave. PH is a talented young defender who is still learning. He was a much better player with McPake next to him and he will develop into an ever present. Ive not idea why others seem to want to dump talent and sign up players from the 2nd division. As a club we need to be developing not buying.

Coaching Staff The Green Goblin's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by jc1 View Post
    Heard today we're definitely after Shiels and GOC may get another 1 year deal.

If my info is correct GOC has been a good lad re drinking/drugs are concerned this past year, yes his fitness was an issue after xmas/new year but is PF van get a good pre season in him he is still talented enough to score 15+ goals for us in this league, something we need and has bags of experience.

I wasn't happy when he threw his medal away like a wee kid in a strop but at least it showed that 2nd place was not good enough for him and especially the way we lost it.
    He seemed to have a smashing old time that night though. Obviously gutted wasn't he, judging by the pics of him half-cut and celebrating. Yup, gutted.

Coaching Staff The Green Goblin's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post
    He was definately out getting smashed after the cup final. If this new team is really going to have a new attitude then do we really need or want that kind of carachter in it?

If we sign GoC then my opinion is that this whole new attitude thing is just a marketing slogan and nothing else.
    Totally agree.

Quote Originally Posted by The Green Goblin View Post
    He seemed to have a smashing old time that night though. Obviously gutted wasn't he, judging by the pics of him half-cut and celebrating. Yup, gutted.

Where did you see said pics?

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    Where did you see said pics?
    I think someone took them off twitter and posted on here?

Quote Originally Posted by goldenhibby View Post
    I think someone took them off twitter and posted on here?

Ive nae doubt Gaz was out on the lash but 'celebrating' ??..Cmon, Im no buying that..I got wrecked and had a few laughs with my mates after the cup final tae, I was defo laughing as i needed cheering up.. Now if someone had snapped a pic of me at the time smiling when my mate told me his sister fancied me the picture could tell a thousand stories.

GOC had a bevvy the night of the final disaster, Shock horror, Hang um.

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    Quote Originally Posted by tamig View Post
    You forgot to mention Callum Antell. A top prospect by all accounts. Not sure if this season is too soon for him but I'd like to see what he can do in pre-season.
    Calum's just turned 20. That makes him a year older than Paul, so I suppose right now he's our back-up to Brown (assuming Brown intends to re-sign)

I would really rather not be depending on two lads 19 and 20 years old as our goalies this season. We need to sign at least one experienced quality keeper - more likely two, if MB leaves.

Ive nae doubt Gaz was out on the lash but 'celebrating' ??..Cmon, Im no buying that..I got wrecked and had a few laughs with my mates after the cup final tae, I was defo laughing as i needed cheering up.. Now if someone had snapped a pic of me at the time smiling when my mate told me his sister fancied me the picture could tell a thousand stories.

I'm not pro/anti Gaz, only posting what I can remember

Ill chuck in Gary Twigg.

Calum's just turned 20. That makes him a year older than Paul, so I suppose right now he's our back-up to Brown (assuming Brown intends to re-sign)

I would really rather not be depending on two lads 19 and 20 years old as our goalies this season. We need to sign at least one experienced quality keeper - more likely two, if MB leaves.
    Calum doesn't turn 20 until next January.

So he's a decent back-up given the games under his belt and I would agree that we need to sign a good keeper as our first choice No.1.

Spot on, Andy.

If you had taken photos at the right moments at the wake after my mother's funeral, you could have portrayed me as happy.

Believe me, I wasn't.

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Ill chuck in Gary Twigg.
    The 'Tache better turn over a new leaf with his spending, otherwise he'll be getting a fair bit of stick.

In saying that, how old was Gordon when he was thrown into the Hertz team? If they're good enough they're old enough. I wouldn't feel at all confident going into the new season with Brown as the No 1.

@hibs.net private member California-Hibs's Avatar

PSN ID: BringTheCairds
    Anyone heard anything on the Lithuanian winger we were possibly going to get back in to assess? I have a feeling he could be a superb signing!

Quote Originally Posted by HailHail1875
    Anyone heard anything on the Lithuanian winger we were possibly going to get back in to assess? I have a feeling he could be a superb signing!
    I think he would of signed in Jan but he wasn't fit enough, I don't think his ability is in question just his fitness. That shouldn't be an issue if he gets a pre season behind him.

Paul Hanlon is a good solid player and I dont know why people are criticising him, Hanlon will not be leaving the club this window but if he did he would go on to prove all of you doubters wrong, he will do that if he stays aswell. Sol Bamba, Riccardo Vaz te both great players that some clueless supporters thought were not good enough for Hibs.

Most people get all excited about new players they havent seen before yet they want players that were good at Hibs out.

I hope Paul stays and starts next season!!
    Last edited by mon the cabbage; 03-07-2012 at 09:54 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by mon the cabbage View Post
    Paul Hanlon is a good solid player and I dont know why people are criticising him, Hanlon will not be leaving the club this window but if he did he would go on to prove all of you doubters wrong, he will do that if he stays aswell. Sol Bamba, Riccardo Vaz te both great players that some clueless supporters thought were not good for hibs.

Most people get all excited about new players they havent seen before yet they want players that were good at hibs out.

I hope Paul stays and starts next season!
    Hanlon is average at best in my opinion and his awareness is pretty poor for a CB. Saying that I'm not wanting him out. I hope McPake can help him progress into a player who is more commanding. His best years are still ahead and can only get better with the right guidance.

Hanlon has been very poor but did show signs of recovery with jamsie McP keeping him right.

Lacks pace, and very rarely gets a clearance more than twenty yards whether by head or foot. Would rather see him at left back but still worries me there as he is so indecisive.

Saying that I'm prepared to give him another chance to see what he can do if we get a settled back four

Quote Originally Posted by Aldo View Post
    I think he would of signed in Jan but he wasn't fit enough, I don't think his ability is in question just his fitness. That shouldn't be an issue if he gets a pre season behind him.
    I wonder if we'll get him back in to do a pre season. Hope so..

Quote Originally Posted by BEEJ View Post
    Calum doesn't turn 20 until next January.
    Doddie, I'll retract that statement as I've just seen Calum Antell's DoB on the official website as June 1992.

The Hibees Mad website has it down as January 1993.

I hope we can get Deano back at Hibs, Fenlon in talks with him.

Would be outstanding to get Sheils back at Easter Road! He already showed last season that he still has bags of ability (possibly even more than when he was with us before). Him and Cairney centre midfield? YES PLEASE! Make it happen Pat

@hibs.net private member SouthMoroccoStu's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Littlest Hobo View Post
    I hope we can get Deano back at Hibs, Fenlon in talks with him.
    Lets hope we can get this done.

Add Deano, another midfielder (of the big and mental variety), 2 strikers, another CB (Lubo) and probably a goalie.

Then I'll be a happy chap

Quote Originally Posted by SouthMoroccoStu View Post
    Lets hope we can get this done.

Add Deano, another midfielder (of the big and mental variety), 2 strikers, another CB (Lubo) and probably a goalie.

Then I'll be a happy chap
    Does he even have to be big? As long as he asserts his authority who cares? (Jody Morris, Ian Black)

IMO we need a LB, CB, experienced pro CM, a versatile attack minded player, a winger, at least 1 striker and a goalie or two.

EW GK

Clancy - McPake - Hanlon - Kujabi

New RW - Cairney - New DM - Booth

Shiels

New TM

5 Signings and im pretty happy.

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    Quote Originally Posted by tamig View Post
    In saying that, how old was Gordon when he was thrown into the Hertz team? If they're good enough they're old enough. I wouldn't feel at all confident going into the new season with Brown as the No 1.

Ideally, we sign a good keeper - someone we can depend on, who isn't injury-prone, someone with plenty experience and hopefully the ability to pass that experience on to Paul and Calum.

I don't think it's too good an idea to go into the season relying on one keeper just out of his teens, and one still in his teens, to provide the last line of the defence match-day by match-day. Not given the present circumstances of the club. Not ever, TBH.

I appreciate the point about good enough being old enough - IIRC Iker Casillas made his debut in Real's first team at the age of 17, and played in - and kept a clean sheet in - the 2000 CL Final when Real beat Valencia 3-0. He was first choice I think for the following season, but lost his place the next season (2001-02), He had to go on as sub when Sanchez was injured towards the end of the CL Final 2002, and played so well to keep Bayer Leverkusen out that he's been first choice ever since.And Nihel Spink got HIS big break for Aston Villa in the 1982 European Cup Final, subbing for Jimmy Rimmer after tean minutes and keeping a clean sheet.

(That was the Des Bremner Final, actually. I would rather talk about real keepers than about the Plooky Wonder, tamig.)

But I do think it's a different thing to come into the Real Madrid side - bearing in mind the quality of their back-four defenders compared to ours - than to be the last man in the defence of an SPL side going through all sorts of crises, a side whose fans have become proverbial for their abuse of their own goalkeepers both on the net and at the games.

Would YOU like to see Paul or Calum getting the treatment from the morons if or when he makes a mistake?
    Last edited by --------; 03-07-2012 at 12:38 PM. Reason: Hibees Mad getting it wrong again!!!!

Ideally, we sign a good keeper - someone we can depend on, who isn't injury-prone, someone with plenty experience and hopefully the ability to pass that experience on to Paul and Calum.

But since I got my arithmetic wrong, we have two keepers still in their teens, and I don't think it's too good an idea to go into the season relying on them to provide the last line of the defence match-day by match-day.

I appreciate the point about good enough being old enough - IIRC Iker Casillas made his debut in Real's first team at the age of 17, and played in - and kept a clean sheet in - the 2000 CL Final when Real beat Valencia 3-0. He was first choice I think for the following season, but lost his place the next season (2001-02), He had to go on as sub when Sanchez was injured towards the end of the CL Final 2002, and played so well to keep Bayer Leverkusen out that he's been first choice ever since. (I would rather talk about a real keeper than about the Plooky Wonder, TBH.)

But I do think it's a different thing to come into the Real Madrid side - bearing in mind the quality of their back-four defenders compared to ours - than to be the last man in the defence of an SPL side going through all sorts of crises, a side whose fans have become proverbial for their abuse of their own goalkeepers both on the net and at the games.

Would YOU like to see Paul or Calum getting the treatment from the morons if or when he makes a mistake?
    I'm quite certain we have let Stack go so we can sign a new keeper.

We've also enquired about Pernis and Cerny and so we are looking.