This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteWell said.
View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?
- Voters
- 1016. You may not vote on this poll
-
Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football
537 52.85% -
Opposed - but will continue to support the game.
454 44.69% -
In favour.
25 2.46%
Results 15,061 to 15,090 of 45185
-
30-06-2012 01:40 PM #15061Follow the Hibs podcast, Longbangers, on Twitter (@longbangers)
https://www.patreon.com/user?u=18491...rshare_creator
https://youtube.com/@longbangers?si=N9JL5Ugx2l2aKEC8
-
30-06-2012 01:43 PM #15062This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
30-06-2012 01:49 PM #15063This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
30-06-2012 01:55 PM #15064
What's the deal with voting regarding letting this newco into the football league at any level.
Do all the SPL clubs and SFL clubs vote or is it just the SFL clubs...or is it just the clubs who's league will be letting a new club in?
What percentages are needed to let them in? Could a no vote from a percentage of clubs basically leave rangers with nowhere to play?
Sorry for the questions but its quite hard to follow. Its as if its turning into a clubs vs associations situation.
-
30-06-2012 02:02 PM #15065This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I've had season tickets for both since 1999. And hopefully with a good run in the Europa Cup you'll get football Saturdays AND Sundays.
What stand you in? I'll look out for you on the train.
-
30-06-2012 02:40 PM #15066This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
We could have a nuclear strike on our country and those buffoons would be crawling from the wreckage muttering, 'right...how are we going to get four Old Firm games...'
-
30-06-2012 02:44 PM #15067This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
30-06-2012 02:50 PM #15068
-
30-06-2012 03:05 PM #15069
All SFL clubs vote on any amendments to their structure. As is stands there are 30 clubs as we don't know who is going to SPL.
For a change to succeed a 75% majority is required. Therefore, if 1 club moves to SPL and 29 are left then Newco will require
22 votes in their favour to get in to SFL3.
SPL clubs don't vote on SFL business and vice-versa that is why the SPL broke away in the first place.
The SFL clubs always appear to reflect the overall fans views in their own ambitions for Scottish football - and the SPL clubs
appear to do anything Celtic/Rangers want.
-
30-06-2012 03:14 PM #15070
This new club may well end up plying its trade in Div 3 next season - if it is very lucky. It certainly seems unlikely that it will be accepted into SFL 1.
If they go to 3 or out altogether for a period we will all be relieved and feel that justice has been done. But I'm afraid that this episode covering the slow motion car crash that is the fall of Rangers has seen taking place in parallel what I regard to be a far greater, deeper and more damaging scandal.
The people who run Scottish football have been definitively exposed in an irrecoverable way. The game is a sham. The rules are a sham. The fans are regarded as zombie bodies to be kept barely alive so that the parasites can suck our financial blood for as long as possible.
This isn't going away. This is just the beginning.
-
30-06-2012 03:15 PM #15071
-
30-06-2012 03:24 PM #15072
This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteOnce this episode is over, we need a proper revolution in the game, lead by decent leaders (probably from the SFL) and journalists who will stand up for the good of the game and its fan base. And we can ship in some foreign refs as well
-
30-06-2012 03:25 PM #15073This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Not good enough so far I'm afraid
-
30-06-2012 03:42 PM #15074
I'm trying to copy / paste this and do it all without a 3G connection, so apologies if this doesn't work.
As stated before in other posts, I am involved with an SFL Club, but I am a lifelong Hibs fan.
We, in the SFL, have had a gun placed to our heads and this document leaked to the BBC recently is really a disgrace. It's scaremongering at best, morally bankrupt at worst!
We have spent a long time thinking out a carefully written response across the Board members. It's a strong view on the situation we find ourselves in today in Scottish football.
It's strong and clear and to the point. We cannot lie down to Stewart Regan and Neil Doncaster's rushed proposals, whether we are Hibs or an SFL Club?
They should both step down on Tuesday at Hampden. If no-one beats me to it, I'll demand they do.
http://www.clydefc.co.uk/news/2012/06/30/4134/
-
30-06-2012 03:47 PM #15075This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
The diddy teams have the SFA,SPL,SFL and newco by the balls.
-
30-06-2012 03:50 PM #15076
Is it clear who was behind the proposal i.e was it all the SPL clubs or a cobbled together view of SPL/SFA or a particular committee etc. Reason I ask is that when it was being released Stuart Milne came out with a statement that Rangers should be treated like any other club.
-
30-06-2012 04:04 PM #15077
-
30-06-2012 04:22 PM #15078
I think there is a lot of needless panic on this thread.
Rangers are dead in the water as regards the SPL with at least seven clubs against them now that St Mirren have joined the no camp.
Their player exodus has panned out as expected with Bocanegra and Edu joining the others.The former is officially undecided but has declared he would not transfer if Rangers were not in the SPL. If that is not bad enough for Rangers, Kirk Broadfoot has turned up for preseason training.
The SFL clubs are coming out against Rangers in numbers as may be expected as they are community clubs and more likely to be in closer touch with the wishes of their supporters. So far we have Dunfermline, Partick, Morton, Falkirk, Raith, Peterhead and Clyde. Only one more is needed to block the move. Two clubs - Airdrie United and Albion Rovers - will miss out on promotion if Rangers are parachuted into Division One.
The document was certainly written on the basis of information suppliedby the SPL and appears to have Doncaster's sticky fingerprints all over it. The panic was created by the BBC reports to the effect that it was a done deal. The BBC reports, with the exception of those by Jim Spence have danced to Doncaster's tune throughout.
-
30-06-2012 04:25 PM #15079
-
30-06-2012 04:29 PM #15080
This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteI just want it resolved one way or the other and tae see it officially. That way I'll ken whether I'll be going tae the fitba next season or not. I winnae make a move tae spend my money though until it's a done deal.
After it's done and dusted I'd like tae see moves for all those involved in this shameless scheming tae be removed, particularly that ******* doncasterLast edited by Saorsa; 30-06-2012 at 04:39 PM.
-
30-06-2012 04:30 PM #15081This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
If the Sun report is correct and they have only sold 1,000 STs then they are financially dead in the water as well. That would just about cover Alexander's wages for the season and leave nothing for the remaining 12 players.
-
30-06-2012 04:35 PM #15082This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
30-06-2012 04:38 PM #15083This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
The "Document" was so appalling I find it very difficult to believe it was sanctioned by the collective SPL Chairmen. If you look a the statements put out by the majority of clubs, it is completely at odds with the tone and the content, which has generally been one of considered realism. The one issused last week was the diametric opposite. Can you really believe the 'tache would put his name to that? Have we ever seen anything even faintly similar in the years he's been at ER? I also think Regan is away at the moment. (Having seen the other stuff Regan has been invoved in within the SFA which I think is very good - the "Scotland United" plan is good, if not somewhat ironic given the current circumstances - it is also completely at odds with the considered and, for the most part, sensible stuff he has issued).
I think Doncaster is the man to blame here, fairly and squarely. It is primarily an SPL document, and I think it does bear his hallmarks of panic and tunnel vision when it comes to the Hun.
Calls for peoples heads is, as this stage premature. The only source I've seen about Petrie/Green was a report on STV without any substance as to the content of the meeting. We dont know if he was wearing a Hibs, SFA or SPL hat. We dont know what th emeeting was about, but we have rushed to 2+2 equalling 4, and condemning without sufficient evidence. I hasten to add, that if the document does turn out to have been an SFA/SPL official thing and Petrie and Regan were either driving forces behind it then their position is clearly untenable.
Despite the easy "they're all corrupt" approach, there are lots of very good people employed by the SFA at all levels, and the change has been visible in the last couple of years below the level of the Professional game, and even there the introduction of the Professional Game Board has wiped away the old committee system in a bonfire of the blazers.
If there are capable people in place, then the turmoil that will follow whatever happens to the Huns is going to need them to manage the game through.
Knee jerk reactions - even if they turn out ultimately to be right, are generally not the best for long term success in any field.
-
30-06-2012 04:45 PM #15084This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
30-06-2012 04:47 PM #15085
I see that Newco have issued a statement saying that they have cancelled all Direct Debits for STs due to the confusion about where the money was going. It seems that they are banking with the Metro Bank. No, I've never heard of it either.
-
30-06-2012 04:47 PM #15086
8 clubs from 29 SFL clubs (any vote will be for all SFL clubs not on a divisional basis) for whatever proposal - you got it.Last edited by alexedwards; 30-06-2012 at 04:51 PM.
-
30-06-2012 04:55 PM #15087This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I really hope you are right in that this has been driven by Doncaster, and that our leader had nothing to do with this scandalous document.
The threatening of the SFL clubs was completely beyond belief, and I don't believe for a second that Rod Petrie would be involved in condoning this shambolic "document".
-
30-06-2012 05:01 PM #15088
This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteLast edited by Saorsa; 30-06-2012 at 05:10 PM.
-
30-06-2012 05:03 PM #15089This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Totally agree DD!
-
30-06-2012 05:06 PM #15090This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote